AllMusic is a comprehensive and in-depth resource for finding out more about the albums, bands, musicians and songs you love.
- American Music Therapy Association (AMTA)
AMTA's purpose is the progressive development of the therapeutic use of music in rehabilitation, special education, and community settings.
- American Roots Music (PBS): Companion Site to the 4-Part PBS Series
Travel back through the 20th century to explore the roots of American Music… Blues, Country, Bluegrass, Gospel, Cajun, Zydeco, Tejano, and Native American
- American Vernacular Music Manuscripts, ca. 1730-1910
American Vernacular Music Manuscripts, ca. 1730-1910: Digital Collections from the American Antiquarian Society and the Center for Popular Music.
- Blank Sheet Music – Print any kind of blank sheet music for free
- Center for Popular Music (Middle Tennessee State University)
The Center holds over one million items related to American vernacular music traditions, encompassing the full range of styles in popular music, folk and traditional music, sacred music, and community band music.
- Global Music Archive
The Global Music Archive is a multi-media archive and resource center for traditional and popular song, music, and dance of Africa and North and South America, with particular emphasis on the African Diaspora. It is a public facility that promotes education in African and American traditional and popular music through its own activities and its support for the activities of others.
- History of Minstrelsy: From “Jump Jim Crow” to “The Jazz Singer”
This exhibit explores the history of minstrelsy, its significance in American history and theater, and its enduring legacy.
- Joseph Muller Collection of Music and Other Portraits (The New York Public Library Digital Collections)
The Muller collection contains over six thousand images dating from the 16th to early 20th centuries, mostly engravings and lithographs, with some drawings, predominantly of composers and musicians. The collection also includes portraits of actors, heads of state, music patrons, nobility, philosophers, poets, printers, theorists, and writers, among others.
- Journal of Seventeenth-Century Music
The Journal of Seventeenth-Century Music (JSCM) is published by the Society for Seventeenth-Century Music to provide a refereed forum for scholarly studies of the musical cultures of the seventeenth century. These include historical and archival studies, performance practice, music theory, aesthetics, dance, and theater. JSCM also publishes critical reviews and summary listings of recently published books, scores, and electronic media.
- Library of Congress – Digital Collections: Music Division
Go to: https://www.loc.gov/collections/index/partof/?fa=subject%3Aperforming+arts%7Cpartof%3Amusic+division to see the entire list of collections.
- Martindale’s Music Center
Recordings, Lessons, Databases, Calculators, Animations, Simulations, Videos/Movies, Audio/Sound, Flash, Quicktime, Real Player, Flam Player, Windows Media Player, Wav., Mp3, etc.
- Music Treasures Consortium (Library of Congress)
The Music Treasures Consortium provides online access to the world's most valued music manuscripts and print materials, held at the most renowned music archives, in order to further research and scholarship.
- Musical biographical resources on the Web (Yale University Library)
Categorized lists of musical biographies Web resources.
Musopen (www.musopen.org) is a 501(c) (3) non-profit focused on improving access and exposure to music by creating free resources and educational materials. We provide recordings, sheet music, and textbooks to the public for free, without copyright restrictions. Put simply, our mission is to set music free.
- National Jukebox: Historical Recordings from the Library of Congress
The Library of Congress presents the National Jukebox, which makes historical sound recordings available to the public free of charge. The Jukebox includes recordings from the extraordinary collections of the Library of Congress Packard Campus for Audio Visual Conservation and other contributing libraries and archives.
- National Public Radio (NPR) – Music
Genres, New Music, Concerts & Videos, and Articles.
- Online Resources for Music Scholars (Harvard College Library)
The following guide provides a basis for beginning electronic research on a wide variety of topics in music, including historical musicology, ethnomusicology, music theory, composition, and performance practice. It collects links to archival collections, online scores and sound recordings; article indexes, discographies and bibliographies; scholarly societies; musical reference works; and a miscellany of useful websites. Each entry includes a brief description of the resource, with tags for subjects and resource types. The guide is necessarily selective, and other important research resources are available only in printed form.
- Performing Arts Encyclopedia (PAE): Explore music, theater, and dance at the Library of Congress
The Performing Arts Encyclopedia (PAE) is a guide to performing arts resources at the Library of Congress. The PAE provides information about the Library's unsurpassed collections of scores, sheet music, audio recordings, films, photographs, and other materials. Users can find digitized items from the collections; special Web presentations on topics and collections; articles and biographical essays; finding aids to collections; databases for performing arts resources; information on concerts at the Library; and a special Performing Arts Resource Guide which contains entries for hundreds of Library collections, Web sites, databases and exhibits. (In the latter, each entry describes the resource and provides a link to it if there is an online finding aid or Web site available.
- Resources for College and University Teachers: Folklore Teaching Resources Collection (American Folklore Society)
Browse Folklore Teaching Resources Collection by Issue Date.
- WWW Sites of Interest to Musicologists –American Musicological Society (AMS)