EBSCO Tutorials and GuidesUseful resources 1Useful Resources 2
More Education BooksEducation Theories BooksEducators BooksChristian Education/Educational Topic BooksHigher Education/Multicultural BooksOnline Education/Special Needs Books
Kindergarten booksGrades 1-2 BooksGrades 3-4 BooksGrades 5-6 BooksMiddle School/High School booksChildren's Literature BooksTeens/Young Adult Literature BooksK-12 Spanish/English Books and KitsK-12 Spanish/English Books - Topics
Curriculum Material Center KitseBooksGoogle Scholar/Writing Resources
Individual eBooks - ABC-CLIOIndividual eBooks (GVRL)Debating Issues in Amercian Education (GVRL) - Individual eBooksebray Academic eBooks Searchable Information Centers
More Children and Youth eBooksHathiTrust Digital Library: Children's Literature and Project Gutenberg eBooksUseful links - Children's Literature
Adult EducationAlternative Education, Educators and Institutions, and English as a Second LanguageEducational PhilosophyHistoryInstitutionsSpecial EducationTerms & ConceptsCredo Reference - eBooks
This is the "Special Education" page of the "Teacher Education Books, eBooks, and Kits" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Teacher Education Books, eBooks, and Kits  

Last Updated: Aug 17, 2017 URL: http://libguides.warner.edu/EDbks Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Special Education Print Page
  Search: 
 

Special Education

  • Inclusion
    From Encyclopedia of Applied Psychology
    In educational terms, it is the opposite of ‘exclusion’ – instead of trying to get rid of difficult or problematic youngsters, it means including all types of learners, whatever their background, difficulties or disabilities.
  • Least Restrictive Environment (LRE)
    From Encyclopedia of Special Education
    Two major features of the Individuals with Disabilities Education Improvement Act of 2004 (IDEIA; 2004) are in place to ensure the most appropriate education of children with disabilities.
  • Mainstreaming
    From Encyclopedia of Special Education
    Mainstreaming was the popular term used for the legal doctrine of least restrictive environment (LRE).
  • Remedial Instruction
    From Encyclopedia of Special Education
    Corrective and remedial instruction are both forms of academic assistance provided to students who need special help in various areas of instruction.
  • Reverse Mainstreaming
    From Encyclopedia of Special Education
    Reverse mainstreaming is a procedure that introduces nondisabled students into special classrooms to work with students with severe disabilities.
  • Special Education
    From Encyclopedia of Applied Psychology
    Special education is a service provided to students with educational disabilities.

Special Education: Issues

  • Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder: Topic Page
    (ADHD), formerly called hyperkinesis or minimal brain dysfunction, a chronic, neurologically based syndrome characterized by any or all of three types of behavior: hyperactivity, distractibility, and impulsivity.
  • Autism: Topic Page
    One of a spectrum of disorders defined by problems with communication, imagination, and social interaction. The symptoms may be present from birth or may develop in early childhood, around the third year.
  • Blindness: Topic Page
    Partial or complete loss of sight. Blindness may be caused by injury, by lesions of the brain or optic nerve, by disease of the cornea or retina, by pathological changes originating in systemic disorders (e.g., diabetes) and by cataract, glaucoma, or retinal detachment.
  • Deafness: Topic Page
    Partial or total lack of hearing. It may be present at birth (congenital) or may be acquired at any age thereafter.
  • Developmental Disabilities
    From Encyclopedia of Special Education
    A term representing an umbrella category referring to a diverse group of physical, cognitive, psychological, sensory, and speech impairments that begin anytime during an individual’s development up to 22 years of age.
  • Down Syndrome: Topic Page
    Congenital disorder characterized by mild to severe mental retardation, slow physical development, and characteristic physical features.
  • Dyslexia
    From Cambridge Encyclopedia of Child Development
    Although the majority of children learn to read without difficulty, a substantial minority (between 4 and 10 percent) have significant problems.
  • Learning Disabilities
    From Encyclopedia of Special Education
    Children and adults classified as learning disabled (LD) are those individuals who are of normal intelligence but suffer mental information processing difficulties.
  • Mental Retardation: Topic Page
    Below average level of intellectual functioning, usually defined by an IQ of below 70 to 75, combined with limitations in the skills necessary for daily living.
  • Physical Disabilities
    From Encyclopedia of Special Education
    A variety of interchangeable terms have been used to describe persons with physical handicaps.
  • Teen Pregnancy
    From Encyclopedia of Women's Health
    Currently, approximately 15 million girls under the age of 20 in the world have a child each year.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip