Restricted Access Note
The following are restricted to current Warner University students, faculty, and staff.
Log-in: Warner email account.
An Unholy Row: Jazz in Britain and Its Audience, 1945-1960
Publication Date: 2014-03-31
The post-war jazz revival marked the beginning of an independent British youth culture with music as its focus. Although it always remained a minority enthusiasm, jazz actually embodied the vaguely felt sentiments, dissatisfactions and aspirations of the post-war generation more fully than any other form of expression. Older people were, on the whole, indifferent or positively hostile to what was, for many, simply an unholy row. In British society, class and culture were bound inextricably together, but jazz was an alien form with no obvious class affiliations. It was culturally neither high nor low, and so found a ready welcome in a world where the old certainties were breaking down. Throughout this period, jazz came in two more or less exclusive types - revivalist, which sought to recreate the classic jazz of the 1920s, and modern. Enthusiasts on both sides regarded their music as being more important than mere entertainment. In it they found a quality which they defined vaguely as honesty or sincerity, which may perhaps be summed up as authenticity. The book follows the development of both jazz tendencies over a decade and a half, paying particular attention to two outstanding figures: Humphrey Lyttelton and John Dankworth. It also seeks to convey a flavour of that now remote era and the frisson that jazz created.
Bird: The Life and Music of Charlie Parker
Publication Date: 2013-08-23
Saxophone virtuoso Charlie "Bird" Parker began playing professionally in his early teens, became a heroin addict at 16, changed the course of music, and then died when only 34 years old. His friend Robert Reisner observed, "Parker, in the brief span of his life, crowded more living into it than any other human being." Like Louis Armstrong, Duke Ellington, Miles Davis, and John Coltrane, he was a transitional composer and improviser who ushered in a new era of jazz by pioneering bebop and influenced subsequent generations of musicians. Meticulously researched and written, Bird: The Life and Music of Charlie Parker tells the story of his life, music, and career. This new biography artfully weaves together firsthand accounts from those who knew him with new information about his life and career to create a compelling narrative portrait of a tragic genius. While other books about Parker have focused primarily on his music and recordings, this portrait reveals the troubled man behind the music, illustrating how his addictions and struggles with mental health affected his life and career. He was alternatively generous and miserly; a loving husband and father at home but an incorrigible philanderer on the road; and a chronic addict who lectured younger musicians about the dangers of drugs. Above all he was a musician, who overcame humiliation, disappointment, and a life-threatening car wreck to take wing as Bird, a brilliant improviser and composer. With in-depth research into previously overlooked sources and illustrated with several never-before-seen images, Bird: The Life and Music of Charlie Parker corrects much of the misinformation and myth about one of the most influential musicians of the twentieth century.
Eurojazzland: Jazz and European Sources, Dynamics, and Contexts
Publication Date: 2012-07-10
It is often said that jazz is America’s great gift to the world, but while true, this belies the surprising, often crucial role that Europe has played in the development and popularity of jazz throughout the world. Based on a series of symposia attracting leading scholars, critics, and musicians from throughout Europe and the United States, Eurojazzland first addresses the impact of European musical traditions and instruments on the formation and development of American jazz. Part two details the vital experiences of American musicians on European soil, from black minstrels to such jazz greats as Benny Carter and Duke Ellington, and deals with European jazzmen and their developments of American jazz styles. The final part chronicles the importance of European critics and musicologists in jazz criticism and offers essays on European contributions to jazz musicianship and production. Eurojazzland proves that jazz is simply too rich and varied for one country to claim, define, or contain. This groundbreaking collection will appeal to jazz aficionados, scholars, musicologists, and musicians.
Hi-de-Ho: The Life of Cab Calloway
Publication Date: 2010-10-12
Clad in white tie and tails, dancing and scatting his way through the "Hi-de-ho" chorus of "Minnie the Moocher," Cab Calloway exuded a sly charm and sophistication that endeared him to legions of fans. In Hi-de-ho: The Life of Cab Calloway, author Alyn Shipton sheds new light on Calloway's life and career, explaining how he traversed racial and social boundaries to become one of the country's most beloved entertainers. Drawing on first-hand accounts from Calloway's family, friends, and fellowmusicians, the book traces the roots of this music icon, from his childhood in Rochester, New York, to his life of hustling on the streets of Baltimore. Shipton highlights how Calloway's desire to earn money to support his infant daughter prompted his first break into show business, when he joinedhis sister Blanche in a traveling revue. Beginning in obscure Baltimore nightclubs and culminating in his replacement of Duke Ellington at New York's famed Cotton Club, Calloway honed his gifts of scat singing and call-and-response routines. His career as a bandleader was matched by his genius as atalent-spotter, evidenced by his hiring of such jazz luminaries as Ben Webster, Dizzy Gillespie, and Jonah Jones. As the swing era waned, Calloway reinvented himself as a musical theatre star, appearing as Sportin' Life in "Porgy and Bess" in the early 1950s; in later years, Calloway cemented hisstatus as a living legend through cameos on "Sesame Street" and his show-stopping appearance in the wildly popular "The Blues Brothers" movie, bringing his trademark "hi-de-ho" refrain to a new generation of audiences. More than any other source, Hi-de-ho stands as an entertaining, not-to-be-missed portrait of Cab Calloway--one that expertly frames his enduring significance as a pioneering artist and entertainer.
Historical Dictionary of Jazz
Publication Date: 2012-09-13
Jazz is a music formed from a combination of influences. In its infancy, jazz was a melting pot of military brass bands, work songs and field hollers of the United States slaves during the 19th century, European harmonies and forms, and the rhythms of Africa and the Caribbean. Later, the blues and the influence of Spanish and French Creoles with European classical training nudged jazz further along in its development. Jazz has always been a world-music in the sense that music from around the globe has been embraced and incorporated. The Historical Dictionary of Jazz covers the history of Jazz through a chronology, an introductory essay, and an extensive bibliography. The dictionary section has over 1,500 cross-referenced entries on significant jazz performers, band leaders, bands, venues, record labels, recordings, and the different styles of jazz. This book is an excellent access point for students, researchers, and anyone seeking a broader understanding of the history of jazz and the connections within the genre.
Improvisation, Creativity, and Consciousness: Jazz As Integral Template for Music, Education, and Society
Publication Date: 2013-06-01
Using insights from Integral Theory, describes how the improvisational methods of jazz can inform education and other fields.
Jazz Matters: Sound, Place, and Time Since Bebop
Publication Date: 2010-10-07
What, where, and when is jazz? To most of us jazz means small combos, made up mostly of men, performing improvisationally in urban club venues. But jazz has been through many changes in the decades since World War II, emerging in unexpected places and incorporating a wide range of new styles. In this engrossing new book, David Ake expands on the discussion he began in Jazz Cultures, lending his engaging, thoughtful, and stimulating perspective to post-1940s jazz. Ake investigates such issues as improvisational analysis, pedagogy, American exceptionalism, and sense of place in jazz. He uses provocative case studies to illustrate how some of the values ascribed to the postwar jazz culture are reflected in and fundamentally shaped by aspects of sound, location, and time.
Jazz/Not Jazz: The Music and Its Boundaries
Publication Date: 2012-06-12
What is jazz? What is gained--and what is lost--when various communities close ranks around a particular definition of this quintessentially American music? Jazz/Not Jazz explores some of the musicians, concepts, places, and practices which, while deeply connected to established jazz institutions and aesthetics, have rarely appeared in traditional histories of the form. David Ake, Charles Hiroshi Garrett, and Daniel Goldmark have assembled a stellar group of writers to look beyond the canon of acknowledged jazz greats and address some of the big questions facing jazz today. More than just a history of jazz and its performers, this collections seeks out those people and pieces missing from the established narratives to explore what they can tell us about the way jazz has been defined and its history has been told.
Jelly Roll, Bix, and Hoagy, Revised and Expanded Edition : Gennett Records and the Rise of America's Musical Grassroots
Publication Date: 2013-02-08
In a piano factory tucked away in Richmond, Indiana, Gennett Records produced thousands of records featuring obscure musicians from hotel orchestras and backwoods fiddlers to the future icons of jazz, blues, country music, and rock 'n' roll. From 1916 to 1934, the company debuted such future stars as Louis Armstrong, King Oliver, Bix Beiderbecke, and Hoagy Carmichael, while also capturing classic performances by Jelly Roll Morton, Duke Ellington, Blind Lemon Jefferson, Charley Patton, Uncle Dave Macon, and Gene Autry. While Gennett Records was overshadowed by competitors such as Victor and Columbia, few record companies documented the birth of America's grassroots music as thoroughly as this small-town label. In this newly revised and expanded edition of Jelly Roll, Bix, and Hoagy, Rick Kennedy shares anecdotes from musicians, employees, and family members to trace the colorful history of one of America's most innovative record companies.
John Coltrane and Black America's Quest for Freedom: Spirituality and the Music
Publication Date: 2010-09-09
John Coltrane's unique and powerful saxophonic sound is commonly recognized among jazz scholars and fans alike as having a "spiritual" nature, imbued with the perfomer's soul, which deeply touches musicians and listeners worldwide. This revered and respected musician created new standards,linked tradition with innovation, challenged common assumptions, and relentlessly pursued spiritual goals in his music, which he aimed openly to use as a means to help listeners see the beauty of life. More than four decades after Coltrane's death, it is this spiritual nature of the music that haskept his sound alive - and thriving - on the contemporary jazz scene.Edited by prominent jazz musician and scholar Leonard Brown, John Coltrane and Black America's Quest for Freedom is a timely exploration of Coltrane's sound and its spiritual qualities as they relate to Black American music culture and aspirations for freedom. A wide-ranging collection of essays andinterviews featuring many of the most eminent figures in jazz studies and performance - Tommy Lee Lott, Anthony Brown, Herman Gray, Emmett G. Price III, Dwight Andrews, Tammy Kernodle, Salim Washington, Eric Jackson, and TJ Anderson (foreword) - the book examines the full spectrum of Coltrane'slegacy. Each essay approaches this theme from a different angle, in both historical and contemporary contexts, focusing on how Coltrane became a quintessential example of the universal and enduring qualities of Black American culture. The contributors address Coltrane as the Black intellectual, thevisionary master of musical syntax, the man and the media icon, and ultimately the symbol of the spiritual core of Black American music.
Music Makes Me: Fred Astaire and Jazz
Publication Date: 2011-06-24
Fred Astaire: one of the great jazz artists of the twentieth century? Astaire is best known for his brilliant dancing in the movie musicals of the 1930s, but in Music Makes Me, Todd Decker argues that Astaire’s work as a dancer and choreographer --particularly in the realm of tap dancing--made a significant contribution to the art of jazz. Decker examines the full range of Astaire’s work in filmed and recorded media, from a 1926 recording with George Gershwin to his 1970 blues stylings on television, and analyzes Astaire’s creative relationships with the greats, including George and Ira Gershwin, Irving Berlin, Jerome Kern, and Johnny Mercer. He also highlights Astaire’s collaborations with African American musicians and his work with lesser known professionals--arrangers, musicians, dance directors, and performers.
Satchmo: The Genius of Louis Armstrong
Publication Date: 2001-01-18
Gary Giddins has been called "the best jazz writer in America today" (Esquire). Louis Armstrong has been called the most influential jazz musician of the century. Together this auspicious pairing has resulted in Satchmo, one of the most vivid and fascinating portraits ever drawn of perhaps the greatest figure in the history of American music. Available now at a new price, this text-only edition is the authoritative introduction to Armstrong's life and art for the curious newcomer, and offers fresh insight even for the serious student of Pops.
Shaping Jazz: Cities, Labels, and the Global Emergence of an Art Form
Publication Date: 2013-07-21
There are over a million jazz recordings, but only a few hundred tunes have been recorded repeatedly. Why did a minority of songs become jazz standards? Why do some songs--and not others--get rerecorded by many musicians? Shaping Jazz answers this question and more, exploring the underappreciated yet crucial roles played by initial production and markets--in particular, organizations and geography--in the development of early twentieth-century jazz. Damon Phillips considers why places like New York played more important roles as engines of diffusion than as the sources of standards. He demonstrates why and when certain geographical references in tune and group titles were considered more desirable. He also explains why a place like Berlin, which produced jazz abundantly from the 1920s to early 1930s, is now on jazz's historical sidelines. Phillips shows the key influences of firms in the recording industry, including how record companies and their executives affected what music was recorded, and why major companies would rerelease recordings under artistic pseudonyms. He indicates how a recording's appeal was related to the narrative around its creation, and how the identities of its firm and musicians influenced the tune's long-run popularity. Applying fascinating ideas about market emergence to a music's commercialization, Shaping Jazz offers a unique look at the origins of a groundbreaking art form.
The Amazing Bud Powell: Black Genius, Jazz History, and the Challenge of Bebop
Publication Date: 2013-05-28
Bud Powell was not only one of the greatest bebop pianists of all time, he stands as one of the twentieth century’s most dynamic and fiercely adventurous musical minds. His expansive musicianship, riveting performances, and inventive compositions expanded the bebop idiom and pushed jazz musicians of all stripes to higher standards of performance. Yet Powell remains one of American music’s most misunderstood figures, and the story of his exceptional talent is often overshadowed by his history of alcohol abuse, mental instability, and brutalization at the hands of white authorities. In this first extended study of the social significance of Powell’s place in the American musical landscape, Guthrie P. Ramsey, Jr. shows how the pianist expanded his own artistic horizons and moved his chosen idiom into new realms. Illuminating and multi-layered, The Amazing Bud Powell centralizes Powell’s contributions as it details the collision of two vibrant political economies: the discourses of art and the practice of blackness.
The Ellington Century
Publication Date: 2012-02-21
Breaking down walls between genres that are usually discussed separately--classical, jazz, and popular--this highly engaging book offers a compelling new integrated view of twentieth-century music. Placing Duke Ellington (1899-1974) at the center of the story, David Schiff explores music written during the composer’s lifetime in terms of broad ideas such as rhythm, melody, and harmony. He shows how composers and performers across genres shared the common pursuit of representing the rapidly changing conditions of modern life. The Ellington Century demonstrates how Duke Ellington’s music is as vital to musical modernism as anything by Stravinsky, more influential than anything by Schoenberg, and has had a lasting impact on jazz and pop that reaches from Gershwin to contemporary R&B.
The Jazz Book: From Ragtime to the 21st Century
Publication Date: 2009-08-01
Considered the most encyclopedic interpretive history of jazz available in one volume for more than 50 years, this reference has been completely revised and expanded to incorporate the dominant styles and musicians since the book’s last publication in 1992, as well as the fruits of current research about earlier periods in the history of jazz. In addition, new chapters have been added on John Zorn, jazz in the 1990s and beyond, samplers, the tuba, the harmonica, non-Western instruments, postmodernist and repertory big bands, how the avant-garde has explored tradition, and many other subjects. This survey of past and current styles, elements, instruments, musicians, singers, and big bands of jazz continues to showcase an art form widely regarded as America’s greatest contribution to the world’s musical culture. For fifty years The Jazz Book has been the most encyclopedic interpretive history of jazz available in one volume. In this new seventh edition, each chapter has been completely revised and expanded to incorporate the dominant styles and musicians since the book’s last publication in 1992, as well as the fruits of current research about earlier periods in the history of jazz. In addition, new chapters have been added on John Zorn, jazz in the 1990s and beyond, samplers, the tuba, the harmonica, non-Western instruments, postmodernist and repertory big bands, how the avant-garde has explored tradition, and many other subjects. With a widespread resurgence of interest in jazz, The Jazz Book will continue well into the 21st century to fill the need for information about an art form widely regarded as America’s greatest contribution to the world’s musical culture.
The New Orleans Jazz Scene, 1970-2000: A Personal Retrospective
Publication Date: 2014-10-06
In 1966, journalist Charles Suhor wrote that New Orleans jazz was "ready for its new Golden Age." Thomas W. Jacobsen's The New Orleans Jazz Scene, 1970-2000 chronicles the resurgence of jazz music in the Crescent City in the years following Suhor's prophetic claim. Jacobsen, a New Orleans resident and longtime jazz aficionado, offers a wide-ranging history of the New Orleans jazz renaissance in the last three decades of the twentieth century, weaving local musical developments into the larger context of the national jazz scene. Jacobsen vividly evokes the changing face of the New Orleans jazz world at the close of the twentieth century. Drawing from an array of personal experiences and his own exhaustive research, he discusses leading musicians and bands, both traditionalists and modernists, as well as major performance venues and festivals. The city's musical infrastructure does not go overlooked, as Jacobsen delves into New Orleans's music business, its jazz media, and the evolution of jazz edu-cation at public schools and universities. With a trove of more than seventy photographs of key players and performances, The New Orleans Jazz Scene, 1970-2000 offers a vibrant and fascinating portrait of the musical genre that defines New Orleans.
Traditional New Orleans Jazz : Conversations with the Men Who Make the Music
Publication Date: 2011-03-25
About a century after its beginnings, traditional jazz remains the definitive music of New Orleans and an international hallmark of the city. The enduring sound and boundless energy of this American art form have produced a long list of jazz legends. From Lionel Ferbos -- the city's oldest working jazz musician -- to Grammy winner Irvin Mayfield, the musical heritage of traditional jazz lives on through each player's passion. In Traditional New Orleans Jazz, veteran jazz journalist Thomas Jacobsen discusses that legacy with Ferbos, Mayfield, and a who's who of the present-day scene's "trad jazz" players. Through intimate conversations with jazz veterans and up-and-coming talent, Jacobsen elicits honest, witty, and sometimes comedic discussions that reveal a strong mutual devotion to do one thing -- compose and play music inspired by the Crescent City's earliest jazz musicians. Traditional New Orleans Jazz presents local perspectives on what has become an international language with interviews from Lucien Barbarin, Evan Christopher, Duke Heitger, Leroy Jones, Dr. Michael White, and many more. Jacobsen also notes the stewardship of traditional jazz means more than making music. Its longevity relies on teaching and innovation, furthering the inextricable ties between the music and the men who make it. Traditional New Orleans jazz is a culture of its own, and the players in this remarkable volume are its native speakers.
Why Jazz Happened
Publication Date: 2012-12-10
Why Jazz Happened is the first comprehensive social history of jazz. It provides an intimate and compelling look at the many forces that shaped this most American of art forms and the many influences that gave rise to jazz’s post-war styles. Rich with the voices of musicians, producers, promoters, and others on the scene during the decades following World War II, this book views jazz’s evolution through the prism of technological advances, social transformations, changes in the law, economic trends, and much more. In an absorbing narrative enlivened by the commentary of key personalities, Marc Myers describes the myriad of events and trends that affected the music's evolution, among them, the American Federation of Musicians strike in the early 1940s, changes in radio and concert-promotion, the introduction of the long-playing record, the suburbanization of Los Angeles, the Civil Rights movement, the "British invasion” and the rise of electronic instruments. This groundbreaking book deepens our appreciation of this music by identifying many of the developments outside of jazz itself that contributed most to its texture, complexity, and growth.
Why Jazz?: A Concise Guide
Publication Date: 2011-01-03
What was the first jazz record? Are jazz solos really improvised? How did jazz lay the groundwork for rock and country music? In Why Jazz, author and NPR jazz critic Kevin Whitehead provides lively, insightful answers to these and many other fascinating questions, offering an entertainingguide for both novice listeners and long-time fans. Organized chronologically in a convenient question and answer format, this terrific resource makes jazz accessible to a broad audience, and especially to readers who've found the music bewildering or best left to the experts. Yet Why Jazz is much more than an informative QandA; it concisely tracesthe century-old history of this American and global art form, from its beginnings in New Orleans up through the current postmodern period. Whitehead provides brief profiles of the archetypal figures of jazz - from Louis Armstrong and Duke Ellington to Wynton Marsalis and John Zorn - and illuminatestheir contributions as musicians, performers, and composers. Also highlighted are the building blocks of the jazz sound - call and response, rhythmic contrasts, personalized performance techniques and improvisation - and discussion of how visionary musicians have reinterpreted these elements tocontinually redefine jazz, ushering in the swing era, bebop, cool jazz, hard bop, and the avant-garde. Along the way, Why Jazz provides helpful plain-English descriptions of musical terminology and techniques, from "blue notes" to "conducted improvising." And unlike other histories which haphazardlycover the stylistic branches of jazz that emerged after the 1960s, Why Jazz groups latter-day musical trends by decade, the better to place them in historical context. Whether read in self-contained sections or as a continuous narrative, this compact reference presents a trove of essential information that belongs on the shelf of anyone who's ever been interested in jazz.
A Compendium of Musical Instruments and Instrumental Terminology in the Bible
Publication Date: 2014-08-08
'A Compendium of Musical Instruments and Instrumental Terminology in the Bible' draws on extensive historical research, comparative linguistic analysis and musical study to offer the first compilation of its kind. The volume examines the entire range of musical instruments in the Bible - stringed, wind and percussion - drawing on ancient and modern translations of the Bible and the works of rabbinic teachers, Church Fathers and medieval, renaissance and contemporary scholars. The book offers a historical survey of Hebrew instrumental music - its origins and links with neighbouring cultures, the role of instruments in the religious, social, public and private life of ancient Israel, and the system of musical education - and explores the understanding of Hebrew musical instruments in post-biblical times. This comprehensive volume will be invaluable to musicologists, archaeologists, theologians, historians, philologists and Bible translators, as well as general readers in the subject.
A Double Bassist's Guide to Refining Performance Practices
Publication Date: 2013-08-23
Murray Grodner draws on his distinguished career as a double bass musician and teacher in this compendium of performance philosophy, bowing and phrasing recommendations, tutorials on fingerings and scales, and exercises for bowing and string crossing. Grodner addresses technical obstacles in musical performance, offers advice on instrument and bow purchase, and provides a detailed approach to the fundamentals of bass playing. This guide is an invaluable resource for any bassist seeking to improve performance practices.
A Musicology of Performance: Theory and Method Based on Bach's Solos for Violin
Publication Date: 2015-08-17
The nature of musical performance has intrigued researchers for a long time. This book explores the contributions and limitations of some of these approaches, be it theoretical, cultural, historical, perceptual, or analytical. Through a detailed investigation of recent recordings of J. S. Bach's 6 Sonatas and Partitas for Solo Violin it demonstrates that music performance functions as complex dynamical systems. As such only a transdisciplinary approach to analysis is able to verbalize the aural experience. The book provides a model for such a method by adopting Deleuzian concepts and various empirical and interdisciplinary procedures, from the cultural-historical to the perceptual-phenomenological. The focus is always on the detail in context, the relative contribution of the interacting elements creating the holistic experience. A Musicology of Performance also considers a crucial but under-researched element in virtually all studies of performance, namely, the ways in which performers learn from one another and develop their own micro-traditions. The repertoire analyzed in this book demonstrates the reliability of the analytical method, providing evidence for the proposed theoretical model, while presenting new insights into the state of baroque performance practice at the turn of the twenty-first century. The book contains a wealth of audio examples, tables and graphs to better map the interaction between historically informed and mainstream performance styles considered in relation to broader cultural trends, violin schools and individual artistic trajectories. A Musicology of Performance is a must read for academics and post-graduate students and an essential reference point for the study of music performance, the early music movement, and Bach's opus.
Before the Chinrest: A Violinist's Guide to the Mysteries of Pre-Chinrest Technique and Style
Publication Date: 2012-07-16
Drawing on the principles of Francesco Geminiani and four decades of experience as a baroque and classical violinist, Stanley Ritchie offers a valuable resource for anyone wishing to learn about 17th-18th-and early 19th-century violin technique and style. While much of the work focuses on the technical aspects of playing the pre-chinrest violin, these approaches are also applicable to the viola, and in many ways to the modern violin. Before the Chinrest includes illustrated sections on right- and left-hand technique, aspects of interpretation during the Baroque, Classical, and early-Romantic eras, and a section on developing proper intonation.
Buzz to Brilliance
Publication Date: 2012-11-22
Buzz to Brilliance engages students personally, technically and musically as they begin their study on the trumpet. The book journeys with students from the moment they first open their trumpet case to years later as they prepare for college auditions. It abounds with technical informationand practical tips including buying a new trumpet, mouthpiece selection, adjusting to braces, and marching band.Chapters on practice skills, sight-reading, and performing are a must-read for any musician, while special features give students a window into diverse worlds, from the workbench of a master repairman to the French horn studio of a master teacher. Drawings, diagrams and pictures invite studentsinto each page, making even advanced technical concepts easy to understand. Following the written portion of the book, a comprehensive set of scales and technique-building exercises address topics including breathing, high range, pedal tones, lip slurs, accuracy, articulation, and pedal tones. With practice schedules, mouthpiece comparison chart, pitch tendencies and more,this book is a treasure for any trumpet player. Buzz to Brilliance is the perfect companion for any beginning method book, and the first text on the market that provides a comprehensive set of essential studies selected specifically for beginning and intermediate players.
Clavichord for Beginners
Publication Date: 2014-04-25
Written by Joan Benson, one of the champions of clavichord performance in the 20th century, Clavichord for Beginners is an exceptional method book for both practitioners and enthusiasts. In addition to detailing the historical origins of the instrument and the evolution of keyboard technique, the book describes the proper method for practicing fingering and articulation and emphasizes the importance of touch and sensitivity at the keyboard. A CD featuring Benson in performance and a DVD of interviews and lessons accompany the book, illustrating important exercises for the beginner. The discs also include discussions on topics that range from 16th-century keyboard masters to the frontiers of electronic music research.
Drum: A History
Publication Date: 2011-12-29
In The Drum: A History, drummer, instructor, and blogger Matt Dean details the earliest evidence of the drum from all regions of the world, looking at cave paintings, statues, temple reliefs, burial remains, even existing relics of actual drums that have survived for thousands of years. Highlighting the different uses and customs associated with drumming, Dean examines how the drum developed across many cultures and over thousands of years before it became the instrument we know today. A celebration of this remarkable instrument, The Drum explores how war, politics, trade routes, and religion influenced the instrument's development. Bringing its history to the present, Dean considers the modern cultural and commercial face of the drum, detailing its role in military settings and the creation of the modern drum kit, as well as the continuing evolution of the drum, manufacturers, and the increased dependence on electronic drums, sampling machines* and drum recorders. Finally, drum fans will have at their fingertips the biographies of great drummers and major drumming achievements in the history of performance. The Drum: A History will appeal to every drummer, regardless of genre or style, as well as readers with a general interest in the evolution of this universal instrument. Book jacket.
Fanfares and Finesse: A Performer's Guide to Trumpet History and Literature
Publication Date: 2014-02-27
Unlike the violin, which has flourished largely unchanged for close to four centuries, the trumpet has endured numerous changes in design and social status from the battlefield to the bandstand and ultimately to the concert hall. This colorful past is reflected in the arsenal of instruments a classical trumpeter employs during a performance, sometimes using no fewer than five in different keys and configurations to accurately reproduce music from the past. With the rise in historically inspired performances comes the necessity for trumpeters to know more about their instrument's heritage, its repertoire, and different performance practices for old music on new and period-specific instruments. More than just a history of the trumpet, this essential reference book is a comprehensive guide for musicians who bring that musical history to life.
Guitar for Songwriters
Publication Date: 2014-06-27
Whether you're a beginning guitarist/songwriter or have been at it for a while, you'll find a wealth of tips and techniques for exploring and expanding your musical creativity in GUITAR FOR SONGWRITERS. Guitarist, composer, and teacher Leo Cavanagh is your guide on this tour of chords and chord progressions that will help you expand your use of guitar for composing and accompanying. The more you know about chords and how they go together, the stronger a songwriting tool your guitar will become. From basic chords through power chords, bar chords, and jazz chords, this book uses common progressions and good voicings to demonstrate the possibilities of the guitar. It includes the harmonized scale, chord construction, and various accompaniment styles. Whether you want to play in different keys, find a jazzy sounding progression, or just add that one special chord to a song, GUITAR FOR SONGWRITERS can help.
I Drum, Therefore I Am Being and Becoming a Drummer
Publication Date: 2013-03-21
Despite their central role in many forms of music-making, drummers have been largely neglected in the scholarly literature on music and education. But kit drummers are increasingly difficult to ignore. While exponents of the drum kit are frequently mocked in popular culture, they are also widely acknowledged to be central to the musical success and aesthetic appeal of any musical ensemble in which they are found. Drummers are also making their presence felt in music education, with increasing opportunities to learn their craft in formal contexts. Drawing on data collected from in-depth interviews and questionnaires, Gareth Dylan Smith explores the identities, practices and learning of teenage and adult kit drummers in and around London. As a London-based drummer and teacher of drummers, Smith uses his own identity as participant-researcher to inform and interpret other drummers' accounts of their experiences. Drummers learn in multi-modal ways, usually with a keen awareness of exemplars of their art and craft. The world of kit drumming is highly masculine, which presents opportunities and challenges to drummers of both sexes. Smith proposes a new model of the 'Snowball Self', which incorporates the constructs of identity realization, learning realization, meta-identities and contextual identities. Kit drummers' identities, practices and learning are found to be intertwined, as drummers exist in a web of interdependence. Drummers drum; therefore they are, they do, and they learn - in a rich tapestry of means and contexts.
Instrumental Influences: Reflections on the Classical Guitar From the Instrument's Most Influential Performers and Pedagogues
Publication Date: 2011-04-30
RUNNER-UP IN THE 2011 GLOBAL eBOOK AWARDS FOR "ENTERTAINMENT/PERFORMING ARTS." A first for Classical Guitar. A first for Classical Music. Never before have the voices of so many classical guitarists come together for a unique project that examines how the study, teaching, and performance of the classical guitar has been an "instrumental influence" in the lives of the artists or the lives of their students. Over the centuries, the classical guitar in its various forms has inspired musicians and composers to create some of the world's most beautiful music. The elements of mastering the classical guitar have parallels in other areas of life; some parallels are more obvious than others and may be short-lived, while others reveal themselves over time to last for a lifetime. In INSTRUMENTAL INFLUENCES, the world's best classical guitarists reveal what lessons they have learned through the study of the classical guitar. The book also examines the parallel lessons that emerge from the study of technique, repertoire, memorization, music theory, performance, recitals, music literature, and much more. Readers who enjoy classical music will discover in INSTRUMENTAL INFLUENCES not only the variables that classical guitar students, teachers, and virtuosos must develop over years of practice, but how such acquired, disciplined training opens up other avenues for personal growth and self-discovery.
Live Sound for Guitar
Publication Date: 2014-06-13
Getting a great guitar sound in your headphones, or in your bedroom or garage is one thing. Getting killer sound on stage is something else altogether! In this one-of-a-kind guidebook, veteran guitarist and teacher Sandy Williams shares tips and techniques learned over decades of playing in every type of live environment and teaches you how to get the best sound possible in a wide variety of venues, styles, and gig situations. Playing live is one of the most rewarding aspects of being a musician, but guitarists need to be ready for the many challenges that live performance can pose. Meeting the challenge starts with gear and technical choices, but it also involves personalities--learning to work smoothly with bandmates, venue managers, and sound mixers. LIVE SOUND FOR MUSICIANS: GUITAR lays it all out for you, showing you how to get the best from your gear in every situation and deliver audience-pleasing results every time.
Making Music with Mobile Devices
Publication Date: 2010-05-11
Most of us employ at least one form of mobile device for communication, organization, information, and listening to music. But what about making music? In the past, we've had to wait to make music until we returned to the studio, or we'd carry around a ratty old notebook in which we would jot down our ideas. Now, with the help of a growing number of programmers and manufacturers, we can employ mobile music-making devices to make music remotely. This book shows you how. This book's purpose is not only to give you new ideas for making music while you are waiting in the subway or on a break at work, but also to show you how to incorporate those mobile music sessions back into your home studio sessions. It offers a survey of the available technologies, hardware, and software available for making music on mobile devices, as well as direct instruction and tutorials on how to set up music software on mobile devices and then integrate your music into a stage or studio setup. Additionally, this book covers how to integrate mobile devices into the home recording environment for use with software such as Pro Tools, Ableton Live, and more.
Maran Illustrated Guitar
Publication Date: 2005-03-16
Produced by the award-winning maranGraphics group, Maran Illustrated Guide to Guitar is a valuable resource to a wide range of readers-from those who want to play a few songs with their family around the campfire to those who aspire to become serious musicians or rock stars. Maran Illustrated Guide to Guitar shows the reader the best way to perform each task, while the full-color photographs, music examples and clear, step-by-step instructions walk the reader through each task from beginning to end. Thorough topic introductions and useful tips provide additional information and advice to help enhance the readers' guitar experience. Maran Illustrated Guide to Guitar is packed with essential information for readers who are picking up a guitar for the first time, and will provide more experienced players with a refresher course on the basics and the opportunity to add more advanced techniques to their repertoire. Maran Illustrated Guide to Guitar will cost less than the price of one private guitar lesson, and will be a permanent resource that will provide years of enjoyment.
Memories of Dr Shinichi Suzuki: Son of His Environment
Publication Date: 2012-09-01
Suzuki may be a name renowned for automobiles, but this book introduces us to a very different Suzuki - the Suzuki who was a world leader in the teaching of music. Dr Shinichi Suzuki, creator of "The Suzuki Method", also known as "learning with love", is well remembered for his extraordinary warmth, care, and sense of humour. Part biography, part memoir, this important book recalls scenes from Suzuki's life, and many of the author's own experiences as his student in Japan. Both humorous and culturally informative, this book illustrates how Suzuki was influenced by Japanese history and his Zen beliefs, making him "the son of his environment". Above all, this book reminds us that Suzuki gave far more to the world than just a method of teaching. In the book Suzuki Violin School, Volume 1, Dr Suzuki gives an impassioned plea to parents: Please raise your child to be a fine human being. Students, teachers, and lovers of music and history alike will enjoy this stroll through the life and teachings of the amiable Dr Suzuki.
Publication Date: 2012-10-03
With warmth and humor, tuba virtuoso Harvey Phillips tells the story of his amazing life and career from his Missouri childhood through his days as a performer with the King Brothers and the Ringling Bros. and Barnum & Bailey circuses, his training at the Juilliard School, a stint with the US Army Field Band, and his freelance days with the New York City Opera and Ballet. A founder of the New York Brass Quintet, Phillips served as vice president of the New England Conservatory of Music and became Distinguished Professor of Music at Indiana University. The creator of an industry of TubaChristmases, Octubafests, and TubaSantas, he crusaded for recognition of the tuba as a serious musical instrument, commissioning more than 200 works. Enhanced by an extensive gallery of photographs, Mr. Tuba conveys Phillips's playful zest for life while documenting his important musical legacy.
Picture Yourself Playing Cello: Step-by-step Instruction for Playing the Cello
Publication Date: 2011-03-17
If you want to play the cello, this book is for you! Whether you're an absolute beginner wondering whether it might be fun to rent an instrument to try it out, a student in school who is thinking of signing up for an orchestra class, or a budding cellist who has been playing for a year or two and is looking for ways to develop a better technique and a better sound, PICTURE YOURSELF PLAYING CELLO will provide practical, hands-on advice that you can use. The easy-to-follow instructions and the numerous pictures and diagrams will show you how to hold the cello, how to use the bow, and how to finger the strings to play music. The book begins by providing a wealth of information that you'll find useful as you get started. You'll learn the names of the parts of your cello, how to make sure the cello you're thinking of renting or buying is in good condition, how to tune the cello, how to replace the strings, and how to hold the instrument while playing. You'll also learn about cello accessories and how to care for your instrument. After the basics are covered, the book will teach you how to use the bow to produce full, satisfying tones, how to place your fingers to play different notes, and how to read sheet music. Lastly, you'll find a selection of easy songs to get you started and some suggestions for other cello music that you may want to try. Everything you need to get started playing the cello is covered!
Picture Yourself Playing the Bass: [step-by-step Instruction for Playing the Bass Guitar]
Publication Date: 2008-10-23
Picture Yourself Playing Bass is a full-color, step by step guide to learning bass guitar for beginners and intermediate players. This one-of-a-kind book/DVD package walks readers through all of the important educational and musical techniques through easy-to-follow fingering charts, illustrations, photos, musical notation, and detailed instructional chapters. Everything is covered, from tips and advice for purchasing your bass and proper bass care and maintenance, to fingering techniques, reading sheet music, and advanced sound effects techniques. The companion DVD provides a live instruction from the author to reinforce concepts and techniques - it's like having a virtual private lesson without having to leave the house
Picture Yourself Playing Violin: Step-by-step Instruction for Proper Fingering and Bowing Techniques, Reading Sheet Music, and More
Publication Date: 2007-10-23
Welcome to Picture Yourself Playing Violin! This book and accompanying instructional DVD is the easiest way to learn the violin, because it begins at the basics with no prior musical knowledge assumed. This book/DVD package is truly intended for complete beginners--it guides you through your first steps of acquiring a violin, setting up the violin to practice, actually moving the bow and fingering hands, understanding and reading sheet music, and learning how to practice a song up to a point to where you feel comfortable performing it in front of your first audience. As part of the Picture Yourself series, this learning package provides a progression of easy-to-follow instructions with extremely helpful pictures and diagrams that demonstrate every new technique and skill you need to learn, using the same steps and methods the author uses at her music academy. Each of the eight technique-building chapters covers a major aspect of the art of playing violin; for example, how to bow the violin with the right hand, finger the violin with the left hand, read sheet music, and how to learn and perform songs in an easy to follow step-by-step style of instruction. Each lesson builds on the last and adds a new technical aspect to your repertoire. The book also contains sheet music with supportive finger and bowing markings above each note. By the end of the book, you'll be able to play 13 songs! To help reinforce the concepts in the book, the accompanying DVD includes over an hour of tutorials demonstrating the proper posture, bowing, and fingering techniques explained in the step-by-step teaching method in the book.
Recording Techniques of the Guitar Masters
Publication Date: 2012-01-01
Discover the recording secrets of our generation's guitar heroes: Steve Vai, Joe Satriani, Eric Johnson, Zakk Wylde, Ted Nugent, Billy Sheehan, Larry Carlton, Stanley Clarke, Steve Morse, Jeff Beck, Leslie West, Robin Trower, Tommy Emmanuel--a total of 30 outstanding players in all. Detailed interviews with these guitar greats explore each performer's recording techniques and offer practical advice for replicating the unique tone for which each is known. Rounding out the text, multi-Emmy award-winning composer, recording artist, producer, and author Brian Tarquin offers a wide range of hands-on information covering topics such as recording gear, mixing techniques, and guitar and amp choices. The result is a text that empowers guitarists of any skill to take their music to the next level!
Squeeze This!: A Cultural History of the Accordion in America
Publication Date: 2012-02-23
The piano accordion experienced a roller coaster ride of popularity--rise to fame on the airwaves, stage and silver screen, then a deathly decline, followed by a pop culture resurgence. Squeeze This! rolls out a history of the squeezebox with the first book-length study of its fascinating role in twentieth-century American music and culture. Focusing on key moments of transition, ethnomusicologist and accordion enthusiast Marion Jacobson shows how the instrument came to be celebrated by ethnic musical communities and mainstream fans alike. She also explores the accordion's rebirth in contemporary music, from the parodies of "Weird Al" Yankovic to geek rock legends They Might Be Giants to accordion-wielding superstars like Bruce Springsteen and Sheryl Crow. Loaded with images of gorgeous instruments, virtuoso performers, and rabid fans, Squeeze This! presents the untold story of America's rich accordion culture.
Steel Drums and Steelbands : A History
Publication Date: 2012-06-07
Steel Drums and Steelbands: A History is a vivid account of the events that led to the accidental invention of the steel drum: the only acoustic musical instrument invented in the 20th century. Angela Smith walks readers through the evolution of the steel drum from an object of scorn and tool of violence to one of the most studied, performed, and appreciated musical instruments today. Smith explores the development of the modern steelband, from its roots in African slavery in early Trinidad to the vast array of experiments in technological innovation and to the current explosion of steelbands in American schools. The book offers insights directly from major contributors of the steelband movement with sections devoted exclusively to pioneers and innovators. Drawing on seven years of research, repeated trips to the birthplace of the steel drum, Trinidad, and interviews with steelband pioneers, Smith takes readers far beyond the sunny associations of the steel drum with island vacations, cruise ships, and multiple encores of Yellow Bird. Digging deep into Trinidad s history a tale of indigenous extermination and African slavery, of French settlement and Spanish and British colonialism before mid-century independence Smith weaves an unforgettable narrative of talking drums, kalinda stick fights, tamboo bamboo bands, iron bands, calypso, Carnival, and the U. S. military. Together, all played major roles in the evolution of today s steelband and in the panman s journey from renegade to hero in the steelband s move from the panyards of Trinidad s poorest neighborhoods to the world s most prestigious concert halls. The reader will discover how an instrument created by teenage boys, descendants of African slaves, became a world musical phenomena. Steel Drums and Steelbands is the ideal introduction to the steel drum, steelbands, and their history."
The 'ukulele: A History
Publication Date: 2012-01-01
Winner of the 2013 Ka Palapala Po'okela Award for Excellence in Special-Interest Books Since its introduction to Hawai'i in 1879, the 'ukulele has been many things: a symbol of an island paradise; a tool of political protest; an instrument central to a rich musical culture; a musical joke; a highly sought-after collectible; a cheap airport souvenir; a lucrative industry; and the product of a remarkable synthesis of western and Pacific cultures. The 'Ukulele: A History explores all of these facets, placing the instrument for the first time in a broad historical, cultural, and musical context. Drawing on a wealth of previously untapped sources, Jim Tranquada and John King tell the surprising story of how an obscure four-string folk guitar from Portugal became the national instrument of Hawai'i, of its subsequent rise and fall from international cultural phenomenon to "the Dangerfield of instruments," and of the resurgence in popularity (and respect) it is currently enjoying among musicians from Thailand to Finland. The book shows how the technologies of successive generations (recorded music, radio, television, the Internet) have played critical roles in popularizing the 'ukulele. Famous composers and entertainers (Queen Liliuokalani, Irving Berlin, Arthur Godfrey, Paul McCartney, SpongeBob SquarePants) and writers (Rudyard Kipling, Jack London, P. G. Wodehouse, Agatha Christie) wind their way through its history-as well as a host of outstanding Hawaiian musicians (Ernest Kaai, George Kia Nahaolelua, Samuel K. Kamakaia, Henry A. Peelua Bishaw). In telling the story of the 'ukulele, Tranquada and King also present a sweeping history of modern Hawaiian music that spans more than two centuries, beginning with the introduction of western melody and harmony by missionaries to the Hawaiian music renaissance of the 1970s and 1980s.
The Bassist's Bible : How to Play Every Bass Style from Afro-Cuban to Zydeco
Publication Date: 2009-07-01
The incredible diversity of the bass guitar is revealed in this all-inclusive style guide. Each chapter covers particular styles or families of styles, gradually introducing players to techniques that will allow them to get the most out of their instrument and easily increase their bass repertoire. More than 400 bass grooves are presented, spanning an excess of 100 styles that musicians can follow along with on each of the two accompanying CDs. In addition to techniques for mastering the various styles, historical information about how they developed is included, giving players a one-of-a-kind opportunity to be true masters of the bass guitar.
Publication Date: 2012-07-31
This welcome volume encompasses the entire history of the bassoon, from its origins five centuries ago to its place in twenty-first-century music. James Kopp draws on new archival research and many years’ experience playing the instrument to provide an up-to-date and lively portrait of today’s bassoon and its intriguing predecessors. He discusses the bassoon’s makers, its players, its repertory, its myths, and its audiences, all in unprecedented detail. The bassoon was invented in Italy in response to the need for a bass-register double-reed woodwind suitable for processionals and marching. Composers were quick to exploit its agility and unique timbre. Later, during the reign of Louis XIV, the instrument underwent a major redesign, giving voice to its tenor register. In the early 1800s new scientific precepts propelled a wave of invention and design modifications. In the twentieth century, the multiplicity of competing bassoon designs narrowed to a German (or Heckel) type and a French type, the latter now nearly extinct. The author examines the acoustical consequences of these various redesigns. He also offers new coverage of the bassoon’s social history, including its roles in the military and church and its global use during the European Colonial period. Separate historical chapters devoted to contrabassoons and smaller bassoons complete the volume.
The Early Violin and Viola: A Practical Guide
Publication Date: 2001-07-26
This practical guide is intended for all violinists and viola players who wish to give - or to understand and appreciate - historically aware performances of early music for their instruments. It comprises discussion of the literature, history and repertory of the violin and viola, the myriad relevant primary sources and their interpretation, and the various aspects of style and technique that combine to make up well-grounded, period performances. It also considers various related family instruments, contains practical advice on the acquisition of appropriate instruments, and offers suggestions for further reading and investigation. Many of the principles outlined are put into practice in case studies of six works composed c.1700–c.1900, the core period which forms this series' principal (though not exclusive) focus. Music by Corelli, Bach, Haydn, Beethoven, Mendelssohn and Brahms is examined with a view to recreating performances as faithful as possible to the composer's original intention.
The Guitarist's Guide to Line 6
Publication Date: 2012-05-29
Whether you're new to Line 6 gear or have been making music with it for years, you'll find a wealth of detailed, practical how-to help in THE GUITARIST'S GUIDE TO LINE 6 STUDIO TOOLS. Written by a guitar player for guitar players, this comprehensive book is the best way to learn about the wide range of innovative hardware and software created by this pioneering company--and how to put it all to use in the studio. Chris Buono, veteran guitarist and teacher, covers the gamut of Line 6 products that will make your studio life easier, more creative, and more fun. In this thorough guide, you'll cover: The popular Line 6 Spider amps including Spider IV 15, Spider Jam, and Spider IV 75; The iconic Line 6 POD series of amp-modeling devices, including the latest HD series; How to remotely control Spider amps and POD HD units with FBV controllers; How to set up, connect, and record with your Line 6 gear in the studio, including POD Studio interfaces and the celebrated POD Farm amp/effects modeling application; Content-packed resources such as CustomTone and Spider Online; All there is to know about Line 6 file formats, their cross-compatibility, and insight on their entire modeling catalog; and Thorough breakdowns of legacy products, their model lists, and how you can best use them in your studio today. The Line 6 product line is vast, and THE GUITARIST'S GUIDE TO LINE 6 STUDIO TOOLS is here to help. With its detailed images and insightful tutorials, it will help you get your hands around the possibilities and get in on all the excitement of making great music with Line 6.
The Musical Instrument Desk Reference A Guide to How Band and Orchestral Instruments Work
Publication Date: 2012-08-16
In The Musical Instrument Desk Reference, Michael Pagliaro, musical instrument authority extraordinaire, provides the one-stop shop for those in need of a quick, visually-rich reference guide to band and orchestral instruments. Descriptions and illustrations of everything from the physics of sound to detailed discussions of each orchestra and band instrument make this work the ideal desktop reference tool for the working musician. Through its Quick Start and In Depth features, readers can quickly decide how deeply they want to delve into the instrument at hand. Following a contemporary format designed to facilitate what any musician or music instructor needs to know, The Musical Instrument Desk Reference eliminates the need to leaf through multiple method books or trawl through websites to find information. The Musical Instrument Desk Reference includes general information on fingering, the anatomy of musical instruments, sound production, amplification, and control, as well as the science of sound. Readers will find individual chapters on woodwinds, brass instruments, non-fretted string instruments, and percussion instruments. In each category, Pagliaro delves deeper, describing for woodwinds such things as tuning, key systems, fingerings, sound production, tone holes, assembly, materials, embouchures, and reed use; for brass instruments such matters as valve systems, fingering patterns, French horn types, mouthpiece selection, and intonation; for non-fretted string instruments such issues as tuning and fingering, playing position, bowing technique, instrument parts, and materials; and for percussion instruments such elements as instrument types and their classifications, tuning procedures, and accessories. The Musical Instrument Desk Reference is the perfect guide for anyone interested in or responsible for working with varieties of instruments and their players. Teachers, students, teachers in training, music instructors, instrument technicians, and musicians can quickly locate any specific detail related to any band or orchestral instrument.
The Organ Music of Johannes Brahms
Publication Date: 2007-06-25
The organ works of Johannes Brahms are a beautifully-crafted and much-cherished component of the repertoire of church and concert organists across the world. A central and long renowned figure in the organ field, Barbara Owen is proposing the first in-depth study of this corpus, consideringBrahms's organ works in relation to his background, methods, and overall artistic development. Precisely because the collection of organ works is not extensive, the pieces--composed periodically throughout Brahms's lifetime--map his path as a composer, pinpointing various stages in his artisticdevelopment. Brahms's early preludes and fugues for the organ, for example, foreshadow his fascination with, and developing skills in, counterpoint, which surface notably in later motets, chamber works, and larger compositions such as the piano variations, Deutsches Requiem, and Fourth Symphony.The chorale preludes not only display a mastery of counterpoint, but a wealth of signature "Brahmsian" characteristics in miniature--carefully sculpted melodic lines, chained thirds, inversions, polyrhythms, hidden symbolism, and occasional hints of atonality. The Organ Music of Johannes Brahms offers a detailed examination of Brahms's contacts with organs and organists, and analyses of each specific work and its place in Brahms's career. The body of the manuscript is devoted to the history and analysis of Brahms's individual organ works and theirinterpretation, focusing on the importance of his predecessors and contemporaries in the composition and performance of these pieces. Blending unique insights into composition and performance practice, this book targets the large, intellectually-minded community of organists (20,000 members in theAmerican Guild of Organists), and will be appreciated by performers, students, and scholars of the organ, Brahms, and Nineteenth Century music.
The Organs of J. S. Bach: A Handbook
Publication Date: 2012-04-02
The Organs of J. S. Bach is a comprehensive and fascinating guide to the organs encountered by Bach throughout Germany in his roles as organist, concert artist, examiner, teacher, and visitor. Newly revised and updated, the book's entries are listed alphabetically by geographical location, from Arnstadt to Zschortau, providing an easy-to-reference overview. Includes detailed organ-specific information: high-quality color photographs each instrument's history, its connection to Bach, and its disposition as Bach would have known it architectural histories of the churches housing the instruments identification of church organists Lynn Edwards Butler's graceful translation of Christoph Wolff and Markus Zepf's volume incorporates new research and many corrections and updates to the original German edition. Bibliographical references are updated to include English-language sources, and the translation includes an expanded essay by Christoph Wolff on Bach as organist, organ composer, and organ expert. The volume includes maps, a timeline of organ-related events, transcriptions of Bach's organ reports, a guide to examining organs attributed to Saxony's most famous organ builder Gottfried Silbermann, and biographical information on organ builders. Publication of this volume is supported by the American Bach Society.
Publication Date: 2013-02-05
In the first fully comprehensive study of one of the world’s most iconic musical instruments, Stephen Cottrell examines the saxophone’s various social, historical, and cultural trajectories, and illustrates how and why this instrument, with its idiosyncratic shape and sound, became important for so many different music-makers around the world. After considering what led inventor Adolphe Sax to develop this new musical wind instrument, Cottrell explores changes in saxophone design since the 1840s before examining the instrument's role in a variety of contexts: in the military bands that contributed so much to the saxophone's global dissemination during the nineteenth century; as part of the rapid expansion of American popular music around the turn of the twentieth century; in classical and contemporary art music; in world and popular music; and, of course, in jazz, a musical style with which the saxophone has become closely identified.
Wind Talk for Brass: A Practical Guide to Understanding and Teaching Brass Instruments
Publication Date: 2009-08-20
Wind Talk for Brass provides instrumental music teachers, practitioners, and students with a handy, easy-to-use pedagogical resource for brass instruments found in school instrumental programs. With thorough coverage of the most common brass instruments - trumpet, horn, trombone,baritone/euphonium, and tuba/sousaphone - the book offers the most topical and information necessary for effective teaching. This includes terminology, topics, and concepts associated with each specific instrument, along with teaching suggestions that can be applied in the classroom. Be sure to lookto the back of the book for a "Practical Tips " section, which discusses common technical faults and corrections, common problems with sound (as well as their causes and solutions to them), fingering charts, literature lists (study materials, method books, and solos), as well as a list ofadditional resources relevant to teaching brass instruments (articles, websites, audio recordings). Without question, Wind Talk for Brass stands alone as an invaluable resource for woodwinds!
Wind Talk for Woodwinds: A Practical Guide to Understanding and Teaching Woodwind Instruments
Publication Date: 2009-08-20
Wind Talk for Woodwinds provides instrumental music teachers, practitioners, and students with a handy, easy-to-use pedagogical resource for woodwind instruments found in school instrumental programs. With thorough coverage of the most common woodwind instruments - flute, oboe, clarinet,saxophone, and bassoon - the book offers the most topical and information necessary for effective teaching. This includes terminology, topics, and concepts associated with each specific instrument, along with teaching suggestions that can be applied in the classroom. Be sure to look to the back ofthe book for a "Practical Tips"section, which discusses common technical faults and corrections, common problems with sound (as well as their causes and solutions to them), fingering charts, literature lists (study materials, method books, and solos), as well as a list of additional resourcesrelevant to teaching woodwind instruments (articles, websites, audio recordings). Without question, Wind Talk for Woodwinds stands alone as an invaluable resource for woodwinds!