EBSCO Tutorials and GuidesUseful resources 1Useful Resources 2
More Education BooksEducation Theories BooksEducators BooksChristian Education/Educational Topic BooksHigher Education/Multicultural BooksOnline Education/Special Needs Books
Kindergarten booksGrades 1-2 BooksGrades 3-4 BooksGrades 5-6 BooksMiddle School/High School booksChildren's Literature BooksTeens/Young Adult Literature BooksK-12 Spanish/English Books and KitsK-12 Spanish/English Books - Topics
Curriculum Material Center KitseBooksGoogle Scholar/Writing Resources
Individual eBooks - ABC-CLIOIndividual eBooks (GVRL)Debating Issues in Amercian Education (GVRL) - Individual eBooksebray Academic eBooks Searchable Information Centers
More Children and Youth eBooksHathiTrust Digital Library: Children's Literature and Project Gutenberg eBooksUseful links - Children's Literature
Adult EducationAlternative Education, Educators and Institutions, and English as a Second LanguageEducational PhilosophyHistoryInstitutionsSpecial EducationTerms & ConceptsCredo Reference - eBooks
This is the "Terms & Concepts" page of the "Teacher Education Books, eBooks, and Kits" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Teacher Education Books, eBooks, and Kits  

Last Updated: Aug 17, 2017 URL: http://libguides.warner.edu/EDbks Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Terms & Concepts Print Page
  Search: 
 

Educational Concepts

  • Autocritique
    From Dictionary of Visual Discourse: A Dialectical Lexicon of Terms
    Critical self-reflection: a fundamental requirement of all genuinely critical and reflexive investigations. To make autocriticism a normal feature of intellectual life requires the production of texts, discourses and forms of instruction that admit their own contingent status, that encourage dialogue and insist on being superseded.
  • Civic education
    From Philosophy of Education: An Encyclopedia
    Civic education refers to education that is concerned with the development of citizenship or civic competence.
  • Collaborative learning
    From Encyclopedia of Cognitive Science
    Forms of cooperative or collaborative learning have been used for centuries and a variety of peer learning techniques have emerged. The underlying premise of these techniques is that learning is enhanced by peer interaction.
  • Dialogical reflexivity
    From Dictionary of Visual Discourse: A Dialectical Lexicon of Terms
    Dialogic (or dialogical) reflexivity is self-reflection and reflexive transaction occasioned by the reciprocal encounter of self and other, particularly in the mutual argumentative disclosure characterizing reflexive communication and interpretive interaction.
  • Praxis
    From The Social Science Jargon-Buster
    The process by which a theory becomes part of lived experience and empowers individuals to become critically conscious beings.

Terms & Concepts

  • Community
    From The Social Science Jargon-Buster
    A group of people who share a sense of belonging based on commonalities such as residential area, culture, race, religion, profession or interests.
  • Community action
    From World of Sociology
    Community action refers to social activities undertaken to achieve specific goals that will benefit a community.
  • Community work
    From Collins Dictionary of Sociology
    A distinct movement aimed at stimulating local schemes for development, particularly of education, which started in colonial societies in the aftermath of World War II.
  • Community-based organization
    From World of Sociology
    An organization is a group of persons that assembles with a particular goal or purpose in mind. A community based organization has its basis within a community, or a locale where people live.
  • Community involvement
    From Business: The Ultimate Resource
    programs through which organizations aim to make a positive contribution to the local community by identifying problems and initiating practical action in order to address them in partnership with local people.
  • Mentoring
    From Dictionary of Youth Justice
    Mentoring provides a popular means of working with ‘disaffected’ young people that typically involves a relationship between an older, more experienced mentor and an unrelated young protégé (mentee).
  • Responsibility
    From Key Contemporary Concepts
    ‘Responsibility’ which arrives with the idea of the individual in the eighteenth century, is a term that has an everyday as well as a deeper, often moral significance.
  • Social change
    From The Blackwell Dictionary of Sociology
    Social change is any alteration in the cultural, structural, population, or ecological characteristics of a social system such as a society.
  • Volunteer
    From The Macquarie Dictionary
    someone who enters into any service of their own free will, or who offers to perform a service or undertaking for no financial gain.

Community Needs

  • Addiction: Topic Page
    State of dependence caused by frequent and regular use of drugs, alcohol, or other substances. It is characterized by uncontrolled craving, tolerance, and symptoms of withdrawal when access is denied.
  • Alcoholism: Topic Page
    Disease characterized by impaired control over the consumption of alcoholic beverages.
  • Child abuse: Topic Page
    The deliberate injury of a child. Child abuse can take several forms: neglect (including failure to provide adequate shelter, food, or medical treatment), physical abuse (including beating and poisoning), emotional abuse (including verbal abuse), and sexual abuse.
  • Child welfare: Topic Page
    Services provided for the care of disadvantaged children. Foundling institutions for orphans and abandoned children were the earliest attempts at child care, usually under religious auspices.
  • Depression: Topic Page
    Depression is commonly used as a definition of an emotion like despondency, dejection or gloom. As a diagnosis, depression is part of a cycle or syndrome (also called a depressive illness) which used to be called melancholia because of its association with low spirits.
  • Environmentalism: Topic Page
    Movement to protect the quality and continuity of life through conservation of natural resources, prevention of pollution, and control of land use.
  • Homelessness: Topic Page
    Homelessness is the lack of residential shelter or the prevalence of that lack within a population. Homelessness has conventionally been conceived of as distinct from indigence.
  • Housing: Topic Page
    In general, living accommodations available for the inhabitants of a community. Throughout the 19th cent., with the advent of the Industrial Revolution, housing as a problem worsened as urban populations expanded.
  • Illiteracy: Topic Page
    Inability to meet a certain minimum criterion of reading and writing skill.
  • Mental Health: Topic Page
    Well-being and soundness of mind, not only in terms of intellectual abilities, but also in terms of the capability to deal with everyday problems, and the capacity to get on well with other people and to form and sustain relationships.
  • Obesity: Topic Page
    Condition resulting from excessive storage of fat in the body. Obesity has been defined as a weight more than 20% above what is considered normal.
  • Poverty: Topic Page
    Condition in which the basic needs of human beings (shelter, food, and clothing) are not being met.
  • Prostitution: Topic Page
    Act of granting sexual access for payment. Although most commonly conducted by females for males, it may be performed by females or males for either females or males.
  • Social Welfare: Topic Page
    Or public charity, organized provision of educational, cultural, medical, and financial assistance to the needy....
  • Standard of living: Topic Page
    Level of consumption that an individual, group, or nation has achieved. The evaluation of a standard of living is relative, depending upon the judgment of the observer as to what constitutes a high or a low scale.
  • Unemployment: Topic Page
    Lack of paid employment. The unemployed are usually defined as those out of work who are available for and actively seeking work.
  • Vagrancy: Topic Page
    In law, term applied to the offense of persons who are without visible means of support or domicile while able to work.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip