EBSCO Tutorials and GuidesUseful resources 1Useful Resources 2
Reference/Hot TopicsInternational Resources /Google Scholar/Writing Resources
Criminal Justice eBooksIndividual eBooksDatabasesInternational Resources /Google Scholar/Writing ResourcesFlorida Criminal Justice/Useful LinksNational Criminal Justice
General InformationCatching and ConvictingCrimesCriminal ProfilesJuristsNotable Cases
Florida LawInternational Law
Legal/Law eBooksGale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL) Law eBooksTeen Rights and Freedoms (eBooks) - Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL)
This is the "Criminal Justice" page of the "Criminal Justice and Law Research " guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Criminal Justice and Law Research  

Last Updated: Nov 14, 2017 URL: http://libguides.warner.edu/law Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Criminal Justice Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Books from the Warner University Library

 

Criminal Justice Books

Cover Art
Crime and Criminals: opposing viewpoints - James D. Torr
Call Number: HV 6789 .C68133 2004
ISBN: 0737722223
Publication Date: 2004-06-29
U.S. crime rates fell for most of the 1990s, but sociologists warn that these downward trends cannot continue indefinitely. The authors in this volume examine the factors that influence crime-focusing on the economy, prison and sentencing policies, and gun control laws-in the following chapters: What Causes Crime? Does Controlling Guns Control Crime? How Should the Criminal Justice System Be Reformed? How Can Crime Be Reduced?

Cover Art
Criminal Justice - Phyllis B. Gerstenfeld (Editor); Dawn P. Dawson (Editor-In-Chief); Christina J. Moose (Editorial Board Member); R. Kent Rasmussen (Editorial Coordinator)
Call Number: KF 9214.5 .C75 2006 v.1; KF 9214.5 .C75 2006 v.2; KF 9214.5 .C75 2006 v.3
ISBN: 9781587652189
Publication Date: 2005-09-01
Criminal Justice is a new, three-volume reference set covering the most important aspects of criminal justice in the United States. It details the commission and frequency of crimes through the investigation, apprehension, prosecution and punishment of wrongdoers. There is also a unique emphasis on the public perception of justice in the media.

Cover Art
John Douglas's Guide to Landing a Career in Law Enforcement - John E. Douglas
Call Number: HV 8143 .D675 2005
ISBN: 0071417176
Publication Date: 2004-09-20
The ultimate insider’s guide to pursuing a career in one of the hottest, fastest-growing career sectors in America In a departure from his usual edge-of-the-seat coverage, New York Times bestselling author and legendary FBI profiler John Douglas draws on his 25 years of experience to offer this unique career guide. Written for those interested in pursuing a career in law enforcement but unsure which agency is right for them, John Douglas’s Guide to Landing a Career in Law Enforcement is a treasure trove of insider information and step-by-step instructions that arms you with: A comprehensive overview of law enforcement agencies and career opportunities— from park ranger to air marshal to NSA code cracker Guidance on finding and winning the ideal job in law enforcement Work sheets, checklists, and self-evaluations Websites, contact information, study guides, and other valuable resources

Cover Art
Media, Crime and Criminal Justice: images and realities - Raymond Surette
Call Number: P 96 .C74 S87 1997
ISBN: 0534508634
Publication Date: 1997-07-16
This text is the definitive work on media and criminal justice. With the media's role in reporting crime and using crime as entertainment gaining increasing influence and attention, the importance of the interplay between the mass media news and entertainment systems and the criminal justice system may be greater today than ever before. Surette comprehensively explores this interplay. The basic premise of the text is that people use knowledge obtained from the media to build a picture of the world and then base their actions on this constructed image.

Cover Art
The Handbook of Crime and Punishment - Michael H. Tonry (Editor)
Call Number: HV 6789 .H25 1998
ISBN: 0195110668
Publication Date: 1998-08-27
Crime is one of the most significant political issues in contemporary American society. Crime control statistics and punishment policies are subjects of constant partisan debate, while the media presents sensationalized stories of criminal activity and over-crowded prisons. In the highlypoliticized arena of crime and justice, empirical data and reasoned analysis are often overlook or ignored. The Handbook of Crime and Punishment, however, provides a comprehensive overview of criminal justice, criminology, and crime control policy, thus enabling a fundamental understanding of crimeand punishment essential to an informed public. Expansive in its coverage, the Handbook presents materials on crime and punishment trends as well as timely policy issues. The latest research on the demography of crime (race, gender, drug use) is included and weighty current problems (organizedcrime, white collar crime, family violence, sex offenders, youth gangs, drug abuse policy) are examined. Processes and institutions that deal with accused and convicted criminals and techniques of punishment are also examined. While some articles emphasize American research findings anddevelopments, others incorporate international research and offer a comparative perspective from other English-speaking countries and Western Europe. Editor Michael Tonry, a leading scholar of criminology, introduces the 28 articles in the volume, each contributed by an expert in the field. Designedfor a wide audience, The Handbook is encyclopedic in its range and depth of content, yet is written in an accessible style. The most inclusive and authoritative work on the topic to be found in one volume, this book will appeal to those interested in the study of crime and its causes, effects,trends, and institutions; those interested in the forms and philosophies of punishment; and those interested in crime control.

 

More Criminal Justice Books

Cover Art
Of Crime and Criminality: the use of theory in everyday life - Sally Simpson (Editor); Robert Agnew (Editor)
Call Number: HV 6018 .O3 2000
ISBN: 0761986383
Publication Date: 2000-02-15
This collection of original essays is an innovative, effective way to teach crime theory to undergraduates. Each essay brings an important crime theory to life by applying that theory to a current crime event or topic of interest to students. An original introductory essay by Don Gibbons explains the origins of these different explanations for criminal behavior, and how they are similar to and different from one another.

Cover Art
Search and Destroy: African-American males in the criminal justice system - Jerome G. Miller
Call Number: HV 9950 .M55 2011
ISBN: 0521743818
Publication Date: 2010-11-22
This tightly argued and methodologically sound volume addresses widespread social assumptions associating crime and African-American men. An exploration into the criminal justice system in America today and its impact on young African-American males, this book challenges the linking of crime and race and the conservative anti-welfare, hard-on-crime agenda. Jerry Miller has spent a lifetime studying and challenging our criminal justice system. He has worked to make it more progressive and more just. He has watched as it turned into a system of segregation and control for many Americans of color. That is the story told here in devastating detail.

Cover Art
Virtual Justice: the flawed prosecution of crime in America - H. Richard Uviller
Call Number: KF 9223 .U88 1996
ISBN: 0300064837
Publication Date: 1996-05-29
Sensational trials televised and reported by news media have focused attention recently on the American criminal justice system. This work examines the flaws, contradictions and weaknesses in the system, asking questions about issues such as the contribution of lawyers to justice in the courtroom.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip