EBSCO Tutorials and GuidesUseful resources 1Useful Resources 2
InfoTrac/Hot TopicsNewspapers/Open Access - Popular MagazinesHistorical Newspapers/ProQuest US Newspapers CollectionOther Electronic Resources/Literature VideosInternational Resources/Google Scholar/Writing Resources
Terms & ConceptsAmerican PoetsAmerican NovelistsAmerican PlaywrightsCredo Reference eBooks
Pre-17th Century17th and 18th Century19th Century20th Century I20th Century IICredo Reference eBooks
GrammarFigures of SpeechAcademic IntegrityBooks
Classics: Greek and Other LiteratureClassics: Latin LiteratureFeminist Literature
LiteratureAmerican LiteratureAfrican-American/British LiteratureChristian/Women LiteratureWorld/Writers Literature
American Literature and Drama/Plays/RhetoricEnglish/World Literature /Literary Criticism/TheoryGothic Literature/ShakepeareMedieval/Renaissance Literature and PoetryKhan Academy: Grammar
ebrary Academic eBooks /eBooks on EBSCOhost
This is the "French Lit/Thought" page of the "Literature and English Research" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Literature and English Research  

Last Updated: Nov 15, 2017 URL: http://libguides.warner.edu/literature Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

French Lit/Thought Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Restricted Access Note

 The following are restricted to current Warner University students, faculty, and staff.

Log-in: Warner email account.

Language

Literary History

  • Poetry of France
    From The Princeton Encyclopedia of Poetry and Poetics
    I. Medieval to Early Modern
    II. Early Modern to 20th Century
  • French Literature
    From The Columbia Encyclopedia
    French literature, writings in medieval French dialects and standard modern French. Writings in Provençal and Breton are considered separately, as are works in French produced abroad (as at Canadian literature, French).

Institutions

  • L'Académie française: Topic Page
    The work of the French Academy has chiefly consisted of the preparation and revision of a dictionary (1st ed. 1694, 9th ed. 1992–) and of a grammar. The very conservative attitude of these books toward orthography, new words, and grammatical development has led to much criticism.
  • Institut de France: Topic Page
    Cultural institution of the French state. Founded in 1795 by the Directory, it replaced five learned societies that had been suppressed in 1793 by the Convention.

Timeline of French History

  • 1000 - 1300: Growth of the Kingdom of France
    From The Encyclopedia of World History
    FRANCE: THE CAPETIAN KINGS (987-1328) Direct line of the Capetian house (the dynasty continued until 1792).
  • 1300 - 1500
    From The Encyclopedia of World History
    1314-16 LOUIS X (the Quarrelsome). The real ruler was Louis's uncle, Charles of Valois. A reaction against the monarchy forced concessions from the king.
  • 1500 - 1650
    From The Encyclopedia of World History
    1483-98 CHARLES VIII. Death of the duke of Brittany (1488) called forth a coalition of the empire.
  • 1643 - 1787: National Patterns
    From The Encyclopedia of World History
    Monarchs: Louis XIV (1643 to 1715), Louis XV (1715 to 1774), Louis XVI (1774 to 1792).
  • 1799 - 1815: Napoleonic Period
    From The Encyclopedia of World History
    THE HOUSE OF BONAPARTE.
  • 1815 - 1848: Restoration
    From The Encyclopedia of World History
    THE HOUSE OF BOURBON-ORLEANS.
  • 1847 - 1852: Revolutions in Europe
    From The Encyclopedia of World History
    1847-48 The banquets. A series of political banquets (see related events) planned by Liberals and Republicans throughout France aimed at gaining support for opposition parties.
  • 1852 - 1871: The Second Empire
    From The Encyclopedia of World History
    1852, Jan 1 Louis-Napoleon (Napoleon III) became emperor by decree of the Senate and by plebiscite.
  • 1870 - 1913: The Third Republic
    From The Encyclopedia of World History
    1870, Sept. 4 The empire was overthrown.
  • 1944 - 2000: The Contemporary Period
    From The Encyclopedia of World History
    1944, Aug. 23-24 German forces in Paris were compelled to capitulate.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip