EBSCO Tutorials and GuidesUseful resources 1Useful Resources 2
Legal/Law eBooksGale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL) Law eBooksTeen Rights and Freedoms (eBooks) - Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL)Other DatabasesGoogle Scholar/Writing ResourcesInternational Resources
Criminal Justice eBooksGale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL) Criminal Justice eBooksIndividual eBooksDatabasesGoogle Scholar/Writing ResourcesFlorida Criminal JusticeNational Criminal JusticeUseful linksInternational Resources
General Information - Credo ReferenceCatching and Convicting - Credo ReferenceCrimes - Credo ReferenceCriminal Profiles - Credo ReferenceJurists - Credo ReferenceLegal Systems - Credo ReferenceNotable Cases - Credo Reference
Florida Law LinksInternational Law LinksUseful links
This is the "Legal Research" page of the "Law and Criminal Justice Research " guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Law and Criminal Justice Research  

Useful Law Research Resources
Last Updated: Aug 22, 2017 URL: http://libguides.warner.edu/law Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Legal Research Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Books from the Warner University Library

 

Law/Legal Books

Cover Art
1001 Legal Words You Need to Know - Jay M. Feinman (Editor); Erin McKean (Editor)
Call Number: KF 156 .A113 2003
ISBN: 0195165039
Publication Date: 2003-09-18
1001 Legal Words You Need to Know explains and illuminates the most difficult and arcane vocabulary any American has to deal with-that of the law. This comprehensive but never condescending guide to the language of the American legal system carefully defines and explains every term with asample sentence, and many entries have supplementary notes. In addition, the book includes a number of quick miniguides to legal troubleshooting that include information on understanding wills, trusts, and inheritance, granting someone the power of attorney, understanding contracts, what to do ifyou're sued, how to choose a lawyer, exploring law school, and enjoying cop and lawyer dramas. The backmatter contains an extensive list of legal aid organizations and a helpful bibliography of books about the law and lawyers for further reading.

Cover Art
Black's Law Dictionary, Standard Ninth Edition - Bryan A. Garner
Call Number: KF 156 .B53 2009
ISBN: 9780314199492
Publication Date: 2009-06-25
For more than a century Black's has been the gold standard for the language of law. Today it is the most widely cited law book in the world. Edited by Bryan A. Garner, the world's leading legal lexicographer, the 9th Edition is the most authoritative, comprehensive law dictionary ever published. It contains more than 45,000 terms and includes: 2,000 more terms than the 8th Edition and 19,000 more than the 7th Edition including click fraud, Code Adam, collaborative law, ecoterrorism, environmental tort, friendly subpoena, happy-slapping, honor crime, secret detention, Schumer box, and super precedent. The date when selected terms were first used in English-language contexts, especially in judicial opinions, Heightened accuracy, more than 200 lawyers around the country reviewed terms. Definitions of more than 1,000 law-related abbreviations and acronyms. Almost 3,000 quotations drawn from sources over five centuries. Alternate spellings or equivalent expressions for more than 5,300 terms and West Key Numbers.

Cover Art
Banking and Financial Institutions Law in a Nutshell - William A. Lovett
Call Number: KF 975 .L68 2001
ISBN: 0314247343
Publication Date: 2000-10-01
Evolution of Banking and Financial Institutions Law; Money and Banking; Banking Market Regulation: Thrift Institutions; Securities Market Regulation; Insurance Regulation; Pension Funds. Retirement Account and Social Security; Controversies and Prospects.

 

More Law/Legal Books

Cover Art
Commonplace books of law: A selection of law-related notebooks
Call Number: KF 368 .C734 2005
Publication Date: University of Alabama School of Law 2005

Cover Art
Law School 101, 2E: how to succeed in your first year of law school and beyond - R. Stephanie Good
Call Number: KF 283 .G66 2009
ISBN: 1572486961
Publication Date: 2009-06-01

Everything you need to know to excel in your first year of law school and beyond.

Whether you are thinking about law school, have already applied and been accepted, or started your first year, you need to know what to expect in law school and how to succeed. Law School 101gives an honest look at the law school experience from someone who has been there, and tells students what they should really expect. It also helps students develop the skills necessary to survive the challenges and excel in their program. It includes the survival skills you need in key areas, including:

  • Handling the pressure of law school
  • What to expect from your classes and professors
  • How to study for and pass your law school exams
  • Job information for first and second year students

Avoid common pitfalls, decode law school myths, and achieve your dream.


Cover Art
The Rule of Lawyers - Walter K. Olson
Call Number: KF 8896 .O44 2003
ISBN: 0312280858
Publication Date: 2003-01-21
Big-ticket litigation is a way of life in this country. But something new is afoot - something typified by the $246 billion tobacco settlement, and by courtroom assaults that have followed against industries ranging from HMOs to gunmakers, from lead paint manufacturers to "factory farms." Each massive class-action suit seeks to invent new law, to ban or tax or regulate something that elected lawmakers had chosen to leave alone. And each time the new process works as intended, the new litigation elite reaps billions in fees - which they invest in fresh rounds of suits, as well as political contributions. The Rule of Lawyers asks: Who picks these lawyers, and who can fire them? Who protects the public's interest when settlements are negotiated behind closed doors? Where are our elected lawmakers in all this? The answers may determine whether we slip from the rule of law to the rule of lawyers.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip