EBSCO Tutorials and GuidesUseful resources 1Useful Resources 2
More Education BooksEducation Theories BooksEducators BooksChristian Education/Educational Topic BooksHigher Education/Multicultural BooksOnline Education/Special Needs Books
Kindergarten booksGrades 1-2 BooksGrades 3-4 BooksGrades 5-6 BooksMiddle School/High School booksChildren's Literature BooksTeens/Young Adult Literature BooksK-12 Spanish/English Books and KitsK-12 Spanish/English Books - Topics
Curriculum Material Center KitseBooksGoogle Scholar/Writing Resources
Individual eBooks - ABC-CLIOIndividual eBooks (GVRL)Debating Issues in Amercian Education (GVRL) - Individual eBooksebray Academic eBooks Searchable Information Centers
More Children and Youth eBooksHathiTrust Digital Library: Children's Literature and Project Gutenberg eBooksUseful links - Children's Literature
Adult EducationAlternative Education, Educators and Institutions, and English as a Second LanguageEducational PhilosophyHistoryInstitutionsSpecial EducationTerms & ConceptsCredo Reference - eBooks
This is the "Institutions" page of the "Teacher Education Books, eBooks, and Kits" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Teacher Education Books, eBooks, and Kits  

Last Updated: Aug 17, 2017 URL: http://libguides.warner.edu/EDbks Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Institutions Print Page
  Search: 
 

Institution Types

  • Charter School: Topic Page
    Alternative type of American public school that, while paid for by taxes, is independent of the public-school system and relatively free from state and local regulations.
  • Community College
    From The Columbia Encyclopedia
    Public institution of higher education. Community colleges are characterized by a two-year curriculum that leads to either the associate degree or transfer to a four-year college.
  • Kindergarten
    From The Columbia Encyclopedia
    Friedrich Froebel designed (1837) the kindergarten to provide an educational situation less formal than that of the elementary school but one in which children's creative play instincts would be organized constructively.
  • Library: Topic Page
    A collection of books or other written or printed materials, as well as the facility in which they are housed and the institution that is responsible for their maintenance.
  • Madrasah
    From Dictionary of World Philosophy
    Literally meaning a “place of study,” this term designated a school of higher study in the Islamic world. Its higher-study ranking presupposed that its students had memorized the entire Quran.
  • School: Topic Page
    Term commonly referring to institutions of pre-college formal education. It also properly includes colleges, universities, and many types of special training establishments.
  • Sunday School: Topic Page
    Institution for instruction in religion and morals, usually conducted in churches as part of the church organization but sometimes maintained by other religious or philanthropic bodies.
  • University: Topic Page
    Institution of higher learning for those who have completed primary and secondary education.

Universities

  • Cambridge University
    From The Columbia Encyclopedia
    At Cambridge, England, one of the oldest English-language universities in the world.
  • Columbia University: Topic Page
    Mainly in New York City; founded 1754 as King's College by grant of King George II; first college in New York City, fifth oldest in the United States; one of the eight Ivy League institutions.
  • Harvard University: Topic Page
    Mainly at Cambridge, Mass., including Harvard College, the oldest American college.
  • Oxford University
    From The Columbia Encyclopedia
    At Oxford, England, one of the oldest English-language universities in the world.
  • Rutgers University: Topic Page
    Main campus at New Brunswick, N.J.; land-grant and state supported; coeducational except for Douglass College; chartered 1766 as Queen's College, opened 1771.
  • Yale University: Topic Page
    At New Haven, Conn.; coeducational. Chartered as a collegiate school for men in 1701...

Museums and Libraries

  • British Museum: Topic Page
    The national repository in London for treasures in science and art. Located in the Bloomsbury section of the city, it has departments of antiquities, prints and drawings, coins and medals, and ethnography.
  • Library of Congress: Topic Page
    National library of the United States, Washington, D.C., est. 1800. Thomas Jefferson while Vice President was a prime mover in the creation of the library, and he supported it strongly during his presidency.
  • Museum of Modern Art: Topic Page
    (MoMA), New York City, established and incorporated in 1929. Its present collection represents one of the finest groups of modern and contemporary art in the world, and its 1999 merger with P.S. 1, a contemporary art space in Long Island City, Queens, gave MoMA a greater connection to avant-garde art.
  • New York Public Library: Topic Page
    Free library supported by private endowments and gifts and by the city and state of New York. It is the one of largest libraries in the world.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip