EBSCO Tutorials and GuidesUseful resources 1Useful Resources 2
Music History BookseBooks
Christian Music/Hymns and Classical/ComposersFlorida Music/JazzMedieval/Musical Instruments/OperaMusic Links/Scores/SheetProject Gutenberg: Music and Theory
Khan Academy: Music
American Civil War/US 19th Century/American Made Music SeriesBand Music/Big Band/BluesChoral/ClassicalChristian MusicCountry/FolkGospel/Hip Hop and Rap
Reference/Hot TopicsInternational Resources/Google Scholar/Writing Resources
Music in American Life/Music TheoryMusic Psychology/Music and Math/Music TherapyMusicals/Film and Television/OperaPiano/Pop/RockTeacing Music/Music Education/U.S. Music
This is the "Choral/Classical" page of the "Music Research" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Music Research  

Last Updated: Nov 9, 2017 URL: http://libguides.warner.edu/MU Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Choral/Classical Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Choral/Choir Music

Cover Art
A Handbook for Beginning Choral Educators - Walter Lamble
ISBN: 9780253344342
Publication Date: 2004-05-26
""This book comes from a very fine music educator with exceptional experience, who has common sense and a real understanding of what a beginning teacher should know. The book puts into print issues that are widely discussed at conventions and at conferences, and that are common knowledge for the experienced teacher, but that are not covered in a music education class. It is a plain and simple book, written in a language that is easy for anyone going into the profession to understand. It makes valuable suggestions in just about every aspect of the role of a choral music teacher."" -- Michael Schwartzkopf, Professor of Music Education, Indiana University School of Music

Cover Art
A Performer's Guide to Renaissance Music - Jeffery Kite-Powell (Editor)
ISBN: 9780253348661
Publication Date: 2007-08-02
Revised and expanded since it first appeared in 1991, the guide features two new chapters on ornamentation and rehearsal techniques, as well as updated reference materials, internet resources, and other new material made available only in the last decade. The guide is comprised of focused chapters on performance practice issues such as vocal and choral music; various types of ensembles; profiles of specific instruments; instrumentation; performance practice issues; theory; dance; regional profiles of Renaissance music; and guidelines for directors. The format addresses the widest possible audience for early music, including amateur and professional performers, musicologists, theorists, and educators.

Cover Art
A Performer's Guide to Seventeenth-Century Music - Jeffery Kite-Powell; Stewart Carter (Editor)
ISBN: 9780253357069
Publication Date: 2012-03-21
Revised and expanded, A Performer's Guide to Seventeenth Century Music is a comprehensive reference guide for students and professional musicians. The book contains useful material on vocal and choral music and style; instrumentation; performance practice; ornamentation, tuning, temperament; meter and tempo; basso continuo; dance; theatrical production; and much more. The volume includes new chapters on the violin, the violoncello and violone, and the trombone--as well as updated and expanded reference materials, internet resources, and other newly available material. This highly accessible handbook will prove a welcome reference for any musician or singer interested in historically informed performance.

Cover Art
Building Choral Excellence : Teaching Sight-Singing in the Choral Rehearsal. - Steven M. Demorest
ISBN: 9780195124620
Publication Date: 2001-02-15
Designed for both the practicing choral director and the choral methods student, this is a compact and comprehensive overview of the many teaching methods, strategies, materials, and assessments available for choral sight-singing instruction. Sight-singing is an important, if sometimesneglected, facet of choral music education that often inspires fear and uncertainty in student and teacher alike. Written in an accessible style, this book takes the mystery out of teaching music reading. Topics covered include the history of sight-singing pedagogy and research, prominent methodsand materials, and practical strategies for teaching and assessment. This is the only book to provide such a wealth of information under one cover and will become an essential part of every choral conductor's library.

Cover Art
Choral Arrangements of the African-American Spirituals: Historical Overview and Annotated Listings - Patricia J. Trice
ISBN: 9780313302114
Publication Date: 1998-02-12
Although the choral arrangements of the African-American spirituals constitute the largest group of folk song arrangements in western literature, they have received little scholarly attention. This book provides the needed historical and stylistic information about the spirituals and the arrangements. It traces the history and cultural roots of the genre through its inception and delineates the African and European characteristics common to the original folk songs and arrangements. Ensembles that have perpetuated the growth of the spiritual arrangements from Fisk Jubilee Singers of the 1870s through those currently active are chronicled as well. Musicians, choral directors, and scholars will welcome this first complete text on the African-American spiritual genre. Annotated listings of titles provide information choral directors need to make ensemble-appropriate performance choices. Arrangements indexed by title, arranger, and subject complement the accompanying biographies and repertoire information. Well-organized and thoroughly researched, this text is a valuable addition to music, choral, multicultural, and African-American libraries."

Cover Art
Choral Masterworks : A Listener's Guide. - Michael Steinberg
ISBN: 9780195126440
Publication Date: 2005-04-22
Michael Steinberg's highly successful listener's guides--The Symphony and The Concerto--have been universally praised for their blend of captivating biography, crystal clear musical analysis, and delightful humor. Now Steinberg follows these two greatly admired volumes with Choral Masterworks:A Listener's Guide, the only such guide available to this most popular of musical forms. Here are more than fifty illuminating essays on the classic choral masterworks, ranging from Handel's Messiah, Bach's Mass in B Minor, and Beethoven's Missa Solemnis, to works by Haydn, Brahms, Mendelssohn, and many others. Steinberg spans the entire history of classical music, from suchgiants of the Romantic era as Verdi and Berlioz, to leading modern composers such as Elgar, Rachmaninoff, Vaughan Williams, and Stravinsky, to contemporary masters such as John Adams and Charles Wuorinen. For each piece, Steinberg includes a fascinating biographical account of the work's genesis,often spiced with wonderful asides, such as the true story of Mozart's Requiem--Salieri had nothing to do with the composition of it, nor did he poison Mozart, who most likely died of rheumatic fever. The author also includes an astute musical analysis of each piece, one that casual music lovers caneasily appreciate and that musicians and more serious fans will find invaluable. The book also includes basic information such as the various movements of the work, the organization of the chorus and orchestra, and brief historical notes on early performances. More than twenty million Americans perform regularly in choirs or choruses. Choral Masterworks will appeal not only to concert goers and CD collectors, but also to this vast multitude of choral performers, an especially engaged and active community.

Cover Art
Choral Pedagogy and the Older Singer - Brenda Smith; Robert T. Sataloff
ISBN: 9781597566926
Publication Date: 2012-03-30
This book should help conductors adjust expectations and methods to suit the condition and abilities of older singers. Maintaining one's vocal skill in later years is the goal, since getting better may not be possible. Knowing that every choral conductor hopes a choir will improve from season to season, a new paradigm for the aging choir must be established. Once involved, the conductor of older singers is certain to reap the benefits of making music with people whose appreciation of the text, the music and the act of singing is deeper than in any younger ensemble.

Cover Art
Choral Repertoire - Dennis Shrock
ISBN: 9780195327786
Publication Date: 2009-04-07
Choral Repertoire is the definitive and comprehensive one-volume presentation of the canon of the Western choral tradition. Designed for practicing conductors and directors, students and teachers of choral music, amateur and professional singers, scholars, and interested vocal enthusiasts, itis an account of the complete choral output of the most significant composers of this genre throughout history. Organized by era (Medieval, Renaissance, Baroque, Classical, Romantic, and Modern), Choral Repertoire covers general characteristics of each historical era; trends and styles unique tovarious countries; biographical sketches of over 500 composers; and performance annotations of more than 5,000 individual works. This book will be an essential guide to programming, a reference tool for program notes and other research, and, most importantly, a key resource for conductors,instructors, scholars, and students of choral music.

Cover Art
Face to Face with Orchestra and Chorus: A Handbook for Choral Conductors. - Don V. Moses; Robert W. Demaree; Allen F. Ohmes; Robert Shaw (Foreword by)
ISBN: 9780253344373
Publication Date: 2004-06-01
Face to Face with Orchestra and Chorus is a crucial guide for choral conductors who are presented with the daunting task of conducting a full-size orchestra. This book provides a survival kit for both novice and experienced choral conductors, with an overview of the orchestral instruments and their particular needs, tips for rehearsing an orchestra effectively, and guidelines for proper baton technique. Conductors are walked through six case studies from the Baroque and Classical periods, including Handel's Messiah, Bach's Magnificat in D Major, Vivaldi's Gloria, and Beethoven's ""Choral"" Fantasia.

Cover Art
Glee and New Directions for Social Change - Brian C. Johnson (Editor); Daniel K. Faill (Editor)
ISBN: 9789462099036
Publication Date: 2015-01-16
In the fall of 2009, the Fox network took a bold step in their primetime television lineup. Borrowing from the success of reality music performance shows like its own American Idol, the network introduced us to the students at McKinley High School, a fictional high school in Lima, OH, and home to the glee club known as the New Directions. The group is made up of freaks and geeks who feel the wrath of being "different." The cool kids are hell bent on making life difficult for the students in glee club. Yet, because of the determination of Mr. Will Schuester, the club's advisor, along with a few great songs, Glee has brought a new tone of inclusion to modern television and direct parallels can be seen between the experiences of the show choir members and what is happening in contemporary society. Glee has shown the importance of examining the intersections of pop culture and social issues; this text will encourage thinking on how effective the show has been beyond the screen. Essays provide critical analyses of the show, its characters, and its overall usefulness as a commentary on social issues. The show's content often deals with subject matter that would lend easily to critique around such social issues as sexuality, bullying, interpersonal communication, conflict resolution, and family relationships. This text invites readers to examine the intersections between media, society, and the individual.

Cover Art
Lord's Song: The Basis, Function and Significance of Choral Music in Chronicles. - John W. Kleinig
ISBN: 9780567024176
Publication Date: 2009-11-01
Why do the books of Chronicles regard the performance of choral music as an integral part of the sacrificial ritual at the temple, despite the lack of sanction for it in the Pentateuch? And why do they stress that it must be synchronized with the presentation of the regular public burnt offering at the temple? These and other questions are answered in this challenging new volume. After an introductory chapter defining the scope of the study as an analysis of the ritual function and theological significance of sacred song, the author examines the divine institution and royal establishment of the Levitical choir in Jerusalem. This is followed by an examination of the components of the Lord's song in terms of its contents, location, times, instruments and performers. A chapter on the function of sacred song as determined by its place within the sacrificial ritual follows, and the fifth chapter deals with its theological significance as the proclamation of the Lord's presence with his people.

Cover Art
Prescriptions for Choral Excellence - Shirlee Emmons; Constance Chase
ISBN: 9780195182422
Publication Date: 2006-02-02
In shaping choral tone, directors often wish to improve the sound of their choir, but are challenged to pinpoint underlying problems or to guide singers toward solutions. Now, in Prescriptions for Choral Excellence, skilled vocal pedagogue Shirlee Emmons and leading choral director ConstanceChase equip choral directors with the practical tools they need to help singers achieve peak choral performance. Drawing on years of experience, Emmons and Chase help choral directors and singers effectively diagnose and resolve problems. They cover topics ranging from breath management and diction to range and intonation, and much more. Beyond describing vocal difficulties, the book provides concreteinstructions on how to apply the concepts in day-to-day rehearsal and performance. The numerous practical exercises and planning aides allow directors to maximize both time and talent to elicit the highest potential from their singers. While grounded in the most up-to-date research in voice science,the discussion of vocal anatomy and function is accessible to readers with no previous knowledge of voice science. Going beyond other vocal and choral guidebooks, the authors also apply the most current theories in leadership principles and group dynamics to choral settings, helping directorstranslate their natural musicality and charisma into inspiring and motivational leadership. A comprehensive and unique blend of practical expertise, voice science, and leadership psychology, Prescriptions for Choral Excellence is an invaluable guide for all choral directors seeking to create memorable and remarkable performances.

Cover Art
Recording on a Budget - Brent Edstrom
ISBN: 9780195390414
Publication Date: 2010-12-06
Audio recordings are the calling card with which musicians share and promote their work so a knowledge of recording techniques and technologies is essential to the 21st century musician. Recording On a Budget provides a comprehensive introduction to the recording arts from a budget-consciousperspective. Written by a professional musician and educator, this book is idea for musicians, educators, music students, songwriters and hobbyists. A central theme of the book is that it is possible to make quality recordings with a modest selection of recording tools. Chapters cover the selection and use of all of the components of a project studio including microphones, mixer, computer, digital audio workstation software, and signalprocessors. Additional chapters provide a solid foundation in acoustics, audio recording, podcasting, mixing and mastering. The final chapter of the book features do-it-yourself projects that can be completed with a modest selection of tools. Most musicians have developed their ears to a high level so a special focus is placed on the development of recording technique through experimentation and the application of critical listening skills. The book is supported by an online resource of nearly 250 audio excerpts detailing all of theprimary topics of the book. Recording on a Budget is ideal for:* Musicians who are interested in recording a quality CD or demo* Choir, orchestra, and band directors who want to record vocal or instrumental ensemble* Student performers and composers who wish to record a performance or produce their own music* Bands interested in recording live concerts or recording an album in a home studio* Videographers interested in recording location sound, voice-overs or music* Songwriters who wish to produce a quality demo* Podcasters and ALL who want to make quality recordings without spending fortunes on equipment.Readers will learn * to cut budget corners without sacrificing audio quality* to choose the right microphone for the job (and where to place it) * to assemble an equipment rack, mixing desk, and speakers stand* to avoid common mistakes * And to be creative and have fun with recording technology Visit the companion website at www.oup.com/us/recordingonabudget for free selection of sample recordings!

Cover Art
Right Way to Sing - Linda Marquart; Lea Salonga (Introduction by)
ISBN: 9781581154078
Publication Date: 2005-04-01
Everyone from budding professional to church choir soloist will be drawn to this step--by--step program that promises to teach people to sing like pros. This easy--to--use book starts with common singing terms, moves on to the importance of range and resonance, and continues with solid instruction on training the voice. A special chapter on vocal technique enriches the text, and the book's vocal exercises and tips for sight reading, learning music, and recognizing different musical forms all add value. Information about further study and finding a singing teacher, and answers to frequently asked questions, round out this useful text. Allworth Press, an imprint of Skyhorse Publishing, publishes a broad range of books on the visual and performing arts, with emphasis on the business of art. Our titles cover subjects such as graphic design, theater, branding, fine art, photography, interior design, writing, acting, film, how to start careers, business and legal forms, business practices, and more. While we don't aspire to publish a New York Times bestseller or a national bestseller, we are deeply committed to quality books that help creative professionals succeed and thrive. We often publish in areas overlooked by other publishers and welcome the author whose expertise can help our audience of readers.

Cover Art
Sound Advice : Becoming A Better Children's Choir Conductor. - Jean Ashworth Bartle
ISBN: 9780195141788
Publication Date: 2003-03-06
Sound Advice is a valuable resource for college students, beginning teachers, and experienced conductors of children's choirs. It covers the vast array of skills needed by today's conductor and will benefit all choir directors who want their choirs to reach a higher level of artistry. This book will be useful on many levels: for the college student studying the child voice and elementary teaching methods; for the teacher beginning to direct choirs in schools, synagogues, churches and communities; for experienced children's choir directors who wish to know more about orchestralrepertoire for treble voices, conducting an orchestra, and preparing a children's choir to sing a major work with a professional orchestra. The underlying educational philosophy is sound; the author sees development of musicianship through singing as the primary goal of a children's choir program. This philosophy differs dramatically from the traditional concept of the conductor as all-knowing and the singers as receptacles. Anoutstanding aspect of the book is how the author leads the reader to an understanding of how to teach musicianship. Developing literacy in the choral setting is a mysterious, amorphous process to many conductors, but the author clearly outlines this important process with practical suggestions,well-documented examples, and a clear reading style which will reach readers on many levels. The comprehensive repertoire, skill-building sheets, and programs for all types of children's choirs will provide teachers with immediate and highly valuable resources.

 

Restricted Access Note

 The following are restricted to current Warner University students, faculty, and staff.

Log-in: Warner email account.

 

Classical

Cover Art
A Musicology of Performance: Theory and Method Based on Bach's Solos for Violin. - Dorottya Fabian
ISBN: 9781783741526
Publication Date: 2015-08-17
The nature of musical performance has intrigued researchers for a long time. This book explores the contributions and limitations of some of these approaches, be it theoretical, cultural, historical, perceptual, or analytical. Through a detailed investigation of recent recordings of J. S. Bach's 6 Sonatas and Partitas for Solo Violin it demonstrates that music performance functions as complex dynamical systems. As such only a transdisciplinary approach to analysis is able to verbalize the aural experience. The book provides a model for such a method by adopting Deleuzian concepts and various empirical and interdisciplinary procedures, from the cultural-historical to the perceptual-phenomenological. The focus is always on the detail in context, the relative contribution of the interacting elements creating the holistic experience. A Musicology of Performance also considers a crucial but under-researched element in virtually all studies of performance, namely, the ways in which performers learn from one another and develop their own micro-traditions. The repertoire analyzed in this book demonstrates the reliability of the analytical method, providing evidence for the proposed theoretical model, while presenting new insights into the state of baroque performance practice at the turn of the twenty-first century. The book contains a wealth of audio examples, tables and graphs to better map the interaction between historically informed and mainstream performance styles considered in relation to broader cultural trends, violin schools and individual artistic trajectories. A Musicology of Performance is a must read for academics and post-graduate students and an essential reference point for the study of music performance, the early music movement, and Bach's opus.

Cover Art
About Bach - George B. Stauffer (Editor); Gregory S. Butler (Editor); Mary Dalton Greer (Editor)
ISBN: 9780252033445
Publication Date: 2008-07-03
That Johann Sebastian Bach is a pivotal figure in the history of Western music is hardly news, and the magnitude of his achievement is so immense that it can be difficult to grasp. In About Bach, fifteen scholars show that Bach's importance extends from choral to orchestral music, from sacred music to musical parodies, and also to his scribes and students, his predecessors and successors. Further, the contributors demonstrate a diversity of musicological approaches, ranging from close studies of Bach's choices of musical form and libretto to wider analyses of the historical and cultural backgrounds that impinged upon his creations and their lasting influence. This volume makes significant contributions to Bach biography, interpretation, pedagogy, and performance. Contributors are Gregory G. Butler, Jen-Yen Chen, Alexander J. Fisher, Mary Dalton Greer, Robert Hill, Ton Koopman, Daniel R. Melamed, Michael Ochs, Mark Risinger, William H. Scheide, Hans-Joachim Schulze, Douglass Seaton, George B. Stauffer, Andrew Talle, and Kathryn Welter.

Cover Art
Analyzing Bach Cantatas - Eric Chafe
ISBN: 9780195161823
Publication Date: 2003-03-27
Bach's cantatas are among the highest achievements of Western musical art, yet studies of the individual cantatas that are both illuminating and detailed are few. In this book, noted Bach expert Eric Chafe combines theological, historical, analytical, and interpretive approaches to thecantatas to offer readers and listeners alike the richest possible experience of these works. A respected theorist of seventeenth-century music, Chafe is sensitive to the composer's intentions and to the enduring and universal qualities of the music itself. Concentrating on a small number of representative cantatas, mostly from the Leipzig cycles of 1723-24 and 1724-25, and in particular on Cantata 77, Chafe shows how Bach strove to mirror both the dogma and the mystery of religious experience in musical allegory. Analyzing Bach Cantatas offersvaluable information on the theological relevance of the structure of the liturgical year for the design and content of these works, as well as a survey of the theories of modality that inform Bach's compositional style. Chafe demonstrates that, while Bach certainly employed "pictorialism" andword-painting in his compositions, his method of writing music was a more complex amalgam of theological concepts and music theory. Regarding the cantatas as musical allegories that reflect the fundamental tenets of Lutheran theology as established during Bach's lifetime, Chafe synthesizes a numberof key musical and theological ideas to illuminate the essential character of these great works. This unique and insightful book offers an essential methodology for understanding one of the central bodies of work in the Western musical canon. It will prove indispensable for all students and scholars of Bach's work, musicology, and theological studies.

Cover Art
Classical Music: A Beginner's Guide. - Julian Johnson
ISBN: 9781851686872
Publication Date: 2009-10-01
What does classical music mean to the Western World? How has it transformed over the centuries? What relevance does it have today? Julian Johnson inspires readers to explore over 1000 years of music, and examines how music is related to some of the big ideas of Western experience including spirituality, emotion, the weight of history, and self identity. Julian Johnson is currently Professor of Music at Royal Holloway, University of London. He is also a composer and public speaker on musicology, championing the relevance of classical music to the general public.

Cover Art
Hutchinson Pocket Dictionary of Classical Music - Helicon Publishing
ISBN: 9781859865637
Publication Date: 2005-01-01
Quick and easy reference to classical music.

Cover Art
Music As Thought: Listening to the Symphony in the Age of Beethoven - Mark Evan Bonds
ISBN: 9780691168050
Publication Date: 2015-07-28
Before the nineteenth century, instrumental music was considered inferior to vocal music. Kant described wordless music as "more pleasure than culture," and Rousseau dismissed it for its inability to convey concepts. But by the early 1800s, a dramatic shift was under way. Purely instrumental music was now being hailed as a means to knowledge and embraced precisely because of its independence from the limits of language. What had once been perceived as entertainment was heard increasingly as a vehicle of thought. Listening had become a way of knowing. Music as Thought traces the roots of this fundamental shift in attitudes toward listening in the late eighteenth and early nineteenth centuries. Focusing on responses to the symphony in the age of Beethoven, Mark Evan Bonds draws on contemporary accounts and a range of sources--philosophical, literary, political, and musical--to reveal how this music was experienced by those who heard it first. Music as Thought is a fascinating reinterpretation of the causes and effects of a revolution in listening.

Cover Art
Planet Beethoven : Classical Music at the Turn of the Millennium - Mina Yang
ISBN: 9780819574855
Publication Date: 2014-11-04
In Planet Beethoven, Mina Yang makes the compelling case that classical music in the twenty-first century is just as vibrant and relevant as ever-but with significant changes that give us insight into the major cultural shifts of our day. Perusing events, projects, programs, writings, musicians, and compositions, Yang shines a spotlight on the Western art music tradition. The book covers an array of topics, from the use of Beethoven's "Fur Elise" in YouTube clips and hip-hop, to the marketing claims of Baby Einstein products, and the new forms of music education introduced by Gustavo Dudamel, conductor of the Los Angeles Philharmonic. While the book is global in its outlook, each chapter investigates the unique attributes of a specific performer, performance, or event. One chapter reflects on Chinese pianist Yuja Wang's controversial performance at the Hollywood Bowl, another explores the highly symbolic Passion 2000 Project in Stuttgart, Germany. Sure to be of interest to students, professionals, and aficionados, Planet Beethoven traces the tensions that arise from the "classical" nature of this tradition and our rapidly changing world.

Cover Art
Semiotics of Classical Music : How Mozart, Brahms and Wagner Talk to Us - Eero Tarasti
ISBN: 9781614511540
Publication Date: 2012-09-14
Music intrudes to our most intimate subjectivity, thus making it a privileged field to which so-called "existential semiotics", a new theory and philosophy developed by the author himself, may be applied. Using new semiotic methods and analyses as the fulcrum of its approaches, the volume aims to clarify why great classical composers from Mozart and Beethoven to Brahms and Wagner fascinate music listeners and lovers from all cultures of the world.

Cover Art
Singing Bronze: A History of Carillon Music. - Luc Rombouts
ISBN: 9789058679567
Publication Date: 2014-06-17
The carillon, the world's largest musical instrument, originated in the sixteenth century when inhabitants of the Low Countries started to produce music on bells in church and city towers. Today, carillon music still fills the soundscape of cities in Belgium and the Netherlands. Since World War I, carillon music has become popular in the United States, where it adds a spiritual dimension to public parks and university campuses. Singing Bronze opens up the fascinating world of the carillon to the reader. It tells the great stories of European and American carillon history: the quest for the perfect musical bell, the fate of carillons in times of revolt and war, the role of patrons such as John D. Rockefeller Jr. and Herbert Hoover in the development of American carillon culture, and the battle between singing bronze and carillon electronics. Richly illustrated with original photographs and etchings, Singing Bronze tells how people developed, played, and enjoyed bell music. With this book, a fascinating history that is yet little known is made available for a wide public.

Cover Art
The Guitar and Its Music: From the Renaissance to the Classical Era - James Tyler; Paul Sparks
ISBN: 9780191518515
Publication Date: 2007-01-01
Following James Tyler's earlier introduction to the four-and five-course guitar, this collaboration with Paul Sparks is an authoritative guide to the history and repertory of the guitar from the Renaissance to the dawn of the Classical era. -;Following on from James Tyler's The Early Guitar: A History and Handbook(OUP 1980) tthis collaboration with Paul Sparks (their previous book for OUP, The Early Mandolin, appeared in 1989), presents new ideas and research on the history and development of the guitar and its music from the Renaissance to the dawn of the Classical era. Tyler's systematic study of the two main guitar types found between about 1550 and 1750 focuses principally on what the sources of the music (published and manuscript) and the writings of contemporary theorists reveal about the nature of the instruments and their roles in the music making of the period. The annotated lists of primary sources, previously published in The Early Guitar but now revised and expanded, constitute the most comprehensive bibliography of Baroque guitar music to date. His. appendices of performance practice information should also prove indispensable to performers and scholars alike. Paul Sparks also breaks new ground, offering an extensive study of a period in the guitar's history--notably c.1759-c.1800--which the standard histories usually dismiss in a few short paragraphs. Far from being a dormant instrument at this time, the guitar is shown to have been central to music-making in France, Italy, the Iberian Peninsula, and South America. Sparks provides a wealth of information about players, composers, instruments, and surviving compositions from this neglected but. important period, and he examines how the five-course guitar gradually gave way to the six-string instrument, a process that occurred in very different ways (and at different times) in France, Italy, Spain, Germany, and Britain. -

Cover Art
What Is a Cadence?: Theoretical and Analytical Perspectives on Cadences in the Classical Repertoire - Markus Neuwirth (Editor); Pieter Bergé (Editor)
ISBN: 9789462700154
Publication Date: 2015-07-23
The concept of closure is crucial to understanding music from the "classical" style. This volume focuses on the primary means of achieving closure in tonal music: the cadence. Written by leading North American and European scholars, the nine chapters seek to account for the great variety and complexity inherent in the cadence by approaching it from different subdisciplinary angles, including music-analytical, theoretical, historical, psychological (experimental), as well as linguistic. Each of these chapters challenges, in one way or another, our common notion of cadence. Controversial viewpoints between the chapters are highlighted by numerous cross-references. Given the ubiquity of cadences in tonal music in general, this volume is aimed not only at a broad portion of the academic community, scholars and students alike, but also at music performers. Contributors: Pieter Berge (KU Leuven), Poundie Burstein (City University of New York), Vasili Byros (Northwestern University), William Caplin (McGill University), Felix Diergarten (Schola Cantorum Basiliensis), Nathan John Martin (Yale University / KU Leuven), Danuta Mirka (University of Southampton), Markus Neuwirth (KU Leuven), Julie Pedneault-Deslauriers (University of Ottawa), Martin Rohrmeier (Massachusetts Institute of Technology), and David Sears (McGill University)"

Cover Art
Who Needs Classical Music? : Cultural Choice and Musical Value - Julian Johnson
ISBN: 9780195146813
Publication Date: 2002-03-28
During the last few decades, most cultural critics have come to agree that the division between "high" and "low" art is an artificial one, that Beethoven's Ninth and "Blue Suede Shoes" are equally valuable as cultural texts. In Who Needs Classical Music?, Julian Johnson challenges theseassumptions about the relativism of cultural judgements. The author maintains that music is more than just "a matter of taste": while some music provides entertainment, or serves as background noise, other music claims to function as art. This book considers the value of classical music incontemporary society, arguing that it remains distinctive because it works in quite different ways to most of the other music that surrounds us. This intellectually sophisticated yet accessible book offers a new and balanced defense of the specific values of classical music in contemporary culture. Who Needs Classical Music? will stimulate readers to reflect on their own investment (or lack of it) in music and art of all kinds.

Cover Art
Why Classical Music Still Matters - Lawrence Kramer
ISBN: 9780520258037
Publication Date: 2009-01-07
"What can be done about the state of classical music?” Lawrence Kramer asks in this elegant, sharply observed, and beautifully written extended essay. Classical music, whose demise has been predicted for at least a decade, has always had its staunch advocates, but in today’s media-saturated world there are real concerns about its viability. Why Classical Music Still Matters takes a forthright approach by engaging both skeptics and music lovers alike. In seven highly original chapters, Why Classical Music Still Matters affirms the value of classical music--defined as a body of nontheatrical music produced since the eighteenth century with the single aim of being listened to--by revealing what its values are: the specific beliefs, attitudes, and meanings that the music has supported in the past and which, Kramer believes, it can support in the future. Why Classical Music Still Matters also clears the air of old prejudices. Unlike other apologists, whose defense of the music often depends on arguments about the corrupting influence of popular culture, Kramer admits that classical music needs a broader, more up-to-date rationale. He succeeds in engaging the reader by putting into words music’s complex relationship with individual human drives and larger social needs. In prose that is fresh, stimulating, and conversational, he explores the nature of subjectivity, the conquest of time and mortality, the harmonization of humanity and technology, the cultivation of attention, and the liberation of human energy.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip