The Best Websites for Financial Professionals, Business Appraisers, and Accountants
Call Number: HF 54.56 .L36 2001
Publication Date: 2001-04-19
A no-nonsense style to quickly finding and evaluating the quality and usefulness of a site Especially designed for the growing number of accountants, business appraisers, and financial professionals who are turning to the Internet business and financial information, this book helps professionals evaluate, target, and locate the best financial and business sites on the Web. Organized by financial area, this is a comprehensive and economical resource for finding public financial information on the Web. Two of the industry's leading researchers, Eva M. Lang and Jan D. Tudor reveal tips, traps, and recommend favorite sites including a comprehensive review of the most important financial sites on the Internet, so that financial professionals can save time, decrease costs, and turn public data into dollars. This book is ideal for the busy professional who needs to know where to find industry statistics fast. Plus, readers will get continuous updating, which will be posted on a related Web site for quick user access.
Comparing Financial Systems
Call Number: HG 173 .A433 2000
Publication Date: 2000-01-07
Financial systems are crucial to the allocation of resources in a modern economy. They channel household savings to the corporate sector and allocate investment funds among firms; they allow intertemporal smoothing of consumption by households and expenditures by firms; and they enable households and firms to share risks. These functions are common to the financial systems of most developed economies. Yet the form of these financial systems varies widely. In the United States and the United Kingdom competitive markets dominate the financial landscape, whereas in France, Germany, and Japan banks have traditionally played the most important role. Why do different countries have such different financial systems? Is one system better than all the others? Do different systems merely represent alternative ways of satisfying similar needs? Is the current trend toward market-based systems desirable? Franklin Allen and Douglas Gale argue that the view that market-based systems are best is simplistic. A more nuanced approach is necessary. For example, financial markets may be bad for risk sharing; competition in banking may be inefficient; financial crises can be good as well as bad; and separation of ownership and control can be optimal. Financial institutions are not simply veils, disguising the allocation mechanism without affecting it, but are crucial to overcoming market imperfections. An optimal financial system relies on both financial markets and financial intermediaries.
A Financial History of the United States
Call Number: HG 181 .M297 2002 v. 1; HG 181 .M297 2002 v. 2; HG 181 .M297 2002 v. 3
Publication Date: 2002-01-01
Ambitious in scope, this history is presented in three volumes, and material is arranged chronologically: from Christopher Columbus to the Robber Barons, 1492-1900 (v.1); from J.P. Morgan to the institutional investor, 1900-1970 (v.2); from the age of derivatives into the new millennium, 1970-2001 (v.3). The narrative is a packed recounting of events; and it's essentially non-critical. Few thematic threads are discernible; in fact, an encyclopedia format might have better served the material for researchers in various fields. Although the indexes provide starting points, of course, information on companies, people, events, and time periods could have been presented in discrete entries, arranged either alphabetically or thematically, rather than in a chronological narrative. The lack of a mention of Enron or the Enron debacle (the books went to press before the bankruptcy and the investigation), and at least one wrong page reference in the index, indicate the need for a supplement or revision in the near future. Markham, who teaches corporate and international law at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, has worked as an attorney with an international law firm, the Commodity Futures Trading Commission, the Chicago Board Options Exchange, and the Securities and Exchange Commission. Annotation c. Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com)
Cash and Investment Management for Nonprofit Organizations
Call Number: HG 4027.65 .Z53 2007
Publication Date: 2007-04-27
The book every nonprofit financial officer needs Relevant for both large and small nonprofit organizations, Cash & Investment Management for Nonprofit Organizations effectively brings practical clarity to a potentially complicated topic, and explains how to use the best available methods and tools to help your organization achieve and maintain financial strength. This must-have book equips readers with a road map toward sound financial structure and strong internal controls, expertly offering helpful advice on everything financial officers need to know, including: * Knowing the appropriate financial target for your organization * The measures you can use to monitor and manage your organization's liquidity * Preserving your organization's financial integrity through internal controls * How to tap sources of cash to improve your cash flow * Making the most of your greatest potential ally in managing cash--your banking partner * Mobilizing and controlling cash * Disbursing cash efficiently while averting fraud * Harnessing information technology (IT) to better accomplish cash and investment management * Investing policies and practices for cash reserves * Investing policies and practices for endowments and other long-term investment purposes Written by financial professionals for financial professionals, Cash & Investment Management for Nonprofit Organizations provides essential tips and proven financial methods for improving and benchmarking your organization's practices. Discover how to become more effective in keeping your nonprofit financially healthy with the techniques and tools in Cash & Investment Management for Nonprofit Organizations.
Wall Street Lingo
Call Number: HG 4513 .P48 2007
Publication Date: 2007-01-12
Finally, a finance dictionary compiled with the individual investor in mind. Wall Street Lingo does more than define the terms your stockbroker, the Wall Street Journal and CNBC pitch at you it explains them in a way that traditional dictionaries can t. Where other dictionaries start at A and end at Z, Wall Street Lingo is organized in chapters, by subject. It begins where you begin with a topic that has piqued your curiosity and ends only when your curiosity has been satisfied. Have you ever wondered about the difference between CPI and PPI? In other dictionaries, you ll find the definitions 200 pages apart. Wall Street Lingo brings them together in the chapter Economics for Investors. EBITDA. Gross Profit. Net Profit. Shareholders Equity. You could waste precious time searching for explanations to help you analyze a company s financial condition. Or you can open Wall Street Lingo to the chapter Decoding Financial Statements. If you think technical analysis is only for the pros, flip to the chapter Technically Speaking for dozens of plain English translation to stock chart terms like Bollinger bands, MACD, Elliott wave theory and Bearish Divergence. It might change your mind. Whether you re an experienced investor or are exploring the market for the first time, you ll appreciate the easy-reading style and unique structure of this innovative investment tool. Over 1,000 terms individual investors need to know and understand for profitable investing Definitions organized by topic Fully indexed and cross-referenced Exhaustive list of commonly used acronyms Helpful resources, complete with websites Wall Street Lingo is an essential reference that translates the jargon used on Wall Street into direct, easy to understand, Main Street language and organizes it the way you use it. Author Nora Peterson brings more than three decades of in-the-trenches securities and futures trading experience to Wall Street Lingo. In the 1970s, she screened stocks by spending long hours pouring over binders of Value Line Investment Surveys and Standard & Poor s research reports at the library. In the 1980s, she taught herself to chart pork belly futures at a desk in her broker s office. Today she trades securities from a state-of-the-art computerized control station in her home. The shelves of her office are lined with reference books, but the one tool she could never find was a dictionary that didn t intimidate or overwhelm the everyday investor. So she wrote one.
Call Number: HG 4751 .S59 2003
Publication Date: 2003-10-10
Smith and Smith apply current thinking in the areas of valuation, real options, and the economics of contracts to new venture decision making. Readers learn to think of new ventures as portfolios of real options, value financial claims of the entrepreneur and venture capital investors, and structure financial contracts in light of new venture information problems. They also learn to use simulation and scenario analysis to evaluate the implications of uncertainty and financial decisions. * Stresses the importance of strategy in new venture planning. * Develops real-world context through relevant examples. * Spreadsheet modeling and simulation using custom software provides hands-on learning.
Neat Economic Stuff
Call Number: Pioneer Rm HB 171 .C5375 2015
Publication Date: 2015-08-07
Ever wonder why jewelers don't have price tags on many jewelry items; why the car salesperson always wants to know the monthly car payment you are looking for when purchasing a car; or, how the porn film industry sets audiovisual formats for the world? In Neat Economic Stuff, you'll find the answers to these and 18 other economic questions and puzzles in easy to read, humorous and understandable terms. Other questions answered: how did we end up with $0.99 music downloads; how the federal government ended up creating and running the world's largest cigarette cartel; how government sponsored and financed vandalism became an economic growth strategy; who is considered the greatest antitrust buster and promoter of consumer welfare ever; why there is never a cut in federal government spending nor taxes; and why you get paid what you get paid, plus much more.
A Blueprint for Corporate Governance
Call Number: HD 2741 .K327 2003
Publication Date: 2003-02-25
Recent events have turned the spotlight on the issue of corporate accountability - especially when it comes to protecting shareholder value. In the modern corporation, non-owners commonly manage day-to-day operations, and their decisions have a direct impact on the company's overall value. But what can management do to positively impact share price and protect shareholder investment? A Blueprint for Corporate Governance is unique in that it addresses shareholder value from a managerial perspective. This important book covers all essential corporate governance issues from this angle, providing detailed information and insights on: * Contemporary asset pricing models, and how they can help managers determine optimal returns on shareholder funds * Financial structures and dividend policies designed to advance shareholder interests * Methods for executives, managers and boards of directors to work as one to enhance and increase shareholder value.
Budgeting Basics and Beyond
Call Number: HG 4028 .B8 S558 2009
Publication Date: 2008-11-03
If the very thought of budgets pushes your sanity over the limit, then this practical, easy-to-use guide is just what you need. Budgeting Basics and Beyond, Third Edition equips you with an all-in-one resource guaranteed to make the budgeting process easier, less stressful, and more effective. Written by Jae Shim and Joel Siegel, the new edition covers Balanced Scorecard, budgeting for nonprofit organizations, business simulations for executive and management training, and much more!
Capital Flows and Crises
Call Number: HG 3891 .E33 2003
Publication Date: 2003-01-01
The implications of capital mobility for growth and stability are some of the most contentious and least understood contemporary issues in economics. In this book, Barry Eichengreen discusses historical, theoretical, empirical, and policy aspects of the effects, both positive and negative, of capital flows. He focuses on the connections between capital flows and crises as well as on those between capital flows and growth. Eichengreen argues that international financial liberalization, like other forms of economic liberalization, can positively affect the efficiency of resource allocation and the rate of economic growth. But analyses of both recent and historical experience also show an undeniable association between capital mobility and crises, especially when domestic institutions are weak and the harmonization of capital account liberalization and other policy reforms is inadequate. In his conclusion, Eichengreen makes suggestions for policy design to maximize the benefits of international financial liberalization while minimizing the risks of financial instability.
Corporate Financial Analysis in a Global Environment
Call Number: HG 4026 .H34 2001
Publication Date: 1997-07-01
This text uses a direct, concise, no-nonsense approach to current financial concepts and techniques essential for understanding fundamental business decisions. Harrington uses current examples of actual business situations to demonstrate how financial tools, concepts, and theories can be used to create value through improved financial decision-making. This edition adds a global emphasis with an equal number of domestic and international examples as well as a discussion of international financial statements.
Lords of Finance the bankers who broke the world
Call Number: HG 172 .A2 A43 2009
Publication Date: 2009-01-22
Winner of the 2010 Pulitzer Prize With penetrating insights for today, this vital history of the world economic collapse of the late 1920s offers unforgettable portraits of the four men whose personal and professional actions as heads of their respective central banks changed the course of the twentieth century It is commonly believed that the Great Depression that began in 1929 resulted from a confluence of events beyond any one person's or government's control. In fact, as Liaquat Ahamed reveals, it was the decisions taken by a small number of central bankers that were the primary cause of the economic meltdown, the effects of which set the stage for World War II and reverberated for decades. In Lords of Finance, we meet the neurotic and enigmatic Montagu Norman of the Bank of England, the xenophobic and suspicious mile Moreau of the Banque de France, the arrogant yet brilliant Hjalmar Schacht of the Reichsbank, and Benjamin Strong of the Federal Reserve Bank of New York, whose faade of energy and drive masked a deeply wounded and overburdened man. After the First World War, these central bankers attempted to reconstruct the world of international finance. Despite their differences, they were united by a common fear'that the greatest threat to capitalism was inflation? and by a common vision that the solution was to turn back the clock and return the world to the gold standard. For a brief period in the mid-1920s they appeared to have succeeded. The world's currencies were stabilized and capital began flowing freely across the globe. But beneath the veneer of boom-town prosperity, cracks started to appear in the financial system. The gold standard that all had believed would provide an umbrella of stability proved to be a straitjacket, and the world economy began that terrible downward spiral known as the Great Depression. As yet another period of economic turmoil makes headlines today, the Great Depression and the year 1929 remain the benchmark for true financial mayhem. Offering a new understanding of the global nature of financial crises, Lords of Finance is a potent reminder of the enormous impact that the decisions of central bankers can have, of their fallibility, and of the terrible human consequences that can result when they are wrong.
Standard and Poor's Dictionary of Financial Terms
Call Number: HG 151 .M745 2007
Publication Date: 2007-05-01
Streamlined, straightforward, and simple to read guides from Standard & Poor's and Lightbulb Press. The easiest way to get a grip on personal finance, investing, and retirement From the world's leading financial analysts and investor education specialists comes an invaluable foundation of knowledge for every kind of investment you want to make. These guides, a collaboration between Standard & Poor's and Lightbulb Press, use clear language and informative graphics to demystify financial topics. The books make it easy for you to navigate the financial markets and understand the basics of investing and personal finance. Filled with clear, jargon-free definitions of important financial terms, this handy reference gives you the language you need to navigate the world of investing and finance. It also includes common acronyms and extended definitions of more sophisticated investing concepts.
Your Money or Your Life
Call Number: HJ 8899 .T6813 2005
Publication Date: 2005-06-01
In the last decade, neoliberal policies have created debt and global impoverishment on a massive scale. In this updated edition of his internationally recognized book, Eric Toussaint traces the origins and development of the crisis in global finance. This new edition is fully updated with new statistics to account for new developments in global financial institutions like the World Bank and IMF. Your Money or Your Life is widely considered one of the clearest and best-documented books on globalization available. Includes an extensive bibliography and notes. Eric Toussaint is president of the Committee for the Cancellation of Third World Debt and is a fellow and frequent lecturer at the International Institute for Research and Education in Amsterdam.