EBSCO Tutorials and GuidesUseful resources 1Useful Resources 2
More Education BooksEducation TheoriesEducatorsChristian Education/Educational TopicHigher Education/MulticulturalOnline Education/Special Needs
Kindergarten booksGrades 1-2Grades 3-4Grades 5-6Middle School/High SchoolChildren's LiteratureTeens/Young Adult LiteratureK-12 Spanish/English Books and KitsK-12 Spanish/English Books - Topics
Curriculum Material Center KitseBooksInternational Resources - Google Scholar/Writing Resources
Individual eBooks - ABC-CLIOIndividual eBooks (GVRL)Debating Issues in Amercian Education (GVRL) - Individual eBooksebray Academic eBooks Searchable Information Centers
More Children and Youth eBooksHathiTrust Digital Library: Children's Literature and Project Gutenberg eBooksChildren's Literature Links
Adult EducationAlternative Education/Educators and Institutions/English as a Second LanguageEducational PhilosophyHistoryInstitutionsSpecial EducationTerms & ConceptsCredo Reference eBooks
This is the "Teaching Resources" page of the "Teacher Education Books, eBooks, and Kits" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Teacher Education Books, eBooks, and Kits  

Last Updated: Nov 2, 2017 URL: http://libguides.warner.edu/EDbks Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Teaching Resources Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Books from the Warner University Library

 

Teaching Books

Cover Art
1-2-3 Science: science activities for working with young children - Gayle Bittinger; Marion H. Ekberg (Illustrator)
Call Number: Q 181 .B555 1993
ISBN: 0911019626
Publication Date: 1993-07-01

Cover Art
101 Fun Warm-Up and Cool-Down Games - John Byl
Call Number: GV 443 .B94 2004
ISBN: 0736048499
Publication Date: 2004-02-17
Until now, warming up and cooling down have been seen as drudgery—a boring start to a game or class. But not anymore. 101 Fun Warm-Up and Cool-Down Games provides the antidote to the age-old warm-up and cool-down routines of jogging and stretching. When students take part in these games, they will be fully engaged, having fun, and effectively preparing their minds and bodies for the game or activity that lies ahead. This innovative book provides complete information for implementing 101 core games: -The theory behind warm-ups and cool-downs (why they're important and what they should consist of) -41 fun games that can be used in a variety of situations -60 sport-specific games in 7 sports (badminton, baseball, basketball, football, hockey, soccer, and volleyball) -113 variations of the core games to help leaders shape the activities to their group's needs -An easy-to-follow format with illustrations for the more complicated games to ensure proper setup and understanding of the game -A game finder to help leaders easily locate games and determine which are suited to their needs The game descriptions include group size, age, and skill level, making it easy to find the game that's just right for your group. They also can be used as stand-alone activities that promote fitness and fun. And the sport-specific games help kids warm up while working with the ball or equipment that they'll use in their games. The variety of games, the sport-specific applications, the adaptability to different groups, and the multiple uses of the games make this book a valuable resource for any leader working with students or athletes. The illustrations and easy-to-use format make it straightforward and reader-friendly. These games are so engaging that students and athletes will hardly know they're warming up or cooling down. Come game time, they'll be charged up and ready to go. And after the game, they won't mind cooling down.

Cover Art
40 Reading Intervention Strategies for K-6 Students: research-based support for RTI - Elaine K. McEwan-Adkins
Call Number: LB 1573 .M3913 2010
ISBN: 9781934009505
Publication Date: 2009-10-23
This book provides a well-rounded collection of research-based reading intervention strategies that can be used by classroom teachers, interventionists, Title I, special educators, and ELL teachers seeking to support struggling readers in their classrooms and schools. It also provides teacher-friendly sample lesson plans and miniroutines that the classroom teacher can readily understand and adapt. Finally, the book offers citations and descriptions of current research that educators can use to substantiate their strategy choices.
Most educators are deeply concerned with literacy levels in their schools. Everyone is feeling the relentless pressure of high-stakes tests and the need to provide the highest levels of instruction. Specifically, this book is intended for elementary teachers of all kinds and levels, literacy coaches, interventionists, speech pathologists, other educational specialists, special education, bilingual, and Title I administrators, and even college and university professors who are looking for a research-based collection of intervention strategies as a resource in their classrooms.
The intervention strategies are numbered one to forty and are grouped into seven sections: instruction, phonemic awareness, word identification, fluency, vocabulary, comprehension, and reading a lot. Highly effective teachers often use these ?intervention strategies? during whole-group instruction, since many of them will not only scaffold struggling readers but will also motivate and accelerate average and above-average students. Many of the interventions gain exponential power when implemented across a grade-level team or throughout the school. Each of the seven topical sections is preceded by a short research summary, and each of the forty intervention strategies is presented in the following format:
? A description
? A brief discussion of essential background knowledge and more specific research
? Sample lessons, think-alouds, mini teaching routines, or instructional aids to support instruction

Cover Art
A+ Activities for First Grade : Hundreds of Fun and Creative Activities That Will Help Kids Advance in Math, Language, Science, and More! - Singer, Naomi E.
Call Number: LB 1571 .S56 2000 G.1
ISBN: 9781580622752
Publication Date: 1990
Presents of hundreds of creative and entertaining activities, games, and projects designed to make learning fun for first grade youngsters, including "ABC Jumble," "Marvelous Mammals," "Number Dot Match," and "Arithmequilt." Oriignal.

Cover Art
A+ Activities for Second Grade: Hundreds of Fun and Creative Activities That Will Help Kids Advance in Math, Language, Science, and More! - Naomi E. Singer; Matthew J. Miller
Call Number: LB 1571 .S56 2000 G.2
ISBN: 9781580622769
Publication Date: 2000-08-01
Designed to make education fun for second graders, an entertaining assortment of creative games, activities, and projects features "Diphthong Collage," "Rhyme Doodles," "Person of the Year," "Bug's Eye View," and many other ways to enhance a youngster's learning. Original.

Cover Art
Active Learning Handbook for the Multiple Intelligences Classroom - James Bellanca
Call Number: LB 1027.23 .B45 1997
ISBN: 157517071X
Publication Date: 1997-06-01
Formerly a SkyLight publication. It has been proven that students learn best by doing. By incorporating active learning and multiple intelligences into the classroom, teachers can increase learning potential. Active Learning Handbook for the Multiple Intelligences Classroom is overflowing with 200 active learning ideas to implement immediately in the K-12 classroom. Organized in an easy-to-use manner, this resource categorizes each activity by the intelligence it targets and provides reproducibles to help teachers impact students' learning.

Cover Art
Adapted Games and Activities : from tag to team building - Pattie Rouse
Call Number: GV 445 .R68 2004
ISBN: 0736054324
Publication Date: 2004-07-29
Nothing sparks a child's or adolescent's interest like a new game! Adapted Games & Activities: From Tag to Team Building provides a wealth of games to get your students and participants moving and having fun, regardless of their cognitive or physical ability levels. By offering exciting activities that entice your students to participate, you'll not only help them reap the enormous physical benefits of exercise, but you'll also provide opportunities for them to learn to share, express feelings, set goals, and function independently. The activities in this book have been proven to work in the real world of school and recreation settings. Author Pattie Rouse, an experienced adapted physical educator and recreation and sport leader, has designed and pilot-tested these games to enhance success while challenging participants to think and use their physical abilities. The games and activities range from low to high organization, from teacher directed to community based. You'll find the following in Adapted Games & Activities: -Teacher-directed games and activities provide you with a way to work on specific skills and movements with your students and participants—and have fun at the same time. -Success-oriented tag, chase, and dodge games use a nonthreatening, interactive approach to give participants a sense of belonging and self-confidence, regardless of their physical abilities. -Team-building and cooperative games and activities teach group dynamics, self-esteem, respect, and trust. -Higher-organization games are for those students and participants who need a greater challenge. -Lead-up sport and leisure activities help your students and participants work toward playing sports in a school or community setting by developing sport-specific skills and tactics. Except for the higher-organization games, all games are simple, with few rules, so they're easy for students to comprehend. And since little or no equipment is required, your prep time is kept to a minimum. Better yet, you'll find variations for each game, as well as modifications and teaching tips, so that you can easily tailor each game to your participants' cognitive and physical abilities. And all the activities emphasize cooperation and team building to encourage social interactions, develop self-esteem, and build community spirit. Participants who enjoy and feel successful in physical activities are more likely to want to participate in the future, both in and outside of your program. Using Adapted Games & Activities will help you provide a foundation of success so that your students may experience a lifetime of physical fitness—and the sense of accomplishment that goes along with it.

Cover Art
Adapted Physical Activity: crossdisciplinary and lifespan - Claudine Sherrill
Call Number: qGV 445 .S53 2004
ISBN: 0697295133
Publication Date: 2003-12-12
Offering the most comprehensive coverage available and broadening the audience scope to include students majoring in exercise science or coaching who are preparing for nonteaching positions, this new edition features a lifespan, cross-disciplinary approach valuable for both teaching and non-teaching professionals. Adapted Physical Activity, Recreation, and Sport emphasizes attitude change, inclusion, and psychosocial perspectives for understanding individual differences.

Cover Art
Art Education and Human Development - Howard Gardner
Call Number: N 350 .G37 1990
ISBN: 0892361794
Publication Date: 1991-03-07
The production and appreciation of art involves thought processes that have excluded from traditional measures of human intelligence. This book, written by a leading cognitive scientist, makes a compelling case for broadening these definitions and discusses the value other cultures place on artistic abilities. Gardner explores the function of art in human development as well as the strategies children employ in the process of constructing images.

Cover Art
Reaching and Teaching Stressed and Anxious Learners in Grades 4-8: strategies for relieving distress and trauma in schools and classrooms - Barbara E. Oehlberg
Call Number: qLC 4165 .O34 2006
ISBN: 1412917247
Publication Date: 2006-01-06
Trauma and stress can interfere with students' cognitive skills. Dicover how classroom activities can be used to restore feelings of safety, empowerment, and well-being.

Cover Art
Ready! Set! Research!: your fast and fun guide to research papers that rock - Marvin Terban; Richard Smith (Illustrator)
Call Number: CMC LB 1047.3 .T466 2007
ISBN: 0439799872
Publication Date: 2007-07-01
A fast, easy, and fun look at everything students need to know when writing a research paper: how to choose a topic, complete the research, and compose the report. It's easy for kids to feel intimidated by a research project. This new user-friendly guide is the simple answer to some not-so-easy questions. With big, helpful headings, humorous illustrations, and bold graphics, this fun and fast guide offers a logical, step-by-step approach to finding it, writing it, and getting it done!

Cover Art
The Art and Science Connection : hands-on activities for intermediate students - Kimberly Tolley
Call Number: qLB 1585 .T65 1994
ISBN: 0201455455
Publication Date: 1994-01-01
Notes: Structure: the theme of structure --
1. Structure: describe it --
2. Solids --
3. Liquids --
4. Surface tension --
5. Loam and clay --
6. Backyard creatures --
7. Gyotaku: fish painting --
8. Muscles, tendons, bones, and joints --
9. Roots and shoots --
10. Flowers. Interactions: the theme of interactions --
11. Interactions: color combinations --
12. Water interactions --
13. Crime-solving chemistry --
14. Capillary actions --
15. Paper chromatography --
16. Crystals --
17. Inventing a better chalk --
18. Acids and bases --
19. Acid rain --

Cover Art
The Arts and the Creation of Mind - Elliot W. Eisner
Call Number: N 84 .E38 2002
ISBN: 0300095236
Publication Date: 2002-10-11
Learning in and through the arts can develop complex and subtle aspects of the mind, argues Elliot Eisner in this engrossing book. Offering a rich array of examples, he describes different approaches to the teaching of the arts and shows how these refine forms of thinking that are valuable in dealing with our daily life.

 

Assessment Books

Cover Art
Assessing Academic Climates and Cultures - William G. Tierney (Editor)
Call Number: LB 2341 .A753 1990
ISBN: 155542810X
Publication Date: 1990-12-01
Notes: "Winter 1990"
Includes bibliographical references and index.
CONTENTS: Understanding academic culture and climate / Marvin W. Peterson, Melinda G. Spencer -- Ethnographic auditing / David M. Fetterman -- Campus climate / Leonard L. Baird -- Assessing student culture / George D. Kuh -- Faculty cultures, faculty values / Ann E. Austin -- The new president and understanding the campus as a culture / Estela Mara Bensimon -- Exploring organizational climates and cultures / Robert A. Rhoads, William G. Tierney.

Cover Art
Assessing Learners with Special Needs : an applied approach - Terry Overton
Call Number: LB 3051 .O94 2009
ISBN: 0131599577
Publication Date: 2008-04-24
This most recent revision of Assessing Learners with Special Needs: An Applied Approach includes thorough explanations of the IDEA 2004 Regulations including RTI (response to intervention) and Early Intervening Services. Moreover, this text includes more applied exercises within the textbook. To address the increasing importance of accurate assessment of students with pervasive developmental disorders such as autism, the most widely researched diagnostic instruments are included. Students using this textbook will be able to understand progress monitoring through applied exercises in which they monitor their own progress in the course, plot a goal line, and chart their progress across the semester. Students and instructors are provided with chapter-by-chapter CEC Knowledge and Skills Standards. This allows students to see the skills they are expected to master when they complete coursework that is aligned for CEC Accreditation and provides the students with an understanding of the knowledge base expected of today’s highly qualified teachers. All complex concepts are included in the culminating chapter exercises on educational assessment report writing. In these exercises, students will apply their knowledge and skills needed for understanding and making data-based decisions for educational planning using both formal and informal assessment methods. Highlights of the New Edition:Emphasis on progress monitoring, including progress monitoring applied to the acquisition of knowledge and skills presented in this text.Changes within the assessment process according to the regulations of IDEA 2004.Increased number of case studies throughout the text and inclusion of exercises in the text.Expanded chapter on special considerations including assessment of Autism Spectrum Disorders.Increased emphasis and coverage of curriculum-based assessment.Increased consideration of students from culturally and linguistically diverse backgrounds in the assessment process.

Cover Art
Assessing Student Learning: a common sense guide - Linda Suskie; Trudy W. Banta (Foreword by); Banta (Foreword by)
Call Number: qLB 2336 .S87 2009
ISBN: 0470289643
Publication Date: 2009-03-23
The first edition of Assessing Student Learning has become the standard reference for college faculty and administrators who are charged with the task of assessing student learning within their institutions. The second edition of this landmark book offers the same practical guidance and is designed to meet ever-increasing demands for improvement and accountability. This edition includes expanded coverage of vital assessment topics such as promoting an assessment culture, characteristics of good assessment, audiences for assessment, organizing and coordinating assessment, assessing attitudes and values, setting benchmarks and standards, and using results to inform and improve teaching, learning, planning, and decision making.

Cover Art
Assessing Student Learning: from grading to understanding - David Allen; David Allen
Call Number: LB 3051 .A7664 1998
ISBN: 0807737534
Publication Date: 1998-07-01
Featuring contributions from some of today's leading educators, this resource provides a range of practical, replicable processes for collaboratively examining student work, including writing samples, visual work, portfolios, and exhibitions. This uniquely practical text presents vivid descriptions of teachers engaged in collaborative processes in actual school settings, from early elementary through high school. Reporting on the work of several of the most important school change networks and institutes, and incorporating the perspectives of education researchers, teacher educators, administrators, and teachers, this volume builds a powerful argument for refocusing professional development on the collaborative and reflective examination of authentic student work, rather than relying on representations of student learning such as test scores and grades.

Cover Art
Assessing Students with Special Needs - James A. McLoughlin; Rena B. Lewis
Call Number: LC 4031 .M42 2005
ISBN: 0131408194
Publication Date: 2004-03-01
This text not only combines current coverage of formal and informal assessment to meet federal initiatives, but Assessing Students with Special Needs, Sixth Edition, takes extra steps showing how to really use assessments and their results to improve education for students with special needs. The sixth edition prepares teachers and assessment professionals for all aspects of the assessment process-from identifying students with special needs to monitoring, accommodating, and evaluating assessment tools, based on the Assessment Question Model listed on the inside front cover of this text. Features of the sixth edition of this accessible, comprehensive text include: Up-to-date coverage of the latest laws and regulations impacting how, when, and why students are assessed A thorough discussion of CEC skills and knowledge competencies related to assessment Over 200 formal and informal tools, including the most commonly used assessments, emphasizing how they fit into the overall assessment process Assessment in Action cases to encourage critical thinking about assessing students with special needs More coverage on alternate assessments including observation, criterion-referenced testing, curriculum-based and portfolio assessment How to develop collaborative partnerships when assessing students with special needs A robust, text-specific website at www.prenhall.com/mcloughlin

Cover Art
Assessing Teacher Performance: performance-based assessment in teacher education - Beverly D. Shaklee (Editor); Sharon Castle (Editor)
Call Number: LB 2838 .A775 2006
ISBN: 9781578864188
Publication Date: 2006-04-26
This volume is designed to share elements of effective performance-based assessments (PBAs), examine the issues related to credibility of the evidence from PBAs, and to provide practical examples of works in progress from initial licensure through advanced degree programs in teacher education.

Cover Art
Assessment Essentials: planning, implementing, and improving assessment in higher education - Catherine A. Palomba; Trudy W. Banta and Associates; Trudy W. Banta and Associates
Call Number: LB 2366.2 .P35 1999
ISBN: 0787941808
Publication Date: 1999-05-21
This is a one-volume Assessment 101....A comprehensive, useful introduction for novices and a valuable review and update for veterans. --Thomas A. Angelo, associate professor and director, The Assessment Center, School for New Learning, DePaul University This step-by-step guide provides the most current practices for developing assessment programs on college and university campuses. Assessment Essentials outlines the assessment process from the first to the last step and is filled with illustrative examples to show how assessment is accomplished on today's academic campuses. It is especially useful for faculty members and others who may be new to the assessment process. In clear, accessible language, Palomba and Banta describe effective assessment programs and offer a thorough review of the most up-to-date practices in the field. Each chapter of the book addresses a specific aspect of assessment and is designed to walk users through various steps of the assessment process. This comprehensive resource shows how to: * Develop plans and goals that are right for the needs of an individual campus * Encourage involvement and support from students, faculty, alumni, and employees * Select useful methods and approaches * Use the most advantageous performance measures * Develop tests and classroom assignments * Choose appropriate surveys and focus groups * Accurately assess general education, campus environments, and student experiences * Effectively analyze, report, and use the assessment results

Cover Art
Assessment in Science : practical experiences and education research - Maureen McMahon (Editor)
Call Number: LB 1585 .A785 2006
ISBN: 1933531002
Publication Date: 2006-03-01
Notes: A knowledge-based framework for the classroom assessment of student science understanding / Michael R. Vitale, Nancy R. Romance, and Megan F. Dolan -- Developing assessment items: a how-to guide / Laura Henriques, Alan Colburn, and William C. Ritz -- Assessment in support of conceptual understanding and student motivation to learn science / Melissa DiGennaro King -- Adaptive inquiry as the silver bullet: reconciling local curriculum, instruction, and assessment procedures with state-mandated testing in science / Stephen J. Farenga, Beverly A. Joyce, and Daniel Ness -- Science standards influence classroom assessment practices / Kathy J. McWaters and Ronald G. Good -- Usable assessments for teaching science content and inquiry standards / Christopher J. Harris ... [et al.] -- Using rubrics to foster meaningful learning / Marcelle A. Siegel ... [et al.] -- Professional development and teacher learning: using concept maps in inquiry classrooms / Beth Kubitskey ... [et al.] -- Coming to see the invisible: assessing understanding in an inquiry-focused science classroom / Andrea M. Barton, Jennifer L. Cartier, and Angelo Collins -- Evolving ideas: assessment in an evolution course / Cynthia Passmore and Jim Stewart -- Varying instructional methods and assessment of students in high-school chemistry / Avi Hofstein, Rachel Mamlok, and Otilia Rosenberg -- Integrating an assessment plan into a K-12/university engineering partnership / Daniel W. Knight and Jacquelyn F. Sullivan -- Performance assessment tasks as a stimulus for collaboration amoung preservice and inservice teachers / Valarie L. Akerson, Amy Roth McDuffie, and Judith A. Morrison -- Assessment in support of contextually authentic inquiry / Cory A. Buxton -- Helping students understand the minds-on side of learning science / Lawrence B. Flick and Michael Tomlinson -- Revised views of classroom assessment / Mistilina Sato ... [et al.] -- Moving beyond grades and scores: reconsidering assessment feedback / Caleb Cheung ... [et al.] -- Mind mapping as a flexible a

Cover Art
Assessment in Special Education : a practical approach - George Giuliani; Roger Pierangelo
Call Number: LC 4031 .P483 2006
ISBN: 0205416438
Publication Date: 2005-03-01
This text presents a uniquely practical approach to the topic of Assessment in Special Education.The authors organize the material into a “real-world story,” by having each part and chapter of the book reflect the linear chronology of the assessment process used in schools. Unlike other books, this book is organized chronologically to present the overall process in a “straight line” - a practical and useful pedagogy in itself for the novice teacher. The text provides the practical tools necessary for a new teacher to understand the process of assessment in schools and then learn how to put it all together. It provides future special educators comprehensive coverage of the latest tests and evaluation procedures for all areas of exceptionality - for every age group - for students with mild, moderate and severe disabilities.

Cover Art
Assessment of Exceptional Students : educational and psychological procedures - Ronald L. Taylor
Call Number: LC 4031 .T36 2003
ISBN: 0205351077
Publication Date: 2002-07-10
This sixth edition of a text overviewing assessment practices and related issues offers expanded information on the role of the computer in areas such as computer administration and computer scoring, and increased coverage of alternate assessment and testing accommodations in large-scale testing pro

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip