EBSCO Tutorials and GuidesUseful resources 1Useful Resources 2
eBooksDatabases - PhysicsGeneral InformationAstrophysicsDynamicsMechanicsNuclear PhysicsObservational AstronomyOptics, Magnetism, & ElectricityRelativityGoogle Scholar/Writing ResourcesUseful links - PhysicsKhan Academy Physics Links
eBooksDatabasesCredo ReferenceConcepts and TermsAstrophysicsAdvances in AstronomyAncient AstronomyEarly AstronomyModern AstronomyThe Night SkyObservational AstronomyGoogle Scholar/Writing ResourcesUseful links - AstronomyKhan Academy - Cosmology and Astronomy Links
eBooks - IndividualMore eBooks - IndividualSubscription eBooksDatabasesHot Topics/ReferenceMarine Biology Links
More Animals BookseBooksDatabases - AnimalsOther Electronic ResourcesCredo Reference/Google Scholar/Writing ResourcesHabitatsUseful links - Animals, etc. (Birds) Links
eBooksDatabasesCredo Reference/Google Scholar/Writing ResourcesBiology ABiology B and CAnatomy & PhysiologyBiochemistryEcology & BiodiversityScientists AScientists BZoologyUseful Links - Biology and Plant LinksKhan Academy - Biology
eBooksDatabasesCredo Reference/Google Scholar/Writing ResourcesUseful links - ChemistryKhan Academy - Chemisty/Organic Chemistry
More Ecology BookseBooksDatabases - EcologyOther Electronic ResourcesConcepts - Credo ReferenceHabitatsNatural PhenomenaThreats to the EnvironmentMovements and EnvironmentalistsGoogle Scholar/Writing ResourcesUseful links - Ecology and Weather Links
eBooksIndividual eBooksScience Current Issues/ebrary Searchable Information CentersDatabasesScience - Other Electronic ResourcesGoogle Scholar/International/Writing ResourcesCredo Reference - Science OverviewKhan Academy - Health and Medicine/ScienceScience LinksScience Videos
This is the "Science" page of the "Science Research" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Science Research  

Last Updated: Sep 19, 2017 URL: http://libguides.warner.edu/mainscience Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Science Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Science Books

Cover Art
A Dictionary of Science - Oxford University Press (Created by)
Call Number: Q 123 .S416 2005
ISBN: 9780192806413
Publication Date: 2005-10-27
This best-selling dictionary contains over 9,000 entries on all aspects of science and provides comprehensive coverage of biology (including human biology), chemistry, physics, the earth sciences, and astronomy. Appendices cover the periodic table, geological time scale, and animal and plant classification. New features include virtual thumb tags for easy reference, expanded areas including astronomy and earth science and more features on key topics such as the Solar System and Genetically Modified Organisms. Also featured are short biographies of leading scientists and chronologies of specific subjects, including plastics, electronics and cell biology. Both concise and wide-ranging, this dictionary is an ideal handy reference work and great introduction for students and non-scientists alike.

Cover Art
Almost Everyone's Guide to Science - John Gribbin; Mary Gribbin
Call Number: Q 162 .G84 1999
ISBN: 0300081014
Publication Date: 1999-09-10
For anyone interested in the remarkable achievements and discoveries of modern science -- but intimidated by confusing technical detail -- this book offers the perfect solution. Award-winning author John Gribbin stands back from the details and offers a broad picture of science, from the structure of particles within the atom to the birth of the universe. With eloquent clarity, Gribbin explains the simple rules that govern the physical world.

Cover Art
Chronology of Science: : from Stonehenge to the Human Genome Project - Lisa Rosner (Editor); Helicon Publishing Ltd. Staff
Call Number: Q 125 .C482 2002
ISBN: 1576079546
Publication Date: 2002-06-22
From the Stone Age to the Information Age, this one-volume reference work puts the basic road map of scientific progress at the reader's fingertips.

Cover Art
Doing Science: : design, analysis, and communication of scientific research - Ivan Valiela
Call Number: Q 180 .A1 V35 2001
ISBN: 0195134133
Publication Date: 2001-01-04
Doing Science offers a rare compendium of practical advice based on how working scientists pursue their craft. It covers each stage of research, from formulating questions and gathering data to developing experiments and analyzing results and finally to the many ways for presenting results. Drawing on his extensive experience both as a researcher and a research mentor, Ivan Valiela has written a lively and concise survey of everything a beginning scientist needs to know to succeed in the field. He includes chapters on scientific data, statistical methods, and experimental designs, and much of the book is devoted to presenting final results. He gives valuable suggestions for improving scientific writing, for preparing scientific talks, and devotes three chapters to hands-on advice for presenting data in charts, tables, and graphs. Anyone beginning a scientific career, or anyone who advises students in research, will find Doing Science an invaluable source of advice.

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Science and Religion - Wentzel Van Huyssteen
Call Number: qBL 240.3 .E53 2003 v. 1 and v. 2
ISBN: 9780028657042
Publication Date: 2003-04-11
The Encyclopedia of Science and Religion addresses the interactions, contradictions and tensions between science and religion, both historically and in contemporary life. The two-volume set examines technologies like in vitro fertilization, cloning, and continuing developments in neurophysiology against the backdrop of deeply-held religious beliefs. In addition, phenomena such as the Church of Scientology are also studied, along with more traditional issues, such as the origins of life, the nature of sin, and the philosophy of science and religion.

Cover Art
Magic Universe: the Oxford guide to modern science - Nigel Stuart Calder
Call Number: Q 125 .C286 2003
ISBN: 0198507925
Publication Date: 2003-11-27
As a prolific author, BBC commentator, and magazine editor, Nigel Calder has spent a lifetime spotting and explaining the big discoveries in all branches of science. In Magic Universe, he draws on his vast experience to offer readers a lively, far-reaching look at modern science in all its glory, shedding light on the latest ideas in physics, biology, chemistry, medicine, astronomy, and many other fields. What is truly magical about Magic Universe is Calder's incredible breadth. Migrating birds, light sensors in the human eye, black holes, antimatter, buckyballs and nanotubes--with exhilarating sweep, Calder can range from the strings of a piano to the superstrings of modern physics, from Pythagoras's theory of musical pitch to the most recent ideas about atoms and gravity and a ten-dimensional universe--all in one essay. The great virtue of this wide-ranging style--besides its liveliness and versatility--is that it allows Calder to illuminate how the modern sciences intermingle and cross-fertilize one another. Indeed, whether discussing astronauts or handedness or dinosaurs, Calder manages to tease out hidden connections between disparate fields of study. What is most wondrous about the "magic universe" is that one can begin with stellar dust and finish with life itself. Drawing on interviews with more than 200 researchers, from graduate students to Nobel prize-winners, Magic Universe takes us on a high-spirited tour through the halls of science, one that will enthrall everyone interested in science, whether a young researcher in a high-tech lab or an amateur buff sitting in the comfort of an armchair.

Cover Art
McGraw-Hill Concise Encyclopedia of Science and Technology - McGraw-Hill Staff
Call Number: qQ 121 .M29 2004
ISBN: 0071429573
Publication Date: 2004-12-17
"Thoroughly revised and updated, this new edition is based on the content of the Ninth Edition, the most widely used science reference of its kind. Readers will find concise, authoritative, and up-to-date articles on every major field of science and technology. Written in language understandable to students and general readers, yet with sufficient depth for scientists, educators, and researchers, this resource provides: 7300 concise articles covering disciplines of science and technology from acoustics to zoology; extensively revised content with 3000+ new and rewritten articles; current and critical advances in fast-developing fields such as biomedical science, chemistry, cosmology, information science, environmental science, nanotechnology, and physics; more than 1600 two-color illustrations; hundreds of tables and charts; and 1300 biographical sketches of famous scientists."--BOOK JACKET.Title Summary field provided by Blackwell North America, Inc. All Rights Reserved

Cover Art
McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific and Technical Terms - McGraw-Hill Staff
Call Number: qQ 123 .M15 2003
ISBN: 007042313X
Publication Date: 2002-09-26
For more than a quarter of a century, this amazingly comprehensive dictionary has been a standard international reference. Containing more than 115,000 terms and 125,000 definitions--from 100 areas of science and technology--this trusted resource provides definitions written in clear, simple language, understandable to the general reader, yet is consistent with the specialized use of the term. THE NEW SIXTH EDITION: * Thoroughly revised with 5,000 NEW TERMS * Each term includes a helpful pronunciation guide * Entries are complemented by 3,000 illustrations; appendices containing biographic listings, converison tables, taxonomic classification charts, and more * The only dictionary of scientific and technical terms to be thumb-indexed Invaluable to scientists, researchers, teachers, students, as well as interested lay persons, the McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific and Technical Terms is truly the single best way for anyone to gain fluency in the language of science.

Cover Art
McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology - Elizabeth Geller; McGraw-Hill Staff
Call Number: qQ 121 .M3 2002 v. 1 - V. 20
ISBN: 0079136656
Publication Date: 2002-04-01
A trusted reference for over 40 years!The need for a comprehensive encyclopedia of science and technology first became apparent during the years following World War II, when a new scientific and technical revolution set off an avalanche of fundamental advances in areas such as genetics, chemistry, materials science, computing, cosmology and physics.With this fresh knowledge, came a surge of applications that created a new industrial society based on electronics, miraculous new pharmaceutics, automatic control, telecommunications and data processing. Many of these technologies changed everyday life in the Western world during the late 1940's and 1950's; think of the transistor radio, television, the jet airliner, antibiotics, plastics and the digital computer. Public awareness of scientific research grew, along with an increase in research funding and the number of students enrolling in science and engineering courses. The start of the space age and, in particular, the launch of Sputnik by the Soviet Union further intensified the spotlight on science. It was at this time that editors at McGraw-Hill met informally around a small conference table and sketched out their idea for a monumental work - a reference that would survey the state-of-the-art in the physical, earth, life and applied sciences and spare no effort or funding. The product of this venture, the 1st Edition of McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology, was published four years later in 1960.

Cover Art
Research and Discovery: landmarks and pioneers in American science - Russell Lawson (Editor)
Call Number: qQ 127 .U6 R45 2008 V.1 - V. 3
ISBN: 9780765680730
Publication Date: 2008-02-28
This encyclopedia is an overview of the history of science in America from colonial times to the present. Organized alphabetically within scientific discipline, the set is divided into fourteen sections that include overview essays tracing the historical development of the specific discipline in a cultural and social context; A-to-Z entries on people, institutions, events, developments, and significant concepts; and documents highlighting the development of the discipline. An extensive topic finder, bibliographic citations, and a general index round out this work.

Cover Art
Science and Scientists - Salem Press Editors (Editor)
Call Number: Q 180.55 .D57 S29 2006 v. 1 - v. 3
ISBN: 1587653028
Publication Date: 2006-03-01
Arranged alphabetically, essays featured in Science andScientists address the most important breakthroughs in allmajor scientific fields, ranging from Abstract Algebra toQuantum Mechanics, from the Big Bang to X-Ray Astronomy,from Antisepsis to Viruses.Accompanying more than half the essays is a capsule biographyan explanation of an important episode or concept associatedwith the breakthrough. In addition, more than 60 diagramsand line drawings illustrate key concepts. Over 160photographs provide further illustration. "Crossover" achievementssuch as the Personal Computer, the Internet, andVaccination are included in these pages as having had asgreat an impact on the sciences as on everyday life.

Cover Art
Science and Technology in World History: an introduction - James E. McClellan; Harold Dorn
Call Number: Q 125 .M414 2006
ISBN: 0801883601
Publication Date: 2006-04-14
Now in its second edition, this bestselling textbook may be the single most influential study of the historical relationship between science and technology ever published. Tracing this relationship from the dawn of civilization through the twentieth century, James E. McClellan III and Harold Dorn argue that technology as "applied science" emerged relatively recently, as industry and governments began funding scientific research that would lead directly to new or improved technologies. McClellan and Dorn identify two great scientific traditions: the useful sciences, patronized by the state from the dawn of civilization, and scientific theorizing, initiated by the ancient Greeks. They find that scientific traditions took root in China, India, and Central and South America, as well as in a series of Near Eastern empires, during late antiquity and the Middle Ages. From this comparative perspective, the authors explore the emergence of Europe and the United States as a scientific and technological power. The new edition reorganizes its treatment of Greek science and significantly expands its coverage of industrial civilization and contemporary science and technology with new and revised chapters devoted to applied science, the sociology and economics of science, globalization, and the technological systems that underpin everyday life.

Cover Art
Scientific Pioneers: women succeeding in science - Joyce Tang
Call Number: Q 130 .T36 2006
ISBN: 0761833501
Publication Date: 2006-02-16
This book critically examines the career development of female scientific pioneers. Drawing from existing biographical and ethnographical data, author Joyce Tang analyzes the life and career histories of ten extraordinary female scientists-Marie Curie, Irene Joliot-Curie, Margaret Mead, Barbara McClintock, Maria Goeppert-Meyer, Rachel Carson, Rita Levi-Montalcini, Dorothy Hodgkin, Rosalyn Yalow, and Fay Ajzenberg-Selove. The author explores the personal, political, cultural, and economic factors that led to the success of these women. Scientific Pioneers proposes that for a woman to be successful in science not only requires perseverance and talent, but also structural opportunities, institutional support, and conscious decision making.

Cover Art
The Age of Everything - Matthew Hedman
Call Number: CC 78 .H44 2007
ISBN: 9780226322926
Publication Date: 2007-11-01
Taking advantage of recent advances throughout the sciences, Matthew Hedman brings the distant past closer to us than it has ever been. Here, he shows how scientists have determined the age of everything from the colonization of the New World over 13,000 years ago to the origin of the universe nearly fourteen billion years ago. Hedman details, for example, how interdisciplinary studies of the Great Pyramids of Egypt can determine exactly when and how these incredible structures were built. He shows how the remains of humble trees can illuminate how the surface of the sun has changed over the past ten millennia. And he also explores how the origins of the earth, solar system, and universe are being discerned with help from rocks that fall from the sky, the light from distant stars, and even the static seen on television sets. Covering a wide range of time scales, from the Big Bang to human history, The Age of Everything is a provocative and far-ranging look at how science has determined the age of everything from modern mammals to the oldest stars, and will be indispensable for all armchair time travelers.   “We are used to being told confidently of an enormous, measurable past: that some collection of dusty bones is tens of thousands of years old, or that astronomical bodies have an age of some billions. But how exactly do scientists come to know these things? That is the subject of this quite fascinating book. . . . As told by Hedman, an astronomer, each story is a marvel of compressed exegesis that takes into account some of the most modern and intriguing hypotheses.”—Steven Poole, Guardian   “Hedman is worth reading because he is careful to present both the power and peril of trying to extract precise chronological data. These are all very active areas of study, and as you read Hedman you begin to see how researchers have to be both very careful and incredibly audacious, and how much of our understanding of ourselves—through history, through paleontology, through astronomy—depends on determining the age of everything.”—Anthony Doerr, Boston Globe 

Cover Art
The Discoveries - Alan P. Lightman
Call Number: Q 180.55 .D57 L54 2005
ISBN: 0375421688
Publication Date: 2005-11-08
An unprecedented explosion of creativity, insight, and breakthrough occurred in every field of science in the last century. From the theory of relativity to the first quantum model of the atom to the mapping of the structure of DNA, these discoveries profoundly changed the way we understand the world and our place in it. Now the physicist and novelist Alan Lightman tells the stories of two dozen of the most seminal discoveries. In lucid and literary prose, Lightman paints the intellectual and emotional landscape of each discovery, portrays the personalities and human drama of the scientists involved, and explains the significance and impact of the work. He explores such questions as whether there were common patterns of research, whether the discoveries were accidental or intentional, and whether the scientists were aware of or oblivious to the significance of what they had found. Finally, Lightman gives an unprecedented and exhilarating guided tour through each of the original papers, which are included in the book. Here are Einstein and Bohr, McClintock and Pauling, Planck and Heisenberg, and many others in their own words, grappling with the nature of the world. Original in its scope and depth, The Discoveries offers an extraordinary exploration into the nature of scientific discoveries and the minds of the men and women who made them. From the Hardcover edition.

Cover Art
The Oxford Companion to the History of Modern Science - John L. Heilbron (Editor)
Call Number: Q 125 .O86 2003
ISBN: 0195112296
Publication Date: 2003-03-27
From the biographies on Galileo and Dorothy Hodgkin to the discussions chronicling the change of science from simply a tool of learning to a major force in society, The Oxford Companion to the History of Modern Science is the most comprehensive one-volume resource on science from 1550 to the present. Along with chemistry, physics, and biology, the major scientific disciplines are represented in this alphabetically arranged work including astrology, ethnology, and zoology, among many others. General concepts such as gender and science and scientific development are explored along with major time periods that had a tremendous impact on the field including the Enlightenment and Globalization (post-World War II). The coverage is not limited to just one geographical area but is worldwide, tracing science from its traditional centres and explaining how non-western societies have modified and contributed to its global arena. Major divisions of thought including Aristotelianismand mechanical philosophy are also covered as well as an examination of science and its relationship to professional practice and the changing face of disciplines and sub-disciplines. Individual institutions such as CERN and the Third World Academy of Science are explored as well as the epistemology and methodology of scientific knowledge, theoretical constructs, information on apparatus and instruments, the social aspects and responsibilities of science, and the innumerable uses of the appliedsciences. Over 90 biographies bring these fields to life with the stories behind the great achievements. Among the notable scientists are Linus Pauling, Margaret Mead, Niels Bohr, Albert Einstein, and Edwin Hubble. An excellent overview of the field of science and its development over the past few generations, The Oxford Companion to the History of Modern Science is an essential resource for students, historians, teachers, scientists, doctors, engineers, and anyone with an interest in themany and varied aspects of science.

Cover Art
Women and Science: social impact and interaction - Suzanne LeMay Sheffield
Call Number: Q 130 .S44 2006
ISBN: 0813537371
Publication Date: 2005-09-29
For generations, aspiring women scientists have looked to Marie Curie, the famed Nobel Prize-winning chemist, for inspiration. But what lesson, exactly, are they to draw from her example? Marie Curie was exceptional, but she was ordinary as well. She faced all the trials and tribulations shared by women of her time; furthermore, she had to contend with the barriers against women's wider participation in educational institutions, in scientific practice, and professional attainments and rewards. Indeed, her struggles and failures tell us more about the fate of women in the sciences, historically, than her achievements ever will. From Maria Winkelman's discovery of the comet of 1702 to the Nobel Prize-winning work of twentieth-century scientist Barbara McClintock, women have played a central role in modern science. Their successes have not come easily, nor have they been consistently recognized. This important book examines the challenges and barriers women scientists have faced and chronicles their achievements as they struggled to attain recognition for their work in the male-dominated world of modern science. As the only comprehensive textbook to examine women's participation in, and portrayal by, Western science from the scientific revolution to the present, Women and Science is an essential teaching and reference tool for students in both the history of science and women's studies.

 

Books from the Warner University Library

 

Christianity/Morals and Science Books

Cover Art
A Science and Religion Primer - Heather Looy (Editor); Baker Publishing Group Staff; Heidi A. Campbell (Editor)
Call Number: BL 240.3 .S349 2009
ISBN: 9780801031502
Publication Date: 2009-03-01
The California missions are unique reminders of a largely ignored part of the history of the United States. Nowhere else in the United States can one view such complete remnants of an earlier rule. Lands Never Trodden brings to the general public the fullest examination to date of the institutions of the Franciscan missions in California and of the stories hidden in these monuments. Franciscan priests, Spanish officials, and Native Americans all have their stories faithfully reported in this volume. Each mission carries with it tales of unremitting labor, sacrifice, love, intrigue, passion, violence, and death. This volume treats the familiar stories of the missionaries as well as the previously untold stories of the Native Americans with equal candor. With more than sixty photographs, and based on exhaustive research and historical documents, Lands Never Trodden is an entertaining, educational, and readable presentation of the twenty-one California missions.

Cover Art
Faith and Science - Paul McCaffrey
Call Number: BL 240.3 .F35 2012
ISBN: 9780824211196
Publication Date: 2012-10-01
The reference shelf v. 84, no. 5

Cover Art
Science and Ethics: can science help us make wise moral judgments? - Paul Kurtz (Editor); David R. Koepsell
Call Number: Q 175.35 .S346 2007
ISBN: 9781591025375
Publication Date: 2007-06-05
In a world confronted by conflicting moral beliefs and values, the question is often raised, "Can science help us to solve our moral problems?" Many people today believe that moral principles are derived from religion. Their critics point out that the great religions often vehemently disagree about what is good, bad, right, and wrong. On the other side of a great divide stand many who say that there are no ethical standards at all and that morality is merely a question of personal taste or cultural relativity. This volume presents a unique collection of authors who generally maintain that science can help us make wise choices and that an increase in scientific knowledge can help modify our ethical values and bring new ethical principles into social awareness. Among the thirty contributors to this volume are distinguished scientists and philosophers, including Arthur Caplan, Vern Bullough, Mario Bunge, Tom Flynn, Susan Haack, Richard Hull, Scott Lilienfeld, Ronald Lindsay, Thomas Szasz, Richard Taylor, and others. Among the wide-ranging topics discussed are bio-genetic engineering, stem cell research, organ transplants, human enhancement, abortion, euthanasia, psychiatry, and psychotherapy. Editor Paul Kurtz maintains that there is a modified form of naturalistic ethics that is directly relevant to both science and ethics and provides guidelines for our moral choices.

Cover Art
Science and Faith: friends or foes? - C. John Collins
Call Number: BL 240.3 .C65 2003
ISBN: 1581344309
Publication Date: 2003-10-15
Many believers worry that science undermines the Christian faith. Instead of fearing scientific discovery, Jack Collins believes that Christians should delight in the natural world and study it. God’s truth will stand against any challenge and will enrich the very scientific studies that we fear.Collins first defines faith and science, shows their relation, and explains what claims each has concerning truth. Then he applies the biblical teaching on creation to the topics of “conflict” between faith and science, including the age of the earth, evolution, and miracles. He considers what it means to live in a created world. This book is for anyone looking for a Christian engagement with science without technical jargon.Collins maps the entire interface between faithful biblical interpretation and questions of all sorts posed in the name of the sciences. Interesting, fair-minded, shrewd, and clear from start to finish, this will prove outstanding as a pastoral resource. — J. I. Packer Professor of Theology, Regent CollegeThere is something here for just about everyone. Science and Faith is required reading for all who are interested in the relationship between science and the Christian faith. — J. P. Moreland Distinguished Professor of Philosophy, Talbot School of Theology, Biola UniversityThis is a highly significant book on possibly the most important subject confronting the church today—the neutrality of science. A delightful style makes it easily accessible yet the author never neglects important issues. It is the best book of its kind for decades. — Ranald Macaulay L’Abri FellowshipJack Collins is my kind of guy—a fellow MIT nerd. But he is much more: a brilliant scholar of biblical languages and a keen observer of the interaction between science and the Christian faith. This is a wonderful book, and I recommend it most strongly. — Henry F. Schaefer III Professor of Chemistry and Director of the Center for Computational Quantum Chemistry, University of Georgia

Cover Art
Science and Grace: Gods reign in the natural sciences - Tim Morris; Don Petcher; Joseph P. Gudel; Good News Publishers Staff
Call Number: BL 240.3 .M67 2006
ISBN: 1581345496
Publication Date: 2006-03-16
Dear Muslim friend, do you believe the words and teachings of your holy Qur’an? Or have you unknowingly rejected the testimony of the Qur’an about Jesus (or Isa) and about the prior revelations that God sent to bear witness to him? If you trust the Qur’an and have an open and prayerful heart, you may be surprised at what it says about the prophet Jesus. The Testimony of the Qur’anThe Qur’an declares many wonderful things about the prophet Jesus. Three surahs (or chapters) are named after references to him, and he is spoken of in fifteen surahs (ninety-three verses) altogether, more than any other person in the entire Qur’an.The Qur’an teaches that Jesus healed the sick and raised the dead (3:49; 5:113), was born of the virgin Mary (3:45-47; 23:50; 19:16-22), brought the gospel to the Jewish people (3:49-51; 13:38), and was an apostle and prophet of God (3:49; 6:85-90). In the Qur’an, Jesus alone is supported by the Holy Spirit (2:87, 253). Jesus alone is called “the Word of God” (3:45; 4:171) and “the Messiah” (“Christ,” 3:45; 4:157, 172, etc). Yet the Qur’an is not the only testimony to Jesus. Nor is it the primary one. The Qur’an repeatedly states that God sent prior revelations to the Jews and the Christians: The Torah (Taurat), the Psalms (Zabur), and the Gospel (Injil). Have you ever read what these prophetic words say about Jesus? The Qur’an’s Testimony to God’s Prior RevelationsBut you may wonder if the Jewish and Christian Scriptures are really trustworthy revelations from God.Perhaps you have been told that they have been corrupted or lost. What does the Qur’an say about this? God Sent Other Scriptures Prior to the Qur’anIn numerous places the Qur’an testifies that God gave the Jews and the Christians revelations in the past: “He sent down the Law (of Moses) and the Gospel (of Jesus) before this, as a guide to mankind” (3:3-4); “Say, ‘We believe in the revelation which has come down to us and in that which came down to you’” (29:46; cf. 6:89; 2:136; 5:46-47; 7:157). These Revelations Existed During Muhammad’s TimeIn other passages the Qur’an is clear that these Scriptures existed during Muhammad’s lifetime: “Say ‘O People of the Book! Ye have no ground to stand upon unless ye stand fast by the Law, the Gospel, and all the revelation that has come to you from your Lord’” (5:68; cf. 4:136; 10:94 3:93; 5:46, 59, 68-69).It would be impossible for Christians and Jews (the People of the Book) to “stand fast” by these revelations unless they were still in their possession at that time. Many ancient copies exist of both the Torah and the Gospel that are dated centuries before Muhammad. These are entirely consistent with the books known in the Bible as the Old and New Testament. The Qur’an Was Sent to Confirm & Guard These ScripturesOther verses claim that the Qur’an was sent to “confirm” the scriptures that God had sent beforehand: “This is a Book which We have sent down, bringing blessings, and confirming (the revelations) which came before it” (6:92, emphasis added; cf., 2:40-41, 89, 91; 3:3).The Qur’an also claims it “guards” these scriptures (5:51). If, however, the Bible had become so thoroughly corrupted that it was no longer capable of guiding the people, as many Muslims now assert, how could the Qur’an be said to “confirm” and “guard” it? God’s Revelations Can Never Be Changed by MenAccording to the Qur’an it is impossible for anyone to change or corrupt God’s revelations: “There is none that can alter the words (and decrees) of God” (6:34; cf. 6:115); “No change can there be in the words of God”

Cover Art
Science and Religion, 1450-1900: from Copernicus to Darwin - Richard G. Olson
Call Number: BL 245 .O47 2004
ISBN: 0801884004
Publication Date: 2006-04-25
Galileo. Newton. Darwin. These giants are remembered for their great contributions to science. Often forgotten, however, is the profound influence that Christianity had on their lives and work. This study explores the many ways in which religion-its ideas, attitudes, practices, and institutions-interacted with science from the beginnings of the Scientific Revolution to the end of the nineteenth century. Both scientists and persons of faith sometimes characterize the relationship between science and religion as confrontational. Historian Richard G. Olson finds instead that the interactions between science and religion in Western Christendom have been complex, often mutually supportive, even transformative. This book explores those interactions by focusing on a sequence of major religious and intellectual movements-from Christian Humanist efforts to turn science from a primarily contemplative exercise to an activity aimed at improving the quality of human life, to the widely varied Christian responses to Darwinian ideas in both Europe and North America during the second half of the nineteenth century.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip