STEM Resources for Teachers
- Education Resource – USGS (U.S. Geological Survey)
Covers: Biology, Geography, Geology, Water, etc.
- Geography World
Geography World's mission is to provide links to high quality educational information relating to the study of geography and geography related topics for use by students, teachers, and the general public. Geography World previews all listed links and reviews these links on a semi-annual basis to keep content fresh and current. We encourage comments and suggestions from our visitors to improve our offerings.
- KidsGeo.com: Geography & Geology for Kid
An in-depth online geography textbook written for kids. Learn about the world around you. Geography is the study of the Earth as it exists today, focusing on the surface, the atmosphere, the oceans, as well as the distribution of plants, animals, and people. PLUS an in-depth online geology textbook written for kids. Learn about the world beneath you. Geology is the study of the Earth's surface and substructure. Geologists look at the processes that form terrain, and the processes that destroy terrain.
- Maps & Atlases – The New York Public Library Digital Collections
Contains thousands of maps, particularly of the United States.
- Maps ETC (Educational Technology Clearinghouse – Florida Center for Instructional Technology)
A collection of world and multi-continent maps, including various projections, hemispheric maps, physical and political maps, early known world maps, climate maps, relief maps, ocean current maps, population density and distribution maps, vegetation maps, and economic/resource maps.
- Teachers.net – Geography Lesson Plans
Browse through several geography lesson plans.
- The USGS (U.S. Geological Survey) Water Science School
Welcome to the U.S. Geological Survey's (USGS) Water Science School. We offer information on many aspects of water, along with pictures, data, maps, and an interactive center where you can give opinions and test your water knowledge.
- BAM! Body and Mind (CDC – Centers for Disease Control and Prevention)
BAM! Body and Mind is an online destination for kids created by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), an agency of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. Designed for kids 9-13 years old, BAM! gives them the information they need to make healthy lifestyle choices. The site focuses on topics that kids told us are important to them—such as stress and physical fitness—using kid-friendly lingo, games, quizzes, and other interactive features.
- BodyMaps (Healthline)
BodyMaps is an interactive visual search tool that allows users to explore the human body in 3-D. With easy-to-use navigation, users can search multiple layers of the human anatomy, view systems and organs down to their smallest parts, and understand in detail how the human body works.
- Curriculum supplements for K-12 science teachers (National Institutes of Health)
The NIH curriculum supplements are teacher’s guides to two weeks of lessons on the science behind selected health topics. They combine cutting-edge biomedical discoveries with state-of-the-art instructional practices.
- Edheads – Activate your Mind!
Edheads is an online educational resource that provides free science and math games and activities that promote critical thinking. Choose from Simple Machines, Virtual Knee Surgery or Stem Cell Heart Repair, among others. All activities meet state and national standards.
- GetBodySmart: An Online Exploration of Human Anatomy and Physiology
Animations, Text Narrations, and Quizzes to Help Examine and Explain the Structure and Functions of the Human Body Systems.
- Medical Animation Library – Penn Medicine
Contains: numerous medical animations organized alphabetically.
AntWeb focuses on specimen level data and images linked to specimens. In addition, contributors can submit natural history information and field images that are linked directly to taxonomic names. Distribution maps and field guides are generated automatically. All data in AntWeb are downloadable by users. AntWeb also provides specimen-level data, images, and natural history content to the Global Biodiversity Information Facility (GBIF), the Encyclopedia of Life (EOL.org), and Wikipedia.
- Bug Guide
We are an online community of naturalists who enjoy learning about and sharing our observations of insects, spiders, and other related creatures.
- Featured Creatures – Entomology & Nematology (University of Florida)
Founded in 1996, Featured Creatures provides in-depth profiles of insects, nematodes, arachnids and other organisms. The site is a cooperative venture of the University of Florida's Entomology and Nematology Department and the Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services' Division of Plant Industry.
- Insects.org – Studying the Earth’s Most Diverse Organisms
This site aims to help you really see insects for the miniature marvels they represent and to understand how intertwined our cultures have become with these alien creatures.
- Kids Zone – Spiders Index
Contains: Spider Activities, Spider facts, and Spider Photos.
- The Children’s Butterfly Site
Covers: Coloring Pages, FAQS, Life Cycle, Links, Photographs, Stories, and Teaching & Learning Tools.