EBSCO Tutorials and GuidesUseful resources 1Useful Resources 2
Cover Letters, Resumes, Interviews, etc. BooksJobs, etc. BooksCareer eBooksCareers/Blogging/PodcastingIndividual eBooks - Vocational Guidance Acting-BusinessIndividual eBooks - Vocational Guidance: Clergy-EducationIndividual eBooks - Vocational Guidance: Fire Service, Health-MathematicsIndividual eBooks - Vocational Guidance: Miscellaneous, Music-Science, Technology
Other eResources
This is the "Individual eBooks - Vocational Guidance: Clergy-Education" page of the "Career Resources " guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Career Resources  

Last Updated: Aug 24, 2017 URL: http://libguides.warner.edu/Careers Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Individual eBooks - Vocational Guidance: Clergy-Education Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Restricted Access Note

 The following are restricted to current Warner University students, faculty, and staff.

Log-in: Warner email account.

Vocational Guidance 2:

  • Clergy/Missionaries
  • Counseling/Gergontology/
    Psychology/Social Work
  • Criminology/Law Enforcement
  • Diplomacy/Federal/Languages/Military
  • Disabilities
  • Education/Media Specialist
 

Clergy/Missionaries/Missions

Cover Art
Ask a Missionary: Time-Tested Answers from Those Who've Been There Before - John McVay (General Editor)
ISBN: 9780830856046
Publication Date: 2010-04-01
If you are exploring doing something extraordinary for the glory of God among the nations, Ask A Missionary will give clarity and answers for a journey into missions.Because they have "been there", over one hundred missionaries from around the world, including Elisabeth Elliot, George Verwer, Phyllis Kilbourn, and Bill Stearns, share their insightful wisdom and practical advice on everything from making the decision to go, to stepping into a new life once on the field, and everything in between.The treasures amassed in this book will guide you toward serving in the most wonderful, challenging, God glorifying, eternity-impacting endeavor in the world: missions.


Cover Art
Nazarene Youth Goes International: Adults and Youth Making a Difference Around the World
ISBN: 9780834129221
Publication Date: 2012-02-15
Gary Sivewright's commitment to missions began as a Nazarene college student when he traveled with a small public relations choir known as the Mission Crusaders. From that life-changing experience his commitment grew from his first trip outside of the United States to Musquiz, Mexico, and grew to travels to many world areas taking other people with him.This book shares his travels leading youth groups, college and university students, and youth leaders, allowing others to experience the great joy and fulfillment that comes from giving a portion of their lives to missions.God still calls missionaries, but not everyone is called to lengthy missionary assignments. This book will lead you to examine some ways God may want to use your short- or long-term commitment to missions.

 

Counseling, Gerontology, Psychology, and Social Work

Cover Art
101 Careers in Counseling - Shannon Hodges
ISBN: 9780826108586
Publication Date: 2012-01-01
This excellent career guide will be valuable for students, young professionals, and those interested in a second career in counseling. --Choice: Current Reviews for Academic Libraries "In these challenging times, this book is an essential resource that provides reference material, insights, encouragement and open doors. It may also serve well to remind readers of what their profession is really all about."--Illness, Crisis and Loss This comprehensive and easy-to-use guide is an invaluable resource to help you choose a rewarding counseling career that best suits your interests, strengths, and personality. Exploring a wealth of career opportunities in both traditional and non-traditional settings, including the most exciting emerging fields, this useful reference describes the many benefits found in the work of a professional counselor. Each career listing includes an overview, salary range, employment prospects, best and most challenging aspects of the job, and educational and licensing requirements. In addition, the book helps guide you through financing your education and the job search process. As a special feature, chapters include profiles of actual counselors and their work, providing an insightful insider's perspective on their profession. Key Features: Explores 101 counseling careers, including careers in non-traditional and emerging fields Offers helpful career development tools such as checklists and questionnaires Includes salary range, employment prospects, and best and worst aspects of each job Provides guidance on educational requirements, licensure, and continuing education Highlights and profiles real-life counselors and their experiences

Cover Art
101 Careers in Social Work - Jessica A. Ritter; Halaevalu F. Ofahengaue Vakalahi
ISBN: 9780826129055
Publication Date: 2014-11-01
PRAISE FOR THE FIRST EDITION: "This is a vital and necessary guide to the social work profession. This book clarifies the social work mission, goals, and objectives, and strengthens and promotes them as well." Carmen Ortiz Hendricks, MSW, DSW, ACSW, LCSW Professor & Dean, Wurzweiler School of Social Work, Yeshiva University "The authors do an excellent job of illustrating the uniqueness, diversity, and richness of the profession. I strongly recommend this book for use in social work orientation, advising, and education." Saundra Starks, EdD, LCSW, Professor, Western Kentucky University What do documentary filmmakers, conflict mediators, forensic social workers, researchers, mental health practitioners, human services administrators, medical social workers, and policy advocates have in common? They are all potential careers for social workers. The second edition of this popular guide to social work careers has been completely updated and expanded to reflect current trends in social work education and social work practice, including the employment outlook in various fields of practice, current accreditation standards, core competencies, and licensing requirements, along with new opportunities for social workers resulting from health care reform and the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act. With a focus on the interdisciplinary nature of social work, the book describes both traditional careers and those that are off the beaten path in such arenas as forensic social work, social entrepreneurship, working in political systems, international careers, and community practice. Well organized and written in a conversational tone, each chapter describes a particular social work domain, illustrating specific careers within that field including best features, challenges, required core competencies and skills, and educational and licensing requirements needed to succeed. For each career the book also discusses employment outlook and includes recommended references for more in-depth information. Vivid stories from social workers across the country further help readers to choose a career that is a good fit. Additionally, the book includes updated job-hunting tools and websites, including international opportunities, and ways to offset the high cost of higher education. Questionnaires and self-assessment checklists provide additional fodder to help readers choose a social work career tailored to their unique talents, interests, and passions. New to the Second Edition: Presents updated accreditation standards, core competencies, and licensing requirements Describes new opportunities for social workers resulting from health care reform and the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act Discusses the impact of our current social, economic, and political climate on the profession Includes new career-planning and job-hunting tools Addresses how students can offset the high cost of higher education "

Cover Art
101+ Careers in Gerontology - C. Joanne Grabinski
ISBN: 9780826120083
Publication Date: 2014-09-01
"101+ Careers is rich with useful information. I highly recommend the book for any student, emerging, or re-careering professional exploring their options for a career in gerontology and the resources they may need to go about pursuing it." Jarmin Yeh, Institute for Health and Aging and Department of Social and Behavioral Sciences School of Nursing at the University of California, San Francisco "American Society on Aging Blog" Describes a wealth of diverse career opportunities in gerontology and how to prepare for them How do you know if a career in gerontology is right for you? What opportunities exist in the field? Completely updated to reflect significant changes to policy and management of resources, the second edition of "101 Careers in Gerontology" provides a wealth of helpful and timely guidance in this rapidly growing field. Written for all levels of job seekers ranging from community college students to credential-seeking professionals, the book outlines a multitude of opportunities that dovetail with careers ranging from sociologist and home care agency administrator to architect and documentary filmmaker. Interviews with practitioners provide insight into job particulars and the experience of starting out with a degree versus on-the-job learning. The book describes five emerging gerontology-related fields, updates already existing job profiles including salary scales, and includes many new careers and their education requirements. New interviews are replete with advice and job search tips. Surprising additions to the list of career profiles include financial planner for elders, custom clothier, health coach, social or cultural historian, travel/tourism specialist, senior theater director, and many others. This second edition encompasses career changes and opportunities resulting from the newly created Administration for Community Living, and those influenced by policy changes in Medicare, Medicaid, Social Security, and the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act. Also new to the second edition are lists of gerontology professional organizations that can be helpful career search resources and links to professional organizations and other websites specific to each career profile. Changes to the Second Edition Include: Many new careers and their education requirements Updated job profiles including salary scales A description of three types of gerontology career pathsand how to prepare for them Coverage of such emerging fields as entrepreneurial gerontology, global aging, journalism and aging, and urban gerontology Career changes resulting from policy changes in relevant government agencies Lists of professional organizations and websites specific to each career profile 13 new interviews and 12 interviews updated from first edition Information about national, international, and local gerontology organizations including student and new professional member sections Updated and expanded glossary of acronyms

Cover Art
Becoming a Marriage and Family Therapist: From Classroom to Consulting Room (1) - Eugene Mead
ISBN: 9780470027370
Publication Date: 2013-01-29
Becoming a Marriage and Family Therapist is a practical "how to" guide designed to help trainee therapists successfully bridge the gap between classroom and consulting room. Readers will learn how to apply empirically-based methods to the core tasks of therapy in order to improve competency, establish effective supervision, and deliver successful client outcomes. A practical guide to improving competency across the core tasks of therapy, based on over 40 years of observation and teaching by an internationally acclaimed author Presents treatment protocols that show how to apply therapy task guidelines to a range of empirically-supported marriage and family treatments Provides extended coverage on assessing and beginning treatment with crisis areas such as suicidal ideation, and family violence with children, elders, and spouses Suggests how supervisors can support trainees in dealing with crisis and other challenging areas, to build competence and successful delivery

Cover Art
Becoming a Therapist : On the Path to Mastery (1) - Thomas M. Skovholt
ISBN: 9780470403747
Publication Date: 2012-09-04
All practitioners start with the novice voyage involving excitement, intensity, anxiety, and challenge. A good beginning increases the chance for maximum professional functioning in later years. Becoming a Therapist explores the intense experiences of developing counselors, psychologists, and other helping professionals, and helps them understand how their own emergent needs and internal processes affect their ability to help current or future clients. Blending theory and technique with many novel ideas, the book focuses on the experience of those who are new to the field rather than simply focusing on development of specific skills.

Cover Art
Becoming an Art Therapist: Enabling Growth, Change, and Action for Emerging Students in the Field. - Maxine Borowsky Junge; Kim Newall
ISBN: 9780398090739
Publication Date: 2015-04-17
This is not a "how-to" book but rather about the "experience" of becoming an art therapist. The text covers issues in supervision and mentorship, contains stories by art therapy students about what they are thinking and feeling, and letters to young art therapists by highly regarded professionals in the field. The reader has the advantage of ideas and responses from both a student art therapist and an art therapist with many years' experience and is clearly intended for students aiming for a career. Chapter 1 is about students as a secret society and the importance of student colleagues. The second chapter is a short history of art therapy education, while Chapter 3 is a review of some literature potentially useful to art therapy students. Chapter 4 represents Kim Newall's journal with imagery of her internship experience as a third-year graduate student in a community clinic. For Chapter 5, art therapy graduate students in various geographical sections of the United States describe their worst and best student experiences and their most important role models. Chapter 6 is about mentoring-what it is and why an art therapist should have a mentor. In Chapter 7, twelve senior art therapists, each with many years' experience, write a personal letter to the coming generations of art therapists. The letter writers are all pioneers in the field. Finally, Chapter 8 offers a selected art therapy bibliography. This extraordinary book conveys the message "you can do this and it's worth it." The text is a much needed contribution to the field of art therapy. Students for many semesters to come will be reassured, validated, and informed. Experienced art therapists will ford valuable perspectives on supervision, teaching, and mentorship.

Cover Art
Career As a Psychiatrist - Institute for Career Research
ISBN: 9781435603639
Publication Date: 2007-01-01

Cover Art
Careers in Human Services - Salem Press (Editor); Michael Shally-Jensen (General Editor)
ISBN: 9781619257788
Publication Date: 2015-04-01
Careers in Human Services contains twenty-five alphabetically arranged chapters describing specific fields of interest in this broad industry segment. Merging scholarship with occupational development, this single comprehensive guidebook provides human services students with the necessary insight into potential careers, and provides instruction on what job seekers can expect in terms of training, advancement, earnings, job prospects, working conditions, relevant associations, and more. Careers in Human Services is specifically designed for a high school and undergraduate audience and is edited to align with secondary or high school curriculum standards.

Cover Art
Fundamentals of Couples, Marriage, and Family Counseling - David Capuzzi (Editor); Mark D. Stauffer (Editor)
ISBN: 9781118710999
Publication Date: 2015-03-02
A comprehensive and practical approach to the world of marriage, couples, and family counseling Esteemed academics David Capuzzi and Mark D. Stauffer present the theory, research, and real-life practice of today′s counselors and therapists in family therapy settings. Aligned with the Council for Accreditation of Counseling and Related Educational Programs (CACREP) and Commission on Accreditation for Marriage and Family Therapy Education (COAMFTE), this useful text covers foundational teaching important to readers, but also critical modern topics not included in other texts, such as sexuality, trauma, divorce, domestic violence, and addictions, filial play therapy, and using community genograms to position culture and context in family therapy. With a unique focus on practical applications, the book discusses the major family therapy theories, and provides graduate students and post-graduate learners in counseling, mental health, and behavioral health fields the skills and techniques they need to help couples and families as part of their work in a variety of helping environments. Each chapter contains case studies and anecdotes that help readers think critically about the issues they are likely to deal with as clinicians. Written by recognized and respected contributors, this book helps readers see the connection between what they know and what happens in couples and family counseling sessions. Readers will: Learn the knowledge and skills essential to family therapy Understand the history, concepts, and techniques associated with major theories Examine the key issues specific to couples work, with relevant intervention Explore solutions to the complexities generated by special issues Discusses the modern realities of family, diversity and culture, and systemic contexts Family and couples counseling presents a complex interplay of various factors inherent to each individual, the dynamic interplay between each person′s issues, and the outside influences that shape behavior. Foundations of Couples, Marriage, and Family Counseling helps readers sort out the complexity and guide clients toward lasting resolution.

Cover Art
How to Succeed in Psychiatry: A Guide to Training and Practice (1) - Andrea Fiorillo (Editor); Iris Calliess (Editor); Henning Sass (Editor)
ISBN: 9781119998662
Publication Date: 2012-02-13
Aimed at recently qualified psychiatrists or those looking to qualify soon, How to Succeed in Psychiatry is not a source of clinical information but a survival guide to help you through the first years practising psychiatry.  This book covers the topics you won't find in standard textbooks.  It deals with daily problems and practical solutions for young psychiatrists. Psychiatric training is less team based than other specialties, so there is less opportunity for learning from colleagues than one would expect: this book helps to fill that gap. The book opens with an overview of psychiatry training, describing the similarities and differences among various countries.  Subsequent chapters address the opportunities for research and how to publish the results.  Psychotherapy and community psychiatry each merit their own chapter on training.    Next, the book guides you through the transition phase into a job, discussing opportunities in both the public and private sectors and considering how to choose the best career for you.  It reviews important general considerations, such as ethics, professionalism, leadership and management, how to avoid stress and burn out, and how to liaise with other specialties.  The book closes with an account of the role of psychiatry associations and continuing professional development. Written by early career psychiatrists from around the world, this book provides invaluable first-hand experience to all those wishing to embark on a career in this exciting discipline. Practical tips for young psychiatrists starting their careers on the wards or in private practice Advice on the transition phase at the end of training, career choice and job opportunities

Cover Art
Majoring in Psychology: Achieving Your Educational and Career Goals (2) - Jeffrey L. Helms; Daniel T. Rogers
ISBN: 9781118741023
Publication Date: 2015-03-30
Updated to reflect the latest data in the field, the second edition of Majoring in Psychology: Achieving Your Educational and Career Goals remains the most comprehensive and accessible text for psychology majors available today.<br /><br /> The new edition incorporates the most up-to-date research, as well as recent changes to the GRE Reveals the benefits of pursuing a psychology degree and shows students how to prepare for a career or to continue with graduate study in the field Features a wide range of supplemental exercises and materials plus topical contributions written by national and international figures in their respective psychology subfields Online support materials for instructors include Powerpoint slides and test banks to support each chapter

Cover Art
Pre-Reader for the Foundation Degree In Health and Social Care Practice - Margaret A. Bannister
ISBN: 9781907830686
Publication Date: 2011-01-01
This book aims to provide the knowledge and tools required to enable healthcare workers to study at foundation degree level, including practical skills such as time management and reading for assignments. It also encompasses wider issues such as coping with change, considering values and ethics, and enlisting family support to help you meet the demands of your course. The book includes many activities to help you develop the skills you need for study and self-development. Use them fully, write out your answers, think deeply about the suggestions, and record your responses. If you revisit the activities throughout your programme of study, you will notice the changes and will be able to track your progress. Written by an author with long experience of teaching on the Foundation Degree in Health and Social Care Practice, this little book could make a huge difference to the way you approach your course, and your eventual result


Cover Art
The Profession of Social Work : Guided by History, Led by Evidence (1) - Catherine N. Dulmus; Karen M. Sowers
ISBN: 9781118176917
Publication Date: 2012-08-21
The introductory course in social work exposes students to all the important aspects of the study of social work and the profession so they can make an informed decision about majoring in the field. This book provides a broad overview to the profession of social work, including its history, values, ethics, contextual perspectives, and professional issues. The contributors represent the leading authorities on each chapter′s subject matter.

Cover Art
Thinking of Becoming a Counsellor? - Jonathan Ingrams
ISBN: 9781780490168
Publication Date: 2012-02-22
People in their later years sometimes wonder if they could put to good use a lifetime's experience in raising a family, following a career, dealing with mid-life crises or generally coping with fortune's slings and arrows. Becoming a counsellor may well be perceived as an accessible way of offering support and understanding for those trying to cope with difficulties that they themselves may have encountered and worked through. But embarking on counselling training can be very unsettling because of the extensive emotional demands made on the participants and for which they may be poorly prepared. Students are routinely introduced to the theory of unconditional positive regard, genuineness and empathy; the core conditions of Rogerian therapy. But as Rogers made clear, it is not enough for the counsellor to play the role of the therapist. He or she has to be the therapist -- a very different concept. This book explores with the reader the journeys of self-discovery which prompted pioneering practitioners to direct their skills in particular ways and the influence exerted by their backgrounds, ambitions and personal histories. The strategies they evolved and the conflicts they sometimes engendered are investigated, and case studies used to demonstrate how the different modalities are applied, and how clients may benefit from them. The book also reviews how some of these techniques have been modified by later practitioners to accommodate the counselling environment of today. The overall objective is to help would-be therapists arrive at an understanding of the inner resources needed to embark on a counselling career, and to help them determine which approach might best accord with their temperament and lifetime's experience.

 

Diplomacy, Federal, Global, Languages, and Military

Cover Art
Career Diplomacy: Life and Work in the U.S. Foreign Service. - Harry W. Kopp; Charles A. Gillespie
ISBN: 9781589017405
Publication Date: 2011-03-22
Career Diplomacy--now in its second edition--is an insider's guide that examines the foreign service as an institution, a profession, and a career. Harry W. Kopp and Charles A. Gillespie, both of whom had long and distinguished careers in the foreign service, provide a full and well-rounded picture of the organization, its place in history, its strengths and weaknesses, and its role in American foreign affairs. Based on their own experiences and through interviews with over 100 current and former foreign service officers and specialists, the authors lay out what to expect in a foreign service career, from the entrance exam through midcareer and into the senior service--how the service works on paper, and in practice. The second edition addresses major changes that have occurred since 2007: the controversial effort to build an expeditionary foreign service to lead the work of stabilization and reconstruction in fragile states; deepening cooperation with the U.S. military and the changing role of the service in Iraq and Afghanistan; the ongoing surge in foreign service recruitment and hiring at the Department of State and U.S. Agency for International Development; and the growing integration of USAID's budget and mission with those of the Department of State.

Cover Art
Careers in Foreign Languages - Institute for Career Research
ISBN: 9781441613028
Publication Date: 2009-01-01

Cover Art
Careers in International Affairs (9th Edition) - Laura E. Cressey
ISBN: 9781626160767
Publication Date: 2014-01-01
This is the essential resource and job-hunting guide for all those interested in international careers in the US government, multinational corporations, banks, consulting companies, international and nongovernmental organizations, the media, think tanks, universities, and more. Careers in International Affairs, now in its ninth edition, provides up-to-date insights about the range of possibilities in the global workplace and tips on how to get these jobsOCoalong with profiles of hundreds of important employers. This helpful guide includes a directory of more than 250 organizations who offer internationally oriented jobs such as the US Department of State, CIA, United Nations, World Bank, J.P. Morgan Chase, Google, McKinsey & Company, and dozens more. The book also includes insightful testimonies about what these careers are really like from both junior and senior professionals in these fields. Careers in International Affairs gives advice on academic paths that will prepare students for demanding international careers and guidance on how to write resumes, interview for jobs, network, and maintain their online profile. Published in cooperation with the Edmund A. Walsh School of Foreign Service at Georgetown University, the oldest school of international affairs in the United States, Careers in International Affairs will encourage job seekers to consider their goals and talents, widen their horizons to consider new possibilities, and help them realize that their future can hold several careers, while reminding all that it is never too earlyOCoor too lateOCoto consider the realm of opportunities that await them throughout the world."




Cover Art
Global Careers - Michael Dickmann; Yehuda Baruch
ISBN: 9780203842751
Publication Date: 2010-10-22
With interest in the global environment and the management of 'talent' increasing, understanding the issue of global careers is crucial for students and managers alike. This excitingnbsp;book captures broad research extending to a large set of diverse motivations, experiences, and outcomes of international work in global 'for profit' and 'not for profit' organizations and delivers nuanced insights into the management of international employees for firms and governmental/non-governmental organizations. This text covers global career issues in-depth, working at the intersection of career and international human resource management and using a numbernbsp;of perspectives,nbsp;such asnbsp;organizational or individual ones. Chapters include: theories, frameworks and concepts supporting research/data where relevant managerial implications, summaries, learning points, figures and tables. Illustrated with up to the minute case studies from companies such as Pepsi, Imperial Tobacco, Cadbury Schweppes, PricewaterhouseCoopers, Philips, HSBC, Misys, Philip Morris Internationalnbsp;and Masterfoods, Global Careers is essential reading for all those studying or concerned with career management, human resource management and international business. nbsp;


Cover Art
School Programs in Speech-Language Pathology: Organization and Service Delivery (5) - Jean L Blosser
ISBN: 9781597564038
Publication Date: 2011-11-07
Nearly 55% of ASHA-certified speech-language pathologists work in school settings. The numbers are even higher when non-ASHA certified pathologists are considered. There are only a few resources that address service delivery, as opposed to assessment or treatment of specific communication disorders. School Programs in Speech-Language Pathology is designed to provide both new and experienced practitioners with solutions and strategies for the challenges they face in the complex and ever-changing world of school-based delivery.. Most books for school-based speech-language pathologists focus on different types of intervention and diagnoses. School Programs in Speech-Language Pathology focuses on service delivery, program design, and how to organize and manage an effective program. Additionally, this resource covers meeting state and national standards, following federal mandates, and how to relate to and communicate with colleagues and parents.. The organization, questions at the end of each chapter, real-life examples, collaborative strategies, research foundation, and usable forms all make this book very practical for university students, existing school-based practitioners, and program administrators.. Building on the success of previous editions, this fifth edition will include more information on alternative delivery methods and flexible schedule modules, reporting and documentation, state standards, telepractice, evidence-based practice, school-based leadership and career development, and an expansion of the information on the school-based clinician's role and contributions to the education team..

Cover Art
The Reflective Translator: Strategies and Affects of Self-directed Professionals. - Joanna Albin
ISBN: 9783631645246
Publication Date: 2014-07-30
Although university studies do not always provide translators with the necessary skills, many of them continue in their professional capacity, which is understood to be the result of self-directed learning processes. Thus, translators seem to be not only agents of their own education, but also products of translation operations. The data obtained by means of a questionnaire covers three areas: specialisation and the market, qualifications and competence as well as affects and attitudes. Also, a general description of translators’ specific self-directed learning strategies is provided. The results reveal that institutional training has virtually no importance in the professional education of translators and that the skills missed most in their everyday activity are those they failed to acquire by means of self-directed learning procedures.

 

Education/Media Specialist

Cover Art
101 Careers in Education - John S. Carlson; Richard L. Carlson
ISBN: 9780826199843
Publication Date: 2015-08-01
Education is a rewarding area of work that provides some of the most diverse career opportunities of any field. Written by educators with real-world knowledge of the profession, this information-packed guide provides the career explorer with concise information on the necessary skills, training, certification/licensure, compensation, and employment outlook for over 100 careers in a wide range of education settings. This book describes careers that range from working with very young children to positions in traditional K-12 schools to educating adults in organizational settings. It discusses careers suitable for those who enjoy working with people as well as careers for individuals who are more comfortable with information or ideas. A particularly useful feature is information about alternative paths to working in education for those with degrees in related service professions. Careers outside of traditional settings include work in adult education, independent education, business or government settings, community-based educational services, and part-time opportunities, to name a few. Special attention is paid to positions in STEM and educational technology, one of education's fastest-growing careers, and careers of leadership including management, innovation, and accountability. The authors also provide a guide to self-assessment that helps readers to learn about those careers that best match their interests and temperament. Interviews with education professionals in a variety of arenas, such as middle school foreign language teacher, special education teacher, Head Start coordinator, and college athletic director, offer an in-depth look at different career opportunities. Key Features: Covers 101 careers including necessary skills, training, certification/licensure, compensation, and employment outlook Includes career options for new teachers, those changing careers within education, and those seeking education as a second career Includes many career options outside of traditional school settings Presents interviews with 23 individuals in different educational positions Provides self-assessment questions, information pertaining to professional development, and guidance on the job-search process

Cover Art
A Career in Music Education - Institute of Career Research
ISBN: 9781441640772
Publication Date: 2010

Cover Art
Answering the Call to Teach: A Novel Approach to Exceptional Classroom Instruction - Charlese Brown
ISBN: 9781610487443
Publication Date: 2012-05-18
Answering the Call to Teach: A Novel Approach to Effective Classroom Instruction makes the case that effective teaching begins with people who have a sincere calling to teach. The book discusses how children respond more creatively to teachers who have a calling. These teachers are more passionate, more interested in going that extra mile for children, and who, by design, encourage other children with the gift to teach to carry the torch. There is more to teaching than purely translating academic concepts to children. Teaching is a vocation. The book creates a framework by which training institutions can use so that our children are getting the best teachers. This is the most effective method in the classroom the right teacher."


Cover Art
Becoming a Responsive Science Teacher: Focusing on Student Thinking in Secondary Science - Daniel T. Levin; David Hammer
ISBN: 9781936959051
Publication Date: 2012-10-01
Becoming a Responsive Science Teacher offers: a philosophical framework for understanding the beginnings of scientific thinking in high school students; five real-life case studies, four of which are captured on video, and accompanying transcripts, stored on the NSTA website; suggestions for how to use the case studies to practice recognizing, interpreting, and responding to the vital nuances of your own students' thinking in real time; and advice on next steps, including how to overcome systemic impediments and maintain your focus on student thinking. Becoming a Responsive Science Teacher is ideal for teacher educators as well as current and preservice teachers. The book holds out the promise that when you consciously strive to help students work through their ideas about science, the result can be more effective instruction from you, and much deeper understanding for your students.

Cover Art
Career As a Kindergarten Teacher - Institute for Career Research
ISBN: 9781429412261
Publication Date: 2006-01-01

Cover Art
Career As an Art Teacher - Institute for Career Research
ISBN: 9781435603646
Publication Date: 2007-01-01

Cover Art
Careers in Education & Training - Michael Shally-Jensen (Editor)
ISBN: 9781682171509
Publication Date: 2016-11-01
Careers in Education & Training contains twenty-four alphabetically arranged chapters describing specific fields of interest in this field. Merging scholarship with occupational development, this single comprehensive guidebook provides students interested in careers in the fields of education and training with the necessary insight into potential careers, and provides instruction on what job seekers can expect in terms of training, advancement, earnings, job prospects, working conditions, relevant associations, and more. Careers in Education & Training is specifically designed for a high school and undergraduate audience and is edited to align with secondary or high school curriculum standards.

Cover Art
Constructing New Professional Identities: Career Changers in Teacher Education - Judy Williams
ISBN: 9789462092587
Publication Date: 2013-03-01
This book provides a unique insight into the learning experiences of career change professionals in teacher education. Many studies have provided a brief glimpse into the experiences of people making a career change into teaching, but this book offers an in-depth analysis of the day to day struggles and triumphs of a small group of career change students studying teacher education in Australia. This study locates teacher professional learning within a sociocultural research paradigm, highlighting the importance of social, cultural and institutional contexts in learning. Learning to become a teacher is not merely the acquisition of a set of technical skills and propositional knowledge, but a far more complex personal struggle to construct a new professional identity. This book uncovers some of the trials, tribulations and joys of becoming a teacher for those who have already worked in other careers. It examines the impact of previous career experiences on the construction of a new professional identity as a teacher. This process is discussed using the framework of learning within communities of practice. Firstly, a broad-brush picture is presented through analysis and discussion of extensive quantitative data obtained via an on-line survey, after which a small group of survey respondents provide a more nuanced exploration of their experiences as student teachers. This is followed by three case studies that delve more deeply into the experiences, frustrations and joys of being an expert novice in teacher education. These case studies examine the stories of three career changers who provide personal insights into what it is like to be an experienced professional embarking on a new journey as a novice student teacher.

Cover Art
Good Ideas for Good Teachers Who Want Good Jobs - Gerald Haigh
ISBN: 9781845909512
Publication Date: 2015-05-30
This to-the-point little guide contains everything you need to know about jobs, career progression and interviews. Good teachers deserve the good guide. You're a good teacher. Don't be modest, you know you are. The key to satisfaction lies in knowing who you are and what you want, and then making the choices that suit. The real aim here is to make sure that as you approach each step on the career ladder, the choices you make and the actions you take are really worthy of your status as a good teacher. That's to say they will be deeply considered, well-researched, honest and self-aware and carried out with confidence and professionalism. Good teachers are flexible visionaries. Good teachers are doers. Good teachers know where to find the jobs. Good teachers do not count their chickens. Good teachers know that, in job hunting, knowledge is power. Good teachers know how to fill in application forms. Good teachers have good answers to interview questions. Good teachers avoid interview pitfalls. Good teachers don't feel rejected. Good teachers are decisive about the job offer.

Cover Art
How to Get the Teaching Job You Want: The Complete Guide for College Graduates, Teachers Changing Schools, Returning Teachers and Career Changers - Robert Feirsen; Seth Weitzman
ISBN: 9781579229566
Publication Date: 2011-06-30
Competition for the best teaching jobs is becoming more intense. Since publication of the first edition, when it was mainly the most desirable schools that were deluged by applications, the economic climate has made the teacher market more competitive across the board, and is changing hiring practices. Now extensively revised, this book maintains its place as the most up-to-date book available on job hunting for teachers. The authors cover changes in the educational marketplace; the new mandates about standardized testing and public reporting of student achievement-and what they mean for applicants; how new certification standards and schools' requirements affect career changers; the growing acceptance of on-line applications and electronic portfolios; and provide additional advice for teachers applying to change schools or districts. This is also the only guide written by school administrators. Offering the insights and experience of two authors who do the hiring, it details a step-by-step program for taking charge of your teaching career. How to Get the Teaching Job You Want enables you to: * Match your unique talents to the needs of a particular school * Craft effective cover letters and resumes, using models that address the specific needs of college graduates, teachers changing schools, returning teachers and career changers * Make effective on-line applications * Leverage your achievements as an experienced teacher-or, for graduates or career changers, student teaching, substitute teaching, volunteer work or content knowledge-into a job offer * Locate jobs on-line and discover valuable information about schools, including test results, educational philosophy and names of key administrators * Design a portfolio in book or electronic format to showcase your abilities * Practice interview skills using 100 questions taken from real job interviews * Apply proven strategies for a variety of interview formats, including high stress interviews and performance interviews * Address controversial questions during interviews This book covers procedures for applying to elementary, middle and high schools; public, independent, and parochial schools; as well as international and boarding schools. Anecdotes recounting the experiences of real candidates looking for jobs illustrate key points. Access to the authors' web site ensures that you will stay current in a changing job market. This is a vital book for teachers and aspiring teachers who want to achieve their career goals. It will also be invaluable for guidance counselors, psychologists, librarians and other school professionals.

Cover Art
New on the Job: A School Librarian's Guide to Success, Second Edition (2) - Ruth Toor; Hilda K. Weisburg
ISBN: 9780838912645
Publication Date: 2014-11-01
As if transitioning from library school or a different type of library job into the role of a school librarian wasn't challenging enough, just factor in today's straitened funding environment for the position itself. Librarians new on the job need expert advice on what to expect and how thrive, and since its publication in 2006 this guide has served as a wise mentor for the new school librarian. From job search strategies and discovering work philosophy to the nitty-gritty details of creating acceptable use policies, this revised and updated edition, which includes a new foreword from Sarah Kelly Johns, shares the joys and perils of the profession along with a wealth of practical advice from decades of experience in school library programs.

Cover Art
Physical Education: Teachers' Lives and Careers: PE, Sport And Educational Status (1) - Kathleen R. Armour; Robyn L. Jones
ISBN: 9780203486948
Publication Date: 1998-03-01
Explores the lives and careers of physical education teachers from two perspectives. Firstly, teachers' life-stories illustrate how eight teachers became involved with sport, how they entered the physical education profession, why they developed particular teaching philosophies, and how they have tried to progress in their teaching careers. Secondly, a broader thematic analysis identifies issues which arise throughout the teachers' stories and locates them within the wider international research literature. Low status is identified as an enduring concern, and it is argued that this stems from a lack of empirical research into the educational outcomes which are claimed for physical education.

Cover Art
Preparing Early Childhood Educators to Teach Math: Professional Development that Works - Herbert P. Ginsburg (Editor); Ph.D., Marilou Hyson; Taniesha A. Woods (Editor)
ISBN: 9781598572810
Publication Date: 2014-06-09
If you're preparing early childhood educators for the critical task of teaching math, this groundbreaking resource is just what you need to plan and implement effective professional development. Translating recommendations from the National Research Council's early mathematics report into clear and actionable goals, this text is your key to improving the way educators teach math to children ages 3-6. You'll get an in-depth guide to what math teachers need to teach; a research-based framework for strengthening professional development; and web-based video clips to enhance training sessions and show teachers the "how' of high-quality math instruction. Use this accessible text to guide both pre- and inservice teacher preparation; and ensure better math teaching and higher student achievement. Teacher trainers will: understand the classroom challenges of today's early childhood educators; see how children's mathematical minds develop and clarify learning goals for them; build professional development around five essential goals for high-quality math instruction; make the most of innovative professional development methods and technologies; promote better math instruction for culturally diverse children and children with disabilities; and more.

Cover Art
The Dream and the Reality of Teaching: Becoming the Best Teacher Students Ever Had - Keen J. Babbage
ISBN: 9781610480178
Publication Date: 2011-05-05
The dream of teaching is that it's fascinating, meaningful, inspiring, and rewarding. The reality of teaching is that it can be exhausting, frustrating, heart-breaking, and disappointing. This book guides prospective teachers through an analysis of the profession they are considering and of their match with that profession and leads current teachers through an analysis of their career achievements, progress, challenges, and goals.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip