Restricted Access Note
The following are restricted to current Warner University students, faculty, and staff.
Log-in: Warner email account.
Cognitive Foundations of Musical Pitch
Publication Date: 2001-11-15
This book addresses the central problem of music cognition: how listeners' responses move beyond mere registration of auditory events to include the organization, interpretation, and remembrance of these events in terms of their function in a musical context of pitch and rhythm. Equallyimportant, the work offers an analysis of the relationship between the psychological organization of music and its internal structure. Combining over a decade of original research on music cognition with an overview of the available literature, the work will be of interest to cognitive andphysiological psychologists, psychobiologists, musicians, music researchers, and music educators. The author provides the necessary background in experimental methodology and music theory so that no specialized knowledge is required for following her major arguments.
Language, Music, and the Brain: A Mysterious Relationship.
Publication Date: 2013-06-28
This book explores the relationships between language, music, and the brain by pursuing four key themes and the crosstalk among them: song and dance as a bridge between music and language; multiple levels of structure from brain to behavior to culture; the semantics of internal and external worlds and the role of emotion; and the evolution and development of language. The book offers specially commissioned expositions of current research accessible both to experts across disciplines and to non-experts. These chapters provide the background for reports by groups of specialists that chart current controversies and future directions of research on each theme. The book looks beyond mere auditory experience, probing the embodiment that links speech to gesture and music to dance. The study of the brains of monkeys and songbirds illuminates hypotheses on the evolution of brain mechanisms that support music and language, while the study of infants calibrates the developmental timetable of their capacities. The result is a unique book that will interest any reader seeking to learn more about language or music and will appeal especially to readers intrigued by the relationships of language and music with each other and with the brain. Contributors: Francisco Aboitiz, Michael A. Arbib, Annabel J. Cohen, Ian Cross, Peter Ford Dominey, W. Tecumseh Fitch, Leonardo Fogassi, Jonathan Fritz, Thomas Fritz, Peter Hagoort, John Halle, Henkjan Honing, Atsushi Iriki, Petr Janata, Erich Jarvis, Stefan Koelsch, Gina Kuperberg, D. Robert Ladd, Fred Lerdahl, Stephen C. Levinson, Jerome Lewis, Katja Liebal, J#65533;natas Manzolli, Bjorn Merker, Lawrence M. Parsons, Aniruddh D. Patel, Isabelle Peretz, David Poeppel, Josef P. Rauschecker, Nikki Rickard, Klaus Scherer, Gottfried Schlaug, Uwe Seifert, Mark Steedman, Dietrich Stout, Francesca Stregapede, Sharon Thompson-Schill, Laurel Trainor, Sandra E. Trehub, Paul Verschure
Music and the Emotions: The Philosophical Theories.
Publication Date: 1992-12-03
It has often been claimed, and frequently denied, that music derives some or all of its artistic value from the relation in which it stands to the emotions. This book presents and subjects to critical examination the chief theories about the relationship between the art of music and the emotions.
Music in the Human Experience: An Introduction to Music Psychology.
Publication Date: 2010-12-08
All human societies in every corner of the globe engage in music. For many, it occupies a primary role. Taken collectively, these musical experiences are widely varied, hugely complex affairs. How did human beings come to be musical creatures? How and why do our bodies respond to music? Why do people have emotional responses to music? This textbook seeks to understand and explain these phenomena that are at the core of what it means to be a human being. Music in the Human Experience: An Introduction to Music Psychologyis a textbook for college courses in music psychology, primarily geared to students of music. It incorporates several other disciplines to provide an explanation for why and how we make sense of music and respond to it, cognitively, physically, and emotionally. Features Comprehensive Coverage--Includes philosophical issues, biomusic, anthropology, ethnomusicology, acoustics, hearing, music perception and cognition, psychophysiological responses to music, emotional responses, music and the brain, personality, identity, music performance, learning theories, music and health, and social aspects of music. Media Tutorials--A series of 32 narrated media presentations incorporating photographs, drawings, animations, recordings of singers, instrumentalists, and ensembles, and several interactive media files that illustrate key concepts of the text. Pedagogical Aids--Discussion questionsat the end of each chapter provide teachers and students with an opportunity to reflect on key concepts presented in the text and to consider ideas, such as how information applies to their musical lives and careers. In addition, there is an extensive glossary and Companion Website with brief quizzes, flash cards of key terms, and supplemental reading lists.
Music Psychology in Education
Publication Date: 2006-01-30
The book will be of particular interest to those training to be instrumental and class teachers, and teachers wishing to further their understanding of teaching and learning. It addresses the psychological underpinnings of all elements of music education and provides a short introduction to the field of music psychology.
Music, Language, and Cognition: And Other Essays in the Aesthetics of Music.
Publication Date: 2007-07-26
Music, Language, and Cognition is the third collection of Peter Kivy's seminal papers in the philosophy of music. In essays which span his earliest work in the field and his more recent contributions to journals, anthologies, and conference proceedings, Kivy considers the origin of music, themedium of expression in opera, the role of music in film, the nature of an 'ideal' performance, and the question of whether absolute music has a meaning, among other issues. Rich with critical analysis and informed by the history of both philosophy and music, this volume will be of interest toanyone who likes not only to listen to music, but to think about it as well.
Musical Creativity: Multidisciplinary Research in Theory and Practice.
Publication Date: 2006-08-18
This collection initiates a resolutely interdisciplinary research dynamic specifically concerning musical creativity. Creativity is one of the most challenging issues currently facing scientific psychology and its study has been relatively rare in the cognitive sciences, especially in artificial intelligence. This book will address the need for a coherent and thorough exploration. Musical Creativity: Multidisciplinary Research in Theory and Practicecomprises seven sections, each viewing musical creativity from a different scientific vantage point, from the philosophy of computer modelling, through music education, interpretation, neuroscience, and music therapy, to experimental psychology. Each section contains discussions by eminent international specialists of the issues raised, and the book concludes with a postlude discussing how we can understand creativity in the work of eminent composer, Jonathan Harvey. This unique volume presents an up-to-date snapshot of the scientific study of musical creativity, in conjunction with ESCOM (the European Society for the Cognitive Sciences of Music). Describing many of the different aspects of musical creativity and their study, it will form a useful springboard for further such study in future years, and will be of interest to academics and practitioners in music, psychology, cognitive science, artificial intelligence, neuroscience and other fields concerning the study of human cognition in this most human of behaviours.
Musical Forces: Motion, Metaphor, and Meaning in Music.
Publication Date: 2012-01-31
Steve Larson drew on his 20 years of research in music theory, cognitive linguistics, experimental psychology, and artificial intelligence--as well as his skill as a jazz pianist--to show how the experience of physical motion can shape one's musical experience. Clarifying the roles of analogy, metaphor, grouping, pattern, hierarchy, and emergence in the explanation of musical meaning, Larson explained how listeners hear tonal music through the analogues of physical gravity, magnetism, and inertia. His theory of melodic expectation goes beyond prior theories in predicting complete melodic patterns. Larson elegantly demonstrated how rhythm and meter arise from, and are given meaning by, these same musical forces.
New Perspectives on Music and Gesture
Publication Date: 2011-05-28
Building on the insights of the first volume on Music and Gesture (Gritten and King, Ashgate 2006), the rationale for this sequel volume is twofold: first, to clarify the way in which the subject is continuing to take shape by highlighting both central and developing trends, as well as popular and less frequent areas of investigation; second, to provide alternative and complementary insights into the particular areas of the subject articulated in the first volume. The thirteen chapters are structured in a broad narrative trajectory moving from theory to practice, embracing Western and non-Western practices, real and virtual gestures, live and recorded performances, physical and acoustic gestures, visual and auditory perception, among other themes of topical interest. The main areas of enquiry include psychobiology; perception and cognition; philosophy and semiotics; conducting; ensemble work and solo piano playing. The volume is intended to promote and stimulate further research in Musical Gesture Studies.
Psychological Foundations of Musical Behavior
Publication Date: 2012-10-02
The fifth edition of Psychological Foundations of Musical Behavior appears at a time of continuing worldwide anxiety and turmoil. We have learned a lot about human musical behavior, and we have some understanding of how music can meet diverse human needs. In this exceptional new edition, the authors have elected to continue a “one volume” coverage of a broad array of topics, guided by three criteria: The text is comprehensive in its coverage of diverse areas comprising music psychology; it is comprehensible to the reader; and it is contemporary in its inclusion of information gathered in recent years. Chapter organization recognizes the traditional and more contemporary domains, with special emphases on psychoacoustics, musical preference, learning, and the psychological foundations of rhythm, melody, and harmony. Following the introductory preview chapter, the text examines diverse views of why people have music and considers music’s functions for individuals, its social values, and its importance as a cultural phenomenon. “Functional music” and music as a therapeutic tool is discussed, including descriptions and relationships involving psychoacoustical phenomena, giving considerable attention to perception, judgment, measurement, and physical and psychophysical events. Rhythmic behaviors and what is involved in producing and responding to rhythms are explored. The organization of horizontal and vertical pitch, tonality, scales, and value judgments, as well as related pedagogical issues are also considered. The basic aspects of musical performance, improvisation, composition, existing musical preferences and tastes, approaches to studying the affective response to music with particular emphasis on developments in psychological aesthetics are examined. The text closely relates the development and prediction of musical ability, music learning as a form of human learning, and music abnormalities, concluding with speculation regarding future research directions. The authors offer their latest review of aspects of human musical behavior with profound recognition of music’s enduring values.
Psychology for Musicians: Understanding and Acquiring the Skills
Publication Date: 2007-02-08
What is it that accounts for the differences between musical beginners, advanced music makers, and world class performers? Virtually everyone likes music and has the capacity to be musical in some way (despite what some may say about themselves). Yet far fewer people come to be so involvedwith it that they identify themselves as musicians, and fewer still become musicians of international class. Psychology for Musicians provides the basis for answering this question. Examining the processes that underlie the acquisition of musical skills, Lehmann, Sloboda, and Woody provide a concise, accessible, and up-to-date introduction to psychological research for musicians.
Stop Making Sense: Music From the Perspective of the Real.
Publication Date: 2015-04-03
Stop Making Sense offers an original and compelling theory of music "from the perspective of the real" as this term is understood according to the Lacanian orientation in psychoanalysis. Located in a mediating position between the subject and the real, music is here regarded as a form of social bond analogous to but quite distinct from the language of speech, operating "outside sense". Music, like mathematics, is often regarded as a "language" of the real in two senses: as a particulate system of essentially meaningless notes and tones that nevertheless provide regularities offering structure and orientation; and as the "language of love", a means of mediating jouissance or the agonies and ecstasies that result from the "real" of sexual difference. The first part of the book explains its theoretical and methodological underpinnings that are based in a reading of subjects and symptoms such as amusia. The second and third parts focus on contemporary examples that look at how music has become both a powerful locus of discontent and also a form of orientation in an age of generalized psychosis imposed by neoliberalism as a form of governance. This has been accelerated by the regime of digital telecommunications since the early 1990s, which has seen the emergence of various new symptoms related to the autistic jouissance to which we have been confined with our gadgets and networked computers. Specific examples and cases discussed include: Freud's melophobia or fear of music; Che Guevara's revolutionary a-rhythmia; John F. Nash's obsession with 'Bach's Little Fugue'; Talking Heads and Asperger's Syndrome/Autism; Yoko Ono and the sense of "lack" in the Beatles; the role of 'Imagine' in the murder of John Lennon; Brian Eno and the digital auto-generation of Freud's "oceanic feeling"; Aphex Twin and the brain-dance of the hikikomori; and the utopian promise of Merzbow.
Sweet Anticipation: Music and the Psychology of Expectation
Publication Date: 2006-05-01
'Sweet Anticipation' describes a set of psychological mechanisms and illustrates how these mechanisms work in the case of music. It proposes that emotions evoked by expectation involve five functionally distinct response systems including: reactive responses; tension responses; and appraisal responses.
The Cognitive Neuroscience of Music
Publication Date: 2003-09-25
This title includes the following features: The first book to describe the neural bases of music; Edited and written by the leading researchers in this field; An important addition to OUP's acclaimed list in music psychology
You Are What You Hear: How Music and Territory Make Us Who We Are.
Publication Date: 2010-01-01
Have you ever wondered why music makes you feel so good? Why did we evolve to have music, and what does music do to us? You Are What You Hear is a bit of a romp compared to the usual science book. Dr. Witchel, a specialist in music, pleasure and the brain, explains how the body and the brain are influenced by different kinds of music, why some music makes us joyous, while other music makes us sad, or angry, or anxious, and how the brain interprets this music. He also shows how music plays with your mind ? what you think, how you decide what to buy, and even how smart you are. Dr. Witchel's interests run the gamut from music and laughter to the body language of the British Prime Minister, which he has analyzed on the BBC.aIn this book he brings together amusing historical anecdotes and engaging scientific evidence to explore how and why different groups use different music to claim their space and their identities."
Music and Math
Musimathics, Volume 2: The Mathematical Foundations of Music
Publication Date: 2007-05-11
Volume 2 of Musimathics continues the story of music engineering begun in Volume 1, focusing on the digital and computational domain. Loy goes deeper into the mathematics of music and sound, beginning with digital audio, sampling, and binary numbers, as well as complex numbers and how they simplify representation of musical signals. Chapters cover the Fourier transform, convolution, filtering, resonance, the wave equation, acoustical systems, sound synthesis, the short-time Fourier transform, and the wavelet transform. These subjects provide the theoretical underpinnings of today's music technology. The examples given are all practical problems in music and audio. Additional material can be found at http://www.musimathics.com.
Musimathics: The Mathematical Foundations of Music
Publication Date: 2006-06-16
"Mathematics can be as effortless as humming a tune, if you know the tune," writes Gareth Loy. In Musimathics, Loy teaches us the tune, providing a friendly and spirited tour of the mathematics of music -- a commonsense, self-contained introduction for the nonspecialist reader. It is designed for musicians who find their art increasingly mediated by technology, and for anyone who is interested in the intersection of art and science. In Volume 1, Loy presents the materials of music (notes, intervals, and scales); the physical properties of music (frequency, amplitude, duration, and timbre); the perception of music and sound (how we hear); and music composition. Calling himself "a composer seduced into mathematics," Loy provides answers to foundational questions about the mathematics of music accessibly yet rigorously. The examples given are all practical problems in music and audio. Additional material can be found at http://www.musimathics.com.
Single-Voice Transformations: A Model for Parsimonious Voice Leading.
Publication Date: 2010-03-01
This study demonstrates how smooth voice leading in music can be effectively modeled using concepts from abstract algebra. Minute voice-leading displacements are explained as iterations of the basic operation, the single-semitone transformation (SST). The SST is a type of transformation in which only a single voice in a chord is transposed by a semitone. Unlike previous music theoretic studies, the SST model does not rely on twelve-tone operations on sets to determine voice-leading paths. SST-succession classes can then be defined; they allow SSTs to be generalized as parsimonious voice-leading relations between pair-ordered set classes. Voice leading between chords of different sizes can be obtained through split and fuse operations. Once a mathematical basis for smooth voice-leading is formalized, 3D graphical representations in the form of lattices of parsimoniously related chord types can be developed. The study compares the single-voice transformational model to transformational theories of atonal voice leading and to recent work in the emergent field of neo-Riemannian theory. The final chapter examines music from tonal, atonal, and post-atonal stylistic periods by Chopin, Scriabin, Webern, Paul Lansky, and John Adams, showing the new voice-leading model's versatility as an analytical tool.
A Comprehensive Guide to Music Therapy: Theory, Clinical Practice, Research and Training
Publication Date: 2002-07-01
Music therapists, as in medical and paramedical professions, have a rich diversity of approaches and methods, often developed with specific relevance to meet the needs of a certain client population. This book reflects the many components of such diversity, and is a thoroughly comprehensive guide to accessing and understanding the ideas, theory, research results and clinical outcomes that are the foundations of this field. Providing a detailed insight into the field of music therapy from an international perspective, this book enables the reader to see the complete picture of the multifaceted and fascinating world that is music therapy.
A Journey into Creative Music Therapy
Publication Date: 2005-01-01
Ten beautiful songs for teaching language skills to elementary and special education classes.
Adolescents, Music and Music Therapy: Methods and Techniques for Clinicians, Educators and Students.
Publication Date: 2010-05-15
When guided effectively, the relationship between adolescents and music can offer powerful opportunities for expression and release. This book provides music therapists with the complete 'how to' of working with teenage clients. Helpful and accessible, the book explains the methodology used in music therapy, a topic that has been considered only briefly until now. The author presents an empowering approach to practice, discussing how the therapist can be placed in a collaborative relationship with the individual or with the group. A range of strategies is explored, including song sharing, improvisation, song writing and various multi-media approaches. Some of the key challenges faced by music therapists working with adolescent clients are addressed, including the constantly changing repertoire and evolving musical tastes, and the author offers practical solutions for overcoming these. Contemporary models of Community Music Therapy are outlined in the second half of the book, and case vignettes illustrate how each of the methods can be applied in practice, and the outcomes that may be expected. The first of its kind, this comprehensive book is a must for all music therapists working with adolescent clients.
Case Examples of Music Therapy for Alzheimer's Disease
Publication Date: 2012-01-01
Case Examples of Music Therapy for Bereavement
Publication Date: 2012-01-01
Case Studies in Music Therapy
Publication Date: 1991-01-01
This book presents 42 case histories, each describing the process of music therapy from beginning to end. The cases include children, adolescents, and adults receiving individual and group therapy in psychiatric, medical, educational or community settings. With authors from nine countries, the book details a broad spectrum of approaches and techniques in music therapy. It can be used as a reference, a textbook for training students, or as an introduction to the field. The essence of music therapy is captured, not in the single voice of one therapist but in a resounding chorus of many. It does this by telling the moving stories of people from around the world who have been helped through music therapy and the relationships developed with these exceptional music therapists.
Clinical Improvisation Techniques in Music Therapy: A Guide for Students, Clinicians and Educators.
Publication Date: 2013-08-12
Clinical Improvisation Techniques in Music Therapy: A Guide for Students, Clinicians and Educators provides a clear and systematic approach to understanding and applying improvisational techniques. It is inspired by the taxonomy of clinical improvisation techniques as described by Kenneth Bruscia in his book, Improvisational Models of Music Therapy. Based on years of their own experimenting with the teaching of improvisation, the authors have evolved a particular developmental sequence for introducing basic techniques of improvising and applying them through role-play exercises that have been sensitively designed to bring out one's innate musicality and one's empathic regard. Part One provides an introduction to the techniques. Part Two focuses on how to apply the techniques with clinical intent in order to meet the diverse needs of a client, individually or in the context of a group. This section also addresses the need to enrich one's own musicianship by providing musical resources, relevant references and guidelines for working with client's playing. This "hands-on" guide fulfills the need for a clear process-oriented approach to mastering clinical improvisation techniques, and in a style that can be understood not only by music therapy students, clinicians and educators but also by health care administrators and providers alike.
Creating Music Cultures in the Schools: A Perspective from Community Music Therapy
Publication Date: 2014-07-01
This book focuses on the powerful influence music programs can have on well-being and connectedness in schools. It is written specifically for music specialists working in school communities, including music therapists, classroom music teachers, instrumental teachers and generalist teachers.
Defining Music Therapy
Publication Date: 2014-05-01
A culmination of 25 year inquiry into formulating an integral and critically inclusive conceptualization of music therapy.
Developments in Music Therapy Practice: Case Study Perspectives.
Publication Date: 2011-01-01
This book presents 34 case studies from music therapists around the world. These studies represent practices from a broad range of clinical orientations, including recent developments in the field. This includes cognitive-behavioral, humanistic, psychodynamic, medical, community, aesthetic and healing practices with infants, children, adolescents, adults and older adults. Various models of music therapy are also represented, including Guided Imagery and Music, Analytic Music Therapy, Behavioral Music Therapy and Nordoff-Robbins Music Therapy. Each chapter includes a description of the author's theoretical foundation(s), assessment process, therapeutic process and health outcomes, encompassing improvisational, receptive, recreative, compositional and creative arts methods and techniques. Conceived as a textbook for training students, this collection may also be used as an introduction to music therapy, and as a reference that reflects developments in practice within the field..
Guidelines for Music Therapy Practice in Mental Health
Publication Date: 2013-01-01
This volume presents the current state of knowledge on the practice of music therapy with children, adolescents, and adults with mental health concerns. This includes individuals with specific psychiatric diagnoses, individuals receiving mental health care in various settings, and individuals who may not have formal diagnoses
How Music Helps in Music Therapy and Everyday Life
Publication Date: 2016-08-22
Why is music so important to most of us? How does music help us both in our everyday lives, and in the more specialist context of music therapy? This book suggests a new way of approaching these topical questions, drawing from Ansdell's long experience as a music therapist, and from the latest thinking on music in everyday life. Vibrant and moving examples from music therapy situations are twinned with the stories of 'ordinary' people who describe how music helps them within their everyday lives. Together this complementary material leads Ansdell to present a new interdisciplinary framework showing how musical experiences can help all of us build and negotiate identities, make intimate non-verbal relationships, belong together in community, and find moments of transcendence and meaning. How Music Helps is not just a book about music therapy. It has the more ambitious aim to promote (from a music therapist's perspective) a better understanding of 'music and change' in our personal and social life. Ansdell's theoretical synthesis links the tradition of Nordoff-Robbins music therapy and its recent developments in Community Music Therapy to contemporary music sociology and music studies. This book will be relevant to practitioners, academics, and researchers looking for a broad-based theoretical perspective to guide further study and policy in music, well-being, and health.
Inside Music Therapy
Publication Date: 1999-02-01
Thirty three narratives told from the inside the therapy room--- by clients, parents, therapists, and researchers---all aimed at revealing how the client experiences various forms of music therapy.
International Perspectives in Music Therapy Education and Training
Publication Date: 2015-01-27
International Perspectives in Music Therapy Education and Training: Adapting to a Changing World, the first anthology of its kind, edited by Professor Karen Goodman, brings noted educators from Brazil, Canada, Denmark, Finland, India, Ireland, Israel, Korea, Norway, the United Kingdom and the United States together to speak to the challenge to adapt in ways, both small and large, that affect music therapy education and training. Divided into three parts, chapters interrelate to consider program design, multicultural identity and the ongoing and emerging needs of a discipline. The book is an unparalleled resource for academic advisors, prospective and current educators, clinical supervisors, clinicians and students of music therapy.
Involving Senior Citizens in Group Music Therapy
Publication Date: 2013-12-15
This practical guide to running music therapy groups with senior citizens provides effective strategies that encourage therapists to be creative and engaging, and involve participants fully in the music-making process. Ideal for those working with older people in assisted living or nursing care homes, the book covers initial assessment, setting measurable goals, and evaluating progress; discusses current music therapy techniques; and offers an improved plan of intervention. The author explains how to choose or create music that is accessible to this age group, designing strategies that utilize cognitive, motor, social-emotional, and music skills to the fullest. The book provides useful original music and shows readers how to compose their own songs that relate to the experiences of the group they are working with, emphasizing shared common interests and enjoyment in the moment.
Music and Life in the Field of Play
An anthology of selected writings and presentations by Carolyn Kenny from 1979 to 2006. This volume includes two books, The Mythic Artery and The Field of Play; articles from journals about Music Therapy and Indigenous Studies, chapters in books on Music Therapy; and previously unpublished papers and case study. The anthology is organized into five distinct parts: the mythic journey, field theory for Music Therapy, being Native, practice, and ecological Music Therapy. Each part is introduced by an autobiographical narrative describing the context for sections. A detailed introduction provides the overall context and describes important influences in Kenny's thinking over time. A preface by Kenneth Aigen describes Kenny's role in the development of Music Therapy over the last thirty years. This volume clearly reveals, perhaps for the first time, the important interplay between Kenny's lifelong work in Music Therapy and her parallel work in Indigenous Studies.
Music Therapy for Premature and Newborn Infants
Publication Date: 2004-01-01
A comprehensive, international collection of research and clinical reports, demonstrating different approachs to music therapy with infants.
Music Therapy in Principle and Practice
Publication Date: 2012-10-02
In 1976, Donald Michel first published the classic text. Music Therapy, which became the standard textbook at many universities. Music Therapy in Principle and Practice followed in 2005 with coauthor Joseph Pinson and the authors offer here an important updated and expanded new edition. The book combines valuable information from research as a basis for principles along with the realities of hands-on experience as a basis for practice. The text approaches therapy from the position of assessing developmental skills in individuals served. While it includes a significant amount of information regarding diagnosis, the authors also focus on treatment that is based on the needs for habitation and/or rehabilitation that are apparent at the time of assessment. Major topics include philosophical concepts and historical perspectives, professional guidelines, motor skills, protocol planning, communication skills, cognitive skills, social-emotional skills, and an introduction to research. The chapters on managing and coping with anxiety-associated life situations as well as the various types of lifetime developmental skills have been expanded with regard to different populations served and the various strategies that have been found to be effective. The chapter on professional ethics has been expanded and a section on new trends in music therapy complements this new edition. Links to over 300 helpful websites are included. The text will have great appeal to music educators, rehabilitation professionals, practicing and student music therapists, including medical and mental health professionals.
Music Therapy in Schools: Working with Children of All Ages in Mainstream and Special Education.
Publication Date: 2011-10-15
The majority of music therapy work with children takes place in schools. This book documents the wealth and diversity of work that music therapists are doing in educational settings across the UK. It shows how, in recent years, music therapy has changed and grown as a profession, and it provides an insight into the trends that are emerging in this area in the 21st century. Collating the experiences of a range of music therapists from both mainstream and special education backgrounds, Music Therapy in Schools explains the procedures, challenges and benefits of using music therapy in an educational context. These music therapists have worked with children of all ages and abilities from pre-school toddlers in nursery schools to teenagers preparing for further education, and address specific issues and disabilities including working with children with emotional and behavioural problems, and autistic spectrum disorders. This book will be essential reading for music therapists, music therapy students and educational professionals.
Music Therapy Supervision
Publication Date: 2001-02-01
The first book in the field to provide a comprehensive examination of the many levels and facets of music therapy supervision. It contains 22 chapters by leading experts from the USA, Canada, Germany, Israel, and Norway. Part one provides a comprehensive literature review, along with chapters on ethics and multicultural issues. Part two presents principles and techniques for pre-professional supervision (e.g., for students in practicum and internship), while part three deals with ways of supervising professional music therapists. Part four examines the various kinds of supervision used in advanced institute training (e.g., Nordoff-Robbins, Guided Imagery and Music, Analytical Music Therapy). This is a valuable resource for beginning as well as experienced supervisors.
Music Therapy with Children and Their Families
Publication Date: 2008-05-01
In the past, music therapy work with children typically took place in special schools without the family being present. More recently, music therapy has become a widespread practice, and this book reflects the variety of settings within which music therapists are now working with children together with their families. The contributors are music therapists with experience of working with children and their families in a range of different environments, such as schools, hospices, psychiatric units, child development centres and in the community. They describe their approaches to family work with client groups including children with autism, learning disabled toddlers, adopted children and looked after teenagers. Their experiences demonstrate that involving the family in a child's music therapy can be beneficial for everyone, and that it is possible to address relationship issues within the family as part of the treatment. This book will provide useful insight into the growing area of music therapy with children and their families, and will be valuable for music therapy professionals and students, as well as other medical and teaching professionals who work with families.
Music Therapy: A Fieldwork Primer
Publication Date: 2004-01-01
A handbook for student use during their practicum and internship training in music therapy.
Music, Music Therapy and Trauma: International Perspectives
Publication Date: 2002-05-01
Music communicates where words fail, and music therapy has been proven to connect with those who were thought to be unreachable, making it an ideal medium for working with those who have suffered psychological trauma. Music, Music Therapy and Trauma addresses the need for an exploration of current thinking on music and trauma. With chapters written by many of today's leading specialists in this area, music and trauma is approached from a wide range of perspectives, with contributions on the following: * neurology of trauma and music; * music and trauma in general; * social and cultural perspectives on trauma; * contextualising contemporary classical music and conflict; * music and trauma in areas where there is war, community unrest and violence (Northern Ireland, Bosnia-Herzegovina, South Africa); * music, trauma and early development. Including specific examples and case studies, this book addresses the growing interest in the effects of trauma and how music therapy can provide a way through this complex process.
Music, Therapy, and Early Childhood
Publication Date: 2008-01-01
A comprehensive guide to music therapy with young children, providing a detailed examination of development from birth to age five, with theoretical perspectives and extensive scales of developmental milestones. Information is compiled in nine different chronological periods, including benchmarks for physical, sensory, motor, cognitive, emotional/social, and language development. The book then synthesizes current research on musical development in young children and provides lists of musical behaviors as well as a presentation of the theories of musical development proposed by Briggs/Bruscia and Edwin Gordon.
Music: Promoting Health and Creating Community in Healthcare Contexts
Publication Date: 2007-11-01
Playing live music with people who are ill to promote optimal states of health and well being is as at least as enduring as the written historical record. This book explores applications of music in healthcare with reference to the research and applied work in the disciplines of music therapy, music sociology and music psychology. Authors from six countries present aspects of healthful and health creating experiences in music participation, providing theoretical and philosophical reflections on music's capacities for creating community, promoting health and delivering patient-centred care in a range of contexts.
Readings on Music Therapy Theory
Publication Date: 2012-01-01
Resource-Oriented Music Therapy in Mental Health Care
Publication Date: 2010-05-01
Current trends in health care politics emphasize user involvement and positive aspects of health and quality of life. This book about a resource-oriented approach to music therapy in mental health care is taking this as a point of departure. It offers a theoretical and empirical exploration of the idea that therapy is as much about stimulating clients strengths as it is about fixing problems or curing pathology. The resource-oriented approach presented relates to a broad, interdisciplinary landscape of theory including empowerment philosophy, positive psychology, and current musicology. The approach is contextual and relational, emphasizing aspects of collaboration and participation. The context for the explorations offered in this book is mental health care and in particular psychotherapeutic work in individual settings. Two case studies, including stories and song material, from music therapy are exemplifying the approach and voice multiple perspectives on the therapeutic process.
The Healing Energies of Music
Publication Date: 1995-05-25
Certain types of music can enhance intellectual and spiritual powers and help overcome insomnia, boredom, anger, and stress. Music therapist and teacher Hal Lingerman presents a wealth of resources for choosing just the right music for physical, emotional and spiritual growth and healing. This updated edition offers comprehensive listings of current recordings, including new and remastered CDs, with selections from the classics, contemporary and ethnic compositions, and music composed by and for women. It includes expanded chapters on Women's Music, World Music, the Music of Nature, and Angelic Music.