- American Museum of Natural History – Science Bulletins
Browse through numerous Science Bulletins – Documentaries, Visualizations, and News.
- AMSER – Applied Math and Science Education Repository - Resources
AMSER is a portal of educational resources and services built specifically for use by those in Community and Technical Colleges but free for anyone to use.
- Bill Nye: The Science Guy: Educational Resources
Contains: Home Demos, Episode Guide, Printable One Sheet, and Solving for X.
- Darwin Online
Darwin Online is the largest and most widely consulted edition of the writings of Darwin ever published. It is probably the most extensive scholarly website devoted to any historical figure. This website contains over 219,804 pages of searchable text and 219,900 electronic images, at least one exemplar of all known Darwin publications, reproduced to the highest scholarly standards, both as searchable text and electronic images of the originals.
- Discover Education – Free Teacher Resources (Includes Math and Science)
Organized by grade level, the site offers programs and contests, interactive games, puzzles, lesson plans, videos, etc.
- Edheads – Activate your Mind!
Edheads is an online educational resource that provides free science and math games and activities that promote critical thinking. Choose from Simple Machines, Virtual Knee Surgery or Stem Cell Heart Repair, among others. All activities meet state and national standards.
- Exploratorium (Museum of Science, Art, and Human Perception - San Francisco, California) – Websites, Activities, and More
Contains: Apps, Blogs, Videos, Websites, Science Snacks (low-cost teacher-tested activities for the classroom and the curious), browse numerous topics, etc.
- Freebies for Science Teachers – NSTA (National Science Teachers Association)
The staff of NSTA Reports has collected hundreds of free resources for you.
- How Stuff Works
HowStuffWorks got its start in 1998 at a college professor's kitchen table. From there, we quickly grew into an award-winning source of unbiased, reliable, easy-to-understand answers and explanations of how the world actually works. Today, our writers, editors, podcasters and video hosts share all the things we're most excited to learn about with nearly 40 million visitors to the site each month.
- How to Smile.org: All the Best Science and Math Activities
Howtosmile.org is an online collection of math and science activities available to anyone, free of charge.
Resources in the Howtosmile.org library are available to anyone who wants high-quality, hands-on math and science activities for school-aged children or for the general public. Howtosmile.org spotlights hands-on and interactive activities, both physical and virtual, that involve doing and learning. Activities take many forms, from downloadable lesson plans to how-to videos to online interactive games. Howtosmile.org activities teach science, technology, engineering and math (STEM) and are developed by a wide range of organizations working with diverse audiences.
- Khan Academy – Science
Welcome to Khan Academy's free science resources. Watch videos, read articles, and expand your knowledge in any science topic.
- Learn & Teach: American Museum of Natural History
Programs, resources and more for educators and learners of all ages.
- Middle School Math and Science Blog - Quality resources and powerful connections for math and science in the middle grades
The Middle School Portal 2: Math and Science Pathways project is hosting this blog to help middle school math and science teachers find the best online resources on the web. These posts reflect the topics that are being searched for in the Middle School Portal 2 Education Digital Library as well as current science events.
- Science Discovery” a hands-on discovery science curriculum for Preschool and Kindergarten
- Science Experiments: Funology
Presents experiments parents can do with their kids. Includes: Biology, Physics, Chemistry, and Weather Experiments.
- Science Game Center (Federation of American Scientists)
The goal of the Science Game Center is to demonstrate to teachers, scientists, museums, and parents the myriad ways games can be used to improve education in math and science. The Science Game Center will provide a place where users can describe their experiences with math and science games, gather information on game strengths and weaknesses, and share tips on how to use games to help students reach their educational goals.
Science.gov searches over 60 databases and over 2200 selected websites from 15 federal agencies, offering 200 million pages of authoritative U.S. government science information including research and development results. Science.gov is governed by the interagency Science.gov Alliance.
- ScienceDaily: Your Source for the Latest Research News
ScienceDaily is one of the Internet’s most popular science news web sites. With over 140,000 research articles, 50,000 images and thousands of news videos -- covering science, health, technology and the environment -- there is something for everyone on ScienceDaily.
- ScienceNetLinks - American Association for the Advancement of Science
Contains: Lessons, Tools, Collections, Afterschool, and News.
- Scitable – A Collaborative Learning Space for Science
Use Scitable to: Learn about a range of scientific subjects, collaborate online with other students and teachers, publish your activities and portfolio to the worldwide science community, and maintain an evidence-based online course pack for your students.
- Smithsonian Education – Educators
Browse through lesson plans for Science and Technology, Search for Resources by grade and by subject, and Search for Resources aligned to National, Common Core, and State Standards.
- Smithsonian Education – Students
Explore by Topic i.e. Science and Nature, view IdeaLabs, Secrets of the Smithsonian, etc.
- Smithsonian Tween Tribune: A Free K-12 Resource for Teachers
Grades K-4, 5-6, 7-8, 9-12, Spanish, Tech, and Teacher
- Teacher Resource Guide on Science Topics – Teachnology
If you are working with students on science topics at any grade level or age, you will find this section invaluable. We will not only provide you with tons of printable worksheets, but you will also find great hands-on activities and lesson plans.
- Teachers Try Science
Teachers Try Science is a web site for teachers. This site provides free and engaging lessons, along with teaching strategies and resources, which are designed to spark students’ interest in science, technology, engineering and math (STEM). What’s more, the site features collaboration tools to enable teachers to discuss and share effective instructional practices.
- TEDEd: Lessons Worth Sharing – Science & Technology
There are two types of TED-Ed lessons. The first, TED-Ed’s award-winning original lessons, represent collaborations between expert educators, screenwriters and animators. Each collaboration aims to capture and amplify a great lesson idea suggested by the TED community. The second type of TED-Ed lesson can be created by any website visitor, and involves adding questions, discussion topics and other supplementary materials to any educational video on YouTube. Both types of TED-Ed lessons are used regularly – in classrooms and homes – to introduce new topics to learners in an exciting, curiosity-inspiring way.
- The National Science Digital Library
The National Science Digital Library provides high quality online educational resources for teaching and learning, with current emphasis on the sciences, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM) disciplines—both formal and informal, institutional and individual, in local, state, national, and international educational settings. NSDL does not hold content directly—instead, we provide structured descriptive information (metadata) about web-based educational resources held on other sites by their providers, who contribute this metadata to NSDL for organized search and open access to educational resources via NSDL.org and its services.
- The Why Files: The Science behind the News
The Why Files was created at the University of Wisconsin-Madison under the auspices of National Institute for Science Education with support from the National Science Foundation. It is currently funded through the University of Wisconsin-Madison. Each week, we bring you a new story on the science behind the news.
- ZOOMSci PBS – Mix hot science with your cool ideas
Covers: Chemistry | Engineering | the Five Senses | Forces | Life Science | Patterns | Sound | Structures | Water. Contains: Activities, games, printables, and a link to Parents & Teachers guide to ZOOM.