Bilingual eBooksBilingual Individual eBooksDatabasesHot TopicsOther Electronic ResourcesNewspapers/Open Access - Popular MagazinesGoogle Scholar/Writing ResourcesESL and Language Help Links
Dictionaries, Grammar, etc. - Spanish/EnglishSpanish Literature/PoetryK-12 Spanish/English Books and KitsK-12 Spanish/English Books - TopicsEspañol/Spanish Language eBooksLinks - Languge Help, Learning Engish, Gov. Sites/Other in Spanish
eBooksDatabases - Country InformationInternational ResourcesDatabases - GeneralReference - Library Electronic ResourcesCredo Reference - Corporate BusinessCredo Reference - Global ExecutivesGoogle Scholar/Writing ResourcesInternational Business LinksCurrency and TravelCustoms and CultureFlags, Images, and Maps
Credo Reference - Asia & the Middle East CountriesCredo Reference - The United KingdomCredo Reference - EuropeCredo Reference - Latin AmericaCredo Reference - North America
Human Trafficking eBooksCurrent IssuesDatabasesInternational ResourcesHuman Trafficking Links
This is the "Dictionaries, Grammar, etc. - Spanish/English" page of the "International Resources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

International Resources  

Last Updated: Aug 15, 2017 URL: http://libguides.warner.edu/IR Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Dictionaries, Grammar, etc. - Spanish/English Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Dictionaries, Grammar, etc.- Spanish/English

Cover Art
21st Century Spanish-English English-Spanish Dictionary - Philip Lief; Princeton Language Institute Staff; Princeton Lang Inst
Call Number: PC 4640 .A13 1996
ISBN: 0440220874
Publication Date: 1996-08-01
The 21st Century Spanish-English/English-Spanish Dictionary is an invaluable reference source for today's students, business people and travelers, providing essential information in an easy-to-use format. It is one of four books in the new 21st Century line of foreign dictionaries, which also includes: Italian-English/English-Italian German-English/English-German French-English/English-French The dual format of these dictionaries eliminates the need to use two dictionaries.  Students The 21st Century Spanish-English/English-Spanish Dictionaryto find the English translation of an unfamiliar Spanish word--and to discover the correct way to express a certain English phrase in Spanish.  Because each entry is listed in both Spanish and English, this dictionary is useful for every situation, for business people checking the terms of a contract on an international deal, to foreign exchange students getting settled into a Spanish dormitory, and to tourists trying to understand the items on a menu. The 21st Century Spanish/English-English/Spanish Dictionary provides individual entries in a concise, easy-to-follow format, with clear pronunciation guides and succinct definitions.  This is the most up-to-date, reliable Spanish to English, English to Spanish dictionary on the market, and will be an indispensible tool for every occasion.

Cover Art
A New Reference Grammar of Modern Spanish - Carmen Benjamin; John Butt
Call Number: PC 4112 .B88 1995
ISBN: 0844270881
Publication Date: 1995-09-01
Recognized internationally as the most authoritative and comprehensive guide to contemporary Spanish for English speakers, A New Reference Grammar of Modern Spanish is an accessible, jargon-free guide to the forms and structures of Spanish as it is currently spoken and written. Examples from contemporary sources from throughout the Spanish-speaking world are used to illustrate grammatical points. Levels of usage--formal, familiar, colloquial, and popular--are indicated, and regional differences in usage are highlighted.

Cover Art
A Spanish reference grammar - Wilkins, Lawrence Augustus
Call Number: PC 4111 .W46
Publication Date: 1923

Cover Art
Beginning Spanish Course - Donald K. Barton
Call Number: PC 4111 .B363 1976
ISBN: 0669967769
Publication Date: 1976-01-01

Cover Art
Collins Spanish-English, English-Spanish dictionaryCollins diccionario espaáunol-ingláoes, ingláoes-espaáunol - HarperCollins Publishers Ltd. Staff
Call Number: PC 4640 .C53 1993
ISBN: 0062755145
Publication Date: 1993-05-21
These new and popularly priced dictionaries, unparalled for their accurate reflection of the living language, offer more than 133,000 entries. Concise definitions and numerous phrases and examples provide an exceptionally clear format. The inclusion of the most recent vocabulary from such fields as economics, politics, computers, and medicine makes this series an invaluable and affordable resource for students and professionals alike. Each edition comes with comprehensive verb tables and is thumb-indexed.

Cover Art
Contrastes leyendo y charlando - Collins, Helen B
Call Number: PC 4115 .C57
Publication Date: 1945
Notes: Map on lining-papers.
Includes music (Words and unaccompanied melodies)

Cover Art
Creative Spanish - Olstad, Charles
Call Number: PC 4111 .O65
Publication Date: 1965
Subject: 1. Spanish language--Composition and exercises.

Cover Art
Dictionary of Spanish literature - Newmark, Maxim
Call Number: PQ 6006 .N4 1970
Publication Date: 1970

Cover Art
Essential Spanish Grammar - Juan Kattan-Ibarra
Call Number: PC 4112 .K375 2014
ISBN: 0071763236
Publication Date: 2011-05-12
An easy-to-use learning resource for tackling Spanish grammar Essential Spanish Grammar consists of 18 units illustrating the various uses to which the language can be used--for example, giving instructions or talking about the recent past. All grammatical terms are explained in the glossary at the back of the book. Each unit contains exercises for readers to practice what they have learned, and there is a key at the back of the book for readers to check their answers.

Cover Art
Essential Spanish Verbs - Maria Hollis; Keith Chambers
Call Number: PC 4271 .H65 2010
ISBN: 0071763244
Publication Date: 2011-05-12
The essential resource for building the confidence you need to communicate in Spanish Essential Spanish Verbs provides a complete overview of Spanish verbs and how they work in the various tenses. The principal part of the book presents complete conjugations of 200 of the most frequently used verbs, along with example sentences of the verbs in everyday use, colloquial expressions, and words sharing the same origin as the verb in question.

Cover Art
Foundation Course in Spanish - Laurel H. Turk; Aurelio M. Espinosa; Maria Paz Haro
Call Number: PC 4111 .T848 1981
ISBN: 0669026379
Publication Date: 1981-01-01
The complete ACT test prep tool that contains comprehensive practice and tips for students who want to sharpen their Math and Science skills and score higher on test day--guaranteed. In 2010, approximately 1.6 million high school students took the ACT. Despite the popularity of the ACT, 43 percent of students are not reaching the readiness benchmark for Math and 29 percent are not reaching the readiness benchmark for Science. Kaplan ACT Math and Science Workbook will help you prepare for these challenging sections of the ACT. This comprehensive tool contains many essential features to help you improve your test score, including: Hundreds of Math and Science practice questions Information about the format and structure of the test A Math section that covers concepts such as intermediate algebra, plane geometry, and trigonometry A Science section that focuses on the three main concepts of data representation, research summaries, and conflicting viewpoints passages Question sets to help you determine content areas where you need extra work A guide to the 100 most important math topics for the ACT When you study with Kaplan ACT Math and Science Workbook you will score higher on the ACT--guaranteed.

Cover Art
Larousse Concise Spanish-English English-Spanish Dictionary - Larousse (Editor)
Call Number: PC 4640 .L38 2006
ISBN: 2035421373
Publication Date: 2006-09-06
The Larousse Concise Spanish-English / English-Spanish Dictionary is the ideal companion for those who wish to learn and become fluent in contemporary Spanish. With 90,000 references and 120 translations, it has most all of the words its users are looking for. This book is more comprehensive than the pocket or mini dictionary but is still compact in size. This new edition offers extensive, up-to-date coverage of general and professional Spanish and includes Latin-American terms. The supplement on life and culture in Latin America has been revised and updated.

 

Books from the Warner University Library

 

Dictionaries, Grammar, etc.- Spanish/English

Cover Art
One Thousand and One Pitfalls in Spanish - Marion P. Holt; Julianne Dueber
Call Number: PC 4107 .H6
ISBN: 0812004337
Publication Date: 1973-01-01
Summary: A supplementary textbook outlining fundamentals of the Spanish language and providing help for common obstacles such as complex sentence structure, vocabulary, and telephone conversations.

Cover Art
Patterns for reading Spanish - Andrews, James Richard
Call Number: PC 4111 .A627
Publication Date: 1964
1. Spanish language--Grammar--.

Cover Art
Practice Makes Perfect - Gilda Nissenberg
Call Number: qPC 4112 .N57 2004
ISBN: 0071422706
Publication Date: 2004-03-17
Now beginners can master Spanish grammar with the proven Practice Makes Perfect method! Combining clear presentation, exercises, and a focus on practical conversational skills has proven a winning formula for the Practice Makes Perfect workbook series.Practice Makes Perfect: Complete Spanish Grammarbuilds on the series' success with a similarly interactive approach, embracing all aspects of Spanish grammar that you need to master. This engaging guide offers: An extensive grammar review, highlighted by illustrative examples Dozens of exercises, including fill-ins, translations, and creative writing Time saving thematic vocabulary panels to cut down on dictionary drudgery Boxed summaries of key grammar points for focused learning Detailed answer keys for progress checks

Cover Art
Seven Language Dictionary - Outlet Book Company Staff; Random House Value Publishing Staff
Call Number: P 361 .S55 1978
ISBN: 0517262967
Publication Date: 1987-10-28
French-English/English-French, German-English/English-German, Hebrew-English/English-Hebrew, Italian-English/English-Italian, Portuguese-English/English-Portuguese, Russian-English/English-Russian, Spanish-English/English-Spanish

Cover Art
Spanish for Gringos : shortcuts, tips, and secrets to successful learning - William C. Harvey; Paul Meisel (Illustrator)
Call Number: PC 4128 .H38 1999
ISBN: 0764107933
Publication Date: 1999-10-01
Today it's more important than ever for English-speakers to have some working knowledge of Spanish. In this book, author William Harvey shows that you learn Spanish most easily when you understand the "message"--not when you memorize grammar rules. This informal self-teaching course is for you if you lack the time or patience for traditional language training. You'll learn key Spanish phrases and get tips that will help you comprehend the spoken language. You'll also learn to pronounce words and phrases so that a Latin-American can understand you.

Cover Art
Spanish pronunciation in the Americas - Canfield, D. Lincoln
Call Number: PC 4821 .C33
Publication Date: 1981
Subject: 1. Spanish language--Dialects--America. 2. Spanish language--Pronunciation.

Cover Art
Spanish Step-by-Step - Charles Berlitz
Call Number: PC 4129 .E5 B4 1990
ISBN: 0922066280
Publication Date: 1990-04-01
Read it, speak it, understand it! This contemporary approach enables students of all ages to learn conversational Spanish without frustration.

Cover Art
Spanish-English/English-Spanish Dictionary - Random House Reference Staff (Created by); David L. Gold
Call Number: PC 4640 .R32 1999
ISBN: 0375721967
Publication Date: 2006-09-12
Now in a revised and updated second edition, Random House's best-selling bilingual dictionary is ideal for students, businesspeople and travelers. Pronunciations are shown for Spanish and English, with detailed guides to the pronunciation of both languages. It provides International Phonetic Alphabet (IPA) pronunciations for Spanish and English, through coverage of general and specialized vocabulary, and many new words and meanings, such as movil/celular (cellular phone), buscapersonas/bip (pager), biodiversidad (biodiversity), ciberspacio (cyberspace) and hoja doe calculo (spreadsheet).nbsp;nbsp; This comprehensive and easy-to-use reference includes: nbsp;nbsp; Over 145,000 definitions of words and phrases nbsp;nbsp; European and Western Hemisphere Spanish nbsp;nbsp; Guides to pronunciation of Spanish and English nbsp;nbsp; American English spelling and vocabulary nbsp;nbsp; The most current Spanish spellings, reflecting the alphabetization rules of the Spanish language academics

Cover Art
The American Heritage Spanish Dictionary : Spanish/English, inglâes/espaänol - Houghton Mifflin Company Staff (Contribution by); American Heritage Dictionary Editors
Call Number: PC 4640 .A47 2001
ISBN: 0618127704
Publication Date: 2001-09-07
English and Spanish speakers are coming into increasing contact throughout the Americas, as businesspeople and tourists, students and neighbors, readers and Web surfers. The American Heritage® Spanish Dictionary, Second Edition is the perfect resource for everyone who uses, studies, or simply enjoys learning more about these two important languages. Featuring American English and Latin American Spanish, this popular bilingual dictionary is now fully revised and updated. More than 2,500 contemporary words and phrases have been added from the fields of medicine, sports, ecology, and the culture of the Americas, with a special emphasis on computer technology and the language of the Internet.

Cover Art
The Penguin book of Spanish verse - Cohen, John Michael
Call Number: PQ 6176 .C6
Publication Date: 1960
Subject: 1. Spanish poetry--Collected works. 2. Spanish American poetry--Collected works.

Cover Art
The University of Chicago Spanish Dictionary, Spanish-English, English-Spanish - David A. Pharies (Editor); Maria Irene Moyna (Editor); Gary K. Baker (Editor)
Call Number: PC 4640 .U5 2002
ISBN: 0226666891
Publication Date: 2002-09-01
"The University of Chicago Spanish Dictionary" is the most popular dictionary of its kind. Its familiar name is known to millions of general readers, students, educators, and travelers. Improved for greater ease of use, and brought completely up to date, the fifth edition of "The University of Chicago Spanish Dictionary" is now more than ever the perfect resource for both language learners and experienced language users. With thousands of added entries, the Dictionary builds on the features that have made it the leader in its field for more than fifty years: authority, scope, clarity, and conciseness. And with this edition, the Dictionary brilliantly captures the current core vocabularies of two rapidly changing and increasingly connected languages and cultures. Entirely bilingual, the fifth edition focuses on two contemporary international languages American English and a basic, worldwide Spanish that draws from both Latin American and Iberian sources. Designed for a wide range of users, including travelers, businesspeople, students, teachers, and professionals, the new Dictionary is the essential first resource for speakers of both languages from beginners to those at all other stages. Up to date, just comprehensive enough, and extraordinarily clear and easy to use, the new edition of "The University of Chicago Spanish Dictionary" stands alone. No other dictionary offers so many users so much help or so much value. "

Cover Art
The Usborne first thousand words in Spanish: with easy pronunciation guide - Amery, Heather
Call Number: CMC PC 4680 .A43 1996
ISBN: 0881108189
Publication Date: 1996
Summary: Presents 1,000 common words accompanied by drawings. Contains a pronunciation guide and English translation.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip