EBSCO Tutorials and GuidesUseful resources 1Useful Resources 2
More Education BooksEducation Theories BooksEducators BooksChristian Education/Educational Topic BooksHigher Education/Multicultural BooksOnline Education/Special Needs Books
Kindergarten booksGrades 1-2 BooksGrades 3-4 BooksGrades 5-6 BooksMiddle School/High School booksChildren's Literature BooksTeens/Young Adult Literature BooksK-12 Spanish/English Books and KitsK-12 Spanish/English Books - Topics
Curriculum Material Center KitseBooksGoogle Scholar/Writing Resources
Individual eBooks - ABC-CLIOIndividual eBooks (GVRL)Debating Issues in Amercian Education (GVRL) - Individual eBooksebray Academic eBooks Searchable Information Centers
More Children and Youth eBooksHathiTrust Digital Library: Children's Literature and Project Gutenberg eBooksUseful links - Children's Literature
Adult EducationAlternative Education, Educators and Institutions, and English as a Second LanguageEducational PhilosophyHistoryInstitutionsSpecial EducationTerms & ConceptsCredo Reference - eBooks
This is the "Education Books" page of the "Teacher Education Books, eBooks, and Kits" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Teacher Education Books, eBooks, and Kits  

Last Updated: Aug 17, 2017 URL: http://libguides.warner.edu/EDbks Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Education Books Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Books from the Warner University Library

 

Education Books

Cover Art
21st Century Skills : learning for life in our times - Bernie Trilling; Charles Fadel
Call Number: LA 217.2 .T75 2009
ISBN: 0470475382
Publication Date: 2009-10-05
The new building blocks for learning in a complex world This important resource introduces a framework for 21st Century learning that maps out the skills needed to survive and thrive in a complex and connected world. 21st Century content includes the basic core subjects of reading, writing, and arithmetic-but also emphasizes global awareness, financial/economic literacy, and health issues. The skills fall into three categories: learning and innovations skills; digital literacy skills; and life and career skills. This book is filled with vignettes, international examples, and classroom samples that help illustrate the framework and provide an exciting view of twenty-first century teaching and learning. Explores the three main categories of 21st Century Skills: learning and innovations skills; digital literacy skills; and life and career skills Addresses timely issues such as the rapid advance of technology and increased economic competition Based on a framework developed by the Partnership for 21st Century Skills (P21) The book contains a DVD with video clips of classroom teaching. For more information on the book visit www.21stcenturyskillsbook.com.

Cover Art
25 Biggest Mistakes Teachers Make and How to Avoid Them - Carolyn Orange
Call Number: LB 1033 .O73 2000
ISBN: 0761975179
Publication Date: 2000-02-03
Gain valuable insight into how to be a more sensitive and effective teacher by analyzing the mistakes of other teachers.

Cover Art
Accountability for Learning: how teachers and school leaders can take charge - Douglas B. Reeves
Call Number: LB 2806.22 .R44 2004
ISBN: 0871208334
Publication Date: 2004-01-01
Accountability. The very mention of the word strikes fear in the hearts of many teachers and school leaders, leading to confusion and panic rather than improved student achievement. Author Douglas B. Reeves explains how to transform accountability from destructive and demoralizing accounting drills into a constructive decision-making process that improves teaching, learning, and leadership. Reeves encourages educators to become proactive in developing student-centered accountability systems. These systems capture the many aspects of teaching that test scores don't reveal--they tell the stories behind the numbers. Reeves shows how educators can create accountability systems that enhance teacher motivation and lead to significant improvements in student achievement and equity, even in traditionally low-performing schools. Accountability for Learning explains how to build a student-centered accountability system by examining key indicators in teaching, leadership, curriculum, and parent and community involvement. Focusing on the classroom, it outlines how teachers can become leaders in accountability by using a four-step process of observation, reflection, synthesis, and replication of effective teaching practices. Finally, the author discusses the role of local, state, and federal policymakers and corrects the myths associated with No Child Left Behind. "As educators, we have two choices," Reeves says. "We can rail against the system, hoping that standards and testing are a passing fad, or we can lead the way in a fundamental reformulation of educational accountability." Accountability for Learning gives readers the helping hand they need to lead the way to fair and comprehensive accountability.

Cover Art
Analyzing the Curriculum - George J. Posner
Call Number: LB 1570 .P643 2004
ISBN: 0072823275
Publication Date: 2003-07-24
This primary text provides the backbone for a basic curriculum course at either the senior or graduate level. The book shows how the parts of a curriculum fit together and helps students identify assumptions underlying curricula. In doing so, students develop the ability to determine why a curriculum proves better for some students than for others; what approaches to teaching are compatible with a particular curriculum; what difficulties a curriculum is likely to encounter during implementation; and what kinds of changes parents, students, and administrators are likely to demand.

Cover Art
Antisocial Behavior in School : strategies and best practices - Hill M. Walker; Geoff Colvin; Elizabeth Ramsey
Call Number: LB 3012 .W335 1995
ISBN: 0534256449
Publication Date: 1994-11-01
This indispensible resource describes the best practices for coping with antisocial behavior patterns among children and youth in school. Designed to enhance educators' understanding of the nature, origins, and causes of antisocial behavior, this book offers interventions and model programs that can be used in preventing or remediating this growing problem in the schools.

Cover Art
Ants in Their Pants: teaching children who must move to learn - Aerial, MA Cross
Call Number: qLC 4711 .C76 2009
ISBN: 9781933653877
Publication Date: 2009-06-01
  From sunup to sundown, "extra busy" children have an endless supply of energy and remain on the move throughout the day. Ants in Their Pants offers successful and tested techniques to help caregivers, educators, and parents provide the best support to active learners so they can thrive in the classroom and at home. These ideas--from a teacher of both special and general education who is a parent of an extra busy child--provide information on how to help extra busy children use their energy to learn while helping teacher understand children who need to move.  

Cover Art
Applying Multicultural and Global Concepts in the Classroom and Beyond - Susan C. Brown; Marcella L. Kysilka
Call Number: LC 1099.3 .B75 2002
ISBN: 0321053982
Publication Date: 2001-09-11
This uniquely practical book allows pre-service and practicing teachers with even the most limited background knowledge about multicultural and global education, to apply that knowledge in their classrooms, schools, and communities. The introductory chapter gives a general background review of multicultural and global education concepts and discusses the importance of teachers becoming involved in transforming their educational practice. The next six chapters investigate the classroom elements of teacher, students, environment, curriculum, instructions, and assessment for way to apply multicultural and global concepts. The final two chapters take readers beyond the classroom into the school and community. For pre-service and practicing teachers in grades K-12.

Cover Art
Assessing Teacher Performance : performance-based assessment in teacher education - Beverly D. Shaklee (Editor); Sharon Castle (Editor)
Call Number: LB 2838 .A775 2006
ISBN: 9781578864188
Publication Date: 2006-04-26
This volume is designed to share elements of effective performance-based assessments (PBAs), examine the issues related to credibility of the evidence from PBAs, and to provide practical examples of works in progress from initial licensure through advanced degree programs in teacher education.

Cover Art
Assessment - John Salvia; James E. Ysseldyke
Call Number: LB 3051 .S245 2001
ISBN: 0618042814
Publication Date: 2000-07-12
Assessment is the bestselling text in its market, combining basic assessment information with a handbook of reviews of tests administered in K–12 schools. The text helps special education educators and school psychological personnel become more informed users of standardized tests by providing information on both standardized and classroom assessment, including portfolio assessment, outcome-based assessment, observation, ecological assessment, and teacher-made tests.

 

More Education Books

Cover Art
Assessment in Early Childhood Settings : learning stories - Margaret Carr
Call Number: LB 1139.23 .C38 2001
ISBN: 076196794X
Publication Date: 2001-07-23
This book shows that an early childhood setting can be described as a learning place in which children develop learning dispositions such as resilience in the face of uncertainty, confidence to express their ideas, and collaborative and thoughtful approaches to problem-solving. These dispositions provide the starting point for life-long learning. The author asks: How can we assess and track children's learning in the early years in a way that includes learning dispositions and avoids the pitfalls of over-formal methods, whilst being helpful for practitioners, interesting for families, and supportive for learners? The book ยท describes a way of assessment that stays close to the children's r

Cover Art
Leadership for Learning: how to help teachers succeed - Carl D. Glickman
Call Number: LB 2806.4 .G45 2002
ISBN: 0871205963
Publication Date: 2002-01-01
In a follow-up to his earlier book, Developmental Supervision, distinguished educator and author Carl D. Glickman provides instructional leaders--supervisors, principals, and teachers--with practical guidance and thoughtful insight to help them succeed as they work with teachers to improve classroom teaching and learning. In a straightforward and easy-to-read manner, Glickman discusses *Structures of classroom assistance--clinical supervision, peer coaching, critical friends, and action research groups; *Formats for observations--frameworks for teaching, open-ended questionnaires, samples of student work, and student achievement on high-stakes tests; and *Approaches to working directly with teachers--directive, collaborative, and nondirective. Scenarios that describe interactions with teachers of diverse backgrounds and skill levels bring the various approaches to life. The author also provides useful information on summative and formative evaluation of teachers. In addition to forms and examples that readers can duplicate or adapt to their own situation, the book includes an extensive list of resources on the topics of looking at student work, professional development and instructional leadership, and educators' ethnic, cultural, and personal diversity. Leadership for Learning goes beyond the basics of supervision to place the work of instructional leadership within the context of whole-school improvement. Drawing on his years of experience in working with schools in varied settings, Glickman offers both advice and inspiration to instructional leaders who strive toward the ultimate goal of providing the best possible classroom experience for every student.

Cover Art
Navigating the New Pedagogy: six principles that transform teaching - Jeff Halstead
Call Number: LB 1025.3 .H355 2011
ISBN: 9781610480246
Publication Date: 2011-06-16
Navigating the New Pedagogy Six Principles that Transform is written to give teachers a vision of current, best 21st century classroom practice. Teachers, administrators, and education professors will find ideas that will help transform classrooms into positive, productive learning environments.

Cover Art
The Action Research Guidebook - Richard Sagor
Call Number: qLB 1028.24 .S33 2005
ISBN: 076193894X
Publication Date: 2004-10-05
This book is organized around Richard Sagor's four-stage process developed from his many years of experience training hundreds of educators. The four stages are: }} clarifying visions/targets }} articulating theory }} implementing action and collecting data }} reflecting on data and planning informed action The book includes numerous tables, charts, handouts, forms, and worksheets to demystify and simplify the action research process. Short examples drawn from the author's experience working on-one-on with teachers on their action research projects are also included, from raising reading proficiency to increasing the problem solving capacity of faculty members. The author shows how teacher teams can work collaboratively to identify and research problems related to the school's goals. Appropriate for use by individual teachers and teacher teams, as well as by pre-service teachers in teacher education courses. Headteachers, counsellors, and other educators will also find the action research process useful for school improvement

Cover Art
The Art of Awareness: how observation can transform your teaching - Debbie Curtis; Margie Carter
Call Number: qLB 1027.28 .C87 2000
ISBN: 1884834841
Publication Date: 2002-07-01
Observing children closely provides a new way of thinking about learning and teaching, a way of making children visible as they are, not just as we want them to be. Featuring nine Observation Study Sessions, this book offers ideas, activities, and experiences, as opposed to just a set of checklists and facts to learn. Chapters cover observing seven different aspects of children's lives as well as tips for gathering and preparing documentation. A full-color insert provides examples of documentation.

Cover Art
The Art of Classroom Management: effective practices for building equitable learning communities - Barbara McEwan; Debra A. Stollenwerk
Call Number: LB 3013 .M383 2000
ISBN: 0130799750
Publication Date: 1999-07-02
This book presents practical, tested, and effective methods for managing K-12 classrooms. Unlike other books, its approach to classroom management reflects legal and ethical concerns integrated with culturally appropriate teaching techniques. Provieds a careful examination of the issues surrounding power in the classroom. Presents education law in terms that can be readily applied to the daily management of classrooms. Examines ways that teacher/parent interactions can influence the classroom climate and management options in the classroom. For Educators and School Administrators.

Cover Art
The Highly Qualified Teacher what is teacher quality and how do we measure it? - Michael Strong
Call Number: LB 3051 .S882 2011
ISBN: 0807752258
Publication Date: 2011-06-10
In this follow-up to Effectiver Teacher Induction and Mentoring, Michael Strong tackles the major issues surrounding teacher quality and effectiveness. The Highly Qualified Teacher provides an accessible overview of the research related to teacher quality, and introduces a new method for evaluating teachers based on extensive fieldwork in schools. This timely work clarifies the different definitions of teacher quality and distinguishes between good teaching and successful teaching. Strong thoroughly examines the empirical evidence responsible for identifying the qualities associated with postivie student outcomes, including observational measures that are able to predict a teacher's ability to raise student achievement in mathematics. This comprehensive, up-to-date volume is essential reading for students of education, as well as school administrators, eduational policy specialists, and anyone wrestling with the federal mandate to provide a highly qualified teacher in every classroom.

Cover Art
Tuned in and Fired Up how teaching can inspire real learning in the classroom - Sam M. Intrator; Elliot W. Eisner (Foreword by)
Call Number: LB 1025.3 .I584 2005
ISBN: 0300107668
Publication Date: 2005-03-11
Every teacher has powerful memories of becoming swept up in an electric moment when the classroom hums with energy and students are wholly engaged in learning. During such moments of real learning, teenagers find genuine meaning, worth, and value in their academic experiences. And their teachers find in these heightened and exuberant moments the embodiment of their best hopes and ideals as educators. How can such #147;teachable moments” be encouraged? What can teachers do to inspire more of these educationally vital episodes? In this compelling book, Sam M. Intrator scrutinizes powerful learning moments in a high school classroom. He offers five detailed portraits of these experiences, describing in each case how the teacher shaped the culture of the class, made critical pedagogical decisions, and connected students to the subject matter. Intrator confirms that seemingly magical learning moments can be cultivated, and he suggests numerous practical ideas to help teachers do so.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip