Medieval, Musical Instruments, and Opera
- Edinburgh University Collection of Historic Musical Instruments – Explore the Collection
St Cecilia’s Hall is home to the collections of early keyboard and plucked strings, part of Edinburgh University Collection of Historic Musical Instruments, which ranks among the world's most important collections of musical heritage. The sister collection is currently on display and in store at the Reid Concert Hall Museum of Instruments. As part of the Redevelopment Project the two collections will be brought together as one, creating a single visitor destination at St Cecilia’s Hall.
- MIMO (Musical Instrument Museum Online)
MIMO began life as a consortium of some of Europe’s most important musical instruments museums, which came together for a European Commission funded project that aimed to create a single online access point to their collections. The aim of the consortium is now to become the single access point for information on public collections of musical instruments for the entire world.
- National Music Museum – Virtual Tours (University of South Dakota)
The National Music Museum is one of the great institutions of its kind in the world. Its renowned collections, which include more than 15,000 American, European, and non-Western instruments from virtually all cultures and historical periods, are the most inclusive anywhere.
- The American Musical Instrument Society – Resources
Contain numerous suggested sites for: Appraisal Services, Collections of Musical Instruments, Educational Programs, Instrument Making, Instrument Sites, Musical Instrument Dealers & Makers, Organizations, and Patent Numbers & Dates.
- Opera Today – Opera News, Commentary, and Reviews from Around the World
Created in 2004, OPERA TODAY is regarded as a leading web site relating to opera and vocal music. The site provides reviews of current performances, recordings and books, interviews of performers, commentary and links to recent news items. OPERA TODAY differs from other web sites in this area through its organization and colorful design. The variety in content and presentation of textual material in OPERA TODAY is incomparable. Moreover, no registration or subscription is required.
- Education at the Met – Classroom Resources (The Metropolitan Opera)
Educator Guides - Explore the Met’s library of Educator Guides, designed to bring opera to life in the classroom. Educator Guides infuse teachers’ curricula with opera while helping them to meet state and national academic standards. Educational Videos - Gain an insider’s view of the Metropolitan Opera House, its artists, and musicians, as well as the history of opera.