EBSCO Tutorials and GuidesUseful resources 1Useful Resources 2
Agriculture DatabasesAgriculture Videos/Birds of North AmericaHot Topics and Britannica Image QuestOther Electronic ResourcesInternational Resources - Google Scholar/Writing ResourcesLinksPalmm Digital Collections
eBooksDatabasesCredo ReferenceBiology ABiology B and CAnatomy & PhysiologyBiochemistryEcology & BiodiversityScientists AScientists BZoologyGoogle Scholar/Writing ResourcesUseful Links - Biology and Plant LinksKhan Academy - Biology
eBooksDatabasesCredo ReferenceGoogle Scholar/Writing ResourcesUseful links - ChemistryKhan Academy - Chemisty/Organic Chemistry
More Ecology BookseBooksDatabases - EcologyOther Electronic ResourcesConcepts - Credo ReferenceHabitatsNatural PhenomenaThreats to the EnvironmentMovements and EnvironmentalistsGoogle Scholar/Writing ResourcesUseful links - Ecology LinksUseful Links - Weather Links
More Animals BookseBooksDatabases - AnimalsOther Electronic ResourcesCredo Reference/Google Scholar/Writing ResourcesHabitatsUseful links - Animals, etc. (Birds) Links
ebray Academic eBooks Searchable Information CentersIndividual eBooksIndividual eBooks: Agriculture/AnimalsFlorida Agriculture/Chidlren's: Agiculture/Food
eBooksIndividual eBooksScience Current Issues/ebrary Searchable Information CentersDatabasesScience - Other Electronic ResourcesGoogle Scholar/International/Writing ResourcesCredo Reference - Science OverviewKhan Academy - Health and Medicine/ScienceScience LinksScience Videos
This is the "Individual eBooks: Agriculture/Animals" page of the "Agricultural Research" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Agricultural Research  

Last Updated: Sep 19, 2017 URL: http://libguides.warner.edu/agriculture3 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Individual eBooks: Agriculture/Animals Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Agriculture

Cover Art
A New Era for Irrigation - National Research Council Staff; Future of Irrigation in the Face of Competing Demands Committee; Geosciences, Environment, and Resource Commission; Division on Earth and Life Studies Staff
ISBN: 9780309053310
Publication Date: 1996-11-21
Irrigated agriculture has played a critical role in the economic and social development of the United States--but it is also at the root of increasing controversy. How can irrigation best make the transition into an era of increasing water scarcity? In A New Era for Irrigation, experts draw important conclusions about whether irrigation can continue to be the nation's most significant water user, what role the federal government should play, and what the irrigation industry must do to adapt to the conditions of the future. A New Era for Irrigation provides data, examples, and insightful commentary on issues such as Growing competition for water resources. Developments in technology and science. The role of federal subsidies for crops and water. Uncertainties related to American Indian water rights issues. Concern about environmental problems. And more. The committee identifies broad forces of change and reports on how public and private institutions, scientists and technology experts, and individual irrigators have responded. The report includes detailed case studies from the Great Plains, the Pacific Northwest, California, and Florida, in both the agricultural and turfgrass sectors. The cultural transformation brought about by irrigation may be as profound as the transformation of the landscape. The committee examines major facets of this cultural perspective and explores its place in the future. A New Era for Irrigation explains how irrigation emerged in the nineteenth century, how it met the nation's goals in the twentieth century, and what role it might play in the twenty-first century. It will be important to growers, policymakers, regulators, environmentalists, water and soil scientists, water rights claimants, and interested individuals.

Cover Art
Agricultural Production - O. M. Akinyemi
ISBN: 9781578085125
Publication Date: 2007-01-07
This book examines production efficiency and economic benefits of agricultural production systems, comparing both organic and conventional systems. Diseases and pest outbreaks are looked into with a view of recommending the appropriate methods of control. Definition of land and its uses are discussed. Factors affecting soil formation and methods of replenishing lost nutrients are enumerated in an attempt to educate students and farmers on the modern techniques of retaining soil nutrients without environmental destruction. Experiments conducted on soil to investigate the effects and factors affecting nutrients mineralization have been described. Descriptions of forest trees have been given to explain their roles in economic expansion. Methods of planting, rules and regulations implemented by communities, states and countries are also discussed. This book critically reviews the effects of agricultural chemicals on soil organisms and other agricultural practices.

Cover Art
Agricultural Research Updates - Prathamesh Gorawala; Srushti Mandhatri
ISBN: 9781634823586
Publication Date: 2015-01-01
This compilation examines agricultural research from across the globe and covers a broad spectrum of related topics. In this book, the authors discuss research including the efficacy of growing and consuming locally grown produce in New England (USA) and New Zealand; significance of seed and root crop properties in organic farming; diagnostic methods for seed-transmitted viruses; remotely sensed detection and monitoring of crop diseases; rice tolerance to the impact of high temperatures; enzyme activity variability in soils under medicinal and food-crop plants; and determining the efficient relations between climatic factors and cotton flower and boll production behaviours.


Cover Art
America's Founding Fruit: The Cranberry in a New Environment. - Susan Playfair
ISBN: 9781611686333
Publication Date: 2014-10-07
The cranberry, Vaccinium macrocarpon, is one of only three cultivated fruits native to North America. The story of this perennial vine began as the glaciers retreated about fifteen thousand years ago. Centuries later, it kept Native Americans and Pilgrims alive through the winter months, played a role in a diplomatic gesture to King Charles in 1677, protected sailors on board whaling ships from scurvy, fed General Grant’s men in 1864, and provided over a million pounds of sustenance per year to our World War II doughboys. Today, it is a powerful tool in the fight against various forms of cancer. This is America’s superfruit. This book poses the question of how the cranberry, and by inference other fruits, will fare in a warming climate. In her attempt to evaluate the effects of climate change, Susan Playfair interviewed growers from Massachusetts west to Oregon and from New Jersey north to Wisconsin, the cranberry’s temperature tolerance range. She also spoke with scientists studying the health benefits of cranberries, plant geneticists mapping the cranberry genome, a plant biologist who provided her with the first regression analysis of cranberry flowering times, and a migrant beekeeper trying to figure out why the bees are dying. Taking a broader view than the other books on cranberries, America’s Founding Fruit presents a brief history of cranberry cultivation and its role in our national history, leads the reader through the entire cultivation process from planting through distribution, and assesses the possible effects of climate change on the cranberry and other plants and animals. Could the American cranberry cease growing in the United States? If so, what would be lost?

Cover Art
Land, Credit and Crisis : Agrarian Finance in the Hebrew Bible - Philippe Guillaume
ISBN: 9781844658756
Publication Date: 2012-01-01
Land, Credit and Crisis presents a new understanding of the financial culture of the Bible. Biblical Palestine was characterized by an over-abundance of arable land combined with a chronic lack of manpower and agricultural credit - circumstances which lead to much prophetic fulminating against merchants and the rich. The book reveals how the financial instruments and institutions of the time reflected a tough economic realism and argues that the image of the biblical prophet as a champion of social justice must be revised.

Cover Art
Biofuel Crop Sustainability - Bharat Singh (Editor)
ISBN: 9780470963043
Publication Date: 2013-08-05
Biofuel Crop Sustainability brings together the basic principles of agricultural sustainability and special stipulations for biofuels, from the economic and ecological opportunities and challenges of sustainable biofuel crop production to the unique characteristics of particular crops which make them ideal for biofuel applications. This book will be a valuable resource for researchers and professionals involved in biofuels development and production as well as agriculture industry personnel. Chapters focus the broad principles of resource management for ecological, environmental and societal welfare, the sustainability issues pertaining to several broad categories of biofuel crops , as well as the economics and profitability of biofuels on both a local and international scale. Coverage includes topics such as utilizing waste water for field crop irrigation and algae production, reliability of feedstock supply, marginal lands, and identifying crops with traits of significance for survival and growth on low fertility soils. The development of production practices with low external inputs of fertilizer, irrigation, and pesticides is also covered. Biofuel Crop Sustainability will be a valuable, up-to-date reference for all those involved in the rapidly expanding biofuels industry and sustainable agriculture research fields.

Cover Art
Biological Controls for Preventing Food Deterioration: Strategies for Pre- and Postharvest Management (1) - Neeta Sharma (Editor)
ISBN: 9781118533048
Publication Date: 2014-07-02
Various biotic factors cause diseases in crops, which result in food losses. Historically pesticide development has been instructive to us in terms of the benefits derived as well as the hazards that accompany their indiscriminate use. The application of fertilizers and pesticides to crops has become a norm in agricultural production, but this has led to resurgence in pests as they have developed resistance to such chemicals. Biological control of plant pests and pathogens is part of the solution to this problem. This is an area that continues to inspire research and development. It is also the foundation on which sustainable, non-polluting pest control for tomorrow's farms must be built. Biological Controls for Preventing FoodDeterioration provides readers with options of non-chemical, eco-friendly, environmentally safe natural alternatives to prevent food from spoilage at pre- and postharvest stages. It covers the principles behind these techniques and their implementation. By integrating theory and practice, this book discusses the potential and associated problems in the development of non-chemical alternatives to protect food and addresses the common hurdles that need to be overcome to enable commercialization and registration of natural products for combating diseases. Focussing on plant foods, this timely book is unique in scope as it offers an international perspective on food deterioration caused by bacterial, fungal, viral, and mycotoxin contamination. It brings together highly respected scientists from differingyet complementary disciplines in one unified work that is important reading for food safety professionals, researchers and students.

Cover Art
Bringing It to the Table: On Farming and Food - Wendell Berry; Michael Pollan (Introduction by)
ISBN: 9781582435435
Publication Date: 2009-08-18
Only a farmer could delve so deeply into the origins of food, and only a writer of Wendell Berry’s caliber could convey it with such conviction and eloquence. Long before Whole Foods organic produce was available at your local supermarket, Berry was farming with the purity of food in mind. For the last five decades, Berry has embodied mindful eating through his land practices and his writing. In recognition of that influence, Michael Pollan here offers an introduction to this wonderfulcollection. Drawn from over thirty years of work, this collection joins bestsellersThe Omnivore’s Dilemma, by Pollan, andAnimal, Vegetable, Miracle, by Barbara Kingsolver, as essential reading for anyone who cares about what they eat. The essays address such concerns as: How does organic measure up against locally grown? What are the differences between small and large farms, and how does that affect what you put on your dinner table? What can you do to support sustainable agriculture? A progenitor of the Slow Food movement, Wendell Berry reminds us all to take the time to understand the basics of what we ingest. "Eating is an agriculture act,” he writes. Indeed, we are all players in the food economy.

Cover Art
Cellulosic Energy Cropping Systems - Douglas L. Karlen
ISBN: 9781118676332
Publication Date: 2014-03-06
Cellulosic Energy Cropping Systems presents a comprehensive overview of how cellulosic energy crops can be sustainably produced and converted to affordable energy through liquid fuels, heat and electricity.

Cover Art
Chasing the Red Queen: The Evolutionary Race Between Agricultural Pests and Poisons. - Andy Dyer
ISBN: 9781610915182
Publication Date: 2014-12-18
In the race to feed the world's seven billion people, we are at a standstill. Over the past century, we have developed increasingly potent and sophisticated pesticides, yet in 2014, the average percentage of U.S. crops lost to agricultural pests was no less than in 1944. To use a metaphor the field of evolutionary biology borrowed from Alice in Wonderland, farmers must run ever faster to stay in the same place--i.e., produce the same yields. With Chasing the Red Queen, Andy Dyer offers the first book to apply the Red Queen Hypothesis to agriculture. He illustrates that when selection pressure increases, species evolve in response, creating a never-ending, perpetually-escalating competition between predator (us) and prey (bugs and weeds). The result is farmers are caught in a vicious cycle of chemical dependence, stuck using increasingly dangerous and expensive toxics to beat back progressively resistant pests. To break the cycle, we must learn the science behind it. Dyer examines one of the world's most pressing problems as a biological case study. He presents key concepts, from Darwin's principles of natural selection to genetic variation and adaptive phenotypes. Understanding the fundamentals of ecology and biology is the first step to "playing the Red Queen," and escaping her unwinnable race. The book's novel frame will help students, researchers, and policy-makers alike apply that knowledge to the critical task of achieving food security.

Cover Art
Cheese and Microbes - Catherine Donnelly
ISBN: 9781555815868
Publication Date: 2014-04-30
A scientific overview of the association of microbes with cheese, through the lens of select cheese varieties that result due to surface mold ripening, internal mold ripening, rind washing, cave aging, or surface smear rind development. Over the past decade, there has been explosive growth in the U.S. artisan cheese industry. The editor, Ms. Donnelly, was involved in developing a comprehensive education curriculum for those new to cheese making, which focused on the science of cheese, principally to promote cheese quality and safety. Many of the chapters in this book focus on aspects of that requisite knowledge. Explains the process of transformation of milk to cheese and how sensory attributes of cheese are evaluated. Provides an overview of cheese safety and regulations governing cheese making, both in the US and abroad, to ensure safety. Explores how the tools of molecular biology provide new insights into the complexity of the microbial biodiversity of cheeses. Examines the biodiversity of traditional cheeses as a result of traditional practices, and overviews research on the stability of the microbial consortium of select traditional cheese varieties. Key text for cheese makers, scientists, students, and cheese enthusiasts who wish to expand their knowledge of cheeses and traditional foods.

Cover Art
Climate Change and Plant Abiotic Stress Tolerance - Narendra Tuteja (Editor); Sarvajeet S. Gill (Editor)
ISBN: 9783527334919
Publication Date: 2014-02-17
In this ready reference, a global team of experts comprehensively cover molecular and cell biology-based approaches to the impact of increasing global temperatures on crop productivity. The work is divided into four parts. Following an introduction to the general challenges for agriculture around the globe due to climate change, part two discusses how the resulting increase of abiotic stress factors can be dealt with. The third part then outlines the different strategies and approaches to address the challenge of climate change, and the whole is rounded off by a number of specific examples of improvements to crop productivity. With its forward-looking focus on solutions, this book is an indispensable help for the agro-industry, policy makers and academia.

Cover Art
Collards: A Southern Tradition From Seed to Table. - Edward H. Davis; John T. Morgan
ISBN: 9780817318345
Publication Date: 2015-03-30
Food is essential to southern culture, and collard greens play a central role in the South’s culinary traditions. A feast to the famished, a reward to the strong, and a comfort to the weary, collards have long been held dear in the food-loving southern heart. In Collards: A Southern Tradition from Seed to Table, Edward H. Davis and John T. Morgan provide this emblematic and beloved vegetable the full-length survey its fascinating and complex history merits.   The book begins with collards’ obscure origins. Like a good detective story, the search for collards’ home country leads the authors both to Europe and West Africa, where they unravel a tale as surprising and complex as that of southern people themselves. Crossing back over the Atlantic, the authors traverse miles of American back roads, from Arkansas to Florida and from Virginia to Louisiana. They vividly recount visits to homes, gardens, grocers, farms, and restaurants where the many varieties of collards are honored, from the familiar green collards to the yellow cabbage collard and rare purple cultivars.   In uncovering the secrets of growing collards, the authors locate prize-winning patches of the plant, interview "seed savers,” and provide useful tips for kitchen gardeners. They also describe how collards made the leap from kitchen garden staple to highly valued commercial crop.   Collards captures the tastes, smells, and prize-winning recipes from the South’s premier collards festivals. They find collards at the homes of farmers, jazz musicians, governors, and steel workers. Kin to cabbage and broccoli but superior to both in nutritional value, collard greens transcend human divisions of black and white, rich and poor, sophisticated and rustic, and urban and rural.   Food trends may come and go, but collards are a tradition that southerners return to again and again. Richly illustrated in color, Collards demonstrates the abiding centrality of this green leafy vegetable to the foodways of the American South. In it, readers will rediscover an old friend.

Cover Art
Consulting the Genius of the Place: An Ecological Approach to a New Agriculture. - Wes Jackson
ISBN: 9781582437804
Publication Date: 2011-10-04
Locavore leaders such as Alice Waters, Michael Pollan, and Barbara Kingsolver all speak of the need for sweeping changes in how we get our food. A longtime leader of this movement is Wes Jackson, who for decades has taken it upon himself to speak for the land, to speak for the soil itself. Here, he offers a manifesto toward a conceptual revolution: Jackson asks us to look to natural ecosystems--or, if one prefers, nature in general--as the measure against which we judge all of our agricultural practices. Jackson believes the time is right to do away with annual monoculture grains, which are vulnerable to national security threats and are partly responsible for the explosion in our healthcare costs. Soil erosion and the poisons polluting our water and air--all associated with agriculture from its beginnings--foretell a population with its natural fertility greatly destroyed. In this eloquent and timely volume, Jackson argues we must look to nature itself to lead us out of the mess we’ve made. The natural ecosystems will tell us, if we listen, what should happen to the future of food.

Cover Art
Cultivating Reality: How the Soil Might Save Us. - Ragan Sutterfield
ISBN: 9781597526562
Publication Date: 2013-04-02
We are, at our base, humus-beings. Our lives are dependent upon the soil and we flourish when we live in this reality. Unfortunately, we have been a part of a centuries-long push to build a new tower of Babel--an attempt to escape our basic dependence on the dirt. This escape has resulted in ecological disaster, unhealthy bodies, and broken communities. In answer to this denial, a habit of mind formed from working close with the soil offers us a way of thinking and seeing that enables us to see the world as it really is. This way of thinking is called agrarianism. In Cultivating Reality, Ragan Sutterfield guides us through the agrarian habit of mind and shows Christians how a theological return to the soil will enliven us again to the joys of creatureliness.

Cover Art
Entrepreneurship in Farming - Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations; David Kahane
ISBN: 9789251075470
Publication Date: 2013-09-23
The purpose of this guide is to provide a better understanding of the concept and practice of entrepreneurship. This guide has been prepared for people who want to start a farm business for the first time and for farmers that want to make changes to their farming systems by introducing high value enterprises directed to the market. This guide can also help extension workers be better able to help farmers develop the skills and spirit of an entrepreneur. Is it part of a series of booklets on farm business management designated to help extension workers support farmers.

Cover Art
Farm Fresh North Carolina: The Go-To Guide to Great Farmers' Markets, Farm Stands, Farms, Apple Orchards, U-Picks, Kids' Activities, Lodging, Dining, Choose-and-Cut Christmas Trees, Vineyards and Wineries, and More (1) - Diane Daniel
ISBN: 9780807871829
Publication Date: 2011-03-07
In the first statewide guidebook of its kind, Farm Fresh North Carolina takes readers on a lively tour of more than 425 farms, produce stands, farmers' markets, wineries, children-friendly pumpkin patches and corn mazes, pick-your-own orchards, restaurants, bed and breakfasts, agricultural festivals, and more, all open to the public and personally vetted by travel writer Diane Daniel. Daniel's animated, knowledgeable recommendations will give food lovers, families, locals, and travelers the inspiration and resources they need to cut a fresh Christmas tree, pick a peck of apples, take a fall hay ride, sample wine from locally harvested grapes, or spend the night on a working farm. Sidebars offer information about the state's agricultural history, politics, and eccentricities, while twenty recipes gathered from North Carolina farmers, innkeepers, and chefs provide delicious ways to use the day's pickings. Emphasizing farms and establishments that are independent, sustainable, and active in public education and conservation, this delightful guidebook will help North Carolinians and visitors discover how the burgeoning farm movement has become a bridge between North Carolina's past and present. The publication of this book was supported by a grant from the Golden LEAF Foundation. Southern Gateways Guide is a registered trademark of the University of North Carolina Press

Cover Art
Farming and Farmland in the United Statesz: Changes and Trends. - Calvin Iglehart (Editor); Grant J. Zsofka (Editor)
ISBN: 9781622579075
Publication Date: 2013-01-01
This book examines the changes and trends in farming and farmland in the United States. Innovations in farm organisation, business arrangements, and production practices have allowed farmers to produce more with less. Fewer labour hours and less land are used today than 30 years ago, and practices such as the use of genetically engineered seeds and no-till have dampened increases in machinery, fuel, and pesticide use. Likely aided by the increased use of risk management tools such as contracts and crop insurance, U.S. agricultural productivity has increased by nearly 50 percent since 1982. Future innovations will be necessary to maintain, or boost, current productivity gains in order to meet the growing global demands that will be placed upon U.S. agriculture.

Cover Art
Fertilizers: Components, Uses in Agriculture and Environmental Impacts. - Fernando López-Valdez; Fabián Fernández-Luqueño
ISBN: 9781633210516
Publication Date: 2014-01-01
This book describes many important principles of fertilizer management and the environmental pollution problems due to the indiscriminate soil fertilization rate. The long-term impacts of organic or mineral fertilizer use have implications on soil fertility, crop yields, water quality, climatic change, greenhouse gas emissions, etc. Twelve chapters provide the state of the art of some important topics on subsistence agriculture, modern agronomy, and technological improvements which have sharply increased yields from cultivation, with a special emphasis on the sustainable management and environmental impact of commercial and nontraditional fertilizers. Without a doubt, this book is a valuable contribution to the agricultural sciences and it would not have been possible without the invaluable contributions, immeasurable acknowledgements, and recognized expertise from the authors.

Cover Art
Food Production and Eating Habits from Around the World - Francisco Entrena-Duran
ISBN: 9781634824965
Publication Date: 2015-01-01
This book brings together a selection of studies written by specialists from universities and/or research institutions from every continent. The processes of change in systems of production, commercialisation, and consumption of food, as well as the problems and nutritional habits analysed here, develop within the framework of the technological and socio-productive transformations experienced in many parts of the world as a consequence of the transition from traditional rural societies to the predominantly urban and industrial societies of our time. Many of these societies are affected by the fluctuations, questions, or socio-economic uncertainties caused principally by what is named globalisation. The authors involved in this volume are from a variety of backgrounds and their theoretical-analytical focuses regarding eating habits are quite diverse. However, independent of their different perspectives and scientific disciplines (Anthropology, Communication, Economy, Marketing, Medicine, Nursing, Psychology and Sociology), all of these authors are united in their concerns regarding similar food processes and problems, such as the industrialisation of food production, junk food, fast food, eating disorders, overeating, obesity, the impacts of ideal body images on eating behaviours, lifestyles and feeding, anorexia, bulimia, organic foods, healthy foods, functional foods, and so on. Moreover, in a time shaped by a worldwide standardisation of eating habits, the search for identity, specificity, or distinction through the acquisition and consumption of foods is commonplace in many chapters of the book. Likewise, these chapters show a generalised interest on the negative effects of the advertising and communications media that often drive patterns of food consumption and provoke desires for ideals of beauty and body forms prejudicial to health. As the editor states in the preface, all this occurs in an ever more modernised and globalised world in which artificial procedures of the production of industrial foods that are quite opaque to the general public become increasingly widespread. In such a world, while people's concerns over the healthiness of foods increase, we are witnessing a non-stop expansion of markets for organic food, as well as the repeated manipulation of growing consumers' preferences for certain foodstuffs that they believe are healthy or have specific natural qualities. This manipulation frequently takes place through a variety of advertisements that announce a series of industrial foods as supposedly possessing these qualities. Obviously, a priority objective of these and other advertising strategies is to increase sales in the agro-alimentary sector in a context of obvious over-production and over-supply, which in turn is translated into the stimulation of food consumption. This would help explain such developments in the current consumer society, which is explored in further detail in many chapters of this book.

Cover Art
Food, Farms, and Community : Exploring Food Systems. - Lisa Chase; Vern Grubinger
ISBN: 9781611684216
Publication Date: 2014-12-02
Throughout the United States, people are increasingly concerned about where their food comes from, how it is produced, and how its production affects individuals and their communities. The answers to these questions reveal a complex web of interactions. While large, distant farms and multinational companies dominate at national and global levels, innovative programs including farmers’ markets, farm-to-school initiatives, and agritourism are forging stronger connections between people and food at local and regional levels. At all levels of the food system, energy use, climate change, food safety, and the maintenance of farmland for the future are critical considerations. The need to understand food systems—what they are, who’s involved, and how they work (or don’t)—has never been greater. Food, Farms, and Community: Exploring Food Systems takes an in-depth look at critical issues, successful programs, and challenges for improving food systems spanning a few miles to a few thousand miles. Case studies that delve into the values that drive farmers, food advocates, and food entrepreneurs are interwoven with analysis supported by the latest research. Examples of entrepreneurial farms and organizations working together to build sustainable food systems are relevant to the entire country—and reveal results that are about much more than fresh food.

Cover Art
Food, Health, and the Environment : Organic Struggle: The Movement for Sustainable Agriculture in the United States - Brian K. Obach
ISBN: 9780262328302
Publication Date: 2015-05-15
In the early 1970s, organic farming was an obscure agricultural practice, associated with the counterculture rather than commerce. Today, organic agriculture is a multi-billion dollar industry; organic food can be found on the shelves of every supermarket in America. In Organic Struggle, Brian Obach examines the evolution of the organic movement in the United States, a movement that seeks to transform our system of agriculture and how we think about food. Obach analyzes why the organic movement developed as it did and evaluates its achievements and shortcomings. He identifies how divergent interests within the diverse organic coalition created vulnerabilities for the movement. In particular, he examines the ideological divide between those he calls the "spreaders," who welcome the wider market for organic food and want to work with both government and agribusiness, and the more purist "tillers," who see organic practices as part of a broader social transformation that will take place outside existing institutions. Obach argues that the movement's changing relationship with governmental institutions is crucial to understanding the trajectory of the organic sector. The government-run National Organic Program fostered dramatic growth and deep corporate penetration of the organic market. While many activists were disillusioned by changes in the organic industry that came with corporate and government involvement, Obach sees a failure in the essential market- based strategy adopted by the movement early in its history. He argues for a refocus on policy efforts that can reshape the agricultural system as a whole.

Cover Art
From the Farm to the Table: What All Americans Need to Know About Agriculture. - Gary Holthaus
ISBN: 9780813124193
Publication Date: 2007-01-05
As with other areas of human industry, it has been assumed that technological progress would improve all aspects of agriculture. Technology would increase both efficiency and yield, or so we thought. The directions taken by technology may have worked for a while, but the same technologies that give us an advantage also create disadvantages. It's now a common story in rural America: pesticides, fertilizers, "big iron" combines, and other costly advancements may increase speed but also reduce efficiency, while farmers endure debt, dangerous working conditions, and long hours to pay for the technology. Land, livelihood, and lives are lost in an effort to keep up and break even. There is more to this story that affects both the food we eat and our provisions for the future. Too many Americans eat the food on their plates with little thought to its origin and in blind faith that government regulations will protect them from danger. While many Americans might have grown up in farming families, there are fewer family-owned farms with each passing generation. Americans are becoming disconnected from understanding the sources and content of their food. The farmers interviewed in From the Farm to the Table can help reestablish that connection. Gary Holthaus illuminates the state of American agriculture today, particularly the impact of globalization, through the stories of farmers who balance traditional practices with innovative methods to meet market demands. Holthaus demonstrates how the vitality of America's communities is bound to the successes and failures of its farmers. In From the Farm to the Table, farmers explain how their lives and communities have changed as they work to create healthy soil, healthy animals, and healthy food in a context of often inappropriate federal policy, growing competition from abroad, public misconceptions regarding government subsidies, the dangers of environmental damage and genetically modified crops, and the myths of modern economics. Rather than predicting doom and despair for small American growers, Holthaus shows their hope and the practical solutions they utilize. As these farmers tell their stories, "organic" and "sustainable" farming become real and meaningful. As they share their work and their lives, they reveal how those concepts affect the food we eat and the land on which it's grown, and how vital farming is to the American economy.

Cover Art
Heartland Foodways : Midwest Maize : How Corn Shaped the U.S. Heartland - Cynthia Clampitt
ISBN: 9780252096877
Publication Date: 2015-02-01
Food historian Cynthia Clampitt pens the epic story of what happened when Mesoamerican farmers bred a nondescript grass into a staff of life so prolific, so protean, that it represents nothing less than one of humankind's greatest achievements. Blending history with expert reportage, she traces the disparate threads that have woven corn into the fabric of our diet, politics, economy, science, and cuisine. At the same time she explores its future as a source of energy and the foundation of seemingly limitless green technologies. The result is a bourbon-to-biofuels portrait of the astonishing plant that sustains the world.

Cover Art
Imagining Sustainable Food Systems: Theory and Practice - Alison Blay-Palmer (Editor)
ISBN: 9780754678168
Publication Date: 2010-10-15
What defines a sustainable food system? How can it be more inclusive? How do local and global scales interact and how does power flow within food systems? How to encourage an interdisciplinary approach to realizing sustainable food systems? And how to activate change? These questions are considered by EU and North American academics and practitioners in this book. Using a wide range of case studies, it provides a critical overview, showing how and where theory and practice can converge to produce more sustainable food systems.

Cover Art
Improving Water and Nutrient-Use Efficiency in Food Production Systems - Zed Rengel (Editor)
ISBN: 9780813819891
Publication Date: 2013-04-01
Improving Water and Nutrient Use Efficiency in Food Production Systems provides professionals, students, and policy makers with an in-depth view of various aspects of water and nutrient us in crop production. The book covers topics related to global economic, political, and social issues related to food production and distribution, describes various strategies and mechanisms that increase water and nutrient use efficiency, and review te curren situation and potential improvements in major food-producing systems on each continent. The book also deals with problems experienced by developed countries separtaely from problems facing developing countries. Improving Water and Nutrient Use Efficiency emphasizes judicious water and nutrient management which is aimed at maximising water and nutrient utilisation in the agricultural landscape, and minimising undesirable nutrient losses to the environment.

Cover Art
Market Oriented Farming : An Overview. - Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations
ISBN: 9789251075395
Publication Date: 2013-09-23
This book is intended to help extension workers provide support to farmers in dealing with the new challenges that arise from market-oriented farming. The aim is to contribute to building their capacity and skills in farm management and through them, the capacity and skills of the farmers with whom they work. The intention is to help farmers understand why they make the choices they make and how they can improve their decision-making skills.

Cover Art
Molecular Mechanisms in Plant Adaptation - Roosa Laitinen
ISBN: 9781118860496
Publication Date: 2015-04-20
Plants are forced to adapt for a variety of reasons-- protection, reproductive viability, and environmental and climatic changes. Computational tools and molecular advances have provided researchers with significant new insights into the molecular basis of plant adaptation. Molecular Mechanisms in Plant Adaptation provides a comprehensive overview of a wide variety of these different mechanisms underlying adaptation to these challenges to plant survival. Molecular Mechanisms in Plant Adaptation opens with a chapter that explores the latest technological advances used in plant adaptation research, providing readers with an overview of high-throughput technologies and their applications. The chapters that follow cover the latest developments on using natural variation to dissect genetic, epigenetic and metabolic responses of plant adaptation. Subsequent chapters describe plant responses to biotic and abiotic stressors and adaptive reproductive strategies. Emerging topics such as secondary metabolism, small RNA mediated regulation as well as cell type specific responses to stresses are given special precedence. The book ends with chapters introducing computational approaches to study adaptation and focusing on how to apply laboratory findings to field studies and breeding programs. Molecular Mechanisms in Plant Adaptation interest plant molecular biologists and physiologists, plant stress biologists, plant geneticists and advanced plant biology students.

Cover Art
Organic Crop Breeding - Edith T. Lammerts van Bueren; James R. Myers (Editor)
ISBN: 9780470958582
Publication Date: 2012-02-28
Organic Crop Breeding provides readers with a thorough review of the latest efforts by crop breeders and geneticists to develop improved varieties for organic production. The book opens with chapters looking at breeding efforts that focus on specific valuable traits such as quality, pest and disease resistance as well as the impacts improved breeding efforts can have on organic production. The second part of the book is a series of crop specific case studies that look at breeding efforts currently underway from around the world in crops ranging from carrots to corn. Organic Crop Breeding includes chapters from leading researchers in the field and is carefully edited by two pioneers in the field. Organic Crop Breeding provides valuable insight for crop breeders, geneticist, crop science professionals, researchers, and advanced students in this quickly emerging field.

Cover Art
The 2014 Farm Bill: Background and Major Provisions. - Leon P. Bell
ISBN: 9781633214309
Publication Date: 2014-01-01
The farm bill is an omnibus, multi-year piece of authorizing legislation that governs an array of agricultural and food programs. Titles in the most recent farm bill encompassed farm commodity price and income supports, farm credit, trade, agricultural conservation, research, rural development, bioenergy, foreign food aid, and domestic nutrition assistance. Although agricultural policies sometimes are created and changed by freestanding legislation or as part of other major laws, the farm bill provides a predictable opportunity for policy makers to comprehensively and periodically address agricultural and food issues. The farm bill is renewed about every five years. This book begins with a brief overview of the estimated budgetary impact of the 2014 farm bill, followed by a summary comparison of the major provisions of each title.

Cover Art
The 2014 Farm Bill: Bioenergy Provisions and Issues. - Wilmer Combs
ISBN: 9781633214323
Publication Date: 2014-01-01
This book focuses on those policies contained in the 2014 farm bill that support agriculture-based renewable energy, especially biofuels. The introductory sections of this book briefly describe how USDA bioenergy policies evolved and how they fit into the larger context of U.S. biofuels policy. Then, each of the bioenergy provisions of the 2014 farm bill are defined in terms of their function, goals, administration, funding, and implementation status. The book describes agriculture-based biofuels and the evolution of the U.S. biofuels sector with a focus on the role that federal policy has played in shaping its development. It highlights emerging issues that are critical to the biofuels sector and of relevance to Congress. Furthermore, this book provides a description of the Biomass Crop Assistance Program's main componentsannual and establishment payments, matching payments, and project areasas outlined in USDA's final rule, along with a discussion of program funding and implementation issues.

Cover Art
The Emergent Agriculture: Farming, Sustainability and the Return of the Local Economy. - Gary S. Kleppel; John Ikerd (Foreword by)
ISBN: 9780865717732
Publication Date: 2014-07-22
Long embraced by corporations who are driven only by the desire for profit, industrial agriculture wastes precious resources and spews millions of tons of greenhouse gases into the atmosphere each year, exacerbating climate change and threatening the very earth and water on which we depend. However, this dominant system, from which Americans obtain most of their food, is being supplanted by a new paradigm. The Emergent Agriculture is a collection of fourteen thematic essays on sustainability viewed through the lens of farming. Arguing that industrial food production is incompatible with the realities of nature, science and ethics, this lyrical narrative makes the case for a locally based food system which is: Stable in the face of economic uncertainty Resilient in the face of environmental variability Grounded in stewardship of the land, on attaching value to food and the craft involved in producing it, and on respecting the dignity of farmers, consumers and livestock. A revolution in food production is underway. Written from the vantage point of an ecologist who is also a farmer, The Emergent Agriculture is essential reading for anyone interested in food security and the potential for growing local economies. Food for thought about the future of food.

Cover Art
The Life of Cheese: Crafting Food and Value in America. - Heather Paxson
ISBN: 9780520270183
Publication Date: 2012-12-10
Cheese is alive, and alive with meaning. Heather Paxson’s beautifully written anthropological study of American artisanal cheesemaking tells the story of how craftwork has become a new source of cultural and economic value for producers as well as consumers. Dairy farmers and artisans inhabit a world in which their colleagues and collaborators are a wild cast of characters, including plants, animals, microorganisms, family members, employees, and customers. As "unfinished” commodities, living products whose qualities are not fully settled, handmade cheeses embody a mix of new and old ideas about taste and value. By exploring the life of cheese, Paxson helps rethink the politics of food, land, and labor today.

Cover Art
The Peach: Botany, Production and Uses - Desmond R. Layne; Daniele Bassi
ISBN: 9781845934231
Publication Date: 2008-09-29
The Peach provides a comprehensive up to date reference work, summarizing our knowledge of peaches and their production worldwide and includes an extensive colour plates section. Chapters written by international authorities address botany and taxonomy, breeding and genetics of cultivars and rootstocks, propagation, physiology and planting systems, crop and pest management and postharvest physiology. The book also includes a contribution on the history of cultivation and production trends in China with historical references dating back to 1100 B.C for the first time in the English language.

Cover Art
Turn Here Sweet Corn: Organic Farming Works - Atina Diffley
ISBN: 9780816677719
Publication Date: 2012-04-04
When the hail starts to fall, Atina Diffley doesn t compare it to golf balls. She s a farmer. It s as big as a B-size potato. As her bombarded land turns white, she and her husband Martin huddle under a blanket and reminisce: the one-hundred-mile-per-hour winds; the eleven-inch rainfall ( that broccoli turned out gorgeous ); the hail disaster of 1977. The romance of farming washed away a long time ago, but the love? Never. In telling her story of working the land, coaxing good food from the fertile soil, Atina Diffley reminds us of an ultimate truth: we live in relationships with the earth, plants and animals, families and communities. A memoir of making these essential relationships work in the face of challenges as natural as weather and as unnatural as corporate politics, her book is a firsthand history of getting in at the ground level of organic farming. One of the first certified organic produce farms in the Midwest, the Diffleys Gardens of Eagan helped to usher in a new kind of green revolution in the heart of America s farmland, supplying their roadside stand and a growing number of local food co-ops. This is a story of a world transformed and reclaimed one square acre at a time. And yet, after surviving punishing storms and the devastating loss of fifth-generation Diffley family land to suburban development, the Diffleys faced the ultimate challenge: the threat of eminent domain for a crude oil pipeline proposed by one of the largest privately owned companies in the world, notorious polluters Koch Industries. As Atina Diffley tells her David-versus-Goliath tale, she gives readers everything from expert instruction in organic farming to an entrepreneur s manual on how to grow a business to a legal thriller about battling corporate arrogance to a love story about a single mother falling for a good, big-hearted man. "

Cover Art
Understanding U. S. Farm Exits, Farm Survival and the Role of Commodity Payments - Lucas A. Hamilton (Editor)
ISBN: 9781616689957
Publication Date: 2010-07-01
About 717,000 farms in the U.S. went out of business, or exited, between 1992 and 1997, but the total number of farms declined by just 13,400 because the number of entries (703,700 farms) nearly equalled exits. In fact, the farm count has remained relatively stable since the 1974 Census, reflecting exits and entries essentially in balance. This book explores and studies U.S. farm exits, farm survival and the role of commodity payments.

Cover Art
What in God's Name Are You Eating?: How Can Christians Live and Eat Responsibly in Today’s Global Village? - Andrew Francis
ISBN: 9780718893811
Publication Date: 2015-02-26
How you eat affects the planet - and everyone else on it. What you eat might literally cost the earth. It also has implications for your health, for the grower or producer, and for the way you think about the world. What in God's Name Are You Eating? faces what many of us choose to ignore in the Western world: we, as adults, have allowed a childlike innocence to mask the real cost of the environment in which we are cocooned, while thousands elsewhere find themselves drought-stricken and starving. "What in God's name are they not eating?" "Enough" is the simple answer and we are part of the reason why. The price of ?__life', as we know it, is high. To those of us who have ?__life', there is a moral imperative to enable others to share it rather than suppress them. With its advocacy of a globally responsibly discipleship, What in God's Name Are You Eating? enables us to see how the world's peoples can have life and a long future. While the reflection is rooted in radical Mennonite Christianity, the challenge is to those of faith - and those of none.

Cover Art
Women-Operated and Family Farms in the United States - Julian Wallace (Editor); Andrea Marshall (Editor)
ISBN: 9781628084306
Publication Date: 2013-01-01
Farms and ranches operated by women have more than doubled in the last 30 years. Since 1978, the first year the Census of Agriculture collected data on the gender of farmers, the share of women-operated farms has grown from 5 percent of U.S. farms to 14 percent. The number of women-operated farms increased in all sales classes (based on annual sales, with adjustments for price changes). In contrast, farms operated by men declined substantially, with only the largest and smallest sales classes ($500,000 or more and less than $1,000) increasing. This book examines various characteristics of women farm operators and their farms, including: changes in the distribution of women-operated farms and ranches by sales class; age, education, and off-farm work and income of women principal operators; financial performance of women-operated farms; farm and operator characteristics by commodity specialisation; and sources of Government payments to women-operated farms.

 

Restricted Access Note

 The following are restricted to current Warner University students, faculty, and staff.

Log-in: Warner email account.

 

Agriculture - Animals

Cover Art
Avian Immunology - Karel A. Schat (Editor); Bernd Kaspers (Editor); Pete Kaiser (Editor)
ISBN: 9780123969651
Publication Date: 2013-09-24
The second edition of Avian Immunology provides an up-to-date overview of the current knowledge of avian immunology. From the ontogeny of the avian immune system to practical application in vaccinology, the book encompasses all aspects of innate and adaptive immunity in chickens. In addition, chapters are devoted to the immunology of other commercially important species such as turkeys and ducks, and to ecoimmunology summarizing the knowledge of immune responses in free-living birds often in relation to reproductive success. The book contains a detailed description of the avian innate immune system, encompassing the mucosal, enteric, respiratory and reproductive systems. The diseases and disorders it covers include immunodepressive diseases and immune evasion, autoimmune diseases, and tumors of the immune system. Practical aspects of vaccination are examined as well. Extensive appendices summarize resources for scientists including cell lines, inbred chicken lines, cytokines, chemokines, and monoclonal antibodies. The world-wide importance of poultry protein for the human diet, as well  as the threat of avian influenza pandemics like H5N1 and heavy reliance on vaccination to protect commercial flocks makes this book a vital resource. This book provides crucial information not only for poultry health professionals and avian biologists, but also for comparative and veterinary immunologists, graduate students and veterinary students with an interest in avian immunology. With contributions from 33 of the foremost international experts in the field, this book provides the most up-to-date review of avian immunology so far Contains a detailed description of the avian innate immune system reviewing constitutive barriers, chemical and cellular responses; it includes a comprehensive review of avian Toll-like receptors Contains a wide-ranging review of the "ecoimmunology" of free-living avian species, as applied to studies of population dynamics, and reviews methods and resources available for carrying out such research

Cover Art
Becoming Salmon: Aquaculture and the Domestication of a Fish (1) - Marianne Elisabeth Lien
ISBN: 9780520961838
Publication Date: 2015-06-30
Becoming Salmon is the first ethnographic account of salmon aquaculture, the most recent turn in the human history of animal domestication. In this careful and nuanced study, Marianne Elisabeth Lien explores how the growth of marine domestication has blurred traditional distinctions between fish and animals, recasting farmed fish as sentient beings, capable of feeling pain and subject to animal-welfare legislation. Drawing on fieldwork on and off salmon farms, Lien follows farmed Atlantic salmon through contemporary industrial husbandry, exposing how salmon are bred to be hungry, globally mobile, and "alien" in their watersheds of origin. Attentive to both the economic context of industrial food production and the materiality of human-animal relations, this book highlights the fragile and contingent relational practices that constitute salmon aquaculture and the multiple ways of "becoming salmon" that emerge as a result.

Cover Art
Bovine Medicine - Peter Cockcroft (Editor)
ISBN: 9781118948521
Publication Date: 2015-04-10
Thoroughly updated to reflect recent changes in the industry, Bovine Medicine, 3rd Edition, offers practicing large animal veterinarians and veterinary students a comprehensive reference to core aspects of contemporary cattle health and husbandry. New edition of a classic text, featuring thoroughly rewritten text, with coverage shifted to the core aspects of everyday cattle practice Includes new focus on both applied skills and application of knowledge, along with many more full-colour illustrations than in previous editions Represents a toolkit of skills that will support the delivery of contemporary cattle practice Presents a seamless integration of information on husbandry, nutrition, and disease Written by a wide range of experts from around the world

Cover Art
Bovine Reproduction - Richard M. Hopper (Editor)
ISBN: 9781118470831
Publication Date: 2014-11-03
Bovine Reproduction is a comprehensive, current reference providing information on all aspects of reproduction in the bull and cow.nbsp; Offering fundamental knowledge on evaluating and restoring fertility in the bovine patient, the book also places information in the context of herd health where appropriate for a truly global view of bovine theriogenology. Printed in full color throughout, the book includes 83 chapters and more than 550 images, making it the most exhaustive reference available on this topic. Each section covers anatomy and physiology, breeding management, and reproductive surgery, as well as obstetrics and pregnancy wastage in the cow.nbsp; Bovine Reproduction is a welcome resource for bovine practitioners, theriogenologists, and animal scientists, as well as veterinary students and residents with an interest in the cow.

Cover Art
Critical Role of Animal Science Research in Food Security and Sustainability - Considerations for the Future of Animal Science Research Committee; Science and Technology for Sustainability Program; Policy and Global Affairs; Board on Agriculture and Natural Resources; Division on Earth and Life Sciences; National Research Council
ISBN: 9780309316446
Publication Date: 2015-05-01
By 2050 the world's population is projected to grow by one-third, reaching between 9 and 10 billion. With globalization and expected growth in global affluence, a substantial increase in per capita meat, dairy, and fish consumption is also anticipated. The demand for calories from animal products will nearly double, highlighting the critical importance of the world's animal agriculture system. Meeting the nutritional needs of this population and its demand for animal products will require a significant investment of resources as well as policy changes that are supportive of agricultural production. Ensuring sustainable agricultural growth will be essential to addressing this global challenge to food security. "Critical Role of Animal Science Research in Food Security and Sustainability" identifies areas of research and development, technology, and resource needs for research in the field of animal agriculture, both nationally and internationally. This report assesses the global demand for products of animal origin in 2050 within the framework of ensuring global food security; evaluates how climate change and natural resource constraints may impact the ability to meet future global demand for animal products in sustainable production systems; and identifies factors that may impact the ability of the United States to meet demand for animal products, including the need for trained human capital, product safety and quality, and effective communication and adoption of new knowledge, information, and technologies. The agricultural sector worldwide faces numerous daunting challenges that will require innovations, new technologies, and new ways of approaching agriculture if the food, feed, and fiber needs of the global population are to be met. The recommendations of "Critical Role of Animal Science Research in Food Security and Sustainability" will inform a new roadmap for animal science research to meet the challenges of sustainable animal production in the 21st century.

Cover Art
Dukes' Physiology of Domestic Animals - William O. Reece (Editor); Howard H. Erickson (Associate Editor); Jesse P. Goff (Associate Editor); Etsuro E. Uemura (Associate Editor)
ISBN: 9781118501498
Publication Date: 2015-03-25
This fully revised new edition of the classic reference on domestic animal physiology provides detailed descriptions of animal function and dysfunction, with an emphasis on clinical relevance and pedagogical features to enhance learning. - Presents in-depth, comprehensive descriptions of domestic animal function and dysfunction - Emphasizes clinical relevance, with clinical correlations, notes of relevance, and self-assessment questions featuring situations likely to be faced in practice - Offers pedagogical features, including chapter outlines and introductions, key terms throughout the book, additional images, questions to enhance learning, and self-assessment exercises - Distills the most useful information for ease of use, with improved continuity and reduced repetition - Includes a companion website offering review questions and answers and the figures from the book in PowerPoint

Cover Art
Effects and Expectations of Tilapia As a Resource - Marco A. Liñan-Cabello (Editor); Laura A. Flores-Ramírez (Editor)
ISBN: 9781634633079
Publication Date: 2014-01-01
This book displays various topics related to current issues that seek to improve our understanding and strategies on the present and future of the tilapia culture. This book has gathered internationally known experts who have prepared original communications in different themes on the use and development of tilapia resources. Experiences related to culture, broodstock management, identifying plans, and technological reconversion strategies are presented; as well as evidence of acclimatisation in lake systems; additionally, there is a study on the expectations and use of tilapia skin among the chapters that will be of great interest to improve the opportunities for use of this singular resource. Also included is this book is an interesting and deep analysis on the possible competitive relations of tilapia resources, versus other fish species that emerge with extensive aquacultural expectations. This book will be of great use to the researcher, students who seek to have a deeper understanding about the various alternatives to implement plans for sustainable management of this unique resource and environment, and to farmers looking for alternative techniques and value to enable them to improve their production yields.

Cover Art
Emerging Dairy Processing Technologies: Opportunities for the Dairy Industry (1) - Nivedita Datta; Peggy M. Tomasula
ISBN: 9781118560532
Publication Date: 2015-04-27
Fluid milk processing is energy intensive, with high financial and energy costs found all along the production line and supply chain. Worldwide, the dairy industry has set a goal of reducing GHG emissions and other environmental impacts associated with milk processing. Although the major GHG emissions associated with milk production occur on the farm, most energy usage associated with milk processing occurs at the milk processing plant and afterwards, during refrigerated storage (a key requirement for the transportation, retail and consumption of most milk products). Sustainable alternatives and designs for the dairy processing plants of the future are now being actively sought by the global dairy industry, as it seeks to improve efficiency, reduce costs, and comply with its corporate social responsibilities. Emerging Dairy Processing Technologies: Opportunities for the Dairy Industry presents the state of the art research and technologies that have been proposed as sustainable replacements for high temperature-short time (HTST) and ultra-high temperature (UHT) pasteurization, with potentially lower energy usage and greenhouse gas emissions. These technologies include pulsed electric fields, high hydrostatic pressure, high pressure homogenization, ohmic and microwave heating, microfiltration, pulsed light, UV light processing, and carbon dioxide processing. The use of bacteriocins, which have the potential to improve the efficiency of the processing technologies, is discussed, and information on organic and pasture milk, which consumers perceive as sustainable alternatives to conventional milk, is also provided. This book brings together all the available information on alternative milk processing techniques and their impact on the physical and functional properties of milk, written by researchers who have developed a body of work in each of the technologies. This book is aimed at dairy scientists and technologists who may be working in dairy companies or academia. It will also be highly relevant to food processing experts working with dairy ingredients, as well as university departments, research centres and graduate students.

Cover Art
Empty Pastures: Confined Animals and the Transformation of the Rural Landscape. - Terence J. Centner
ISBN: 9780252028953
Publication Date: 2004-02-10
Empty Pastures describes the loss of rural landscapes due to modern animal production practices, and challenges society to reduce agricultural pollution while helping sustain farmers and rural communities. Over the past century American agriculture has shifted dramatically with small, commercial farms finding it increasingly difficult to compete with large-scale (mostly indoor) animal feeding operations (AFOs). In this book, Terence J. Centner investigates the environmental, social, economic, and political impact of the rise of the so-called factory farm, exposing the ramifications of the contemporary trend toward industrial-scale food production. songbirds as a jumping-off point for a work that raised public awareness of pesticides' devastating environmental impact, Empty Pastures sees the dwindling numbers of livestock in the American countryside as a symptom of a broader transformation, one with serious consequences for the rural landscape and its inhabitants--animal as well as human. After outlining the rise of the AFO, Centner examines the troubling consequences of consolidation in animal farming and suggests a number of remedies. The issues he tackles include groundwater contamination, the loss of biodiversity, animal welfare, concentrated odors and other nuisances, soil erosion, and the economic effects of the disappearance of the small family farm. unrealistic vision of a return to an idealized past, Centner proposes a series of pragmatic reforms for regulating factory farms to halt ecological degradation and revitalize rural communities.

Cover Art
Equine Neurology - Martin Furr (Editor); Stephen Reed (Editor)
ISBN: 9781118501566
Publication Date: 2015-04-09
Equine Neurology, Second Edition provides a fully updated new edition of the only equine-specific neurology book, with comprehensive, clinically oriented information. Offers a complete clinical reference to neurologic conditions in equine patients Takes a problem-based approach to present a clinically oriented perspective Presents new chapters on imaging the nervous system, neuronal physiology, sleep disorders, head shaking, differential diagnosis of muscle trembling and weakness, and cervical articular process joint disease Covers the basic principles of neurology, clinical topics such as the initial exam, differentials, and neuropathology, and specific conditions and disorders Includes access to a companion website offering video clips demonstrating presenting signs

Cover Art
Feed Efficiency in the Beef Industry - Rodney A. Hill (Editor)
ISBN: 9781118388297
Publication Date: 2012-06-14
Feed Efficiency in the Beef Industry provides a thorough and concise overview of feed efficiency in beef cattle.  It frames the great importance of feed efficiency to the industry and details the latest findings of the many scientific disciplines that intersect and aim to improve efficient and sustainable production of nutritious beef. The vast majority of production costs are directly tied to feed. With increased demand for grains to feed a rapidly increasing world population and to supply a new demand for alternative fuels, feed costs continue to increase. In recent years, the negative environmental impacts of inefficient feeding have also been realized; as such feed efficiency is an important factor in both economic viability and environmental sustainability of cattle production. Feed Efficiency in the Beef Industry covers a broad range of topics ranging from economic evaluation of feed efficiency to the physiological and genetic bases of efficient conversion of feed to high quality beef. Chapters also look at how a fuller understanding of feed efficiency is leading to new selective breeding efforts to develop more efficient cattle. With wide-ranging coverage from leading international researchers, Feed Efficiency will be a valuable resource for producers who wish to understand the complexities, challenges, and opportunities to reduce their cost of production, for students studying the topic and for researchers and professionals working in the beef industry.

Cover Art
For the Good of the Farmer: A Biography of John Harrison Skinner, Dean of Purdue Agriculture. - Frederick Whitford
ISBN: 9781557536433
Publication Date: 2013-05-15
The key role that farming plays in the economy of Indiana today owes much to the work of John Harrison Skinner (1874 1942). Skinner was a pioneering educator and administrator who transformed the study of agriculture at Purdue University during the first decades of the twentieth century. From humble origins, occupying one building and 150 acres at the start of his career, the agriculture program grew to spread over ten buildings and 1,000 acres by the end of his tenure as its first dean. A focused, single-minded man, Skinner understood from his own background as a grain and stock farmer that growers could no longer rely on traditional methods in adapting to a rapidly changing technological and economic environment, in which tractors were replacing horses and new crops such as alfalfa and soy were transforming the arable landscape. Farmers needed education, and only by hiring the best and brightest faculty could Purdue give them the competitive edge that they needed. While he excelled as a manager and advocate for Indiana agriculture, Skinner never lost touch with his own farming roots, taking especial interest in animal husbandry. During the course of his career as dean (1907 1939), the number of livestock on Purdue farms increased fourfold, and Skinner showed his knowledge of breeding by winning many times at the International Livestock Exposition. Today, the scale of Purdue s College of Agriculture has increased to offer almost fifty programs to hundreds of students from all over the globe. However, at its base, the agricultural program in place today remains largely as John Harrison Skinner built it, responsive to Indiana but with its focus always on scientific innovation in the larger world."

Cover Art
Horses: Breeding, Health Disorders and Effects on Performance and Behavior. - Adolfo Paz-Silva
ISBN: 9781631175602
Publication Date: 2014-06-01
There are several questions requiring attention for rearing horses. By providing appropriate care during early ages, important injuries such as lameness or musculoskeletal damage can be avoided, which becomes of capital importance especially among competition horses. In recent years, there has been an increasing body of evidence that the early rearing environment, in particular access to exercise, can have a positive effect on stimulating the musculoskeletal system and priming the tissue for the future demands it will face in the competition arena. Due to different reasons, such as their participation in competitions or exhibition, sales or pleasure, horses are transported from one location to another. Transportation could be a physical and psychological stressor for horses, contributing to the development of some diseases, thus the effects of transportation on performance and welfare should be appropriately taken into account.

Cover Art
Lesser Beasts: A Snout-to-Tail History of the Humble Pig - Mark Essig
ISBN: 9780465040681
Publication Date: 2015-05-05
Unlike other barnyard animals, which pull plows, give eggs or milk, or grow wool, a pig produces only one thing: meat. Incredibly efficient at converting almost any organic matter into nourishing, delectable protein, swine are nothing short of a gastronomic godsend--yet their flesh is banned in many cultures, and the animals themselves are maligned as filthy, lazy brutes. As historian Mark Essig reveals in Lesser Beasts, swine have such a bad reputation for precisely the same reasons they are so valuable as a source of food: they are intelligent, self-sufficient, and omnivorous. What’s more, he argues, we ignore our historic partnership with these astonishing animals at our peril. Tracing the interplay of pig biology and human culture from Neolithic villages 10,000 years ago to modern industrial farms, Essig blends culinary and natural history to demonstrate the vast importance of the pig and the tragedy of its modern treatment at the hands of humans. Pork, Essig explains, has long been a staple of the human diet, prized in societies from Ancient Rome to dynastic China to the contemporary American South. Yet pigs’ ability to track down and eat a wide range of substances (some of them distinctly unpalatable to humans) and convert them into edible meat has also led people throughout history to demonize the entire species as craven and unclean. Today’s unconscionable system of factory farming, Essig explains, is only the latest instance of humans taking pigs for granted, and the most recent evidence of how both pigs and people suffer when our symbiotic relationship falls out of balance. An expansive, illuminating history of one of our most vital yet unsung food animals, Lesser Beasts turns a spotlight on the humble creature that, perhaps more than any other, has been a mainstay of civilization since its very beginnings--whether we like it or not.

Cover Art
Milk Money - Kirk Kardashian; Bernie Sanders (Contribution by)
ISBN: 9781611683400
Publication Date: 2012-09-11
There’s something un-American and illogical about a market system where the price of a product bears no relation to the cost of its inputs. Yet we have lived with such a scheme in the dairy industry for decades: retail milk prices have stayed the same, while milk prices paid to farmers have plummeted. The dairy business is at the heart of the culture and economy of Vermont, just as it is of many other states. That fact meant little to Kirk Kardashian until he started taking his daughter to daycare at a dairy farm a few miles from his Vermont home—a farm owned by the same family for generations, but whose owners were now struggling to make ends meet. Suddenly, the abstractions of economics and commodities markets were replaced by the flesh and blood of a farm family whom he greeted every day. In the tradition of Michael Pollan and Eric Schlosser, Kardashian asks whether it is right that family farmers in America should toil so hard, produce a food so wholesome and so popular, and still lose money. This gripping investigation uncovers the hidden forces behind dairy farm consolidation, and explains why milk—a staple commodity subject to both government oversight and industry collusion—has proven so tricky to stabilize. Meanwhile, every year we continue to lose scores of small dairy farms. With passion, wit, and humor, Milk Money shows where we are now, how we got here, and where we might be going.

Cover Art
Nutrition and Feeding of Organic Pigs - R. Blair; R X Buckley
ISBN: 9781845931919
Publication Date: 2007-02-27
Organic animal production has increased rapidly in recent years to keep up with the increasing consumer demand for organic meats. There are many guidelines and restrictions on what go into the feedstuffs of organically farmed animals, from which difficulties arise when trying to ensure a well balanced nutritious diet without the use of any supplements. The first comprehensive text on feeding organic pigs, this book presents advice on formulating appropriate diets and integrating them into organic pig production systems. It outlines the international standards of organic feeding, the breeds of pig that are most suitable for organic farming, up to date information on the nutritional requirements of pigs, and examples of diets formulated to organic standards.

Cover Art
Nutrition and Feeding of Organic Poultry - R. Blair
ISBN: 9781845934064
Publication Date: 2008-07-18
Organic poultry production Has increased significantly in recent years in response to increasing consumer demand for organic eggs and meat. Nutrition and Feeding of Organic Poultry is the first comrehensive text on feeding organic poultry; presenting advice on selecting suitable ingredients, preparing appropriate feed mixtures and intergrating them into organic poultry production systems.The international standards of organic feeding, the species and breeds of poultry most suitable for organic farming , up-to-date information on the nutritional requirements of poultry, and examples of diets formulated to organic standards are all discussed.

Cover Art
Ostrich - Edgar Williams
ISBN: 9781780230399
Publication Date: 2013-05-15
Ostriches may not be able to fly, but they loom large in the bird kingdom. They are the world's tallest and heaviest living birds, and they lay the largest eggs. With their long legs, ostriches are also fleet of foot, running up to 43 miles per hour, and formidable fighters--an ostrich kick can kill. But since the beginning of history, these extraordinary and outlandish birds have also been exploited by humans for their eggs, meat, skin, and feathers. In Ostrich, Edgar Williams provides a singular, comprehensive insight into the natural history, behavior, and habitat of this monumental bird.   Williams describes how the demand for ostrich feathers was so great during the Victorian era that vast fortunes were made from ostrich farming, particularly in South Africa and the United States. After fashions changed following World War I, farmers lost their fortunes, but the now domesticated ostrich found a new purpose--today, ostrich farmers produce plumes and leather for luxury markets, as well as meat for grocery stores. In addition to telling its, Williams reveals how the ostrich has been featured in culture, from its representations in cave paintings, medieval manuscripts, and the Bayeux tapestry to its use in advertising and cartoons. Featuring many striking illustrations, Ostrich will interest nature lovers, artists, and fashionistas alike.

Cover Art
Shepherd: A Memoir - Richard Gilbert
ISBN: 9781611861174
Publication Date: 2014-05-01
Upon moving to Appalachian Ohio with their two small children, Richard Gilbert and his wife are thrilled to learn there still are places in America that haven’t been homogenized. But their excitement over the region’s beauty and quirky character turns to culture shock as they try to put down roots far from their busy professional jobs in town. They struggle to rebuild a farmhouse, and Gilbert gets conned buying equipment and sheep—a ewe with an “outie” belly button turns out to be a neutered male, and mysterious illnesses plague the flock. Haunted by his father’s loss of his boyhood farm, Gilbert likewise struggles to earn money in agriculture. Finally an unlikely teacher shows him how to raise hardy sheep—a remarkable ewe named Freckles whose mothering ability epitomizes her species’ hidden beauty. Discovering as much about himself as he does these gentle animals, Gilbert becomes a seasoned agrarian and a respected livestock breeder. He makes peace with his romantic dream, his father, and himself. Shepherd, a story both personal and emblematic, captures the mythic pull and the practical difficulty of family scale sustainable farming.

Cover Art
The Dairy Goat Handbook: For Backyard, Homestead, and Small Farm - Ann Starbard
ISBN: 9781627886918
Publication Date: 2015-03-31
The Dairy Goat Handbook explains everything goat keepers need to know about their animals, from the best ways to keep them healthy to methods for making delicious goat cheese. The Dairy Goat Handbook is a guidebook for those who would like to raise dairy goats - or dream of raising dairy goats and want to know how to begin and maintain a successful herd. There are other books on the business of keeping dairy goats, but none quite like this. Written by a dairy goat farmer, this guide combines a deep knowledge of the animals themselves with fifteen years of experience running a successful business. Fully illustrated with photographs of life on a working dairy farm the goats, the farm, the dairy equipment, and the cheese and milk this book explains as well as celebrates the life of a dairy goat farmer. The author, Ann Starbard, owns Crystal Brook Farm in Sterling, Massachusetts, where she and her husband raise dairy goats and make fresh goat cheese that they sell onsite, at farmers' markets, and at restaurants. Ann explains the details of raising goats and running a dairy in simple, clear, easy-to-understand language; this is a book for everyone interested in the business of raising dairy goats."

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip