EBSCO Tutorials and GuidesUseful resources 1Useful Resources 2
eBooksDatabasesCredo Reference - Economic and Finance TermsCredo Reference - Financiers & IndustrialistsCredo Reference - Executives & EntrepreneursCredo Reference - Corporate BusinessCredo Reference - Global ExecutivesGoogle Scholar/Writing ResourcesFinance - Introduction, Research, and Statistics LinksInvestment Links and Useful LinksKhan Academy - Economics and Finance
eBooksGale Virtual Reference Library eBooksDatabasesDatabases - GeneralCredo ReferenceGoogle Scholar/Writing ResourcesIndustry LinksInternational Resources
Library Electronic ResourcesDatabases - GeneralCredo ReferenceGoogle Scholar/Writing ResourcesEthics Links
Human Resources eBooksOther DatabasesDatabases - GeneralGoogle Scholar/Writing ResourcesHuman Resources - Links and Government sites
eBooksDatabases - Country InformationDatabases - GeneralReference - Library Electronic ResourcesCredo Reference - Corporate BusinessCredo Reference - Global ExecutivesGoogle Scholar/Writing ResourcesInternational Business LinksCurrency and TravelCustoms and CultureFlags, Images, and MapsInternational Resources
Credo Reference - Asia & the Middle East CountriesCredo Reference - The United KingdomCredo Reference - EuropeCredo Reference - Latin AmericaCredo Reference - North America
E-BooksDatabases - eCommerceDatabases - GeneralCredo Reference - Corporate BusinessGoogle Scholar/Writing ResourcesLinks
Economics eBooks/Current IssuesBusiness DatabasesCredo Reference - General InformationCredo Reference - Terms and ConceptsCredo Reference - Economic HistoryCredo Reference - Early EconomistsCredo Refeference - 20th Century EconomistsGoogle Scholar/Writing ResourcesEconomics Resources/Research and Statistics Links/CalculatorsInternational Economics Links and Useful Economics TutorialsKhan Academy - Economics and Finance
This is the "Ethics" page of the "Business Research Country - Industry" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Business Research Country - Industry  

How to conduct business research part 2.
Last Updated: Aug 22, 2017 URL: http://libguides.warner.edu/business2 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Ethics Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Books

Cover Art
Absolute Honesty: building a corporate culture that values straight talk and rewards integrity - Larry Johnson; Bob Phillips
Call Number: HD 58.7 .J612 2003
ISBN: 0814407811
Publication Date: 2003-06-20
"WorldCom. Enron. Tyco. Shocking accusations of dishonesty and silent complicity have dominated headlines recently, and cost the American economy trillions of dollars. Clearly, dishonesty doesn’t pay. Drawing from these stories, as well as from more positive ones, Absolute Honesty shows how to establish and maintain a culture where honest communication is the norm, and employees can speak openly without fear of retribution. The book illustrates the impact that truthfulness and accountability can have on organizations, attacking the sort of passivity that allows little lies to grow into giant disasters. Structured around the Six Laws of Absolute Honesty, this insightful book goes beyond simply extolling the virtues of ethics to provide a template managers can use to maintain an environment of healthy debate. It also contains a toolbox of techniques anyone can apply to improve his or her ability to confront and resolve difficult issues. Companies can reap huge benefits from cultivating an atmosphere of trust. Absolute Honesty is an important, timely book that provides readers with the tools and strategies to establish a culture in which communication thrives and results speak for themselves."

Cover Art
Building Reputational Capital: strategies for integrity and fair play that improve the bottom line - Kevin T. Jackson
Call Number: HF 5387 .J297 2004
ISBN: 0195161386
Publication Date: 2004-04-08
In the aftermath of scandals such as those at Enron and WorldCom, there is a growing suspicion of the corporate world. For this reason it is more important than ever for firms to maintain a good reputation. In Building Reputational Capital, Kevin T. Jackson offers a practical guide to taking the high road--the only path that leads to lasting success. Based on extensive research and real-world experience, Building Reputational Capital reveals basic principles of integrity and fairness with which firms can build an enduring reputation. More than image, a firm's reputation is a form of capital often neglected in the boardroom and overlooked in conventional analyses of financial statements. Speaking directly to the work experience of real people in practical business settings, Jackson couples each principle with straightforward actions that drive management systems, and he provides tested strategies--from downsizing techniques to e-commerce tips--that cultivate the hidden power of a good reputation. He outlines the advantages of a superior reputation (simply put, people want to work for, invest in, and do business with a company or person with integrity), describes the vital role the firm's leader must play, offers ways to build and protect your reputation on the Internet (from defusing Internet rumors to creating an online community), and shows how to rescue your reputation once disaster hits. Perhaps most important, he shows how to strike the right balance of virtues like authenticity, honesty, responsibility, and stewardship of the environment, employees, and the economy. Highlighted with real-life success stories--from giants like Hewlett-Packard to small firms like Thanksgiving Coffee Company (which invests part of its revenues in the Central American villages in which its beans are grown), Building Reputational Capital offers a simple but effective guide for executives, managers, entrepreneurs, legal professionals, and corporate consultants.

Cover Art
Business and Religion: a clash of civilizations? - Nicholas Capaldi (Editor)
Call Number: HF 5388 .B86 2005
ISBN: 0976404109
Publication Date: 2005-08-01
Since the late 1960s American culture has been involved in a struggle to articulate an effective business ethics. The scandals of Enron and WorldCom constitute egregious examples of the absence or deficiency of ethical decision-making in matters of commerce. The purpose of this volume is to inaugurate a dialogue on the common elements of all three Abrahamic traditions - Christianity, Islam, and Judaism - that touch on ethical issues in business. With scholars, religious and business leaders joining the debate, this anthology is the beginning of a reconstruction of the understanding of the relationship between religion and commerce. Main Features: The following questions are addressed: ● Is a purely secular business ethics irremediably deficient? ● Does a substantive business ethic require a religious and spiritual framework? ● To what extent does current business practice reflect a spiritual dimension? ● What are the various religious traditions' perspectives on the ethics of commerce? ● Can the various religious traditions generate a non-adversarial, consistent, and coherent business ethic? ● Is there a role for religion and spirituality in a global and post-modern business world?

Cover Art
Business by the Book: the complete guide of Biblical principles for the workplace - Larry Burkett
Call Number: HF 5387 .B855 1998
ISBN: 0785287973
Publication Date: 2006-01-03
Now readers can approach the new millennium by incorporating Burkett's tried and true advice into their business world with this updated edition of the best-selling classic containing some of the actual study material used in Burkett's worldwide seminars.

Cover Art
Business for the Common Good a Christian vision for the marketplace - Kenman L. Wong; Scott B. Rae
Call Number: HF 5388 .W66 2011
ISBN: 9780830828166
Publication Date: 2011-02-01
Is business just a way to make money? Or can the marketplace a venue for service to others? Scott B. Rae and Kenman L. Wong seek to explore this and other critical business issues from a uniquely Christian perspective, offering up a vision for work and service that is theologically grounded and practically oriented. Among the specific questions they address along the way are these:What implications does the Christian story have for the vision, mission or sense of purpose that shapes business engagement?What parts of business can be affirmed and practiced "as is" and what parts need to be rejected or transformed?What challenges exist as attempts are made to live out Christian ideals in a broken world characterized by tight margins, fierce competition and short-term investor pressures?How do Christian values inform specific functional areas of business such as the management of people, marketing and environmental sustainability?Business can be even more than an environment through which individual Christians grow in Christlikeness. In this book you'll discover how it can also be a means toward serving the common good.

Cover Art
Clashing Views in Business Ethics and Society - Lisa H. Newton; Maureen M. Ford
Call Number: HF 5387 .T36 2006
ISBN: 0073527203
Publication Date: 2005-11-01
This ninth edition of Taking Sides: Business Ethics and Society presents current controversial issues in a debate-style format designed to stimulate student interest and develop critical thinking skills. Each issue is thoughtfully framed with an issue summary, an issue introduction, and a postscript. An instructor's manual with testing material is available for each volume. Using Taking Sides in the classroom is also an excellent instructor resource with practical suggestions on incorporating this effective approach in the classroom. Each Taking Sides reader features an annotated listing of selected World Wide Web sites and is supported by our student website.

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Business Ethics and Society - Robert W. Kolb (Editor)
Call Number: qHF 5387 .E53 2008 v.1-v.4
ISBN: 9781412916523
Publication Date: 2007-10-19
The five volumes of this ultimate resource recognize the inherent unity between business ethics and business and society, that stems from their shared primary concern with value in commerce. This Encyclopedia spans the relationships among business, ethics, and society by including more than 800 entries that feature broad coverage of corporate social responsibility, the obligation of companies to various stakeholder groups, the contribution of business to society and culture, and the relationship between organizations and the quality of the environment.

Cover Art
The Balanced Company: a theory of corporate integrity - Muel Kaptein; Johan Wempe
Call Number: HF 5387 .K353 2002
ISBN: 0199255512
Publication Date: 2002-09-26
The Balanced Company provides a coherent overview of the most important theories and insights in the field of business ethics and corporate social responsibility. This is an area of growing concern for corporations today - many have Corporate Social Responsibility (CSR) personnel and use ethical codes in areas such as performance appraisals, staff induction programmes, supplier contracts, and so forth. Corporations are driven by more than a sense of ethical duty and idealism, however. There is clear evidence that the implementation of ethical codes can help to minimize legal fees, improve staff morale, ward off bad press, improve public image, empower stakeholders, and boost profits. But what of the situations where ethical decisions come at the cost of profits? Accessible and up-to-date, The Balanced Company presents criteria that can be used to measure, assess, improve, and report on corporate integrity. Tailoring the main ethical theories to the situations in which organizations function, the book also provides in-depth case studies at the end of each chapter. These include coverage of Shell, KPN Telecom, and the Herald of Free Enterprise disaster amongst others. Part I describes the rise of business ethics in practice. General misconceptions about the field are discussed and a summary of common ethical theories is presented. It concludes with a discussion of the concept of integrity. Part II provides the theoretical foundation for the ethics of business and discusses the question of whether the notion of integrity is applicable to organizations and whether an organization can be viewed as an autonomous entity. Part III formulates practical applications based on the preceding analyses and arguments. For academics, this book sets out a unique framework for the development of theories and critieria; for students, it provides a clear explanation of business ethics, sustainable development, and compliance; and for managers, it presents a practical framework that can be used to develop their organization. The Balanced Company will be widely used on courses and training programmes in corporate social responsibility and business ethics. The book is supported by a website containing further information about the cases and questions for discussion (www.ethicsmanagement.org).

Cover Art
Virtual Integrity : faithfully navigating the brave new Web - Daniel J. Lohrmann
Call Number: BR 99.74 .L67 2008
ISBN: 9781587432347
Publication Date: 2008-11-01
It is unavoidable - every time we surf the web we are bombarded with temptations vying for our thoughts, dreams, time, and money. Daniel J. Lohrmann, a high-ranking US government computer security expert, looks at how we can maintain our values in our online world in the same way we do in our 'real' world.

 

Books from the Warner University Library

 

Books - Ethics

Cover Art
Business and Professional Ethics for Accountants - Leonard J. Brooks
Call Number: HF 5657 .B74 2000
ISBN: 0324013167
Publication Date: 1999-08-01
"With complete coverage of the most up-to-date cases, this book makes real the practical development of the skills needed to deal with ethical issues in both accounting and other business settings. Interesting, real-world situations provide for an understanding of appropriate values, codes of conduct, ethical pitfalls, and sound ethical reasoning where codes do not apply."--BOOK JACKET.Title Summary field provided by Blackwell North America, Inc. All Rights Reserved

Cover Art
Business Ethics : new challenges for business schools and corporate leaders - Robert A. Peterson (Editor); O. C. Ferrell (Editor)
Call Number: HF 5387 .B8725 2005
ISBN: 0765614588
Publication Date: 2005-01-01
The many recent high profile corporate scandals highlight the need for companies to do a better job of integrating ethics and responsibility into business decisions--and for business schools to integrate ethics awareness and training into their curricula. This volume sets the agenda for business ethics and corporate responsibility in the future. It brings together ideas, challenges, and proposed solutions for thinking about--and implementing--effective ethics programs in business schools and business organizations. Edited by two highly regarded business educators, and featuring contributions by leading scholars and administrators, Business Ethics: New Challenges for Business Schools and Corporate Leaders covers all dimensions of ethical decision making--individual, organizational and societal. The thirteen original chapters offer new and emerging perspectives for creating ethical business leadership and developing organizational ethics initiatives.

Cover Art
Business Ethics and Ethical Business - Robert Audi
Call Number: HF 5387 .A825 2009
ISBN: 9780195369106
Publication Date: 2008-08-28
Business Ethics and Ethical Business is a comprehensive yet brief analytical introduction to the field of business ethics. In three parts, it covers the major problems associated with the place of business in society, the ethics of internal management, and the challenges of international business in view of common ethical standards (justice and veracity, beneficence and loyalty, and freedom and respect for persons, among others) and classic ethical theories (Aristotle's virtue ethics, Immanuel Kant's rule-based ethics, J. S. Mill's utilitarianism, and W. D. Ross's intuitionism, etc.). Integrated into the discussion are a number of distinctive elements. Robert Audi takes into account both large companies and small, family owned business; clarifies the nature and importance of rights; and explores the relation between law and ethics in several parts of the book. For a clearer understanding of democracy, he considers two main competing views of business in society - the free market view and the corporate social responsibility approach. He also offers brief concept definitions throughout, which later appear in a glossary at the back of the book, to further clarify key ideas. Accompanying the chapters is an Appendix featuring sixteen Case Scenarios modeled on ethical problems common in the business world. The result is a thorough presentation of business ethics that helps readers to acquire the basic conceptual and ethical tools needed to address the moral problems facing businesses today.

Cover Art
Business Ethics: brief readings on vital topics - Archie B. Carroll; Allen C. Amason
Call Number: HF 5387 .C349 2009
ISBN: 9780415802062
Publication Date: 2009-07-22
These readings grew out of the author's monthly column on business ethics in the business section of the Athens Banner-Herald newspaper. Written in an open and engaging style, the book features topics that are timely, each followed by several thought provoking discussion questions. The book includes readings on the current financial crisis in order to challenge today's students to confront the economic reality in which they will have to live. An excellent addition to any Business Ethics course.

Cover Art
Corporate Capers: business not as usual - Dinesh Kumar
Call Number: HD 57.7 .K853 2006
ISBN: 0761934510
Publication Date: 2006-01-04
Corporate Capers is an eye-opening and insightful look at the corporate world. Blending serious issues with humour, it gives the reader an insider`s perspective of corporate life. The author has seen senior management at its best and worst during a career spanning 30 years. He narrates his experiences in a delightful manner, providing numerous practical corporate philosophies while covering a range of work issues such as: - business ethics - leadership - strategy - new age management - business etiquette Providing a bird`s eye view of the Indian corporate world, this is an incisive and thought-provoking book. Written in a style that is simple, interesting and witty, it is a thoroughly enjoyable read for anyone interested in the corporate world and its inner workings. It will be of particular interest to business leaders and to managers on the move.

Cover Art
Giving Voice to Values: how to speak your mind when you know what's right - Mary C. Gentile
Call Number: HF 5387 .G464 2010
ISBN: 9780300161182
Publication Date: 2010-08-24
How can you effectively stand up for your values when pressured by your boss, customers, or shareholders to do the opposite? Drawing on actual business experiences as well as on social science research, Babson College business educator and consultant Mary Gentile challenges the assumptions about business ethics at companies and business schools. She gives business leaders, managers, and students the tools not just to recognize what is right, but also to ensure that the right things happen. The book is inspired by a program Gentile launched at the Aspen Institute with Yale School of Management, and now housed at Babson College, with pilot programs in over one hundred schools and organizations, including INSEAD and MIT Sloan School of Management. She explains why past attempts at preparing business leaders to act ethically too often failed, arguing that the issue isn't distinguishing what is right or wrong, but knowing how to act on your values despite opposing pressure. Through research-based advice, practical exercises, and scripts for handling a wide range of ethical dilemmas, Gentile empowers business leaders with the skills to voice and act on their values, and align their professional path with their principles. Giving Voice to Values is an engaging, innovative, and useful guide that is essential reading for anyone in business.

Cover Art
Just a Job? ?: communication, ethics, and professional life - George Cheney; Dean Ritz; Brenden E. Kendall; Daniel J. Lair
Call Number: HF 5381 .J87 2009
ISBN: 9780195182781
Publication Date: 2009-11-12
From cartoons to boardrooms comes the statement, "It's not personal. It's just business." Just a Job? Communication, Ethics, and Professional Life offers a provocative perspective on ethics at work. The book questions the notions that doing ethics at work has to be work, and that work is somehow a sphere where a different set of rules applies. This problematic line between work and life runs through the ways we commonly talk about ethics, from our personal relationships to the domains of work, including the organization, the profession, and the market. Talk about ethics is far more than "just talk," and this book shows how and why it matters. Drawing from the fields of communication and rhetoric, the authors show how the very framing of ethics--even before we approach specific decisions--limits the potential roles of ethics in our work lives and the pursuit of happiness, and treats it as something that is meaningful only at special moments such as when faced with dilemmas, or as the last chapter in a business book. Separating ethics from life, we put it beyond our daily reach. The authors argue against ethical myopia limited to spectacular scandals or comprehensive professional codes. Instead, they propose a master reframe of ethics based on a new take on virtue ethics, including Aristotle's practical ideal of eudaimonia or flourishing, which tells new stories about the ordinary as well as extraordinary aspects of professional integrity and success. By reframing ethics as not special, they elevate it to its rightful position in work and personal life. Generously illustrated with examples and ideas from scholarly as well as popular sources, this book asks us to reconsider the meaning of and path toward the "good life."

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip