Useful Resources
PeoplesAncient HistoryEarly HistorySlavery and ColonialismIndependence and After
Middle and Near EastMesopotamian ReligionsClassicalPre-Classical EraNotable PeopleGreek PantheonRoman PantheonAsiaAfrica and EgyptEgyptian PantheonAfrican ReligionsEuropeCeltic MythologyNorse MythologyAmericasMesoamerican ReligionsNative American ReligionsClassics - LiteratureHistoryPhilosophy and ScienceArchitectureMythology
Middle EastAsia
UK GeographyAncient HistoryCeltic MythologyNorman Conquest to RestorationEarly Modern Era20th Century
20th CenturyEnglandFranceFrench Literature and Thought - GeneralPre-17th Century17th and 18th Century19th Century20th CenturyGermanyItalyRussia & Eastern EuropeSpain
Early ChristianityLate AntiquityControversy & CrusadesRenaissance & ReformationEnlightenment & RevivalismModern Era
Judaism - General InformationTerms & Concepts
Country ProfilesGeographyCulture
This is the "Culture" page of the "History Credo Reference" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

History Credo Reference  

Last Updated: Jul 26, 2017 URL: http://libguides.warner.edu/content.php?pid=710994 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Culture Print Page
  Search: 
 

Latin Americanists

  • Antonio Cornejo Polar (1936 - 1997)
    From Encyclopedia of Latin American and Caribbean Literature, 1900-2003
    A dominant figure in Andean studies, professor and rector of the Universidad Mayor de San Marcos, founder (1975) and editor of Revista de crítica literaria latinoamericana, Cornejo Polar also wrote one of the earliest (1973) and best studies of José María Arguedas. MORE
  • Ariel Dorfman (1942 - )
    From The Greenwood Encyclopedia of Latino Literature
    After serving as a professor in various European universities, Dorfman settled into a career as professor of Spanish American literature at the University of Maryland. MORE
  • Arturo Escobar (1951 - )
    From Biographical Dictionary of Social and Cultural Anthropology
    The overriding concern of Escobar’s work has been the examination of dominant social orders with an eye to their transformation. MORE
  • Darcy Ribeiro (1922 - 1997)
    From Biographical Dictionary of Social and Cultural Anthropology
    Anthropologist, communist, politician, public servant, institution-builder, fiction writer, and movie maker, Darcy Ribeiro was a multi-faceted, influential, and prolific author. MORE
  • Gustavo Pérez Firmat (1949 - )
    From The Greenwood Encyclopedia of Latino Literature
    Pérez-Firmat's basic condition—born in Cuba and transplanted to American soil in his youth—has made him a member of the new “Cuban American” generation and has led to his theories about the dual perspective held by what he terms a “transitional” generation. MORE
  • June Nash (1927 - )
    From Biographical Dictionary of Social and Cultural Anthropology
    June Nash’s four decades of highly original ethnographic research has focused on community, culture, capitalism, and globalisation across the political economies of the Americas. MORE
  • Richard N. Adams (1924 - )
    From Biographical Dictionary of Social and Cultural Anthropology
    After his doctoral research in Muquiyauyo, Peru, Richard Adams chose to work in applied anthropology in Latin America. MORE
  • Sylvia Molloy (1938 - )
    From Encyclopedia of Latin American and Caribbean Literature, 1900-2003
    Molloy is one of the most insightful contemporary Latin American literary critics, and a creative writer of remarkable originality. MORE
  • Ángel Rama (1926 - 1983)
    From Encyclopedia of Latin American and Caribbean Literature, 1900-2003
    Rama was one of the most vital contemporary cultural thinkers, whose untimely death in a plane crash (along with his wife Marta Traba and the writers Jorge Ibargüengoitia and Manuel Scorza) left a vacuum in Latin American thought. MORE

Related Terms

  • Chicano Studies
    From Cambridge Dictionary of Sociology
    These studies had their origins in the student activism, identity politics, and intellectual foment of the civil rights movement of the 1960s. Like the other nationalist movements of the era, it emerged as a field of scholarly inquiry that placed special emphasis on linking academic research with the politics of social justice. MORE
  • Latin America
    From The Dictionary of Human Geography
    In conventional usage, the term refers to those countries of the American continent that share a history of Spanish, Portuguese and French colonialism. However, the term also is widely used to denote all countries south of the USA (Lewis and Wigen, 1997, p. 182). MORE
  • Latino/a Studies
    From Cambridge Dictionary of Sociology
    Social movements of the civil rights era (1954-68) called attention to the plight of Latinos in the United States, particularly that of Chicanos and Puerto Ricans, the largest Latino subgroups, both of which were incorporated into the United States through conquest. MORE

Languages

  • French Language: Topic Page
    Member of the Romance group of the Italic subfamily of the Indo-European family of languages. MORE
  • Portuguese: Topic Page
    Member of the Romance group of the Italic subfamily of the Indo-European family of languages. MORE
  • Romance Languages: Topic Page
    Among the more important Romance languages are Catalan, French, Italian, Portuguese, Occitan, Rhaeto-Romanic, Romanian, and Spanish. The spread of some Romance languages to other parts of the world, especially the Western Hemisphere, accompanied the colonizing and empire-building of the mother countries of these languages, notably Spain, Portugal, and France. MORE
  • Spanish: Topic Page
    Member of the Romance group of the Italic subfamily of the Indo-European family of languages. MORE

Literature and the Arts: Authors and Artists

Television and Film: Actors, Actresses and Directors

  • Anthony Quinn (1915 - 2001)
    From The Columbia Encyclopedia
    Of Mexican-Indian and Mexican-Irish parentage, he was tall, swarthy, and powerfully built, and early in his career played dozens of Native American and outlaw roles. Thereafter, he was cast as a rugged ethnic or exotic of varying backgrounds. MORE
  • Carlos Saura (1932 - )
    From The Hutchinson Unabridged Encyclopedia with Atlas and Weather guide
    Spanish film director and screenwriter. He was a key figure in the New Spanish Cinema movement of the 1960s. MORE
  • Carmen García Maura (1945 - )
    From Chambers Biographical Dictionary
    Born in Madrid, her family were very conservative, and her decision to give up teaching in favour of acting caused a serious rift. She made slow progress at first, but became nationally known as the host of the television show Esta Noche (Tonight) in the 1970s. MORE
  • Fernando Fernán Gómez (1921 - 2007)
    From The Crystal Reference Encyclopedia
    Actor, born in Lima, Perú, the son of the actress Carola Fernán-Gómez. He was born in Lima while his mother was on tour, and registered as an Argentinian national until granted Spanish citizenship in the late 1970s. MORE
  • Jennifer Lopez (1969 - )
    From Chambers Film Factfinder
    She became a bestselling recording artist and the highest paid Latina actress in the world, noted as much for her diva reputation, shapely derrière and range of perfumes as for her performances. MORE
  • Mario Moreno Reyes (1913 - 1993)
    From Encyclopedia of Mexico: History, Society & Culture
    One of the greatest idols of Spanish-language cinema, Mario Moreno Reyes, better known as Cantinflas, gained international recognition through his rendering of a purely local character, the peladito. MORE
  • Pedro Almodóvar (1951 - ): Topic Page
    Spanish film director and screenwriter; films include All About My Mother (Todo Sobre Mi Madre, 2003). MORE
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip