EBSCO Tutorials and GuidesUseful resources 1Useful Resources 2
More Education BooksEducation TheoriesEducatorsChristian Education/Educational TopicHigher Education/MulticulturalOnline Education/Special Needs
Kindergarten booksGrades 1-2Grades 3-4Grades 5-6Middle School/High SchoolChildren's LiteratureTeens/Young Adult LiteratureK-12 Spanish/English Books and KitsK-12 Spanish/English Books - Topics
Curriculum Material Center KitseBooksInternational Resources - Google Scholar/Writing Resources
Individual eBooks - ABC-CLIOIndividual eBooks (GVRL)Debating Issues in Amercian Education (GVRL) - Individual eBooksebray Academic eBooks Searchable Information Centers
More Children and Youth eBooksHathiTrust Digital Library: Children's Literature and Project Gutenberg eBooksChildren's Literature Links
Adult EducationAlternative Education/Educators and Institutions/English as a Second LanguageEducational PhilosophyHistoryInstitutionsSpecial EducationTerms & ConceptsCredo Reference eBooks
This is the "Individual eBooks - ABC-CLIO" page of the "Teacher Education Books, eBooks, and Kits" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Teacher Education Books, eBooks, and Kits  

Last Updated: Nov 2, 2017 URL: http://libguides.warner.edu/EDbks Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Individual eBooks - ABC-CLIO Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Individual eBooks (ABC-CLIO)

The following are restricted to current Warner University students, faculty, and staff.

Log-in: Warner email account.

 

Alternative Schools: A Reference Handbook

Alternative Schools: A Reference Handbook

Description:   The United States spends more per elementary and secondary student than any other industrialized country except Switzerland. Yet in a 1995 study, U.S. students ranked well below the international average in math and science. Five years later, U.S. students had made the least progressónot only in math and science, but in the essential skill of reading.            

The Assessment Debate: A Reference Handbook (ABC-CLIO)

The Assessment Debate: A Reference Handbook

Description:  Bureaucrats like standardized tests because they want to measure student progress with a one-shot score, which seems an easy and efficient thing to do. A more authentic assessment measures what students can do instead of what they know, and provides feedback on their progress. This book describes the debate between the two approaches.

Bilingual Education: A Reference Handbook (ABC-CLIO)

Bilingual Education: A Reference Handbook

Description: In a nation of immigrants, the questions surrounding bilingual education are not simply academic. Is diversity in language enriching or divisive? Do immigrants revitalize or drain the economy? Should language education aim for monolingualism, bilingualism, or multilingualism? These questions are central to our current political debate about what it means to be an American.            

Charter Schools: A Reference Handbook (ABC-CLIO)

Charter Schools: A Reference Handbook

Description:From zero in 1991 to 1,100 seven years later, charter schools (public schools under contract) today educate well over a quarter of a million students. Charter Schools examines this unusual experiment and the circumstances that surround it.            

 Curriculum Trends: A Reference Handbook  (ABC-CLIO)

Curriculum Trends: A Reference Handbook

Description: Educational reform. Charter schools. The standards movement. High stakes testing. Bilingual education. The controversies surrounding what we teach our children and how we do it have existed since John Dewey espoused his ideas concerning educational reform in the early 1900s. How do we decide whatóand howóto teach our children?

Education in Crisis: A Reference Handbook (ABC-CLIO)

Education in Crisis: A Reference Handbook

Description: Over the last 50 years, historical change has stressed the American educational system to its limits. In the 1950s, Brown v. Board of Education challenged educators to provide equal opportunity for all, while Cold War anxieties spurred a demand for excellence. In the 21st century, a more complex educational agenda is emerging—driven by globalization and shifting realities. Has U.S. education entered a critical new phase?            

Educational Leadership: A Reference Handbook (ABC-CLIO)

Educational Leadership: A Reference Handbook

Description: What style of leadership do we want for our schools? Corporate? Bureaucratic? Collaborative? How we answer this question determines not only what kind of citizens our schools produce, but how our society will address issues of class, gender, race, ethnicity, and religion.

Encyclopedia of Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorders (ABC-CLIO)

Encyclopedia of Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorders

Description: Though it sometimes seems a malady of the tension-fraught modern age, ADHD was documented as far back in history as 493 B.C. by Hippocrates. Physicians in the 18th and 19th centuries began to look in earnest at the disease, noticing common symptoms of a neurological nature.

Girls and Literacy in America: Historical Perspectives to the Present  (ABC-CLIO)

Girls and Literacy in America: Historical Perspectives to the Present

Description: Restriction, resilience, and resultsóthe three 'r's of girls' education in American history. What was the 'great debate' about the female mind in the new republic? Why did industrialization further the cause of girls' education? How is the Internet changing what girls learn today?    

 

Individual eBooks (ABC-CLIO)

Literacy and Learning: A Reference Handbook  (ABC-CLIO)

Literacy and Learning: A Reference Handbook

Description:  More than a decade has passed since UNESCO launched its massive universal literacy campaign. Yet 100 million children are still not in school, and even in industrialized countries like the United States, as many as 25 percent of adults are deficient in literacy skills. What's the problem?

Middle Grades Education: A Reference Handbook (ABC-CLIO)

Middle Grades Education: A Reference Handbook

Description: Think middle schools are just junior highs in newer buildings? Think again. The middle school is a revolutionary concept, a place that nurtures individuality, involves families, encourages creative teaching, and targets crucial health and developmental needs by design. For many, it's the last school equally devoted to the student and to the person that student could be.                    

Migrant Education: A Reference Handbook (ABC-CLIO)

Migrant Education: A Reference Handbook

Description:  What are the unique problems of providing schooling for a population on the move? How does such education compare with the more common experience of remaining in one school for ten months a year, every year? How can we effectively educate a mobile population that is generally indigent and speaks English only as a second language?     

 Multicultural and Diversity Education: A Reference Handbook (ABC-CLIO)

Multicultural and Diversity Education: A Reference Handbook

Description: The Naturalization Act of l790 denied U.S. citizenship to Native Americans and African and Asian immigrants. That policy has changed, and there is now a need to understand education as a social, cultural, and political activity. This book describes how contemporary issues around multicultural education affect educational content, delivery of instruction, and school organization.

Secondary Schools: A Reference Handbook (ABC-CLIO)

Secondary Schools: A Reference Handbook

Description: Schools have changed greatly since the days of readin', writin', and 'rithmetic taught to the tune of a hickory stick. Now there are student rights, magnet schools, standardized tests, computers, and even corporate sponsorships. But are students really getting a better education today?               

Special Education: A Reference Handbook (ABC-CLIO)

Special Education: A Reference Handbook

Description: Historically, children with obvious disabilities were the objects of witch-hunts, exorcisms, burnings and abandonment. With the coming of nationwide compulsory education, it became necessary to accommodate those students who could be seen as not fitting the mold. This volume describes that history, and shows how special education can serve as a model for all education.            

Sports and Education: A Reference Handbook (ABC-CLIO)

Sports and Education: A Reference Handbook

Description: In the sports-saturated United States, we take for granted that organized athletics should be a part of the grade school or high school experienceóto the extent that almost no one questions whether devoting so much school time and money to sports is a good idea or not.                

     Student Rights: A Reference Handbook (ABC-CLIO)

Student Rights: A Reference Handbook

Description: Children like slaves were once considered their father's property, and the state put them to work as indentured servants if they were orphaned or abandoned. Once education became compulsory, student rights became intricately entwined with children's rights. This book traces the legal status of students and examines current related policy issues.    

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip