How to conduct business research part 3.
- 5 Steps to master Small Business Social Media (Graham Shorr)
Assists small business owners and marketers in creating a social media marketing strategy.
- Biznar - A Deep Web Free Aggregator Website
Deep Web Technologies’ free databases offer sources by broad subjects. The Deep Web contains hundreds of thousands of sources which are not accessible to Google and Bing.
- Business Owner’s Tool Kit (BizFilings)
A web site of useful advice and tools geared specifically to the small business owner. Sections include: Start up, Marketing, Finance, Running a Business, Office & HR, and Tax Center.
- Competitive Intelligence - A Selective Resource Guide (Sabrina I. Pacifici: LLRX.com)
This guide lists numerous competitive intelligence resources.
- Doing Business (The World Bank Group)
The Doing Business project provides objective measures of business regulations for local firms in 189 economies and selected cities at the subnational level.
- Entrepreneurship.org (Kauffman Foundation)
The Kauffman Foundation created Entrepreneurship.org as an online resource to help entrepreneurs grow great ideas. The site provides innovative educational tools, informative channels covering the latest issues and insights affecting entrepreneurs, and a popular events section that gives entrepreneurs an opportunity to connect.
- Florida SBDC (Small Business Development Center Network)
Description: The Florida Small Business Development Center Network delivers consulting, training and information to help businesses succeed and create positive impact for the Florida economy.
- Office of Women's Business Ownership (U.S. Small Business Administration)
The Office of Women’s Business Ownership's mission is to establish and oversee a network of Women’s Business Centers (WBCs) throughout the United States and its territories. Through the management and technical assistance provided by the WBCs, entrepreneurs, especially women who are economically or socially disadvantaged, are offered comprehensive training and counseling on a vast array of topics in many languages to help them start and grow their own businesses.
- Open Culture - The Best Free Cultural & Educational Media on the Web
Description: Free, open access resources organized by category. Resources listed include: Online Courses, MOOCS (Massive Open Online Courses), Movies, Audio Books, eBooks, Textbooks, Language Lessons, Business Courses, etc.
- Professional Resources for Women in Business (Jen Boulden - Expertise)
- Recruiting 101 (Nectjobs.com)
To assist small businesses, we developed a guide designed to equip them with the right tools, techniques, and strategies on how to recruit the right person.
- Survey of Current Business Online - The Bureau of Economic Analysis (BEA)
- County Business Patterns (CBP) (US Census Bureau)
County Business Patterns (CBP) is an annual series that provides subnational economic data by industry. This series includes the number of establishments, employment during the week of March 12, first quarter payroll, and annual payroll. This data is useful for studying the economic activity of small areas; analyzing economic changes over time; and as a benchmark for other statistical series, surveys, and databases between economic censuses. Businesses use the data for analyzing market potential, measuring the effectiveness of sales and advertising programs, setting sales quotas, and developing budgets. Government agencies use the data for administration and planning.
- Nonemployer Statistics (U.S. Census Bureau)
Nonemployer Statistics is an annual series that provides subnational economic data for businesses that have no paid employees and are subject to federal income tax. The data consist of the number of businesses and total receipts by industry. Most nonemployers are self-employed individuals operating unincorporated businesses (known as sole proprietorships), which may or may not be the owner's principal source of income.
- North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) – U.S. Census Bureau
The North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) is the standard used by Federal statistical agencies in classifying business establishments for the purpose of collecting, analyzing, and publishing statistical data related to the U.S. business economy.
- Statistics about Business Size (including Small Business) - U.S. Census Bureau
The Census Bureau does not define small or large business, but provides statistics that allow users to define business categories in any of several ways:
Employers and non-employers, Employment size of firms, Employment size of establishments, and Receipts size of firms.
- Statistics of U.S. Businesses (SUSB) (U.S. Census Bureau)
2011 annual or static data include number of firms, number of establishments, employment, and annual payroll for most U.S. business establishments. The data are tabulated by geographic area, industry, and enterprise employment size. Industry classification is based on 2007 North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) codes. An establishment with 0 employment is an establishment with no paid employees in the mid-March pay period but with paid employees at some time during the year.
- Survey of Business Owners and Self-Employed Persons (SBO)- U.S. Census Bureau
The Survey of Business Owners (SBO) provides the only comprehensive, regularly collected source of information on selected economic and demographic characteristics for businesses and business owners by gender, ethnicity, race, and veteran status. Title 13 of the United States Code authorizes this survey and provides for mandatory responses
- U.S. Small Business Administration
Features: Starting & Managing, Loans & Grants, Contracting, Learning Center (Videos, online training, chat, etc.).
- SizeUp - Analyze Your Business Tool (U.S. Small Business Administration)
If you are a small business owner, you need to know how your business stacks up with the competition in order to succeed. SizeUp will help you manage and grow your business by benchmarking it against competitors, mapping your customers, competitors and suppliers, and locating the best places to advertise.
- Small Business Profiles for the States and Territories (U.S. Small Business Administration)
The Office of Advocacy’s Small Business Profiles for the States and Territories supply data on small businesses in each of the 50 states and the District of Columbia. The publication also provides national-level data and limited data on the U.S. territories. The usefulness of the publication is the great detail it provides about small businesses at the state level. The following topics are covered: the number of firms, demographics of business ownership, small business income, banking, business turnover, industry composition, and employment gains and losses by size of business.
- Table of Small Business Size Standards (U.S. Small Business Administration)
To help small business owners assess their small business status, SBA has established a Table of Small Business Size Standards, which is matched to the North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) for industries. The current table of size standards is based on the 2012 NAICS.