STEM Resources for Teachers
- Digital Library for Earth System Education (DLESE)
DLESE is the Digital Library for Earth System Education, a free resource that supports teaching and learning about the Earth system. DLESE's development was funded by the National Science Foundation and continues to be built by a distributed community of educators, students, and scientists to support Earth system education at all levels.
- Elementary GLOBE
Elementary GLOBE is designed to introduce primary (K-4) students to the study of Earth System Science.
- Learning and Teaching about the Environment – EPA (US Environmental Protection Agency)
K-12 students and educators need access to quality homework resources, lesson plans and project ideas to learn and teach about the environment. Environmental education (EE) is a multi-disciplinary approach to learning about environmental issues that enhances knowledge, builds critical thinking skills and helps students make informed and responsible decisions.
- Paleoclimatology Data NOAA (National Centers for Environmental Information)
Paleoclimatology data are derived from natural sources such as tree rings, ice cores, corals, and ocean and lake sediments. These proxy climate data extend the archive of weather and climate information hundreds to millions of years. The data include geophysical or biological measurement time series and some reconstructed climate variables such as temperature and precipitation.
- The Globe Program: A Worldwide Science and Education Program – Do Globe
Whether it is participating in a measurement campaign, working on a learning activity, collecting data, entering data, or sharing a student research project, there are many ways to "Do GLOBE!" GLOBE Teacher’s Guide, Measurement Campaigns, For Teachers, and For Students.
- Windows to the Universe – National Earth Science Teachers Association: Teacher Resources
The Windows to the Universe website is a richly interlinked ecosystem for learning about the Earth and Space sciences for use by the general public, students, and teachers. Our goal is to build an internet site that includes a rich array of documents, including images, movies, animations, and data sets, that explore the Earth and Space sciences and the historical and cultural ties between science, exploration, and the human experience.
- Energy Kids - (U.S. Energy Information Administration)
Contains: What is Energy?, Energy Sources, Using & Saving Energy, History of Energy, Games & Activities, Energy Calculators, etc.
- Energy Kids – Teacher Guide (U.S. Energy Information Administration)
Our teacher guide provides energy lessons that use this website as a resource. The guide provides Language Arts, Math, Performing Arts, Science and Social Studies extension activities by age levels: Primary (P), Elementary (E), Intermediate (I), and Secondary (S).
- Energy.gov: Office of Energy Efficiency & Renewable Energy – Teach and Learn
WELCOME! Whether you're a K-12 teacher, a university administrator, or a student interested in starting your path toward a clean energy career, we’ve got you covered. On this page, you'll find links to student competitions, internships, training and degree programs, career planning tools, and professional development opportunities. You can also explore videos, data tools, lessons, activities, and other online resources for educators at all levels.
- TeachEngineering – Curriculum for K-12 Teachers
TeachEngineering is a searchable, web-based digital library collection populated with standards-based engineering curricula for use by K-12 teachers and engineering faculty to make applied science and math come alive through engineering design in K-12 settings. The TeachEngineering collection provides educators with *free* access to a growing curricular resource of activities, lessons, units and living labs.
- Age of Exploration - Web Links (Part of A.P. European History Topics & Web Links Page)
Contains numerous web links concerning exploration. NOTE: There is also a Primary Source Documents link to resources.
- American Journeys – Eyewitness Accounts of Early American Exploration and Settlement: A Digital Library and Learning Center
American Journeys contains more than 18,000 pages of eyewitness accounts of North American exploration, from the sagas of Vikings in Canada in AD1000 to the diaries of mountain men in the Rockies 800 years later.
- Discovering Lewis & Clark (Lewis and Clark Fort Mandan Foundation)
Overviews, the Expedition, American Nation, the Corps, Geography, Issues and Values, Journal Excerpts, Native Nations, Natural History, and Technology.
- Expeditions and Discoveries: Sponsored Exploration and Scientific Discovery in the Modern Age (Harvard University Library Open Collection Program)
The fourth in a series of online collections from Harvard University, Expeditions and Discoveries delivers maps, photographs, and published materials, as well as field notes, letters, and a unique range of manuscript materials on selected expeditions between 1626 and 1953. The collection is made possible with the generous support of the Arcadia Fund.
- Library of Congress – Discovery and Exploration Collection
This category documents the discovery and exploration with both manuscripts and published maps. Many of these maps reflect the European Age of Discoveries, dating from the late 15th century to the 17th century when Europeans were concerned primarily with determining the outline of the continents as they explored and mapped the coastal areas and the major waterways. Also included are 18th and 19th century maps documenting the exploration and mapping of the interior parts of the continents, reflecting the work of Lewis and Clark and subsequent government explorers and surveyors.
- The Explorers - The Mariners’ Museum
The stories of explorers and their quest for new trade routes, the discovery of gold, or adventure have captivated people around the world. Learn more about some of the famous and the not so famous explorers in this section.