Bilingual eBooksBilingual Individual eBooksDatabasesHot TopicsOther Electronic ResourcesNewspapers/Open Access - Popular MagazinesGoogle Scholar/Writing ResourcesESL and Language Help Links
Dictionaries, Grammar, etc. - Spanish/EnglishSpanish Literature/PoetryK-12 Spanish/English Books and KitsK-12 Spanish/English Books - TopicsEspañol/Spanish Language eBooksLinks - Languge Help, Learning Engish, Gov. Sites/Other in Spanish
eBooksDatabases - Country InformationInternational ResourcesDatabases - GeneralReference - Library Electronic ResourcesCredo Reference - Corporate BusinessCredo Reference - Global ExecutivesGoogle Scholar/Writing ResourcesInternational Business LinksCurrency and TravelCustoms and CultureFlags, Images, and Maps
Credo Reference - Asia & the Middle East CountriesCredo Reference - The United KingdomCredo Reference - EuropeCredo Reference - Latin AmericaCredo Reference - North America
Human Trafficking eBooksCurrent IssuesDatabasesInternational ResourcesHuman Trafficking Links
This is the "Spanish Literature/Poetry" page of the "International Resources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

International Resources  

Last Updated: Aug 15, 2017 URL: http://libguides.warner.edu/IR Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Spanish Literature/Poetry Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Spanish Literature

Cover Art
A Sourcebook for Hispanic Literature and Language a selected, annotated guide to Spanish, Spanish-American, and Chicano bibliography, literature, linguistics, journals, and other source materials - Donald W. Bleznick
Call Number: PC 4071 .A2 B55 1983
ISBN: 0810816164
Publication Date: 1983-06-01

Cover Art
Biographical Dictionary of Hispanic Literature in the United States: the literature of Puerto Ricans, Cuban Americans, and other Hispanic writers - Nicolás Kanellos
Call Number: PQ 7420.2 .K3 1989
ISBN: 0313244650
Publication Date: 1989-09-26
This book promises to be a very useful reference work, covering material that has heretofore been hard to find. . . . . useful in academic libraries and large public libraries. "Reference Books Bulletin" This dictionary provides an exhaustive reference guide to representative figures in Hispanic literature within the geographic, political, and cultural boundaries of the United States. While concentrating on contemporary writers who have made or promise to make a lasting contribution to multiethnic letters in this country, it is designed to make accessible to the English-language reader a literary world that has until now been articulated primarily in Spanish. Focusing mainly on Puerto Rican and Cuban writers, each entry summarizes the importance of the subject and indicates the literary genres and themes cultivated. There is a brief biography of each author, an analysis of major works and themes, and a survey of the criticism of the author's works. The first and most comprehensive volume on the subject, this extraordinarily detailed sourcebook is a compilation of bio-bibliographical essays on leading Hispanic novelists, poets, and dramatists, and includes secondary bibliographies for each entry as well as a general bibliography on Hispanic literature. Especially highlighted are such authors as Nuyorican Miguel Pinero, winner of the New York Drama Critics Circle Award for Best American Play; Chilean novelist, critic, and editor Fernando Alegria; the Cuban-American chronicler of life in Miami's exile community, Roberto Fernandez, and others. Kanellos' work answers a definite need for comprehensive biographical and critical information on these writers, and it will be a significant addition to academic and public libraries, and to research in Spanish, English, bilingual education, and ethnic studies.

Cover Art
Contemporary Latin American short stories - Fawcett Publications
Call Number: PN 6010 .C768
Publication Date: 1974

Cover Art
Dictionary of Spanish literature - Newmark, Maxim
Call Number: PQ 6006 .N4 1970
Publication Date: 1970

Cover Art
Great Spanish short stories - Flores, Angel
Call Number: PN 6010 .F64 Gr
Publication Date: 1962

Cover Art
New Chicana/Chicano Writing - Charles M. Tatum (Editor)
Call Number: PS 508 .M4 N48 v.1 - v. 2
ISBN: 0816513074
Publication Date: 1992-05-01
A variety of styles & genres, some in English & some in Spanish, make these volumes entertaining, informative, & provocative. These works explore what is gained & lost on the borderlands between Mexico & the United States.

Cover Art
Reading U. S. Latina Writers: remapping American literature - Alvina E. Quintana
Call Number: PS 508 .H57 R42 2003
ISBN: 0312294131
Publication Date: 2003-04-07
This essential teaching guide focuses on an emerging body of literature by U.S. Latina and Latin American Women writers. It will assist non-specialist educators in syllabus revision, new course design and classroom presentation. The inclusive focus of the book - that is, combining both US Latina and Latin American women writers - is significant because it introduces a more global and transnational way of approaching the literature. The introduction outlines the major historical experiences that inform the literature, the important genres, periods, movements and authors in its evolution; the traditions and influences that shape the works; and key critical issues of which teachers should be aware. The collection seeks to provide readers with a variety of Latina texts that will guarantee its long-term usefulness to teachers and students of pan-American literature. Because it is no longer possible to understand U.S. Latina literature without taking into consideration the histories and cultures of Latin America, the volume will, through its organization, argue for a more globalized type of analysis which considers the similarities as well as the differences in U.S. and Latin American women's cultural productions. In this context, the term Latina evokes a diasporic, transnational condition in order to address some of the pedagogical issues posed by the bicultural nature which is inherent in pan-American women's literature.

 

Books from the Warner University Library

 

Spanish Poems

Cover Art
An anthology of Spanish poetry from Garcilaso to Garcbia Lorca in English translation; with Spanish originals. - Flores, Angel
Call Number: PQ 6267 .E2 1961
Publication Date: 1961

Cover Art
Anthology of Mexican poetry - Paz, Octavio
Call Number: PQ 7299 .E3 B4
Publication Date: 1958
Series Title: UNESCO collection of representative works:

Cover Art
Configurations - Paz, Octavio, 1914-
Call Number: PQ 7297 .P285 C58
ISBN: 0224619411
Publication Date: 1971
Stmt. of Resp.: translated from the Spanish by G. Aroul (and others). Notes: Poems.
Spanish and English.

Cover Art
Inventing a Word : an anthology of twentieth-century Puerto Rican poetry - Julio Marzán
Call Number: PQ 7434 .Z5 .I5
ISBN: 0231050100
Publication Date: 1980-04-22
Presents original poems and their English translations of twenty-three modern-day poets, including Vega, Matos, and Julia de Burgos, who explore the culture of Puerto Rico.

Cover Art
The Birth of the Sun: selected poems, 1935-1985 - Pablo A. Cuadra; Steven F. White (Translator); Jorge E. Arellano (Introduction by)
Call Number: PQ 7519 .C8 A28 1988
ISBN: 0877752052
Publication Date: 1988-01-01
Notes: English and Spanish.
"Bibliography of major works by and about Pablo Antonio Cuadra": p. 176-177.
Bibliography: p. 172-176.

Cover Art
The Penguin book of Spanish verse - Cohen, John Michael
Call Number: PQ 6176 .C6
Publication Date: 1960
Subject: 1. Spanish poetry--Collected works. 2. Spanish American poetry--Collected works.

Cover Art
The poems of St. John of the Cross. - John of the Cross
Call Number: PQ 6400 .J8 C3
Publication Date: 1967
Stmt. of Resp.: The Spanish texts with a translation by Roy Campbell. Preface by M. C. D'arcy.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip