How to conduct business research part 3.
- EASE History Presidential Campaign Ads – Michigan State University
Presidential Campaign Ads run from the early 1950’s to 2012. View images and video ads.
- Museum of the Living Room Candidate: Presidential Campaign Commercials 1952-2012
The Living Room Candidate: Presidential Campaign Commercials 1952-2012 is an online exhibition presenting more than 300 television commercials from every election year since 1952, when the first campaign TV ads aired. The website will be updated through the 2012 election between Mitt Romney and Barack Obama. The site includes a searchable database and features commentary, historical background, election results, and navigation organized by year, type of ad, and issue. There is a playlist feature that allows visitors to select, annotate, and share their own groups of ads, and to view playlists by guest contributors. Each selected commercial is accompanied by a list of related ads. There is a transcript for each ad and a feature that allows visitors to search the entire database by title and by words in the transcripts.
- The: 30 Second Candidate - Part of the PBS Democracy Project
Contains: 1) Historical Timeline - Learn the history of political commercials. Significant ads are noted and explained in the context of the times they aired. 2) Historical Timeline - Learn the history of political commercials. 3) Tricks of the Trade - How do television production methods reinforce or manipulate an ad's message? 4) Q & A -Background information about the experts interviewed for the television program. Do your own interview. 5) The TV Program - A documentary broadcast on PBS.
- The Gender Ads Project
This site is an educational resource that focuses on the ways in which gender (and related issues like sexuality, social class, race, etc.) and advertising intersect. The primary focus of this Web site is print advertising. The founder of the site is Dr. Scott A. Lukas.
- Medicine and Madison Avenue (Advertising) – Duke University Libraries
This website explores the complex relationships between modern medicine and modern advertising, or "Madison Avenue," as the latter is colloquially termed. The Medicine and Madison Avenue Project presents images and database information for approximately 600 health-related advertisements printed in newspapers and magazines. These ads illustrate the variety and evolution of marketing images from the 1910s through the 1950s
- Philip Morris USA Inc. Advertising Archive
This website contains images of content in the Philip Morris USA Inc. Advertising Archive. These images include print ads, outdoor ads, point-of-sale and direct marketing materials dating back to the early 1900s, including some materials which may not have been published or publicly displayed. This website is intended for informational, educational, and non-commercial use only.
- Stanford Research into the Impact of Tobacco Advertising
SRITA is a Stanford research group which analyzes the effects of tobacco advertising, marketing, and promotion. Participants in this interdisciplinary program include faculty and students from several Stanford School of Medicine departments as well as the departments of History and Anthropology.