EBSCO Tutorials and GuidesUseful resources 1Useful Resources 2
American Social PolicyClient GroupsHistorySocial IssuesCredo Reference eBooks
More Social Work booksSocial Work Children booksElderly/EthicsSocial Work: Practice
Human Trafficking eBooksCurrent Issues/Human Trafficking LinksDatabasesInternational Resources /Google Scholar/Writing Resources
eBooks
DatabasesEBSCO : Individual Social Work DatabasesReferenceInternational Resources - Google Scholar/Writing ResourcesSocial Work Links
This is the "Credo Reference: Social Work" page of the "Social Work Research" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Social Work Research  

Library's Social Work Research Resources.
Last Updated: Nov 10, 2017 URL: http://libguides.warner.edu/socialwork Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Credo Reference: Social Work Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Credo Reference

The following are restricted to current Warner University students, faculty, and staff.

Log-in: Warner email account. 

Credo Reference

Credo Reference


Description: Credo Reference is a general reference resource with full-text, aggregated content covering every major subject from the world's best publishers of reference.

Credo Logo

Other Reference Resources

  • The Encyclopedia of Aging
    The Encyclopedia of Aging has proven to be the definitive resource for scholars and students across the burgeoning and increasingly interdisciplinary fields of gerontology and geriatrics. Like its three esteemed predecessors, the fourth edition contains concise, readable explorations of hundreds of terms, concepts, and issues related to the lives of older adults, as well as timely coverage of the many new programs and services for the elderly. Updated, under the distinguished stewardship of editor-in-chief Richard Schulz to reflect the infusion of new information across the scientific disciplines, this new edition brings readers up-to-the-moment significant advances in biology, physiology, genetics, medicine, psychology, nursing, social services, sociology, economics, technology, and political science. While retaining the format and standard of excellence that marked the first three editions, the fourth edition encompasses a wealth of new information from the social and health sciences
  • The Encyclopedia of Elder Care
    This interdisciplinary clinical reference encompasses hundreds of current entries on a broad range of topics related to geriatrics and geriatric care across multiple health care disciplines. The third edition reflects the many advances in geriatrics that have occurred since the publication of the second edition in 2006. It contains the updated, evidence-based contributions of more than 260 nationally recognized geriatric healthcare professionals regarding elder-care concerns relating to society, community, caregiving, and the individual.
  • Global Social Issues: An Encyclopedia
    This landmark reference is a comprehensive, one-stop, interdisciplinary resource that examines current, critical social issues in historical and global contexts. Nearly 150 in-depth, balanced, and thought-provoking articles cover a broad range of critically important topics: the environment, health, science, the media, ethnic conflicts, poverty, and immigration.

Practice: The Field

  • Evaluation research
    From World of Sociology, Gale
    Evaluation research, sometimes referred to as program evaluation, is conducted to appraise the utility of an implemented program or policy. In other words, did the program or policy work? Results of evaluation research studies can be used to improve programs, justify programs, or show cause to cut funding to ineffective programs. MORE
  • Evidence-based practice
    From Encyclopedia of Special Education: A Reference for the Education of the Handicapped and Other Exceptional Children and Adults
    Evidence-based practice (EBP) is a term broadly used in many health care and education fields to refer to practice that is informed by the findings and conclusions of research. MORE
  • Family therapy
    From Encyclopedia of Special Education: A Reference for the Education of the Handicapped and Other Exceptional Children and Adults
    Family therapy offers a distinctive theoretical approach for working with human problems, with the focus on the individual and their relationships with others, especially within the family structure. MORE
  • Group therapy
    From Encyclopedia of Special Education: A Reference for the Education of the Handicapped and Other Exceptional Children and Adults
    Group therapy is a general term that refers to any of the various types of therapeutic groups that share the broad purpose of increasing people’s knowledge of themselves and others and giving people the skills necessary to enhance their personal competence. MORE
  • Social welfare: Topic Page
    . . . Modern social welfare measures may include any of the following: the care of destitute adults; the treatment of the mentally ill; the rehabilitation of criminals; the care of destitute, neglected, and delinquent children; the care and relief of the sick or handicapped; the care and relief of needy families; and supervisory, educational, and constructive activity, especially for the young. MORE
  • Social work: Topic Page
    Organized effort to help individuals and families to adjust themselves to the community, as well as to adapt the community to the needs of such persons and families. Modern social work employs three methods of assistance: case work, group work, and community organization. MORE

Practice: Work Settings

  • Foreign aid: Topic Page
    . . . U.S. foreign aid programs have included at least three different objectives: rehabilitating the economies of war-devastated countries, strengthening the military defenses of allies and friends of the United States, and promoting economic growth in underdeveloped areas. MORE
  • Homeless shelters
    From Poverty and the Government in America: A Historical Encyclopedia
    When poor people become homeless, governments generally have provided some sort of shelter for them. In colonial and early America, this shelter was often in the home of another private citizen, whom the local government paid to take in the homeless person or family. MORE
  • Hospital: Topic Page
    An institution in which certain kinds of illness are investigated and treated. The first documented hospital was Chinese, in 491. In the European Middle Ages the well-to-do were all treated at home, while the sick poor were cared for in a hospital attached to the local poor house. MORE
  • Juvenile justice system
    From World of Criminal Justice, Gale
    The U.S. juvenile justice system is a distinct and separate system for dealing with young individuals who have committed criminal offenses. A juvenile is a person whose age is below a statutory limit. MORE
  • Nursing homes
    From World of Sociology, Gale
    Nursing homes are institutions where mostly older individuals live when they are no longer able to care for themselves independently. Nursing homes employ doctors, nurses, and other staff members who take care of the daily needs of their patients. MORE
  • School: Topic Page
    Term commonly referring to institutions of pre-college formal education. It also properly includes colleges, universities, and many types of special training establishments . . . MORE
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip