EBSCO Tutorials and GuidesUseful resources 1Useful Resources 2
Technology BooksCurriculum Materials Science KitsAnimals/Ecology Individual eBooksScience eBooksScience Individual eBooks
Science Current Issues/ebrary Searchable Information CentersScience - Other Electronic ResourcesInternational ResourcesCredo Reference - Science OverviewKhan Academy - Health and Medicine/ScienceScience VideosScience Links
Math eBooksMath and Computer DatabasesMathematics - Other Electronic ResourcesMath Links/Khan Academy - Computer and Math Help
Links - STEM Topics B-CLinks- STEM Topics ELinks- STEM Topics F-I
Links- STEM Topics SLinks- STEM Topics T-W
This is the "Credo Reference - Science Overview" page of the "STEM Resources - Teacher Education" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

STEM Resources - Teacher Education  

STEM Resources for Teachers
Last Updated: Aug 28, 2017 URL: http://libguides.warner.edu/STEM Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Credo Reference - Science Overview Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Credo Reference/Credo Video Collection Videos

Credo Reference

Credo Reference

Description: Credo Reference is a general reference resource with full-text, aggregated content covering every major subject from the world's best publishers of reference.

NOTE: See more Science topics from Credo Reference in the Science Research LibGuide

Credo Logo

Credo Reference - Reference Books

  • Encyclopedia of Dinosaurs
    The most authoritative encyclopedia ever prepared on dinosaurs and dinosaur science. In addition to entries on specific animals such as Tyrannosaurus, Triceratops, and Velociraptor, the Encyclopedia of Dinosaurs covers reproduction, behavior, physiology, and extinction.
  • Encyclopedia of Energy
    Draws together all aspects of energy, covering a wealth of areas throughout the natural, social and engineering sciences, providing easily accessible information about all aspects of energy, written by leading international authorities.
  • Encyclopedia of Insects
    Covers all aspects of insect anatomy, physiology, evolution, behavior, reproduction, ecology, and disease, as well as issues of exploitation, conservation, and management, this book sets the standard in entomology.
  • Encyclopedia of Volcanoes
    A comprehensive reference work about volcanoes and volcanic processes.
  • The Encyclopedia of Tourism and Recreation in Marine Environments
    Combining the disciplines of marine scientists and tourism researchers, this encyclopedia will bring together the terms, concepts and theories related to recreational and tourism activities in marine settings.

Science

The following are restricted to current Warner University students, faculty, and staff.

Log-in: Warner email account.

  • Animals Topic Page
    Taxonomically, animals belong to the kingdom Animalia, which is one of several kingdoms of living beings.
  • Earth: Topic Page
    The third planet from the Sun, having the following characteristics: mass 5·97 × 1024kg; orbital period 365·26 days; radius (equatorial) 6378 km/3963 mi; obliquity 23°27′; mean density 5·52 g/cm3; orbital eccentricity 0·017; equatorial gravity 978 cm/s2; mean distance from the Sun 149·6 × 106 km/93 × 106 mi; rotational period 23 h 56 min 4 s. It has one large natural satellite, the Moon.
  • Ecology Topic Page
    Ecology is possibly one of the most ancient disciplines. Its evolution has been gradual, and it will continue to evolve with humankind's ability to comprehend and understand his own surroundings and the interaction of its components. Rooted in the Greek word oikos, which means home, the subject shares its origin with the study of economics. The term ecology is fairly recent, coined by German biologist Ernst Haeckel in 1869. It is pertinent for students of ecology to deeply appreciate its fundamental principles, subdivisions, constraints, and challenges and some of the recent breakthroughs ecologists have made in advancing the subject.
  • Environment Topic Page
    In ecology, the sum of conditions affecting a particular organism, including physical surroundings, climate, and influences of other living organisms. Areas affected by environmental issues include the biosphere and habitat. In biology, the environment includes everything outside body cells and fluid surrounding the cells. This means that materials enclosed by part of the body surface that is ‘folded in’ are, in fact, part of the environment and not part of the organism. So the air spaces in human lungs and the contents of the stomach are all part of the environment and not the organism, using these terms correctly. Ecology is the study of the way organisms and their environment interact with each other. Important processes in biology involve the transfer of material between an organism and its environment in exchanges of gases and food, for example during nutrition, photosynthesis, or respiration
  • Food Chain: Topic Page
    In ecology, a sequence showing the feeding relationships between organisms in a habitat or ecosystem. It shows who eats whom. An organism in one food chain can belong to other food chains. This can be shown in a diagram called a food web.
  • Nature Topic Page
    Nature is notoriously difficult to define. In his touchstone definition in his anthology Keywords, the social critic Williams (1983) says that it is both perhaps the most complex word in the language and that any full history of the uses of nature would be a history of a large part of human thought.
  • Plant: Topic Page
    Plant, any organism of the plant kingdom, as opposed to one of the animal kingdom or of the kingdoms Fungi, Protista, or Monera in the five-kingdom system of classification. (A more recent system, suggested by genetic sequencing studies, places plants with animals and some other forms in an overarching group, the eukarya, to distinguish them from the prokaryotic bacteria and archaea, or ancient bacteria.) A plant may be microscopic in size and simple in structure, as are certain one-celled algae, or a gigantic, many-celled complex system, such as a tree.
  • Science Topic Page
    The English word science derives from the Latin scire, “to know.” In many languages, the word science or its equivalents can be used broadly to mean “a systematic body of knowledge that guides our relations with the world.”
  • Soil: Topic Page
    Soil, surface layer of the earth, composed of fine rock material disintegrated by geological processes; and humus, the organic remains of decomposed vegetation. In agriculture, soil is the medium that supports crop plants, both physically and biologically. Soil may be from a few inches to several feet thick.
  • Water: Topic Page
    Chemical compound of hydrogen and oxygen elements – H2O. It can exist as a solid (ice), liquid (water), or gas (water vapour). Water is the most common compound on Earth and vital to all living organisms. It covers 70% of the Earth's surface, and provides a habitat for large numbers of aquatic organisms. It is the largest constituent of all living organisms – the human body consists of about 65% water. It is found in all cells and many chemicals involved in processes such as respiration and photosynthesis need to be in solution in water in order to react.
  • Weather : Topic Page
    Weather, state of the atmosphere at a given time and place with regard to temperature, air pressure (see barometer), wind, humidity, cloudiness, and precipitation. The term weather is restricted to conditions over short periods of time; conditions over long periods, generally at least 30-50 years, are referred to as climate.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip