EBSCO Tutorials and GuidesUseful resources 1Useful Resources 2
More Exercise /Exercise for Children BookseBooksHot Topics/Individual Weight Issues eBooksDatabasesReferenceInternational Resources /Google Scholar/Writing ResourcesExercise /Exercise Career/Calculators/Florida Health
eBooksCurrent Issues/Nutrition LinksDatabasesReferenceCredo Reference: NutritionInternational Resources /Google Scholar/Writing Resources
Physical Education: K-12 BookseBooks/Current IssuesDatabasesReferenceInternational Resources /Google Scholar/Writing ResourcesPhysical Education/Health and Sports Medicine Links
DatabasesReferenceInternational Resources /Google Scholar/Writing Resources
Christian Sports/History of Sports BooksCoaching/Sports Injuries & Sports MedicineIndividual Sports/Issues in SportseBooksIndividual eBooks
Newspapers/Open Access - Popular MagazinesHistorical/ProQuest US NewspapersSports Careers/Media/Research LinksSports: Individual SportsSports Links/Sports StatisticsHealth & Sports Medicine/Sports Injuries/Health StatisticsSports Management
eBooksDatabasesImage Quest/Google Scholar/ Writing/International ResourcesCredo Reference: Human AnatomyHuman Anatomy: OrgansAnatomy /Health Links/Health Videos/Khan Academy: Anatomy and Physiology
This is the "Exercise Science" page of the "Physical Education and Sports Research" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Physical Education and Sports Research  

Last Updated: Nov 15, 2017 URL: http://libguides.warner.edu/PEsports Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Exercise Science Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Exercise Books

Cover Art
ACSM Fitness Book - American College of Sports Medicine (ACSM) Staff; Arnold Schwarzengger (Foreword by)
Call Number: GV 481 .A322 2003
ISBN: 073604406X
Publication Date: 2003-04-21
Start where you are and go wherever your goals take you. No other guide offers a more comprehensive plan for developing a personal fitness program and sticking with it. Developed by the American College of Sports Medicine, ACSM Fitness Book offers the total package from one of the most respected organizations in the field. In its first two editions, the ACSM Fitness Book sold more than 100,000 copies. Now the classic has been enhanced and expanded with the tools you need to succeed. From simple, step-by-step instruction to new insights on nutrition, weight control, motivation, and overcoming setbacks, the authors provide the help you need to reach beyond your personal best. The key to making any fitness program effective is finding the right level of difficulty for your current ability and creating a plan that will take you to the next level. With a simple and scientifically proven fitness test, the ACSM Fitness Book gives you everything you need to determine your starting point and monitor your ongoing progress. With sample programs, worksheets, and more, ACSM Fitness Book takes the guesswork out of getting started and offers color photos of a variety of exercises that require minimal equipment and space. Whether your objective is to improve cardiovascular endurance, muscular strength, flexibility, or overall body condition, the ACSM Fitness Book will lay out a proven plan for reaching your goal in a way that works for you. Richly illustrated and easy to follow, it is the one book you need for the tools, and the motivation, to put your personal fitness program on track.

Cover Art
Advances in Motivation in Sport and Exercise - Glyn C. Roberts (Editor)
Call Number: GV 706.4 .A36 2001
ISBN: 0880118490
Publication Date: 2001-06-13
Much like its predecessor, Motivation in Sport and Exercise, Advances in Motivation in Sport and Exercise brings together several top scholars in sport and exercise psychology to present the latest information on motivational behavior in exercise, physical education, and sport. Each contributor sheds new light on the process of motivation and the variables and constructs that help us to understand why we are motivated or are not motivated. This extensive resource thoroughly examines key motivational concepts such as -self-efficacy, -perceived competence, -achievement goals, -self-determination, and -perception of control. Although the contributors employ different frameworks to examine the subject, each uses a social cognitive perspective on motivation, which makes for a more cohesive book rather than just a collection of articles. The research provides valuable insight on enhancing motivation in physical activities. More important, it should inspire the reader to apply this insight in the gym, in the pool, and on the playing field, where it can truly make a difference in performance. Advances in Motivation in Sport and Exercise is an excellent reference for professionals in both clinical and applied psychology, particularly those who work with athletes, coaches, teachers, and parents.

Cover Art
Anatomy of Exercise [a trainer's guide to your workout] - Pat Manocchia
Call Number: qRA 178 .M3815 2008
ISBN: 1554073855
Publication Date: 2009-03-01
Anatomy of Exercise is revolutionary for its insights into how different muscles of the body actually work during exercise. The book is organized by body area and shows common sequences in the progression of a typical workout. Lifelike anatomical illustrations demonstrate each exercise and reveal in colorful detail exactly which muscles are engaged, which are being conditioned and how those muscles respond. The following features help the reader gain the greatest benefit from each exercise and thereby improve fitness and well-being: Detailed, full-color anatomical illustrations for all the exercises Annotations identifying the active and stabilizing muscles Concise how-to instructions for each exercise Identification of the specific muscles that benefit the most from each exercise Suggested modifications for different levels of difficulty Instructions on stabilizing the body throughout each movement A visual index of exercises that allows easy navigation through the book A glossary of anatomical terms. No other book provides such rich detail tailored to the general reader. Beginners, those already committed to exercise, competing athletes, trainers, coaches, physiotherapists, massage therapists and the many others involved in fitness will find Anatomy of Exercise fascinating, instructive and practical.

Cover Art
Anatomy of Exercise For 50+ - Hollis Liebman
Call Number: qGV 482.6 .L54 2012
ISBN: 9781770851627
Publication Date: 2012-10-11
A new addition to the best-selling series, for the burgeoning over 50 population. Studies abound confirming what we all know: use it or lose it. Exercise of any kind has a profound positive effect on health, longevity, disease prevention and a sense of well-being. The exercises in Anatomy of Exercise for 50+ will support good health at any age, but for those over fifty they can help in the prevention of age-related problems like joint mobility, balance and fatigue, as well as medical conditions like heart disease, colon cancer, diabetes, osteoporosis, arthritis and Alzheimer's. Anatomy of Exercise for 50+ follows the successful format of the "Anatomy of" books--Anatomy of Exercise, Anatomy of Muscle Building, Anatomy of Yoga--which have together sold more than 100,000 copies. Their revolutionary approach is the combination of photographs and lifelike anatomical drawings that reveal in colorful detail exactly which muscles are engaged and benefitting from each exercise. The book's organization allows the user to approach the exercise according to his or her needs or by the type of exercise. The contents are: Introduction: Staying Fit at Any Age Full-Body Anatomy Warm-Ups Stretches Upper-Body Exercises Core Strengthening Exercises Core Stabilizing Exercises Healthy Back Exercises Lower-Body Exercises Yoga-Based Exercises Swiss Ball Exercises. Those who want to take control of their health (at whatever age), fitness trainers, physiotherapists, and activity managers in community care facilities, retirement homes and nursing homes will find Anatomy of Exercise for 50+ an instructive and practical resource.

Cover Art
Basic Biomechanics - Susan J. Hall
Call Number: qQP 303 .H35 2007
ISBN: 0073044814
Publication Date: 2006-05-22
Basic Biomechanics provides an introduction to biomechanics using the latest findings from the research literature to support and exemplify the concepts presented. Quantitative as well as qualitative examples of problems illustrate biomechanical principles. Quantitative aspects are presented in a manageable, progressive fashion to make biomechanical principles accessible to all students, regardless of their mathematical skills.

Cover Art
Concepts in Fitness Programming - Robert G. McMurray
Call Number: QP 301 .M3754 1999
ISBN: 0849387140
Publication Date: 1998-12-23
Concepts in Fitness Programming presents comprehensive material about various aspects of exercise testing and prescription in a simple, straightforward manner. Intended for individuals who design exercise and fitness programs but who lack extensive background in fitness training, this book provides a wealth of knowledge beyond the basic "how to's" of fitness programming. Exercisers require some background in fitness and exercise-related injuries and nutrition. For safety, exerciser and instructor need to know the medical problems that limit exercise capacity or eliminate someone from safely exercising, and how drugs used for medical problems influence exercise. Background in medical terminology and the interrelationships of disease and exercise are useful for understanding exercise literature.

Cover Art
Exercise Testing and Prescription - American College of Sports Medicine (ACSM) Staff
Call Number: RM 725 .A48 2006
ISBN: 078174590X
Publication Date: 2005-05-24
The single most internationally read and referenced text in sports medicine, exercise science, and health and fitness, this manual succinctly summarizes recommended procedures for exercise testing and exercise prescription in healthy and diseased individuals. The Seventh Edition contains the most current public health and clinical information and state-of-the-art, research-based recommendations. Coverage represents the fundamental knowledge, skills, and abilities (KSAs) that must be mastered by candidates for all ACSM certifications. Written by international experts in numerous fields, the Seventh Edition covers additional topics including arthritis, osteoporosis, dyslipidemia, immunology, and metabolic syndrome.

 

Books from the Warner University Library

 

More Exercise Books

Cover Art
Exercise Programming for Older Adults - Kay A. Van Norman
Call Number: GV 482.6 .V36 1995
ISBN: 0873226577
Publication Date: 1994-10-25
As our population ages and the cost of health care continues to climb, the demand for exercise options for seniors continues to grow. Exercise Programming for Older Adults provides everything you need in order to develop, market, and manage a fitness program for older adults. It sets the stage for safe and effective exercise programming by explaining the unique factors you need to consider when developing a program for seniors: -Age-related changes in the cardiopulmonary, nervous, and musculoskeletal systems and the effect of exercise on these systems -Physical conditions that can affect the safety of exercise, including hypertension, cardiovascular disease, pulmonary disease, arthritis, and osteoporosis -Psychological and social aspects of aging and how they are influenced by exercise You'll also find clear guidelines on how to structure a program to effectively meet the special needs of older exercisers, including information on class format, safety and liability, exercise intensity, social components, and more. A major portion of the book is devoted to presenting 105 land-based and 74 water-based exercises. All have been field-tested in a successful senior exercise program; they include chair exercises, basic conditioning, low-impact aerobics, water aerobics, and water exercises for people with arthritis. Numerous photos, charts, and drawings illustrate how participants can correctly and safely perform each exercise. Exercise Programming for Older Adults details the necessary steps for developing and promoting a senior exercise program in your community, from locating an appropriate facility to using the media to reach clients.

Cover Art
Growth, Maturation, and Physical Activity - Robert M. Malina; Claude Bouchard; Oded Bar-Or
Call Number: qQP 84 .G75 2004
ISBN: 0880118822
Publication Date: 2003-12-18
The second edition of Growth, Maturation, and Physical Activity has been expanded with almost 300 new pages of material, making it the most comprehensive text on the biological growth, maturation, physical performance, and physical activity of children and adolescents. The new edition retains all the best features of the original text, including the helpful outlines at the beginning of each chapter that allow students to review major concepts. This edition features updates on basic content, expanded and modified chapters, and the latest research findings to meet the needs of upper undergraduate and graduate students as well as researchers and professionals working with children and young adults. The second edition also includes these new features: -10 lab activities that encourage students to investigate subject matter outside of class and save teachers time -A complete reference list at the end of each chapter -Chapter-ending summaries to make the review process easy for students -New chapters that contain updates on thermoregulation, methods for the assessment of physical activity, undernutrition, obesity, children with clinical conditions, and trends in growth and performance -Discussions that span current problems in public health, such as the quantification of physical activity and energy expenditure, persistent undernutrition in developing countries, and the obesity epidemic in developed countries The authors are three of the world's foremost authorities on children's growth and development. In 29 chapters, they address introductory concepts and prenatal growth, postnatal growth, functional development, biological maturation, influencing factors in growth, maturation and development, and specific applications to public health and sport. In addition, secular trends in growth, maturation, and performance over the past 150 years are considered. You'll be able to recognize risk factors that may affect young athletes; you'll also be able to make informed decisions about appropriate physical activities, program delivery, and performance expectations. Growth, Maturation, and Physical Activity, Second Edition, covers many additional topics, including new techniques for the assessment of body composition, the latest advances in the study of skeletal muscle, the human genome, the hormonal regulation of growth and maturation, clarification of dietary reference intakes, and the study of risk factors for several adult diseases. This is the only text to focus on the biological growth and maturation process of children and adolescents as it relates to physical activity and performance. With over 300 new pages of material, this text expertly builds on the successful first edition.

Cover Art
Introduction to Exercise Science - Terry J. Housh (Editor); Dona J. Housh (Editor)
Call Number: QP 301 .I65 2000
ISBN: 0205291686
Publication Date: 2000-01-06
This book is unique in that it is designed for students following the non-teaching track in Exercise Science. Students who plan to pursue medicine, physical therapy, chiropractic therapy, occupational therapy, agency/corporate fitness, strength and conditioning, athletic training, and clinical specialties such as cardiac rehabilitation will find the major areas of study covered. Each chapter was written by an expert in each particular area and contains up-to-date information on technology, certifications, professional associations, journals, and career opportunities.

Cover Art
Physical Activity and Obesity - Claude Bouchard; Peter T. Katzmarzyk
Call Number: qRC 628 .P496 2010
ISBN: 0736076352
Publication Date: 2010-02-01
Physical Activity and Obesity, Second Edition, addresses an array of topics that explore and divulge the links between physical activity (or inactivity) and obesity. Leading scientists from various backgrounds team up to provide an unrivaled resource examining the latest research and developments in the field. Each chapter provides researchers and practitioners with a clear explanation of the concepts, research techniques, and results of studies critical to understanding physical activity and the obesity epidemic. In the 10 years since the first edition of this book was published, the field of physical activity and obesity has mushroomed with new research, sparking the need for not only a new edition but an innovative and refreshing approach to the contents. Editors Bouchard and Katzmarzyk create a go-to resource with 89 succinct, authoritative chapters that may be used independently or as a complete text. Packed with the most up-to-date information linking obesity and physical activity, this comprehensive book • delves into areas of uncertainty and controversy instead of avoiding them or skirting the issues; • emphasizes, where appropriate, the underlying mechanisms between physical activity and obesity; and • points to research areas that need further exploration and attention. The nine parts of the book flow logically and address obesity in all populations, including children and adults of various backgrounds, ethnicities, and social classes. An overview of the methods used in assessing the levels of sedentary behavior and physical activity is given, followed by a global view of the problem of physical inactivity and obesity. Readers will learn about the key determinants of physical activity levels and obesity and the links between a sedentary lifestyle and the risk of obesity. Other topics examined include behavioral and environmental correlates and determinants of obesity, the relationship between low physical activity energy expenditure and obesity risk, clinical implications, and policy and research issues related to physical activity and obesity. Physical Activity and Obesity, Second Edition, helps readers better understand the role of physical activity in the overall energy balance equation. The unique format, expert contributors, and complete references make this resource indispensable for researchers, health and exercise practitioners, and students studying the ever-expanding topic of obesity as it relates to physical activity.

Cover Art
Physical Activity and Type 2 Diabetes: therapeutic effects and mechanisms of action - John Hawley; Juleen Zierath
Call Number: qRC 661 .E94 P49 2008
ISBN: 0736064796
Publication Date: 2008-04-18
Over the past 50 years, there has been a dramatic increase in the prevalence of interrelated metabolic disease states, including obesity, insulin resistance, and type 2 diabetes mellitus. In modern Western nations, the population-based prevalence of insulin resistance is approaching 20%, and type 2 diabetes is now the most common endocrine disorder in adults. No longer a disease reserved for the aging population, type 2 diabetes is also on the rise in adolescents. Approximately 30% of all newly diagnosed cases (between 1982 and 1994 in the United States alone) are among people 10 to 19 years of age. For those engaged in a struggle against this modern-day epidemic, Physical Activity and Type 2 Diabetes provides cutting-edge research to energize current efforts in diabetes prevention, management, and treatment. The most in-depth and up-to-date book on the topic, Physical Activity and Type 2 Diabetes presents a series of independent but related chapters authored by the foremost researchers of insulin resistance examining topics such as these: -Physical inactivity as a primary cause for the rising incidence of insulin resistance -The emergence of an “exercise-deficient” phenotype -The effects of exercise training on selected aspects of substrate metabolism -The role of endurance and resistance training programs for the prevention and treatment of insulin resistance -The identification of new molecular targets and pathways useful for the treatment of insulin resistance and type 2 diabetes. Physical Activity and Type 2 Diabetes provides a four-part, in-depth examination of the relational nature of diabetes and physical activity. Part I begins with a description of the scope and extent of the “diabesity” epidemic. The risk factors for diabetes, the underlying causes of the epidemic, and its potential consequences are outlined as well as the role of physical inactivity in the pathogenesis of diabetes and plans for preventive exercise biology. Part II continues with an examination of some of the major defects of substrate metabolism in individuals with insulin resistance, while in part III the authors discuss the impact of exercise interventions in the prevention, management, and treatment of type 2 diabetes. Part IV presents recent developments in molecular and cellular biology that may provide treatment therapies for the prevention of type 2 diabetes. Based on extensive research, Physical Activity and Type 2 Diabetes presents a wealth of information to assist the biomedical and research community in creating prescriptive therapeutic tools for type 2 diabetes intervention—and offers hope for the alleviation of the global epidemic of insulin resistance.

Cover Art
Physique, Fitness, and Performance - Thomas Battinelli
Call Number: QP 301 .B364 2000
ISBN: 0849302315
Publication Date: 2000-03-01
A new volume in CRC's Exercise Physiology series, this far-reaching text explores the all-important relationship of physique to fitness and performance. Physique, Fitness and Performance covers, in a basic quantitative and qualitative format, physique and performance, physical and physiological conditioning, motor learning and physical performance, as well as exercise, nutrition and heart disease.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip