EBSCO Tutorials and GuidesUseful resources 1Useful Resources 2
More Education BooksEducation TheoriesEducatorsChristian Education/Educational TopicHigher Education/MulticulturalOnline Education/Special Needs
Kindergarten booksGrades 1-2Grades 3-4Grades 5-6Middle School/High SchoolChildren's LiteratureTeens/Young Adult LiteratureK-12 Spanish/English Books and KitsK-12 Spanish/English Books - Topics
Curriculum Material Center KitseBooksInternational Resources - Google Scholar/Writing Resources
Individual eBooks - ABC-CLIOIndividual eBooks (GVRL)Debating Issues in Amercian Education (GVRL) - Individual eBooksebray Academic eBooks Searchable Information Centers
More Children and Youth eBooksHathiTrust Digital Library: Children's Literature and Project Gutenberg eBooksChildren's Literature Links
Adult EducationAlternative Education/Educators and Institutions/English as a Second LanguageEducational PhilosophyHistoryInstitutionsSpecial EducationTerms & ConceptsCredo Reference eBooks
This is the "Alternative Education/Educators and Institutions/English as a Second Language" page of the "Teacher Education Books, eBooks, and Kits" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Teacher Education Books, eBooks, and Kits  

Last Updated: Nov 2, 2017 URL: http://libguides.warner.edu/EDbks Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Alternative Education/Educators and Institutions/English as a Second Language Print Page
  Search: 
 

Alternative Education

  • Apprenticeship: Topic Page
    System of learning a craft or trade from one who is engaged in it and of paying for the instruction by a given number of years of work.
  • Auto-Didacticism
    From The Dictionary of Alternatives
    A term meaning ‘self-education’ or ‘self-directed learning’. The great age of auto-didacticism in England was during the formation of radical working-class organizations and movements at the end of the eighteenth and in the first half of the nineteenth century.
  • Charter School: Topic Page
    Alternative type of American public school that, while paid for by taxes, is independent of the public-school system and relatively free from state and local regulations.
  • Distance Learning
    From The Hutchinson Unabridged Encyclopedia with Atlas and Weather guide
    Form of education using technology to teach students who are dispersed geographically.
  • Domestic Education
    From Philosophy of Education: An Encyclopedia
    Any education at home, for home life, or about home life. Political, social, and economic theorists have conceived in various ways of the educational importance of home and family.
  • Electronic Learning/E-Learning
    From The Hutchinson Unabridged Encyclopedia
    Online training delivered to personal computers over the Internet, with the advantage that classes can be taken at any time and in any place, so that students are able to learn at their own pace.
  • Home Schooling
    From The Columbia Encyclopedia
    The practice of teaching children in the home as an alternative to attending public or private elementary or high school. In most cases, one or both of the children's parents serve as the teachers.
  • Religious Education
    From Philosophy of Education: An Encyclopedia
    Traditionally, the concept of religious education has been used to refer to the faith-nurturing activities of a community of faith.
  • Vocational Education: Topic Page
    Training designed to advance individuals' general proficiency, especially in relation to their present or future occupations. The term does not normally include training for the professions.

Educators and Institutions

  • Summerhill
    From The Dictionary of Alternatives
    A Democratic school, originally founded in Hellerau near Dresden by A. S. Neill (1883–1973) in 1921. Neill was the headmaster at the Gretna Green school in Scotland, but left to pursue his idea that happy, free children are more likely to learn, and less likely to suffer the various problems associated with coercive education and emotional repression.
  • Ivan Illich (1926-2002)
    From The Dictionary of Alternatives
    A radical educationalist and social thinker. His first and most famous book, Deschooling Society (1971), argued for the replacement of prison-like institutions for education by lifelong learning webs.
  • Paulo Freire (1921-1997)
    From Collins Dictionary of Sociology
    (1921-1997) radical educationalist. His best known work Pedagogy of the Oppressed was translated into English in 1972. Freire used learning to facilitate the development of consciousness amongst oppressed and marginalised groups.

English as a Second Language

  • Second Language Acquisition
    From The Cambridge Guide to Teaching English to Speakers of Other Languages
    The term second language acquisition (SLA) refers to the processes through which someone acquires one or more second or foreign languages.
  • Second Language Learning and Instruction
    From Encyclopedia of Cognitive Science
    Despite general agreement that reading, writing and speaking a second language involve much more than the mastery of vocabulary and syntax, little attention has been directed towards understanding the sociocultural contexts of learning and the discursive practices that occur in classrooms and communities.
  • Teaching English to Speakers of Other Languages
    From A Dictionary of Sociolinguistics
    North-American term, usually found as the acronym TESOL. TESOL is a general term for the teaching of English to speakers of other languages in a range of contexts.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip