EBSCO Tutorials and GuidesUseful resources 1Useful Resources 2
More Education BooksEducation TheoriesEducatorsChristian Education/Educational TopicHigher Education/MulticulturalOnline Education/Special Needs
Kindergarten booksGrades 1-2Grades 3-4Grades 5-6Middle School/High SchoolChildren's LiteratureTeens/Young Adult LiteratureK-12 Spanish/English Books and KitsK-12 Spanish/English Books - Topics
Curriculum Material Center KitseBooksInternational Resources - Google Scholar/Writing Resources
Individual eBooks - ABC-CLIOIndividual eBooks (GVRL)Debating Issues in Amercian Education (GVRL) - Individual eBooksebray Academic eBooks Searchable Information Centers
More Children and Youth eBooksHathiTrust Digital Library: Children's Literature and Project Gutenberg eBooksChildren's Literature Links
Adult EducationAlternative Education/Educators and Institutions/English as a Second LanguageEducational PhilosophyHistoryInstitutionsSpecial EducationTerms & ConceptsCredo Reference eBooks
This is the "Educational Philosophy" page of the "Teacher Education Books, eBooks, and Kits" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Teacher Education Books, eBooks, and Kits  

Last Updated: Nov 2, 2017 URL: http://libguides.warner.edu/EDbks Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Educational Philosophy Print Page
  Search: 
 

Related Philosophies

  • Constructionism
    From The Sage Dictionary of Cultural Studies
    A generic name given to anti-essentialist theories that stress the culturally and historically specific creation of meaningful categories and phenomena.
  • Constructivism
    From The Concise Corsini Encyclopedia of Psychology and Behavioral Science
    In traditional philosophy, the commodity that goes by the name of knowledge, whether based on information conveyed by the senses or on insights of intuitive reason, is always expected to represent an external reality in some way analogous to the way pictures represent what they are supposed to depict.
  • Epistemology: Topic Page
    [Gr.,=knowledge or science], the branch of philosophy that is directed toward theories of the sources, nature, and limits of knowledge.
  • Experiential Learning
    From Business: The Ultimate Resource
    A model that views learning as a cyclical process in four stages: concrete experience, reflective observation, abstract conceptualization, and active experimentation.
  • Humanism
    From The Columbia Encyclopedia
    Philosophical and literary movement in which man and his capabilities are the central concern.
  • Intentionality
    From The Edinburgh International Encyclopaedia of Psychoanalysis
    The cardinal principle of phenomenology, the concept of intentionality originated with the Scholastics in the medieval period and was resurrected by Brentano in the nineteenth century.
  • Interactionist perspective
    From The Blackwell Dictionary of Sociology
    As a major theoretical perspective within sociology, the interactionist perspective focuses on the concrete details of what goes on among individuals in everyday life, as distinct from the larger focus on social systems found in the conflict and functionalist perspectives.
  • Mutuality
    From Palgrave Macmillan Dictionary of Political Thought
    The requirement in an agreement that each party do something to or for the other. Absence of mutuality makes an agreement unenforceable at law, so that a contract ‘without consideration’ is nugatory.
  • Philanthropy: Topic Page
    The spirit of active goodwill toward others as demonstrated in efforts to promote their welfare. The term is often used interchangeably with charity.
  • Situated cognition
    From Encyclopedia of Cognitive Science
    heories of situated cognition maintain that intelligent human action has evolved within and is shaped by and adapted to the specific forms of activity within which it occurs, and that cognition must therefore be understood and studied as an aspect of embodied practical activity.

Notable Figures

  • Jane Addams (1860 - 1935): Topic Page
    U.S. social reformer, feminist, and pacifist, who founded Hull House, a social settlement in Chicago: Nobel peace prize 1931.
  • Jerome Bruner (1915 - ): Topic Page
    Jerome Bruner's contributions can be anchored in three concepts which are concerned with how we learn to mean and to understand others’ meanings. These are intentionality, thinking and culture.
  • John Dewey (1859-1952): Topic Page
    Dewey’s belief that the method of enquiry, the scientific method, should be applied to practical problems lent philosophical support to the rise and the vogue of the social sciences.
  • George Kelly (1905 - 1967)
    From Biographical Dictionary of Psychology
    George Kelly grew up in Kansas and obtained his undergraduate education at Friends University and at Park College, Missouri. In the 1930s, in Kansas, he founded and directed a unique traveling psychological clinic for teachers, parents and children.
  • Maria Montessori (1870-1952): Topic Page
    Single-handedly revolutionized teaching methods for preschool and infant children.
  • Jean Piaget (1896 - 1980): Topic Page
    Swiss psychologist, noted for his work on the development of the cognitive functions in children.
  • Lev Vygotsky (1896 - 1934): Topic Page
    Lev Semeonovich Vygotsky grew up in Gomel, near Belarus's borders with Russia and with the Ukraine. His early life and education were those of a well-to-do Jewish family of the time.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip