EBSCO Tutorials and GuidesUseful resources 1Useful Resources 2
More Education BooksEducation TheoriesEducatorsChristian Education/Educational TopicHigher Education/MulticulturalOnline Education/Special Needs
Kindergarten booksGrades 1-2Grades 3-4Grades 5-6Middle School/High SchoolChildren's LiteratureTeens/Young Adult LiteratureK-12 Spanish/English Books and KitsK-12 Spanish/English Books - Topics
Curriculum Material Center KitseBooksInternational Resources - Google Scholar/Writing Resources
Individual eBooks - ABC-CLIOIndividual eBooks (GVRL)Debating Issues in Amercian Education (GVRL) - Individual eBooksebray Academic eBooks Searchable Information Centers
More Children and Youth eBooksHathiTrust Digital Library: Children's Literature and Project Gutenberg eBooksChildren's Literature Links
Adult EducationAlternative Education/Educators and Institutions/English as a Second LanguageEducational PhilosophyHistoryInstitutionsSpecial EducationTerms & ConceptsCredo Reference eBooks
This is the "Online Education/Special Needs" page of the "Teacher Education Books, eBooks, and Kits" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Teacher Education Books, eBooks, and Kits  

Last Updated: Nov 2, 2017 URL: http://libguides.warner.edu/EDbks Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Online Education/Special Needs Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Online Education Books

Cover Art
.edu: technology and learning environments in higher education - Tracey Wilen-Daugenti
Call Number: LB 2395.7 .W56 2009
ISBN: 9781433103186
Publication Date: 2008-11-01
The Internet has transformed higher education by changing the way universities and colleges teach students. As a result, many institutions are struggling to understand how the next generation of Internet technologies, including Web 2.0, multimedia, virtual presence, gaming, and the proliferation of mobile devices, will impact their students and infrastructures. .edu: Technology and Learning Environments in Higher Education discusses how higher education institutions can use these technologies to enable learning environments. In the future, students will have complete access to any higher education resource, including expert scholars, lectures, content, courseware, collaborative dialogues, information exchanges, hands-on learning, and research-no matter where they are located. If fully enabled, this new learning environment will blur the lines between on- and off-campus experiences and remove barriers to learning and research-greatly improving the quality of education for students globally.

Cover Art
75 e-Learning Activities: making online learning interactive - Ryan Watkins
Call Number: LB 1044.87 .W38 2005
ISBN: 0787975850
Publication Date: 2005-04-25
This invaluable resource can help transform online courses into exciting, meaningful, and active e-learning experiences. 75 e-Learning Activities is filled with scores of e-learning activities and games that offer trainers and instructors a handbook for creating interactive and engaging online courses. Much like the activities and games used in traditional classroom training, these e-learning activities can be used to increase interactivity, engage learners, accomplish learning objectives, develop online relationships, promote active learning, and create learning communities. With many examples available on the CD-ROM for easy online transfer, the activities can help elaborate on course content through the use of online technologies such as chat rooms, email, or discussion boards.

Cover Art
Bears' Guide to Earning Degrees by Distance Learning - John Bear; Mariah P. Bear
Call Number: LB 2381 .B43
ISBN: 1580084311
Publication Date: 2004-03-01
For anyone looking to earn a college degree over the Internet distance learning has never been more popular or so easy. The authors narrow down this ever-expanding field to 100 of the best accredited distance learning providers in the world.

Cover Art
Blogs, Wikis, Podcasts, and Other Powerful Web Tools for Classrooms - Will Richardson
Call Number: LB 1044.87 .R53 2006
ISBN: 1412927676
Publication Date: 2006-03-06
For both novice and experienced "techies," this practical resource shows how to use blogs and other new Web tools for innovative, interactive teaching and motivated learning.

Cover Art
Educause Leadership Strategies, the e Is for Everything: e-commerce, e-business, and e-learning in higher education - Richard N. Katz (Editor); Diana G. Oblinger (Editor)
Call Number: LB 2395.7 .E58 2000
ISBN: 0787950106
Publication Date: 2000-05-31
Volume 2 of the EDUCAUSE Leadership Strategies Series Organizations worldwide have embraced electronic commerce as one of the most important evolving trends. The shift from paper-based commerce to commerce across electronic networks will significantly change the ways in which higher education business is conducted. This transformation is likely to impact core delivery systems and institutional strategies, ultimately requiring new approaches to supporting and fulfilling institutional missions through e-business and e-learning. Second in the EDUCAUSE Leadership Strategies series, this volume outlines major opportunities and challenges for colleges and universities as they take steps to: * Evaluate their readiness to conduct business online * Build technology infrastructure and expertise to support e-business * Rethink campus and national data systems in an e-learning environment * Establish online relationships with suppliers, partners, and consumers * Address network access, security, and privacy challenges Writing for leaders, administrators, and policy makers, the authors strive to clarify the nature of doing business over the Internet and help campuses develop sound policies and practices for a networked future.

Cover Art
The AMA Handbook of E-Learning : effective design, implementation, and technology solutions - George M. Piskurich; American Marketing Association Staff (Contribution by)
Call Number: HF 5549.5 .T7 A496 2003
ISBN: 0814407218
Publication Date: 2003-06-24
"This authoritative sourcebook is a timely decision-making tool for companies making the transition to (or already using) e-learning. Featuring all-original contributions from high-profile practitioners and renowned theorists, the book reveals how top companies are implementing and using this crucial employee development tool. Topics include: * analyzing organizational need * selling e-learning to the organization * learning management systems * synchronous collaboration * learning portals * repurposing materials * outsourcing and vendor relations. Other chapters focus on motivation and retention, technological and software options, measuring ROI, and more."

 

Books from the Warner University Library

 

Special Needs Books

Cover Art
100+ Ideas for Supporting Children with Dyslexia - Gavin Reid; Shannon Green
Call Number: Call Number: LB 1050.5 .R446 2011
ISBN: 0826434169
Publication Date: 2011-10-20
This practical guide provides anyone supporting children and young people with dyslexia with more than 100 great ideas for reinforcing their learning development. This second edition is up-to-date with the latest research and best practice on dyslexia, and includes a brand new section on differentiation in the classroom. There are also lots of additional ideas on topics including: • emotional literacy • peer support • periods of transition in the child's school life • developing phonic skills; and • exam preparation This book of ready-to-use activities and strategies is perfect for the non-specialist teacher in need of extra guidance, but will also offer new ideas and insights to SENCOs, head teachers, parents and carers and anyone else working with a child or young person with dyslexia.

Cover Art
101 School Success Tools for Students with ADHD - Jacqueline S. Iseman; Stephan M. Silverman; Sue Jeweler
Call Number: LC 4713.2 .I84 2010
ISBN: 159363403X
Publication Date: 2010-03-01
101 School Success Tools for Students with ADHD provides materials and the guidance necessary to assist teachers and parents as they empower students with ADHD to become successful learners. Based on field-tested strategies for use with learners with ADHD, the book provides a brief overview of the specific learning needs of these students before including a wide variety of tools teachers can immediately pull out and use in the classroom and parents can use in the home setting. Each tool is explained in a brief how-to section that includes specific information on adapting the tool based on the individual student's needs. The book covers topics like observing and collecting data on students, creating schedules, assessing a child's strengths, refocusing a child's attention, managing difficult behaviors, implementing calming techniques, providing motivation, and improving study and homework skills. A collection of worksheets, forms, checklists, charts, Web site listings, and other tools are included as reproducible pages.

Cover Art
50 Activities and Games for Kids with ADHD - Patricia O. Quinn (Editor); Judith M. Stern (Editor); Kate Sternberg (Illustrator)
Call Number: qLC 4713.2 .A16 2000
ISBN: 1591474833
Publication Date: 2000-01-01
Contains games, activities, and resources to help make life more manageable and fun for kids with ADHD. This book contains practical advice from teachers, counselors, and other kids just like themselves for increasing success in school, making and keeping friends, understanding feelings, and dealing with siblings and parents.

Cover Art
Autism in the School-Aged Child: expanding behavioral strategies and promoting success - Carol Schmidt; Beth Heybyrne
Call Number: qLC 4717.5 .S44 2004
ISBN: 0967496934
Publication Date: 2004-12-01
A handbook for parents and teachers in using Applied Behavior Analysis in expanding behavioral strategies and promoting successful communication for autistic school-aged children in school and at home. Each chapter includes examples of practical ideas in checklist form and summaries. Examples are geared especially for use with children in preschool through 2nd grade and may be adapted for older children.

Cover Art
Making Math Accessible to Students with Special Needs : practical tips and suggestions, grades K-2 - r4 Educated Solutions
Call Number: qQA 135.6 .M357 2010
ISBN: 1934009660
Publication Date: 2010-04-23
The purpose of Making Mathematics Accessible to Students With Special Needs is to support everyone involved in mathematics education to become confident and competent with mathematics instruction and assessment so that 99% of students will be able to access enrolled grade-level mathematics.

Six chapters address topics critical to effective mathematical instruction such as federal and state legislation, research-based instructional best practices in mathematics, and the selection, administration, and evaluation of accommodations for instruction and assessment. These topics are combined to offer teachers understandable, practical instructional procedures. The resource guides readers through the 5E instructional model, which provides an array of choices and strategies for providing high-quality instruction to all students.

This resource actively engages readers through reflections and tasks in each chapter and can be used as a self-study professional development or as a group book study. Sample answers to tasks and reflections are found in the appendix, along with additional supports.

Making Mathematics Accessible to Students With Special Needs is designed for all teachers involved with mathematics instruction and is a unique resource for alternatively certified teachers and adjunct professionals.

Cover Art
Making Math Accessible to Students with Special Needs: grades 6-8 - R4 Educated Solutions Staff
Call Number: qQA 135.6 .M359 2010
ISBN: 9781934009680
Publication Date: 2010-06-23
The purpose of Making Math Accessible to Students With Special Needs is to support everyone involved in mathematics education to become confident and competent with mathematics instruction and assessment so that 99% of students will be able to access enrolled grade-level mathematics.

Six chapters address topics critical to effective mathematical instruction such as federal and state legislation, research-based instructional best practices in mathematics, and the selection, administration, and evaluation of accommodations for instruction and assessment. These topics are combined to offer teachers understandable, practical instructional procedures. The resource guides readers through the 5E instructional model, which provides an array of choices and strategies for providing high-quality instruction to all students.

This resource actively engages readers through reflections and tasks in each chapter and can be used as a self-study professional development or as a group book study. Sample answers to tasks and reflections are found in the appendix, along with additional supports.

Making Math Accessible to Students With Special Needs is designed for all teachers involved with mathematics instruction and is a unique resource for alternatively certified teachers and adjunct professionals.

Cover Art
Making Math Accessible to Students with Special Needs: practical tips and suggestions, grades 3-5 - R4 Educated Solutions Staff (Contribution by)
Call Number: qQA 135.6 .M358 2010
ISBN: 9781934009673
Publication Date: 2010-06-10
The purpose of Making Mathematics Accessible to Students With Special Needs is to support everyone involved in mathematics education to become confident and competent with mathematics instruction and assessment so that 99% of students will be able to access enrolled grade-level mathematics.

Six chapters address topics critical to effective mathematical instruction such as federal and state legislation, research-based instructional best practices in mathematics, and the selection, administration, and evaluation of accommodations for instruction and assessment. These topics are combined to offer teachers understandable, practical instructional procedures. The resource guides readers through the 5E instructional model, which provides an array of choices and strategies for providing high-quality instruction to all students.

This resource actively engages readers through reflections and tasks in each chapter and can be used as a self-study professional development or as a group book study. Sample answers to tasks and reflections are found in the appendix, along with additional supports.

Making Mathematics Accessible to Students With Special Needs is designed for all teachers involved with mathematics instruction and is a unique resource for alternatively certified teachers and adjunct professionals.

Cover Art
School Success for Kids with Autism - Andrew Egel; Katherine C. Holman; Christine Barthold
Call Number: LC 4718 .S35 2012
ISBN: 9781593637460
Publication Date: 2011-12-01
With the increasing numbers of children diagnosed with autism each year, parents need the valuable information provided in School Success for Kids With Autism to help ensure their children receive the educational programming they need and deserve. By outlining the best practices found in today's classrooms, School Success for Kids With Autism describes how parents and teachers can work together to create nurturing, supportive, and effective classroom environmentsfrom preschool to high schoolThe book covers topics such as understanding how schools define autism; helping students make transitions between teachers, schools, and grade levels; finding the best instructional strategies and supports for inclusive classrooms; helping kids with homework; selecting curriculum; and providing interventions in the home to help develop needed skills. With practical tools and advice from leaders in the field of autism education, this book is sure to give these students, their parents, and their teachers guidance for success.

Cover Art
Social Skills Success for Students with Autism/Asperger's : helping adolescents on the spectrum to fit in - Fred Frankel; Jeffrey J. Wood
Call Number: LC 4717 .F465 2012
ISBN: 9780470952382
Publication Date: 2011-11-15
The only evidence-based program available for teaching social skills to adolescents with autism spectrum disorders Two nationally known experts in friendship formation and anxiety management address the social challenges faced by adolescents with autism spectrum disorders (ASD). The book helps educators instruct youth on conversing with others, displaying appropriate body language, managing anxiety, initiating and participating in get-togethers, and more. The book is filled with helpful information on ASD to aid teachers who have received little training on the topic. Extremely practical, the book includes lesson plans, checklists, and sidebars with helpful advice. Based on UCLA's acclaimed PEERS program, the only evidence-based approach to teaching social skills to adolescents with ASD Contains best practices for working with parents, which is the key to helping kids learn social skills The authors discuss the pros and cons of teaching students with ASD in educational settings like full inclusion (good for academics but bad for social skills) and pull-out special day classes (where the reverse is true) Provides a much-needed book for teachers at all levels for helping students develop the skills they need to be successful.

Cover Art
The ABCs of the ADA: your early childhood program's guide to the Americans with Disabilities Act - Karren/Ikeda Wood; Victoria Youcha
Call Number: KF 2042 .D3 R33 2009
ISBN: 1557669333
Publication Date: 2008-11-06
This is it--the only clear and simple resource that fully explains the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) and shows early childhood programs what they need to do to promote inclusion and ensure compliance with the law. Answering early childhood administrators' most pressing questions about the legal issues surrounding inclusive programs, this informative and practical guidebook gives readers everything they need to create, implement, and monitor the success of their plan for ADA compliance. With this book, directors and managers of early childhood programs will understand the requirements of the ADA and other disability laws, including IDEA and Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act develop policies, procedures, and program materials that meet ADA requirements troubleshoot problems and implement solutions for little or no cost help program staff and families learn about and accept inclusive practices support positive behavior through environmental adaptations make accommodations that promote children's physical accessibility and successful communication meet the needs of children with chronic health conditions Much more than an overview of legislation, this book includes practical checklists, guidelines, and sample policy statements that programs can use to improve the physical accessibility of play areas, create parent handbooks and operations manuals, conduct program reviews, address staff development needs, and more. Every early childhood program will use this essential ADA guide as an active reference&emdashto ensure compliance with the law and to welcome and support the full participation of children with disabilities.

Cover Art
The Academic Acceleration of Gifted Children - Thomas W. Southern; Eric D. Jones; Thomas Southern; Eric Jones
Call Number: LC 3993.9 .A65 1991
ISBN: 0807730688
Publication Date: 1991-03-01
The controversies surrounding the use of educational acceleration have remained unresolved throughout the past century. This book has been written to provide American practitioners with the information they need to make appropriate decisions.

Cover Art
The Ambiguity of Teaching to the Test: standards, assessment, and educational reform - William A. Firestone (Editor); Lora Frances Monfils (Editor); Roberta Y. Schorr (Editor); Sylvia Bulgar (Contribution by); Katrina E. Bulkley (Contribution by); Gregory A. Camilli (Contribution by)
Call Number: LB 3051 .A592 2004
ISBN: 0805845690
Publication Date: 2004-05-01
Testing is one of the most controversial of all state and federal educational policies. The effects of testing are quite ambiguous. The same test may lead to different consequences in different circumstances, and teachers may use very different strategies to prepare students for tests. Although most experts agree that mandatory testing leads to teaching to the test, they disagree about whether it leads to meaningless drill, wasted time, de-professionalizing teachers, and demotivating students, or to more challenging and thoughtful curricula, more engaging teaching, increased student motivation, and increased accountability. To help sort through this ambiguity and provide a firmer basis for decisions, The Ambiguity of Teaching to the Test: Standards, Assessment, and Educational Reform offers a hard look at the effects of state testing, and thoroughly examines the ambiguity of test preparation and how test preparation practices are influenced by what teachers know and the leadership coming from the school and district. Drawing on data from a three-year study of New Jersey's testing policy in elementary mathematics and science, it helps to explain the variety of ways that teachers modify their teaching in response to state tests, raises important questions, and offers useful guidance on how state policymakers and local and district school administrators can implement policies that will improve educational equity and performance for all students. It also offers an in-depth analysis of classroom practices that should inform teachers and teacher educators whose goal is to meaningfully implement conceptually based teaching practices. This comprehensive look at the statewide variation in testing practice features: *a data-based, non-ideological treatment of how testing affects teachers, in a field characterized by ideologically driven beliefs and by anecdotes; *an extensive and well-integrated combination of qualitative and quantitative data sources that provide a statewide overview, as well as an in-depth analysis of teachers and classrooms; *a careful analysis of the variety of forms of teaching to the test; and *a multilevel exploration of how a variety of personal and leadership factors can influence teaching to the test. This is an important book for researchers, professionals, and students in educational testing, educational policy, educational administration, mathematics and science education, educational reform, and the politics and sociology of education. It will also prove useful for state policymakers, school and district leaders, and teacher educators and curriculum specialists who are making decisions about how to design and respond to new testing systems.

Cover Art
The Big Book of Special Education Resources - Roger Pierangelo; George A. Giuliani
Call Number: qLC 3965 .G538 2006
ISBN: 1412917107
Publication Date: 2005-12-08
Save time and frustration with this definitive special education resource to locate specialized clearinghouses and disability organizations, toll-free numbers, publications, state-specific entities, and more.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip