EBSCO Tutorials and GuidesUseful Resources
DatabasesHistorical Newspapers/ProQuest US Newspapers CollectionNewspapers/Open Access - Popular MagazinesReferenceCredo Reference: HistoryGoogle Links/Google Scholar/Writing/International Resources
Civil Rights and ActivismPoliticsLiteratureMusicTelevision and FilmSports
18th CenturyAmerican Revolution19th CenturyAmerican Civil War20th CenturyWorld War IWorld War IIThe Cold War21st CenturyWar on Terror
IndividualsEventsReligions and Languages
First WaveSecond WaveThird WaveFeminisms and Feminist TheoryFeminist Literature
History/Baseball/Military HistoryAmerican History/Americas/African American StudiesHistory/Museums/Central Florida/Polk County/Florida History/Archives/MuseumsWorld HistoryKhan Academy: Art History/AP Art History/US History/World History
eBookseBooks II
This is the "eBooks II" page of the "History Research" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

History Research  

Last Updated: Dec 7, 2017 URL: http://libguides.warner.edu/HistRes Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

eBooks II Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

ABC-CLIO Individual eBooks

ABC-CLIO eBooks

ABC-CLIO eBooks

Description:  Contains a select number of eBook titles.

ABC-CLIO eBooks - History and Geography

Description: Covers: World Slavery, Daily Life through World History in Primary Documents, Women of the Ancient World, Civil War America, and Girls and Literacy in America: A Historical Perspective. Also includes encyclopedias of: Archaeology, Folklore and Literature, World War I, and World War II.

Baseball: An Encyclopedia of Popular Culture

Baseball: An Encyclopedia of Popular Culture

Description:  Everything every baseball fan needs to know. Filled with baseball legends, sports facts and firsts, important milestones, and observations about daily life and popular culture. 

Civial War America

Civil War America: Voices from the Home Front

Description:  The American Civil War was truly a "people's war," where neighbor fought neighbor and brother fought brother. Families and friends were as painfully divided as North and South. What impact did the bloodiest and mostly costly war in American history have on civilians and their assumptions about race, government, and freedom? 

Chronology of World Slavery

Chronology of World Slavery

Description:  Ancient, yet modern: that is the sobering truth of slavery. Author Junius P. Rodriguez describes slavery as "a dark mirror reflecting man's inhumanity to man." This unprecedented volume traces the course of events, both great and small, that have defined the meaning of slavery throughout human history.

Daily Life through World History in Primary Documents

Daily Life through World History in Primary Documents

Description:  This 3-volume set offers a rich collection of historical documents and illustrations, portraying daily life in major world cultures throughout history. 

Encyclopedia of Women in the Ancient World

Encyclopedia of Women in the Ancient World

Description:  Why did Cleopatra seduce Julius Caesar and Mark Antony, engulfing the Roman Empire in bloody civil war? Why have the Amazons fascinated ancient and modern societies? From Nefertiti to Aphrodite, from Cleopatra to the Vestal Virgins, the women of the ancient world played a powerful role in its development and its demise.

The Encyclopedia of World War I: A Political, Social, and Military History

 The Encyclopedia of World War I: A Political, Social, and Military History

Description:  It was supposed to be "the war to end all wars." Instead, it opened the floodgate to a century of ethnic, religious, and ideological conflicts throughout the globe, all of it traceable to some extent to the entangled animosities and unprecedented carnage of World War I and the shortsighted, easily shattered peace that followed it.

The Encyclopedia of World War II: A Political, Social, and Military History

The Encyclopedia of World War II: A Political, Social, and Military History

Description: It was the pivotal event of the 20th century, the last world war, and the culmination of long-running animosities and aggression. Nothing about our 21st-century world can be understood without reference to World War II. And now, the entire scope of World War II is within reach in this landmark multivolume publication.

Isis

 ISIS: An Introduction and Guide to the Islamic State

Description: Providing up-to-date information for general readers as well as those well-informed about the Islamic State, this book offers an essential understanding of the rise of ISIS and its current influence in the Middle East as well as worldwide.

  Relpol

Religion and Politics in America: An Encyclopedia of Church and State in American Life

Description: There has always been an intricate relationship between religion and politics. This encyclopedia provides a comprehensive overview of the interrelation of religion and politics from colonial days to the present.

VoicesofIraq

Voices of the Iraq War: Contemporary Accounts of Daily Life

Description: The Iraq War (2003–2011) was the most significant conflict in the early 21st century. This book examines the ongoing importance of this war for the Middle East and the world today through first-person accounts of the war and primary source documents. Provides readers with an understanding of the causes of successes and failures in Iraq and how these events contributed to the volatility of the Middle East in the early 21st century. 

 Women Rulers Throughout the Ages: An Illustrated Guide

Women Rulers Throughout the Ages: An Illustrated Guide

Description: In a world dominated by men, the women who reach the ultimate political power of ruling a society are viewed almost as curiosities. Whether a brilliant governor or flawed by ego, ambition, or ineffective power, each of these remarkable individuals achieved heights rarely afforded women.

Women Rulers Throughout the Ages: An Illustrated Guide

Women's History as Scientists: A Guide to the Debate

Description: Biology is destiny" has been a recurring proclamation throughout history. Nowhere has that proclamation been harder fought and exceptions more bitterly won than in the realm of women in science. The accomplishments of women in science have been documented since the time of the ancient Greeks, but the struggle for acceptance has been Herculean and it is far from over.      

 

Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL)

 The following are restricted to current Warner University students, faculty, and staff.

Log-in: Warner email account.

History

Gale Virtual Reference Library - History

 Description: Contains numerous reference resources pertaining to History.

Biography - GVRL

Gale Virtual Reference Library - Biography

 Description: Contains numerous reference resources pertaining to Biography.

 Gale Virtual Reference Library - Social Science

Gale Virtual Reference Library - Multicultural Studies

 Description: Contains numerous reference resources pertaining to Multicultural Studies.

 Nation and World (GVRL)

Gale Virtual Reference Library - Nation and World

 Description: Contains numerous reference resources pertaining to Nation and World.

 Gale Virtual Reference Library - Social Science

Gale Virtual Reference Library - Social Science

 Description: Contains numerous reference resources pertaining to Social Science.

 

 

Salem Press

Salem Press

Salem Press

 Description:  Access Health, History, Literature, and Science.

Contains Decades- 1920's-2000's, Historical Encyclopedia of American Business, and Milestone Documents in American History.

AFF

Milestone Documents in African American History

Description: The four-volume set covers more than 130 iconic primary source documents from the Revolutionary era to the present day. Each entry offers the full text of the document in question as well as an in-depth, analytical essay that places the document in its historical context.

WorldRel

Milestone Documents of World Religions, Second Edition

Description: Milestone Documents of World Religions examines the key sacred texts and foundational documents of the world's primary religions, from ancient times to the present, providing researchers with a fresh perspective on how critical religious texts have influenced both the past and the present. Each entry begins with an Overview of the importance of the document, Context, Timeline, About the Author, Explanation & Analysis of the Documents, Audience, Impact, Essential Quotes, Bibliography, Glossary and Full Text of the Primary Documents.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip