EBSCO Tutorials and GuidesUseful resources 1Useful Resources 2
More Education BooksEducation TheoriesEducatorsChristian Education/Educational TopicHigher Education/MulticulturalOnline Education/Special Needs
Kindergarten booksGrades 1-2Grades 3-4Grades 5-6Middle School/High SchoolChildren's LiteratureTeens/Young Adult LiteratureK-12 Spanish/English Books and KitsK-12 Spanish/English Books - Topics
Curriculum Material Center KitseBooksInternational Resources - Google Scholar/Writing Resources
Individual eBooks - ABC-CLIOIndividual eBooks (GVRL)Debating Issues in Amercian Education (GVRL) - Individual eBooksebray Academic eBooks Searchable Information Centers
More Children and Youth eBooksHathiTrust Digital Library: Children's Literature and Project Gutenberg eBooksChildren's Literature Links
Adult EducationAlternative Education/Educators and Institutions/English as a Second LanguageEducational PhilosophyHistoryInstitutionsSpecial EducationTerms & ConceptsCredo Reference eBooks
This is the "Credo Reference" page of the "Teacher Education Books, eBooks, and Kits" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Teacher Education Books, eBooks, and Kits  

Last Updated: Nov 2, 2017 URL: http://libguides.warner.edu/EDbks Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Credo Reference Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Credo Reference and Video Collection

The following are restricted to current Warner University students, faculty, and staff.

Log-in: Warner email account.

Credo Reference

Credo Reference Video Shelf

Description: Credo Reference is a general reference resource with full-text, aggregated content covering every major subject from the world's best publishers of reference. The video shefl filters results to display the videos in our Credo collection.

Credo Logo

General

  • Education: Topic Page
    Process, beginning at birth, of developing intellectual capacity, skills, and social awareness, especially by instruction. In its more restricted sense, the term refers to the process of imparting literacy, numeracy, and a generally accepted body of knowledge.
  • Philosophy of Education
    From Dictionary of World Philosophy
    Philosophical inquiry dealing with the ends and ideals of education, as well as with pedagogy, which focuses on educational methods and procedures.
  • Technology in Education
    From Philosophy of Education: An Encyclopedia
    Philosophical thinking about technology in education, such as it exists, may be placed into three categories: substantive, instrumentalist, and pluralist.
  • Multiculturalism in Education
    From Philosophy of Education: An Encyclopedia
    An educational reform movement that aims to equalize educational opportunities for diverse racial and ethnic groups.
  • Electronic Learning/E-Learning
    From The Hutchinson Unabridged Encyclopedia with Atlas and Weather guide
    Online training delivered to personal computers over the Internet, with the advantage that classes can be taken at any time and in any place, so that students are able to learn at their own pace.
  • School: Topic Page
    Term commonly referring to institutions of pre-college formal education. It also properly includes colleges, universities, and many types of special training establishments.
  • Learning
    From The Essentials of Philosophy and Ethics
    Learning is the ‘acquisition of knowledge’, or perhaps the development of skills in the application of already existent knowledge.

Terms and Concepts

  • Curriculum
    From Key Concepts in Education
    In schools, it usually means the full range of subjects taught, taken as a whole experience.
  • Illiteracy: Topic Page
    Inability to meet a certain minimum criterion of reading and writing skill.
  • Intelligence Test: Topic Page
    Test that attempts to measure innate intellectual ability, rather than acquired ability.
  • Intelligence: Topic Page
    In psychology, the general mental ability involved in calculating, reasoning, perceiving relationships and analogies, learning quickly, storing and retrieving information, using language fluently, classifying, generalizing, and adjusting to new situations.
  • Literacy
    From Key Concepts in Education
    Most children learn to talk fairly easily. In contrast, learning to read and write is a laborious process. It is the ability to read and write which makes a person ‘literate’, with varying degrees of fluency.
  • Pedagogy
    From The Social Science Jargon-Buster
    Pedagogy focuses on strategies, techniques, and approaches used to facilitate learning.
  • Peer Tutoring
    From The Concise Corsini Encyclopedia of Psychology and Behavioral Science
    Any use of students to coach or tutor one another is usually called “peer tutoring,” although when their ages differ, the students are not really members of the same peer group.
  • School Vouchers: Topic Page
    Government grants aimed at improving education for the children of low-income families by providing school tuition that can be used at public or private schools.
  • Teacher Training: Topic Page
    Professional preparation of teachers, usually through formal course work and practice teaching. Although the concept of teaching as a profession is fairly new, most teachers in industrialized nations today are college or university educated.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip