STEM Resources for Teachers
- Actionbioscience.org – Lesson Directory
Actionbioscience.org provides original peer-edited lessons, written by science educators, to specifically accompany peer-reviewed articles on our site. Each lesson contains questions related to the article, as well as a variety of student activities that promote active learning and inquiry into current issues in the biosciences.
- Ask a Biologist (Arizona State University)
Contains: Activities, Stories, Images, and Links.
- BEN – BioSciEdNet
The BEN Portal provides access to education resources from BEN Collaborators and is managed by the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS). Over 20,601 reviewed resources covering 77 biological sciences topics are available. BEN resources can help you engage student interest, shorten lesson preparation time, provide concept updates, and develop curricula that are in line with national standards for content, use of animals and humans, and student safety.
- Dr. Saul's Biology in Motion
Welcome to BiologyInMotion! Here you will find animations, interactive activities, and cartoons designed to make learning biology a richer, more engaging experience.
- Rader's Biology4Kids
Contains: Scientific Studies, Cell Structure, Cell Function, Microorganisms, Plants, Invertebrates, Vertebrates, and Animal Systems.
- The Biology Corner
The Biology Corner is a resource site for biology and science teachers and students. It contains a variety of lessons, quizzes, labs, web quests, and information on science topics for all levels, including introductory life science and advanced placement biology. You can find lessons related to biology topics in the links listed under “topics” on the sidebar as well as specific curriculum for biology classes taught in high school.
- The Cell: an Image Library (American Society for Cell Biology)
This library is a public and easily accessible resource database of images, videos, and animations of cells, capturing a wide diversity of organisms, cell types, and cellular processes. The purpose of this database is to advance research on cellular activity, with the ultimate goal of improving human health.
- Virtual Cell Animation Collection: Molecular & Cellular Biology Learning Center
This collection has been developed to introduce students to new concepts. By walking through the still images and movie included for each topic, viewers are in control of choosing the learning style that best fits their needs.
- eBird – Polk County Florida
Lists 308 species of birds in Polk County Florida – Overview, Hotspots, and Recent Visits.
- Great Florida Birding and Wildlife Trail (GFBWT)
The Great Florida Birding and Wildlife Trail (GFBWT) is a program of the Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission, supported in part by the Florida Department of Transportation and the Fish & Wildlife Foundation of Florida.
- Rader's Chem4Kids
Contains: Matter, Atoms, Periodic Table, Elements, Reactions, and Biochemistry.
- Resources for Chemistry Education
Web links to instructional materials and other resources of interest to Chemistry teachers and course designers. The links are carefully selected to represent what this author considers to be the most useful and exemplary Web-accessible resources that others can draw upon for ideas and materials.
- The ChemCollective
The Chemistry Collective began with the IrYdium Project's Virtual Lab in 2000, which provides a flexible simulation so that instructors may use it for a great variety of student activities. The project evolved to create scenario-based learning activities designed to provide interactive, engaging materials that link chemistry concepts to the real world.
- Code Monster (Crunchzilla)
Code Monster from Crunchzilla is an interactive tutorial for kids that focuses on action. Code changes immediately yield visible results. Code Monster is a gentle and fun introduction to programming concepts. It is a first step in learning to program. It is not intended to teach all of computer science and programming.
- Computer History Museum – Teacher’s Toolkit
The Museum´s website contains a wealth of information, stories, and images relating to the history of computing. Here you will find digital versions of current and past exhibitions, biographies of industry pioneers, and a searchable database of our collections, among many other helpful resources.
- History of the Internet – Internet Society
From the early days of ARPANET to today’s mobile technologies, here we share some of the proposed histories of the Internet from various personalities and organizations.
- Hour of Code (Microsoft) Free Tutorial
The free tutorial walks students through 14 levels where they can navigate, mine, craft, and explore in the 2-D Minecraft world by plugging together blocks to complete actions and generate computer code.
- Khan Academy – Computing
Here on Khan Academy, you can learn how to code computer programs, how to design algorithms that make computers more efficient, and discover what a career in computing could look.