Useful Law Research Resources
- The 'Lectric Law Library's Free Legal Lexicon - Terms, Definitions & Explanations
A Law Dictionary with Thousands of Definitions & Explanations of Legal Terms, Phrases & Concepts.
- TheFreeDictionary - Legal Dictionary
The main source of TheFreeDictionary's legal dictionary is West's Encyclopedia of American Law, Edition 2, which contains more than 4,000 entries detailing terms, concepts, events, movements, cases, and individuals significant to United States law.
- Wex - Legal Dictionary and Legal Encyclopedia (Cornell University Law School – Legal Information Institute [LII])
Wex is a free legal dictionary and encyclopedia sponsored and hosted by the Legal Information Institute at the Cornell Law School. Wex entries are collaboratively created and edited by legal experts.
- AdministrativeRules.org – Web Portal to State Rules and Regulations (National Association of Secretaries of State, USA)
Provides administrative codes and registers links by state.
- Federal Register – National Archives
The Office of the Federal Register (OFR) provides access to the official text of:
3.Administrative Regulations and Notices
4.Descriptions of Federal Organizations, Programs and Activities
- Free Video Lectures (FVL) - Law & Social Sciences
FVL is the worlds biggest class room recorded video lectures collection with more than 740+ courses, 18,000+ video lectures from more than 20 top universities. Most of the videos are down-loadable in various formats and updated almost everyday.
- Guide to Law Online - Library of Congress
The Guide to Law Online, prepared by the Law Library of Congress Public Services Division, is an annotated guide to sources of information on government and law available online. It includes selected links to useful and reliable sites for legal information.
- Legal Information Institute [LII] - Cornell University Law School
A not-for-profit group that believes everyone should be able to read and understand the laws that govern them, without cost. This vision is carried out by:
•Publishing law online, for free.
•Creating materials that help people understand law.
•Exploring new technologies that make it easier for people to find the law.
- Legal Profession Statistics – American Bar Association
Current statistical data has been gathered to assist with research on lawyers and the legal profession.
- Open Culture - The Best Free Cultural & Educational Media on the Web
Description: Free, open access resources organized by category. Resources listed include: Online Courses, MOOCS (Massive Open Online Courses), Movies, Audio Books, eBooks, Textbooks, Language Lessons, Business Courses, etc.
- Section of Legal Education and Admissions to the Bar – American Bar Association
About the Section: We provide leadership and services to those involved in legal education and admissions to the bar. The Section's Council is the national accrediting body for American legal education.
- Topical Index: State Statutes – Cornell University Law School – Legal Information Institute [LII]
- U.S. Code (Cornell University Law School – Legal Information Institute [LII])
- US Case Law – Justia.com
Search both federal and state courts.
- WashLaw (Legal Research on the Web) – Washburn University School of Law Library
Contains links to: U.S. Government, States, Foreign, International, Resources for Lawyers, Law Links, and Other Resources.