1089 and All That: a journey into mathematics
Call Number: QA 93 .A287 2002
Publication Date: 2002-09-26
David Acheson's extraordinary little book makes mathematics accessible to everyone. From very simple beginnings he takes us on a thrilling journey to some deep mathematical ideas. On the way, via Kepler and Newton, he explains what calculus really means, gives a brief history of pi, and even takes us to chaos theory and imaginary numbers. Every short chapter is carefully crafted to ensure that no one will get lost on the journey. Packed with puzzles and illustrated by world famous cartoonists, this is one of the most readable and imaginative books on mathematics ever written.
Applied Mathematics for Business, Economics, Life Sciences and Social Sciences
Call Number: QA 39 2 .B366 2000
Publication Date: 1999-08-11
This text is designed for a two-term course in finite mathematics and calculus for students who already have some background in algebra, yet it is adaptable to a variety of courses, allowing flexibility in chapter choice and usage.
Business Math Demystified
Call Number: HF 5691 .B666 2006
Publication Date: 2006-03-10
This work teaches business-management students all the basic mathematics used in a retail business and follows the standard curriculum of Business Math courses.
Business Ratios and Formulas: a comprehensive guide
Call Number: HF 5691 .B73 2002
Publication Date: 2002-09-30
A complete appraisal of analytical tools available to managers to assess performance "Steve Bragg has created a useful, relevant guide to applying performance measurements across the organization. His practical explanations and examples should enable managers to apply sophisticated performance measures in a straightforward manner. This book will be a great tool for process improvement. It should be well received by managers, accountants, and consultants." -Clint Davies, Partner (Principal), Berry, Dunn, McNeil & Parker Business managers require a variety of analytical tools to assess a host of organizational performance standards-from finance, efficiency, capacity, and market share to asset utilization, cash flows, liquidity, and capital structure. Steven Bragg's Business Ratios and Formulas represents a comprehensive resource of nearly 200 operational criteria, allowing managers and auditors to pick and choose the tools they need to best assess their organization's performance. Each cataloged measurement includes a description, an example, and some time-tested troubleshooting. Business Ratios and Formulas proves an authoritative resource for managers wishing to thoroughly assess organizational performance.
Change Is Possible: stories of women and minorities in mathematics
Call Number: QA 10.5 .K46 2005
Publication Date: 2005-09-19
The role of minority and women mathematicians in developing our American mathematical community is an important but previously under-told story. Pat Kenschaft, in her highly readable and entertaining style, fills this knowledge gap. This valuable book should be in your personal library --Donald G. Saari, University of California, Irvine Kenschaft reveals the passions that motivated past and present mathematicians and the obstacles they overcame to achieve their dreams. Through research and in-depth personal interviews, she has explored the sensitive issues of racism and sexism, rejoicing in positive changes and alerting us to issues that still need our attention. --Claudia Zaslavsky, the author of "Africa Counts" and other books on equity issues in mathematics education. Based on dozens of interviews and extensive historical research, this entertaining book relates stories about mathematicians who have defied stereotypes. It is spiced with interesting photographs. The five chapters about women provide insight into the nineteenth century, the mid-twentieth century, the early 1970s, the early 1990s, and 2004. Activists in many fields can take heart at the changes. The author documents trends from the rudimentary struggles simply to become professionals, to the freedom to be married without giving up a career entirely, to organizing to eliminate the most flagrant discrimination, to efforts to improve the daily treatment of women in the professional community, to widespread efforts toward true equity. The stories of African Americans in mathematics include that of Benjamin Banneker, an eighteenth century American who had three grandparents born in Africa. Banneker helped design Washington, D.C. and made the computations for almanacs that succeeded Benjamin Franklin's. Next follow stories about other African American mathematicians who were students and faculty in late nineteenth century colleges. Stories of several efforts to integrate the mathematical community in the mid-twentieth century indicate that some were more successful than others, but all were difficult. The book concludes with a happier chapter about five black mathematicians in the early twenty-first century. Five interviews with leading Latino American mathematicians are included, along with a report of a survey of Latino research mathematicians in the Southwest. A skilled story-teller with good stories to tell has produced a page-turner that all mathematicians should read, as well as others concerned with equity --and they will enjoy their reading.
College Mathematics: based on Schaum's Theory and problems of college mathematics
Call Number: QA 37.3 .A97 2001
Publication Date: 2001-06-26
Boiled-down essentials of the top-selling Schaum's Outline series for the student with limited time What could be better than the bestselling Schaum's Outline series? For students looking for a quick nuts-and-bolts overview, it would have to be Schaum's Easy Outline series. Every book in this series is a pared-down, simplified, and tightly focused version of its predecessor. With an emphasis on clarity and brevity, each new title features a streamlined and updated format and the absolute essence of the subject, presented in a concise and readily understandable form. Graphic elements such as sidebars, reader-alert icons, and boxed highlights stress selected points from the text, illuminate keys to learning, and give students quick pointers to the essentials.Designed to appeal to underprepared students and readers turned off by dense textCartoons, sidebars, icons, and other graphic pointers get the material across fastConcise text focuses on the essence of the subjectDelivers expert help from teachers who are authorities in their fieldsPerfect for last-minute test preparationSo small and light that they fit in a backpack!
College Placement Math Success in 20 Minutes a Day
Call Number: qQA 43 .C7315 2013
Publication Date: 2013-04-16
This new addition to the bestselling 20 Minutes a Day series helps students master the math essentials found on all levels of the COMPASS, ASSET, and ACCUPLACER exams. These exams, given by colleges country-wide, are taken by students to place them into the appropriate courses. Placing out of courses with a high score can mean credits (and money) saved. This guide is an unbeatable review of Pre-Algebra, Algebra, Geometry, Trigonometry, and more.
Complexities - Women in Mathematics
Call Number: QA 27.5 .C66 2005
Publication Date: 2005-01-30
Sophie Germain taught herself mathematics by candlelight, huddled in her bedclothes. Ada Byron Lovelace anticipated aspects of general-purpose digital computing by more than a century. Cora Ratto de Sadosky advanced messages of tolerance and equality while sharing her mathematical talents with generations of students. This captivating book gives voice to women mathematicians from the late eighteenth century through to the present day. It documents the complex nature of the conditions women around the world have faced--and continue to face--while pursuing their careers in mathematics. The stories of the three women above and those of many more appear here, each one enlightening and inspiring. The earlier parts of the book provide historical context and perspective, beginning with excursions into the lives of fifteen women born before 1920. Included are histories of collective efforts to improve women's opportunities in research mathematics. In addition, a photo essay puts a human face on the subject as it illustrates women's contributions in professional associations. More than eighty women from academe, government, and the private sector provide a rich mélange of insights and strategies for creating workable career paths while maintaining rewarding personal lives. The book discusses related social and cultural issues, and includes a summary of recent comparative data relating to women and men in mathematics and women from other sciences. First-person accounts provide explicit how-tos; many narratives demonstrate great determination and perseverance. Talented women vividly portray their pleasure in discovering new mathematics. The senior among them speak out candidly, interweaving their mathematics with autobiographical detail. At the beginning of a new century, women at all stages of their careers share their outlooks and experiences. Clear, engaging, and meticulously researched, Complexities will inspire young women who are contemplating careers in mathematics and will speak to women in many fields of endeavor and walks of life.
CRC Standard Mathematical Tables and Formulae
Call Number: QA 47 .M315 2003
Publication Date: 2002-11-25
A perennial bestseller, the 30th edition of CRC Standard Mathematical Tables and Formulae was the first "modern" edition of the handbook - adapted to be useful in the era of personal computers and powerful handheld devices. Now this version will quickly establish itself as the "user-friendly" edition. With a detailed table of contents and an extensive index listing over 6,000 entries, the 31st edition of this hugely successful handbook makes information even easier to locate. New in the 31st edition: Game theory and voting power Heuristic search techniques Quadratic fields Reliability Risk analysis and decision rules A table of solutions to Pell's equation A table of irreducible polynomials in Z2[x] An interpretation of powers of 10 A collection of "proofs without words" Representations of groups of small order Counting principles Tesselations and tilings …and much more! An indispensable, up-to-date resource, CRC Standard Mathematical Tables and Formulae, 31st Edition makes it effortless to find the equations, tables, and formulae you need most often.
The Complete How to Figure Itusing math in everyday life / Darrell Huff ; illustrated by Carolyn R. Kinsey ; designed by Kristy Maria Huff.
Call Number: QA 93 .H785 1999
Publication Date: 1999-08-17
Budgeting and personal finance, planning for retirement, buying a house, estimating travel and leisure expenses, estimating costs of home repair: modern life presents us with an array of calculations we need to make but may not know how. Now, with his trademark wry humor and simple language, Darrell Huff explains how to figure: the likely outcome of different investments; how much home insurance is enough; whether it makes more sense to buy or lease a new car; the most efficient way to save for future needs, from vacations to college tuition; air-conditioning and heating requirements for a new house; how many rolls of wallpaper you will need for a particular room; and much more. Here are tips for getting the most out of a modest pocket calculator or home computer to make tedious calcuations easy, a handy chapter on "Math in a Hurry," and even tips on improving your chances in tennis, horse racing, and blackjack.
The Facts on File Dictionary of Mathematics
Call Number: QA 5 .F35 2005
Publication Date: 2005-05-01
'The Facts on File Dictionary of Mathematics' includes all the general terms of interest to the secondary school and ordinary reader. It explains the most important and commonly used terms in mathematics, illustrating the more complex concepts.
The HarperCollins Dictionary of Mathematics
Call Number: QA 5 .B625 1991
Publication Date: 1991-08-01
Provides definitions of terms from both pure and applied mathematics.
More Mathematics Books
An Elementary Introduction to Mathematical Finance : options and other topics
Call Number: HG 4515.3 .R67 2003
Publication Date: 2002-11-18
This unique book on the basics of option pricing is mathematically accurate and yet accessible to readers with limited mathematical training. It will appeal to professional traders as well as undergraduates studying the basics of finance. The author assumes no prior knowledge of probability, and offers clear, simple explanations of arbitrage, the Black-Scholes option pricing formula, and other topics such as utility functions, optimal portfolio selections, and the capital assets pricing model. Among the many new features of this second edition are: a new chapter on optimization methods in finance; a new section on Value at Risk and Conditional Value at Risk; a new and simplified derivation of the Black-Scholes equation, together with derivations of the partial derivatives of the Black-Scholes option cost function and of the computational Black-Scholes formula; three different models of European call options with dividends; a new, easily implemented method for estimating the volatility parameter.
Dealing with Dyscalculia sum hope 2
Call Number: QA 11 .C483 2007
Publication Date: 2007-10-28
Presenting a new method for learning math, this guide is for people who have dyscalculia, a condition characterized by mathematical ability substantially below expectation given a person's age, general intelligence, and education. Dyscalculia can affect a person's life in many ways#151;from dealing with a financial budgetnbsp;to keeping track of time#151;and this sympathetic, accessible book helps make everyday math easier. It offers alternative techniques for adding, subtracting, dividing, multiplying, fractions, and percentages in an unconventional and relaxed way. Developing one of the most important skills in life enables those with dyscalculia to build confidence in using numbers and feel in control.
Descartes's Secret Notebook: a true tale of mathematics, mysticism, and the quest to understand the universe
Call Number: QA 29 .D55 A25 2005
Publication Date: 2005-10-11
RenÈ Descartes (1596 1650) is one of the towering and central figures in Western philosophy and mathematics. His apothegm "Cogito, ergo sum" marked the birth of the mind-body problem, while his creation of so-called Cartesian coordinates has made our intellectual conquest of physical space possible. But Descartes had a mysterious and mystical side, as well. Almost certainly a member of the occult brotherhood of the Rosicrucians, he kept a secret notebook, now lost, most of which was written in code. After Descartes's death, Gottfried Leibniz, inventor of calculus and one of the greatest mathematicians of all time, moved to Paris in search of this notebook–and eventually found it in the possession of Claude Clerselier, a friend of Descartes's. Liebniz called on Clerselier and was allowed to copy only a couple of pages–which, though written in code, he amazingly deciphered there on the spot. Liebniz's hastily scribbled notes are all we have today of Descartes's notebook. Why did Descartes keep a secret notebook, and what were its contents? The answers to these questions will lead the reader on an exciting, swashbuckling journey, and offer a fascinating look at one of the great figures of Western culture.
Encyclopedia of Mathematics and Society
Call Number: QA 10.7 .E53 2012 V.1 - V. 3
Publication Date: 2011-10-01
For high school students and college undergraduates, this three-volume set invites understanding of math as an activity embedded in virtually every human endeavor. A total of 478 signed articles ranging in length from 500 to 3500 words and arranged alphabetically address various aspects of architecture, engineering, the arts, music, entertainment, business, economics, computers, religion, games, sports, politics, history, medicine, travel, weather, and the environment, among other broad themes. Each article begins with identification of the field's "category" and fields of study, as well as a one-line summary; and each article ends with a further reading list and cross-references. The third volume contains a chronology, resource guide, and glossary as well as the index for the set. Editors Greenwald and Thomley are affiliated with Appalachian State U. Online access is included with purchase of the print edition. Annotation ©2012 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com)
Everyday Math for Everyday Life: a handbook for when it just doesn't add up
Call Number: QA 93 .R93 2002
Publication Date: 2002-12-01
Everyday math skills can be painlessly learned and easily mastered, transforming readers from a person who doesn't know the meaning of APR into someone who understands credit card rates. Ryan's guide is broken into sections which review basic arithmetic from fractions to percents.
Everyday Math for the Numerically Challenged
Call Number: QA 93 .C37 2000
Publication Date: 1998-01-01
Presents math basics needed to succeed in business and daily life, including using percents, charts and graphs, and algebra.
Fantasy Basketball and Mathematics : a resource guide for teachers and parents
Call Number: QA 135.6 .F593 2007
Publication Date: 2007-03-23
A great new way to getall kids excited about math! Fantasy sports are a hit worldwide, and now teachers and parents can take advantage of this phenomenon to give students a reason to look forward to doing math. The games and activities in Fantasy Basketball and Mathematics will get kids excited about learning and practicing math, even if they're not big sports fans. With this fun-filled educational resource, you can teach one math concept or many and plan lessons that can last for a week or a whole season. Here's how it works. Students create fantasy teams by picking real-life professional basketball players, following their players' statistics, and calculating their team's total points using algebraic or nonalgebraic methods specifically designed to complement the math skills they are learning. The instructions are easy to follow, and the dynamic hands-on games address all learning styles and abilities. The book includes more than 100 scoring systems that give you the flexibility to customize the content according to your students' skill levels. In addition to the basic Fantasy Basketball game, the book contains easy-to-use lesson plans, reproducible worksheets for extra practice on 46 different math concepts, graphing activities, quizzes, a pre- and post- test, and an answer key. More than just a fun way to learn math, the book's activities also support the NCTM Math Standards. "The beauty of the Fantasy Sports and Mathematics programs is that while all the students are busy having fun, enjoying the competition, and building better relationships with sports-minded parents, they are, much to their surprise, learning to love math." --Ryan D. Verver, math teacher,Southwest Chicago Christian School "Students were eager to be the first in their math class to tally their scores and begin working with their team's stats. It was great to see boys and girls who were working both above and below grade level fully engaged in using their math skills and learning new ones." --Sara Suchman, Harvard Graduate School of Education, former middle school director Also available in the Fantasy Sports and Mathematics series: Fantasy Basketball and Mathematics | Fantasy Football and Mathematics | Fantasy Soccer and Mathematics
Five Equations That Changed the World: the power and poetry of mathematics
Call Number: QC 24.5 .G85 1995
Publication Date: 2000-09-01
God Created the Integers: the mathematical breakthroughs that changed history
Call Number: QA 241 .H392 2005
Publication Date: 2005-10-04
Bestselling author and physicist Stephen Hawking explores the "masterpieces" of mathematics, 25 landmarks spanning 2,500 years and representing the work of 15 mathematicians, including Augustin Cauchy, Bernard Riemann, and Alan Turing. This extensive anthology allows readers to peer into the mind of genius by providing them with excerpts from the original mathematical proofs and results. It also helps them understand the progression of mathematical thought, and the very foundations of our present-day technologies. Each chapter begins with a biography of the featured mathematician, clearly explaining the significance of the result, followed by the full proof of the work, reproduced from the original publication.
Great Feuds in Mathematics : ten of the liveliest disputes ever
Call Number: QA 21 .H45 2006
Publication Date: 2006-09-01
Praise for Hal Hellman Great Feuds in Mathematics ""Those who think that mathematicians are cold, mechanical proving machines will do well to read Hellman's book on conflicts in mathematics. The main characters are as excitable and touchy as the next man. But Hellman's stories also show how scientific fights bring out sharper formulations and better arguments."" -Professor Dirk van Dalen, Philosophy Department, Utrecht University Great Feuds in Technology ""There's nothing like a good feud to grab your attention. And when it comes to describing the battle, Hal Hellman is a master."" -New Scientist Great Feuds in Science ""Unusual insight into the development of science . . . I was excited by this book and enthusiastically recommend it to general as well as scientific audiences."" -American Scientist ""Hellman has assembled a series of entertaining tales . . . many fine examples of heady invective without parallel in our time."" -Nature Great Feuds in Medicine ""This engaging book documents [the] reactions in ten of the most heated controversies and rivalries in medical history. . . . The disputes detailed are . . . fascinating. . . . It is delicious stuff here."" -The New York Times ""Stimulating."" -Journal of the American Medical Association
Oxford Users' Guide to Mathematics
Call Number: QA 40 .T4813 2004
Publication Date: 2004-11-04
The Oxford Users' Guide to Mathematics represents a comprehensive handbook on mathematics. It covers a broad spectrum of mathematics including analysis, algebra, geometry, foundations of mathematics, calculus of variations and optimization, theory of probability and mathematical statistics, numerical mathematics and scientific computing, and history of mathematics. This is supplemented by numerous tables on infinite series, special functions, integrals, integral transformations, mathematical statistics, and fundamental constants in physics. The book offers a broad modern picture of mathematics starting from basic material up to more advanced topics. It emphasizes the relations between the different branches of mathematics and the applications of mathematics in engineering and the natural sciences. The book addresses students in engineering, mathematics, computer science, natural sciences, high-school teachers, as well as a broad spectrum of practitioners in industry and professional researchers. A comprehensive table at the end of the handbook embeds the history of mathematics into the history of human culture. The bibliography represents a comprehensive collection of the contemporary standard literature in the main fields of mathematics.
The Equation That Couldn't Be Solved: how mathematical genius discovered the language of symmetry
Call Number: QA 174.2 .L58 2005
Publication Date: 2005-09-13
Symmetry is the concept that bridges the worlds of art and science, a concept that spans the world of theoretical physics and the everyday world we see around us. This book shows how group theory can explain the symmetry and order of both the natural and the human-made worlds.
The Math of Sports
Call Number: qQA 109 .M376 2000
Publication Date: 2000-08-01
Series Title: Integrating math in the real world