How to conduct business research part 3.
Historic/Vintage, History of Advertising, and Marketing Links
The Ad*Access Project, funded by the Duke Endowment "Library 2000" Fund, presents images and database information for over 7,000 advertisements printed in U.S. and Canadian newspapers and magazines between 1911 and 1955. The advertisements are from the J. Walter Thompson Company Competitive Advertisements Collection.
- Adflip.com – The World’s Largest Archie of Classic Print Ads
Browse your favorite slice of pop culture and relive great memories from six decades.
The AdViews digital collection provides access to thousands of historic commercials created for clients or acquired by the D'Arcy Masius Benton & Bowles (DMB&B) advertising agency or its predecessor during the 1950s - 1980s.
- An American Time Capsule: Three Centuries of Broadsides and Other Printed Ephemera ca. 1600-2000
The Printed Ephemera collection at the Library of Congress is a rich repository of Americana. In total, the collection comprises 28,000 primary-source items dating from the seventeenth century to the present and encompasses key events and eras in American history. Rich in variety, the collection includes proclamations, advertisements, blank forms, programs, election tickets, catalogs, clippings, timetables, and menus. They capture the everyday activities of ordinary people who participated in the events of nation-building and experienced the growth of the nation from the American Revolution through the Industrial Revolution up to present day.
- Emergence of Advertising in America: 1850-1920 (EAA)
The Emergence of Advertising in America: 1850 - 1920 (EAA) presents over 9,000 images, with database information, relating to the early history of advertising in the United States. The materials, drawn from the David M. Rubenstein Rare Book & Manuscript Library at Duke University, provide a significant and informative perspective on the early evolution of this most ubiquitous feature of modern American business and culture.
- Museum of Advertising Icons (Kansas City) – Gallery
Welcome to the official site of the Advertising Icon Museum, the soon-to-be, brand-new home of a whole host of familiar and not-so-familiar characters who were created just for the purpose of advertising — many of whom have taken on a beloved, pop cultural status far beyond their illustrious business careers. Click on the map to go to the section you choose.
- Smithsonian – National Museum of American History – Advertising
Advertising is meant to persuade, and the themes and techniques of that persuasion reveal a part of the nation's history. The Museum has preserved advertising campaigns for several familiar companies, such as Marlboro, Alka-Seltzer, Federal Express, Cover Girl, and Nike. It also holds the records of the NW Ayer Advertising Agency and business papers from Krispy Kreme Doughnuts, Carvel Ice Cream, and other companies. The Warshaw Collection of Business Americana comprises thousands of trade cards, catalogs, labels, and other business papers and images dating back to the late 1700s.
- The Advertising Archives
The Advertising Archives was established in 1990 by Larry and Suzanne Viner and is the largest and most comprehensive resource of its kind in Europe. Our collection spans the years from the mid-19th Century to the present day. Image types include: British & American Press Adverts, British & American Magazine Covers and Artwork including story Illustrations, Rare French & Spanish Magazine Art, British TV Advertising Stills, Mail Order Catalogues, Posters, Postcards, Menus, Theatre Programmes & other Ephemera, and Wide selection of Vintage Magazines.
- Vintage Ad Browser
Vintage Ad Browser was created in 2009/2010 and released in 2010, by Philipp Lenssen from Germany, currently living in China. This site aims to collect vintage ads from a variety of sources, including comic books, CD-ROMs, websites, APIs, your submissions, book, magazine & comic book scans, and more. Ads are organized by topic.
- Vintage Paper Ads
Contains over 100,000 different advertisements, categorized in thousands of topics. Note: This is a selling site. Students can still view the ads for research purposes.