EBSCO Tutorials and GuidesUseful resources 1Useful Resources 2
More Exercise /Exercise for Children BookseBooksHot Topics/Individual Weight Issues eBooksDatabasesReferenceInternational Resources /Google Scholar/Writing ResourcesExercise /Exercise Career/Calculators/Florida Health
eBooksCurrent Issues/Nutrition LinksDatabasesReferenceCredo Reference: NutritionInternational Resources /Google Scholar/Writing Resources
Physical Education: K-12 BookseBooks/Current IssuesDatabasesReferenceInternational Resources /Google Scholar/Writing ResourcesPhysical Education/Health and Sports Medicine Links
DatabasesReferenceInternational Resources /Google Scholar/Writing Resources
Christian Sports/History of Sports BooksCoaching/Sports Injuries & Sports MedicineIndividual Sports/Issues in SportseBooksIndividual eBooks
Newspapers/Open Access - Popular MagazinesHistorical/ProQuest US NewspapersSports Careers/Media/Research LinksSports: Individual SportsSports Links/Sports StatisticsHealth & Sports Medicine/Sports Injuries/Health StatisticsSports Management
eBooksDatabasesImage Quest/Google Scholar/ Writing/International ResourcesCredo Reference: Human AnatomyHuman Anatomy: OrgansAnatomy /Health Links/Health Videos/Khan Academy: Anatomy and Physiology
This is the "Sports Bks/eBks" page of the "Physical Education and Sports Research" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Physical Education and Sports Research  

Last Updated: Nov 15, 2017 URL: http://libguides.warner.edu/PEsports Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Sports Bks/eBks Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Books from the Warner University Library

 

Sports Books

Cover Art
Advances in Motivation in Sport and Exercise - Glyn C. Roberts (Editor)
Call Number: GV 706.4 .A36 2001
ISBN: 0880118490
Publication Date: 2001-06-13
Much like its predecessor, Motivation in Sport and Exercise, Advances in Motivation in Sport and Exercise brings together several top scholars in sport and exercise psychology to present the latest information on motivational behavior in exercise, physical education, and sport. Each contributor sheds new light on the process of motivation and the variables and constructs that help us to understand why we are motivated or are not motivated. This extensive resource thoroughly examines key motivational concepts such as -self-efficacy, -perceived competence, -achievement goals, -self-determination, and -perception of control. Although the contributors employ different frameworks to examine the subject, each uses a social cognitive perspective on motivation, which makes for a more cohesive book rather than just a collection of articles. The research provides valuable insight on enhancing motivation in physical activities. More important, it should inspire the reader to apply this insight in the gym, in the pool, and on the playing field, where it can truly make a difference in performance. Advances in Motivation in Sport and Exercise is an excellent reference for professionals in both clinical and applied psychology, particularly those who work with athletes, coaches, teachers, and parents.

Cover Art
Amateur Athletics - Alan Marzilli
Call Number: GV 351 .M364 2003
ISBN: 079107921X
Publication Date: 2004-02-01
Some fear that the commercialism surrounding sports is corrupting the young people who play them.

Cover Art
Cooperative Games and Sports: joyful activities for everyone - Terry Orlick
Call Number: GV 1201 .O7 2006
ISBN: 0736057978
Publication Date: 2006-03-15
Children live what they learn through games and play. Through Cooperative Games and Sports, you can teach children how to play with—rather than against—each other, using 150 field-tested games and activities that are designed to build a child's self-worth through cooperation, acceptance, inclusion, and fun. The premise of cooperative games is that everybody wins and everybody has fun. With activities like cooperative musical chairs, partner gymnastics, and math and spelling games, children learn valuable concepts, plus you aren't left scrambling for expensive equipment in the process. These versatile games allow you to adapt the rules, equipment, and number of players to your own participants' capabilities and to different physical settings. You'll also find a chapter dedicated to teaching you how to create your own games. Cooperative Games and Sports shifts the focus from the outcome of a game to the experience of playing it. With instructive photos and straightforward terminology, it is your guide to building positive interactions that teach children—and adults—the value of playing simply for the sake of playing.

Cover Art
Fair and Foul: beyond the myths and paradoxes of sport - D. Stanley Eitzen; null Eitzen
Call Number: GV 706.5 .E567 2009
ISBN: 9780742561786
Publication Date: 2009-04-16
A fifth edition of this textbook is now available.Expanded and updated throughout, the fourth edition explores America's love of sport just as it reveals sport's darker side-the influence of big business, corruption, price gouging, political maneuvering, and media grandstanding. A new prelude draws students into the book by looking at the multiple levels (individual, organized, and professional) and meanings of sport. An entirely new chapter examines children's play and the emergence of adult-centered play as the primary sport experience of children with some undesirable consequences. Other chapters incorporate new information on the participation of women and minorities in coaching and management, new data on the economic inequalities that pervade sports, new information on the ties between businesses and college sports, and new developments in the global recruiting of coaches. Eitzen draws his examples of famous and lesser-known events from professional, college, and school sports, including depictions of well known coaches and players, to give us a deeper understanding of what sport means to us and how it affects our everyday world. Ideal for sparking classroom discussion, the first three editions were widely read and enjoyed by students of sociology of sport, American society, and other courses.

Cover Art
Handbook of Sports and Media - Arthur A. Raney (Editor); Jennings Bryant (Editor)
Call Number: GV 742 .H35 2006
ISBN: 0805851895
Publication Date: 2006-04-17
This distinctive Handbook covers the breadth of sports and media scholarship, one of the up-and-coming topics bridging media entertainment, sports management, and popular culture. Organized into historical, institutional, spectator, and critical studies perspectives, this volume brings together the work of many researchers into one quintessential volume, defining the full scope of the subject area. Editors Arthur Raney and Jennings Bryant have recruited contributors from around the world to identify and synthesize the research representing numerous facets of the sports-media relationship. nbsp; As a unique collection on a very timely topic, the volume offers chapters examining the development of sports media; production, coverage, and economics of sports media; sports media audiences; sports promotion; and race and gender issues in sports and media. Unique in its orientation and breadth, the Handbook of Sports and Media is destined to play a major role in the future development of this fast-growing area of study. It is a must-have work for scholars, researchers, and graduate students working in media entertainment, media psychology, mass media/mass communication, sports marketing and management, popular communication, popular culture, and cultural studies.

Cover Art
Home Team : professional sports and the American metropolis - Michael N. Danielson
Call Number: GV 706.35 .D36 1997
ISBN: 0691036500
Publication Date: 1997-03-03
Most books that study professional sports concentrate on teams and leagues. In contrast, Home Team studies the connections between professional team sports in North America and the places where teams play. It examines the relationships between the four major professional team sports--baseball, basketball, football, and hockey--and the cities that attach their names, their hearts, and their increasing amount of tax dollars to big league teams. From the names on their uniforms to the loyalties of their fans, teams are tied to the places in which they play. Nonetheless, teams, like other urban businesses, are affected by changes in their environments--like the flight of their customers to suburbs and changes in local political climates. In Home Team, professional sports are scrutinized in the larger context of the metropolitan areas that surround and support them. Michael Danielson is particularly interested in the political aspects of the connections between professional sports teams and cities. He points out that local and state governments are now major players in the competition for franchises, providing increasingly lavish publicly funded facilities for what are, in fact, private business ventures. As a result, professional sports enterprises, which have insisted that private leagues rather than public laws be the proper means of regulating games, have become powerful political players, seeking additional benefits from government, often playing off one city against another. The wide variety of governmental responses reflects the enormous diversity of urban and state politics in the United States and in the Canadian cities and provinces that host professional teams. Home Team collects a vast amount of data, much of it difficult to find elsewhere, including information on the relocation of franchises, expansion teams, new leagues, stadium development, and the political influence of the rich cast of characters involved in the ongoing contests over where teams will play and who will pay. Everyone who is interested in the present condition and future prospects of professional sports will be captivated by this informative and provocative new book.

Cover Art
Intercollegiate Athletics and the American University : a university president's perspective - James J. Duderstadt
Call Number: GV 351 .D83 2000
ISBN: 0472111566
Publication Date: 2000-10-13
After decades of domination on campus, college sports' supremacy has begun to weaken. "Enough, already!" detractors cry. College is about learning, not chasing a ball around to the whir of TV cameras. In Intercollegiate Athletics and the American University James Duderstadt agrees, taking the view that the increased commercialization of intercollegiate athletics endangers our universities and their primary goal, academics. Calling it a "corrosive example of entertainment culture" during an interview with ESPN's Bob Ley, Duderstadt suggested that college basketball, for example, "imposes on the university an alien set of values, a culture that really is not conducive to the educational mission of university." Duderstadt is part of a growing controversy. Recently, as reported in The New York Times, an alliance between university professors and college boards of trustees formed in reaction to the growth of college sports; it's the first organization with enough clout to challenge the culture of big-time university athletics. This book is certainly part of that challenge, and is sure to influence this debate today and in the years to come. James J. Duderstadt is President Emeritus and University Professor of Science and Engineering, University of Michigan.

Cover Art
Introduction to the Philosophy of Sport - Heather Reid
Call Number: GV 706 .R4395 2012
ISBN: 9780742570610
Publication Date: 2012-10-18
This comprehensive text examines the history, significance, and philosophical dimensions of sport. Introduction to the Philosophy of Sport is organized to reflect the traditional division of philosophy into metaphysical, ethical, and sociopolitical issues, while incorporating specific concerns of today's athletic world, such as cheating, doping, and Title IX, where they are applicable. This approach provides students with a basic understanding of the philosophy of sport as a whole and better equips them to investigate specific issues. Introduction to the Philosophy of Sport is not only an outline of the discipline and a summary of much of its pioneering work, but also an invitation for students to join the conversation by connecting it to their own athletic experience.

Cover Art
Learn'n More about Having Fun in Youth Sports : the parents guide to enjoying youth sports - Bob Swope
Call Number: 9780977281725
ISBN: 9780977281725
Publication Date: 2011-12-01
Swope details 25 ways to have more fun in youth sports, and he includes inspirations, training success and failure stories, recommended additional reading, sample youth sports menus, and sample scheduling ideas.

Cover Art
Learning Culture Through Sports exploring the role of sports in society - Brian Lampman (Editor); Sandra Spickard Prettyman (Editor)
Call Number: GV 706.5 .L43 2006
ISBN: 1578863791
Publication Date: 2006-03-30
On school playgrounds and sporting fields, the words "you throw like a girl" are often used to denigrate particular players. Caricatures on Native Americans continue to fill billboards and sport stadiums, even in our nation's capital, despite the outcry of many American Indian organizations and supporters. These words, images, and the actions associated with them have meanings, and say much about the role of sport in our world and in our lives. Yet sport is rarely examined critically, despite the fact that it is an integral part of our society, and an important force in our lives. While we often complain about certain aspects of sport, rarely are solutions explored. This book provides coaches, educators, parents, and others dealing with students and athletes with an engaging and critical venue by which to examine contemporary issues and controversies surrounding sport. In this text, authors take up the challenges faced by sport in our world, especially as it relates to the lives of young people, providing multiple perspectives on the issues, problems, and possibilities of sport in contemporary American society. The authors represent a variety of positions--scholars, coaches, teachers, athletes, and community members--providing readers with different lenses through which to examine sport and its role in our society. This book helps readers to recognize that sport is not just a game, but also a serious piece of our culture that needs to be examined critically from multiple perspectives.

Cover Art
Procedures for Structuring and Scheduling Sports Tournaments: elimination, consolation, placement, and round-robin design - Francis M. Rokosz
Call Number: qGV 712 .R64 2000
ISBN: 0398070504
Publication Date: 2000-11-01
The purpose of this newly revised edition is to teach the reader how to construct and schedule a variety of sports tournaments in a variety of ways. It also presents the factors that influence the selection of a particular tournament to satisfy a particular set of conditions or intentions. The text provides a comprehensive yet easily understandable background to the structural design of tournaments, the mathematics that are part of their construction, and the processes involved with scheduling participants for play within virtually all types of elimination, consolation, placement, and round-robin tournaments. Using a step-by-step format, the author explains how the various types of tournaments work, what they can and cannot do, how to form them given any set of circumstances, the advantages and disadvantages of their use, and the calculations that can be made to determine the time to complete a tournament. Acceptance of entries, structuring schedules, methods of communicating schedules with participants, and the determination of exactly where and when who plays whom are thoroughly presented. The original 20 chapters have been significantly revised to reflect different and updated approaches to conducting sports tournaments. This latest edition will serve as a comprehensive guide for recreation directors, coaches, and physical educators.

Cover Art
Sport and Physical Education: the key concepts - Timothy John Lindsay Chandler; Mike Cronin; Wray Vamplew
Call Number: qGV 567 .C43 2002
ISBN: 0415231418
Publication Date: 2002-06-07
First published in 2002. Routledge is an imprint of Taylor & Francis, an informa company.

Cover Art
Sport in Contemporary Society : an anthology , 9th Edition - D. Stanley Eitzen
Call Number: GV 706.5 .S733 2011
ISBN: 9781612050324
Publication Date: 2011-07-01
Sports buffs know all about famous players and coaches and can recite statistics in endless detail. But do fans know how sport is linked to other institutions of society? Do they understand the role of sport in socializing youngsters in both positive and negative ways? What about the ways in which sport perpetuates race and gender-role stereotypes in society? How do owners, coaches, and other sport authorities exercise power to maintain control over athletes?These issues and more are examined in this selection of accessible writings by journalists and leading scholars who represent a new era of critical appraisal of sports--both professional and amateur. This timely new edition includes 20 new articles while retaining the classics from the last edition. Sport in Contemporary Society is perfect for courses in sociology, sport management, and kinesiology.

 

More Sports Books

Cover Art
Sport Matters: sociological studies of sport, violence, and civilization - Eric Dunning
Call Number: GV 706.5 .D85 1999
ISBN: 0415093783
Publication Date: 1999-06-22
1999 North American Society for the Sociology of Sport Annual Book Award Sport Matters offers a comprehensive introduction to the study of modern sport from a sociological perspective. It covers such topics as the history of sport, the development of ideas of 'fair play', sport and the emotions, the professionalization of sport, race-relations and sport and sport and gender. Unique in its cross-cultural analysis, it uses examples from around the globe, including sports spectator violence in North America, the growth of international soccer and the role of sport in the European identity.

Cover Art
Sport Public Relations: managing stakeholder communication - G. Clayton Stoldt; Stephen Dittmore; Scott Branvold
Call Number: qGV 714 .S77 2012
ISBN: 073609038X
Publication Date: 2012-02-14
"Sport Public Relations: Managing Organizational Communication, Second Edition, " takes a comprehensive, businesslike approach to the practice of public relations in sport. Rather than address public relations only as a means of supporting the marketing function or leveraging the media's interest in an event or organization, this text recognizes public relations as a function that is integral to many aspects of a sport organization's goals. The book covers all aspects of public relations, starting with the foundations of PR in sport and progressing all the way through legal and ethical issues that sport public relations professionals encounter. The second edition has been reorganized to better emphasize new opportunities for sport organizations to directly engage the masses and function as their own media. Following are some of the exciting updates to this edition: - Discussion of social media and other e-technologies now permeates the entire book rather than being limited to a single chapter. - Updated chapters on new media, corporate social responsibility, and legal and ethical issues reflect areas of growing emphasis and concern for sport organizations. - New "Insight From a Professional" and other sidebars offer readers a firsthand account of the roles of PR professionals in today's sport environment. - A complete set of ancillaries helps instructors incorporate e-technology into their courses and prepare engaging class discussions. In a clear and engaging style, "Sport Public Relations, Second Edition," expresses the roles of public relations and PR professionals as vital components to a sport organization's overall management. Updated tools including sample media releases, credentials letters, and media guides provide students with tangible examples of the work that PR professionals produce. Special elements throughout the text teach students what sport communication work is like, the tasks and dilemmas practitioners face, and available opportunities and careers in the industry. Real-life examples and historical events demonstrate how sport communication has evolved and the vital role it plays in effective sport management. Chapter objectives, key terms, summaries, and learning activities keep students focused on key topics and allow them to better prepare for course projects and class discussion. "Sport Public Relations, Second Edition," provides the theoretical basis for industry practice as well as guidance on applying those concepts. Readers will learn about the history of sport public relations and how it is evolving; the foundations for effective media relations in sport, including information services and organization media; and the critical need for a crisis communication plan and management considerations. Readers will also consider the diverse forms of public relations practice, encompassing media, community, employee, investor, customer, donor, and government relations. With this text, both students and professionals will understand the full range of functions in the realm of sport public relations and how to be progressive in their current and future public relations practices.

Cover Art
Sports and Entertainment Marketing - Oelkers Kasero; Ken Kaser; Dotty B. Oelkers
Call Number: qKF 4290 .K19 2001
ISBN: 0538694777
Publication Date: 1999-11-24
Sports and Entertainment Marketing takes your students on a step-by-step journey through the world of marketing. Students encounter and learn about the key functions of marketing and how those functions are applied to sports and entertainment. Each marketing function is incorporated throughout the text and highlighted with an icon to indicate how it is used in the marketing process.

Cover Art
Sports in America
Call Number: GV 583 .S68525 2013
ISBN: 0824212150
Publication Date: 2013
As this volume reminds readers, sports influence nearly every sphere of American life. Topics begin with sports and American youth, exploring how health and sportsmanship are fundamental aims of athleticism. Title IX, which marked forty years in 2012, is the most important legislation in American sports history, defining the terms for equity among men’s and women’s athletics. Each year, the biggest college sports programs generate multi-millions of dollars for their universities and conferences. A chapter will consider the relationship between college athletes, education, and economics. Also covered is the rise of fantasy sports among spectators, which has produced big business as well as debates on gambling. The two most controversial issues of the past few years are findings on concussions and revelations on doping. These chapters cover stories on the culture of doping, from bicycling to baseball, and new studies on head injuries in youth and professional sports.

Cover Art
Sports Journalism: the inside track - James Toney
Call Number: PN 4784 .S6 T664 2013
ISBN: 140817832X
Publication Date: 2013-02-01
Sports journalism, once dismissed as the 'toyshop' editorial department, has grown in importance as sport has become bigger and bigger business, generating billions in revenue to those who own teams, franchises, tournaments and organisations. Millions consume their newspapers from back to front and the audience for Britain's only 24 sports news channel more than eclipses news rivals.This book gives aspiring journalists and those reporters looking to move into sports journalism an inside track on what is needed to succeed in one of the most competitive media markets. Sports journalism is changing - the proliferation of dedicated TV channels, websites, radio stations, niche publications and, of course, newspapers offers a world of opportunity, but has also led to a change in the nature of the job.Drawing on the personal experiences of established and recently qualified reporters, it covers the whole range of skills required by sports journalists from traditional match reporting, news gathering, feature writing and colour copy to the modern demands such as providing a live blog, snaps for a website and updating a Twitter feed even before you getting around writing your story. You might be juggling the demands of a website that craves immediate SEO-friendly content with the requirements of a newspaper - which will still want the latest and freshest take on the story with a witty, punchy and original intro.Sport Journalism is an essential practical guide to sports journalism, focusing on the traditional key skills still required for success as a reporter but illustrating the increasing importance placed on multimedia, as print, online and broadcast journalism converge.

Cover Art
Sports Photography : from snapshots to great shots - Bill Frakes
Call Number: TR 821 .F73 2013
ISBN: 0321885708
Publication Date: 2013-04-12
In Sports Photography: From Snapshots to Great Shots, author and sports photographer Bill Frakes shows you how to capture the key elements of sports photographs-motion and emotion, style and scene, place and purpose-whether you're at a baseball tournament, a track meet, or a professional football game. Starting with the basics of equipment, camera settings, and exposure, Bill covers the fundamental techniques of sports photography-understanding lighting, handling composition and focus, and timing peak action. He explains how to choose a shooting position on the field of play, identify the defining moments away from the action, and learn the etiquette of covering live sporting events. He then breaks down the shooting processes of specific sports, outlining the challenges and demands of each and showing how to isolate individual athletes in action. Beautifully illustrated with large, vibrant photos, this book teaches you how to take control of your photography to get the sports photo you want every time you pick up the camera. Master the photographic basics of composition, focus, depth of field, and much more Get tips on shooting with long and short lenses, learning when to use them and why Learn key techniques for photographing various sports, including football, baseball, basketball, soccer, and more Fully grasp all the concepts and techniques as you go, with assignments at the end of every chapter And once you've got the shot, show it off! Join the book's Flickr group to share your photos and ideas for great sports shots at flickr.com/groups/sportsphotographyfromsnapshotstogreatshots.

Cover Art
Sports-Talk Radio in America : its context and culture - J. M. Dempsey; Frank Hoffmann; Martin J. Manning
Call Number: GV 742.3 .S68 2006
ISBN: 0789025906
Publication Date: 2006-10-11
An inside look at the hosts, hot spots, and history of sports-talk radio Sports-Talk Radio in America looks at major-, medium-, and small-market stations across the United States that feature an all-sports format, with a focus on the unique personalities and programming strategies that make each station successful. Broadcasters, journalists, and academics provide insight on how and why this media phenomenon has become an important influence of American culture, examining the “guy talk” broadcasting approach, the traditional sports-emphasis approach, “HSOs” (hot sports opinions), localism in broadcasting, how sports talk radio builds “communities” of listeners, and how reckless, on-air comments can actually build ratings. For better of worse, millions of (mostly) male listeners indulge their obsession with sports to the exclusion of virtually everything else available on the radio dial-music, news, and political talk. This unique book examines how this “niche of the niche” has formed a bond between its hosts and their rabid, passionate, and loyal audiences, spinning the dial from the largest, best-known stations in big-league markets to smaller stations in Collegetown, USA, including Philadelphia's WIP, “The Ticket,” KTCK in Dallas, WEEI in Boston, “The Team,” WQTM in Orlando, KJR in Seattle, KOZN “The Zone” Omaha, Nebraska, WGR and WNSA in Buffalo, Kansas City's WHB, and “The Fan,” WFAN in New York, the first all-sports radio station and the blueprint for the format. Sports-Talk Radio in America puts you in the studio with Mike and the Mad Dog, Angelo Cataldi, Howard Eskin, “The Musers” (“Junior” Miller and George Dunham), Norm Hitges, John Dennis and Gerry Callahan, Dan Sileo, Howard Simon, and Art Wander. Sports-Talk Radio in America examines: how stations create an environment in which listeners become part of a social group (social-identity and self-categorization theories) personality-driven programming the station's commitment to local teams and their fans how exploring controversial topics beyond sports broadens station's appeal and attracts upscale, affluent audience how an abundance of live, play-by-play broadcasting, creating plenty of available content college sports in a town without a major professional sports team how local sports is framed by hosts and callers the conflicted relationship between sports-talk radio and the print media and much more! Sports-Talk Radio in America is a must-read for academics and professionals working in radio-television and popular culture.

Cover Art
Team Talk: sporting words and their origins - Julian Walker
Call Number: GV 706.8 .W35 2011
ISBN: 0747808341
Publication Date: 2011-10-18
Have you ever wondered why we talk about a handicap in sport, why boxing is so named, or whether a dumbbell ever rang? It was during the nineteenth century that hitherto local games with relaxed and varying rules were formalized. During this process terminologies developed to refer to these new standardized sports, borrowing, modifying and redefining words from all walks of life in sometimes strange and unexpected ways. Considering such subjects as why sport shares so many words with the fields of hunting and conflict, and how English sports terms have been both adopted from and given to other languages, this book looks at how words have come into the field of sport and how they have developed and changed.

Cover Art
The Game of Life: college sports and educational values - James Lawrence Shulman; William G. Bowen
Call Number: GV 351 .S48 2001
ISBN: 069107075X
Publication Date: 2000-12-17
The President of Williams College faces a firestorm for not allowing the women's lacrosse team to postpone exams to attend the playoffs. The University of Michigan loses $2.8 million on athletics despite averaging 110,000 fans at each home football game. Schools across the country struggle with the tradeoffs involved with recruiting athletes and updating facilities for dozens of varsity sports. Does increasing intensification of college sports support or detract from higher education's core mission? James Shulman and William Bowen introduce facts into a terrain overrun by emotions and enduring myths. Using the same database that informed The Shape of the River, the authors analyze data on 90,000 students who attended thirty selective colleges and universities in the 1950s, 1970s, and 1990s. Drawing also on historical research and new information on giving and spending, the authors demonstrate how athletics influence the class composition and campus ethos of selective schools, as well as the messages that these institutions send to prospective students, their parents, and society at large. Shulman and Bowen show that athletic programs raise even more difficult questions of educational policy for small private colleges and highly selective universities than they do for big-time scholarship-granting schools. They discover that today's athletes, more so than their predecessors, enter college less academically well-prepared and with different goals and values than their classmates--differences that lead to different lives. They reveal that gender equity efforts have wrought large, sometimes unanticipated changes. And they show that the alumni appetite for winning teams is not--as schools often assume--insatiable. If a culprit emerges, it is the unquestioned spread of a changed athletic culture through the emulation of highly publicized teams by low-profile sports, of men's programs by women's, and of athletic powerhouses by small colleges. Shulman and Bowen celebrate the benefits of collegiate sports, while identifying the subtle ways in which athletic intensification can pull even prestigious institutions from their missions. By examining how athletes and other graduates view The Game of Life--and how colleges shape society's view of what its rules should be--Bowen and Shulman go far beyond sports. They tell us about higher education today: the ways in which colleges set policies, reinforce or neglect their core mission, and send signals about what matters.

Cover Art
The Meaning of Sports: why Americans watch baseball, football, and basketball, and what they see when they do - Michael Mandelbaum
Call Number: GV 706.5 .M345 2004
ISBN: 1586482521
Publication Date: 2004-05-12
One thinking fan explains to other sports fans and non-fans alike just what it is that draws us to America's most popular sports. In The Meaning of Sports, Michael Mandelbaum, a sports fan who is also one of the nation's preeminent foreign policy thinkers, examines America's century-long love affair with team sports. In keeping with his reputation for writing about big ideas in an illuminating and graceful way, he shows how sports respond to deep human needs; describes the ways in which baseball, football and basketball became national institutions and how they reached their present forms; and covers the evolution of rules, the rise and fall of the most successful teams, and the historical significance of the most famous and influential figures such as Babe Ruth, Vince Lombardi, and Michael Jordan. similar to warfare, basketball as the embodiment of post-industrial society, or the moral havoc created by baseball's designated hitter rule, Mandelbaum applies the full force of his learning and wit to subjects about which so many Americans care passionately: the games they played in their youth and continue to follow as adults. By offering a fresh and unconventional perspective on these games, The Meaning of Sports makes for fascinating and rewarding reading both for fans and newcomers.

Cover Art
The Sports Rules Book - Human Kinetics Staff; Tom Hanlon
Call Number: qGV 731 .H85 2009
ISBN: 0736076328
Publication Date: 2009-04-23
From alpine skiing to wrestling, and all sports in between, The Sports Rules Book is an all-inclusive resource covering 54 sports. Quickly glean information on each sport's origin and history, basic procedures, terminology, equipment, competitive playing areas, scoring systems, player positions and primary features, common rule violations and their consequences, and, where applicable, officials' signals. The Sports Rules Book is your guide to understanding all the athletic activities we compete in and enjoy.

Cover Art
Sisterhood in Sports: how female athletes collaborate and compete - Joan Steidinger
Call Number: GV 709 .S74 2014
ISBN: 9781442230330
Publication Date: 2014-10-10
Sisterhood in Sports: How Female Athletes Collaborate and Compete tells the stories of all kinds of female athletes in a variety of sports. Their natural tendency to use talking as a primary form of communication is essential to their experiences and successes in sports. Women and girls tend to have BFFs, collaborate during periods of stress, express empathy for one another, worry about themselves and others, and desire to have fun in sports, which makes their experiences of sports and competition different from their male counterparts. Female strengths are grounded in both mind and body, and they take these strengths onto the court, field, and track. There are now dozens of studies showing how the female brain and hormones operate quite differently than those of men. This book reveals the ways in which these differences confirm that intense emotions about relationships are part of the sporting life for female competitors. Joan Steidinger uses real stories to show that women and girls compete at very high levels, but also have a different view of their teammates and opponents, one based on relationships and communication, that impacts performance both on and off the field. They enjoy and revel in sisterhood, even as they fight to win. Understanding this need for connection helps us better understand how female athletes succeed and perform both in sports and in life. Female athletes and anyone who works with them will learn how to better facilitate mastery, competition, collaboration, and connection on and off the field the practice of female collaborative competition.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip