Christian Music/Hymns and Classical/Composers
- American Sacred Music (Mills Music Library Digital Collections)
American Sacred Music provides full text access to sacred music published in the United States, with a focus on publications from the Midwest. Dating from the 19th and early 20th centuries, these are primarily collections of hymns and anthems, with other types of sacred music, such as cantatas and revival songs, also represented.
- Anthology of the American Hymn-Tune Repertory: The Colonial Era to the Civil War (Mark D. Rhoads, Editor)
This anthology contains 50 representative tunes in 33 tunebooks and 7 categories sung by Americans from the period between the arrival of the Pilgrims in 1620 and the mid-19th century. We most often experience the printed tunes through transcriptions; but here you will see these tunes as they appeared in the old tunebooks.
- Billboard.com – Christian/Gospel Charts
- Christian Classics Ethereal Hymnary
The Christian Classics Ethereal Hymnary is a database and indexed archive of public-domain hymn tunes and chants in electronic formats including MIDI files, printable sheet music, and editable electronic musical scores that have been donated to the Christian Classics Ethereal Library. It does not include hymn texts or lyrics.
- Christian Hymns (Erik Routley - Westminster Choir College Archival Audio Collection)
- Church Music - Project Gutenberg
- Corsswalk.com – Christian Music – Reviews, News, and Interviews
Christian music reviews, news and interviews of the top artists in today's Christian music genre on CrossWalk.com! Read reviews or watch interviews of your favorite Christian bands, and then comment to let others know what you think of the latest release or concert! In addition, you can listen to all you favorite Christian music artists on CrossWalk Radio.
- Delights of Harmony: Being a Collection of Psalm and Hymn Tunes (The New York Public Library Digital Collections)
Delights of Harmony: being a collection of Psalm and hymn tunes, with a variety of set pieces, never before published. Likewise the necessary rules of psalmody made easy. The whole particularly designed for the use of singing schools, and musical societies….
- Hymn Resources on the Internet (Compiled and Maintained by Douglas Anderson, Marietta College)
Hymn Texts, Hymns in MIDI< Library Resources, Hymn History, Projects and Publications, Blogs, and Miscellanea.
Contains: Classic, New Tunes, New Songs, Children, Scripture, and More.
- Hymnary.org – A Comprehensive Index of Hymns and Hymnals
Search by: Text Name, Tune Name, Person Name, Hymnal Number, Topics, and Scripture.
- Hymns OR Psalms OR Spiritual Songs Search – Internet Archive
Internet Archive is a non-profit library of millions of free books, movies, software, music, websites, and more.
- John Wesley’s Poetry, Hymn, and Verse (Duke Divinity School)
Poetry and Hymn Collections - In keeping with its guidelines (available on this page) for creating a standard source for scholarly study and citation of the poetical works of John and Charles Wesley, the present online collection provides the full text of all of John Wesley’s edited volumes of poetry and hymns, including a manuscript collection done during his student years at Oxford.
NetHymnal has over 10,000 Christian hymns, Author Bios, Composer Biographies, Hymn Histories and Gospel Songs for many denominations.
- Sacred Harp & Related Shape-Note Music Resources: Compilation and commentary by Steven L. Sabol
- Singing the Songs of Zion: Soldiers' Hymn Collections and Hymn Singing in the American Civil War (Mark D. Rhoads)
Civil War soldiers were singers, and they sang a wide variety of songs. You don't have to read very far in soldiers' letters or even The New York Times to discover that Christian hymns had a significant presence in the song repertoire of these men. Many soldiers carried hymn collections specifically assembled for and distributed to them for devotional use or in a wide-spread evangelistic effort seen in both armies. This website is devoted to the cataloging of these hymn collections and a general discussion of hymn singing by Civil War soldiers.
- The Gregorian Chant Home Page on the World Wide Web (Jeffery Phoenix – Princeton University)
Organized Web links for studying Gregorian chant.
- The Hymn Tune Index (HTI) – University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
The HTI database contains all hymn tunes printed anywhere in the world with English-language texts up to 1820, and their publication history up to that date.
- Digital Mozart Edition (DME)
The purpose of this web site operated by the Internationale Stiftung Mozarteum in cooperation with the Packard Humanities Institute is to make Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart's musical compositions widely and conveniently accessible to the public, for personal study and for educational and classroom use.
This Web site provides information about Handel and his music.
- Internet Chopin Information Centre
Information includes: Chopin’s letters, filmography, Chopin on the Internet, Chopin’s Life, Biography, Compositions, Genres, Manuscripts, etc.
- Master Composer Index – Classical Net
This index lists those composers for which there is a dedicated page at this site that may include a biography, recommended works, recommended recordings, and other related reviews and articles.
- Music Academy Online – Composers (by Time Period)
Covers composers from: Medieval, Renaissance, Baroque, Classical, Late Classical, Romantic, Late Romantic, 20th Century, and The Present Age.
- National Public Radio (NPR) – Classical