EBSCO Tutorials and GuidesUseful resources 1Useful Resources 2
DatabasesHistorical Newspapers/ProQuest US Newspapers CollectionNewspapers/Open Access - Popular MagazinesReferenceCredo Reference: HistoryGoogle Links/Google Scholar/Writing/International Resources
Civil Rights and ActivismPoliticsLiteratureMusicTelevision and FilmSports
18th CenturyAmerican Revolution19th CenturyAmerican Civil War20th CenturyWorld War IWorld War IIThe Cold War21st CenturyWar on Terror
IndividualsEventsReligions and Languages
First WaveSecond WaveThird WaveFeminisms and Feminist TheoryFeminist Literature
History/Baseball/Military HistoryAmerican History/Americas/African American StudiesHistory/Museums/Central Florida/Polk County/Florida History/Archives/MuseumsWorld HistoryKhan Academy: Art History/AP Art History/US History/World History
eBookseBooks II
This is the "Feminisms and Feminist Theory" page of the "History Research" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

History Research  

Last Updated: Nov 8, 2017 URL: http://libguides.warner.edu/content.php?pid=663191 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Feminisms and Feminist Theory Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

About Feminism and Feminist Theory

Feminism is a belief or movement advocating the cause of women’s rights and opportunities, particularly equal rights with men, by challenging inequalities between the sexes in society. MORE

Feminisms and Feminist Theories

  • Black Feminism
    From Gender and Education: An Encyclopedia
    Black feminism is the nexus between the Black liberation and the women's liberation movements, but it has its own distinct ideologies. MORE
  • Ecofeminism: Topic Page
    A movement or theory that applies feminist principles and ideas to ecological issues. MORE
  • Global Feminism
    From Gender and Education: An Encyclopedia
    Global feminism differs from multicultural feminism because it focuses not on women in any one nation-state but on how the condition of women anywhere in the world affects the condition of women everywhere else in the world. MORE
  • Lesbian Feminism
    From The Reader's Companion to U.S. Women's History
    By the mid-1970s lesbian feminism had become perhaps the most assertive arm of the feminist movement, espousing a politic that encouraged feminists to turn their energies toward other women in every aspect of their lives. MORE
  • Marxist Feminism
    From Feminist Philosophies A-Z
    Friedrich Engels’ The Origin of the Family (1884/1972), a fundamental text in Marxist feminism, argued that the move to private property included a shift from matriarchy to patriarchy and was the initiating point for women’s subordination and oppression. MORE
  • Radical Feminism
    From Feminist Philosophies A-Z
    Like socialist feminists, radical feminists argued that new political, economic and social categories needed to be constructed to end the patriarchy’s oppression of women.MORE

More Feminisms and Feminist Theories

  • Feminist Art
    From Encyclopedia of American Studies
    Feminist art was not regarded as a movement per se but a revolutionary strategy intended to challenge received assessments of modernism, formal values, and stylistic hierarchies. MORE
  • Feminist Literary Criticism
    From The Reader's Companion to US Women's History
    Feminist literary criticism can be defined as the study of literature by women, or the interpretation of any text written with an attention to gender dynamics or a focus on female characters. MORE
  • Feminist Research Methodology
    From Gender and Education: An Encyclopedia
    Central to the feminist critique and reformulation of research methodology and procedures were the beliefs that much of so-called “objective” research was really male centered; that male-centered research either omitted women from study or presented a distorted view of them; and that women's experiences could better be understood by researchers who are reflexive about the research process, adopt the standpoint of those they study, and are sensitive to the ethical and political implications of their research. MORE
  • Feminist Social Theory
    From The Penguin Dictionary of Sociology
    In general terms, feminist social theory is concerned to understand and explain the subordinate position of women in society by reference to gender differences and specifically in terms of a theory of patriarchy.
    MORE
  • Feminist Theology
    From The Reader's Companion to US Women's History
    Feminist theology is not primarily reflection on special “feminine” themes in theology and does not intend to create a special subcategory of theology relevant primarily to women. Rather, feminist theology arises from a recognition that traditional theology in Christianity (and other major religions) has been created almost exclusively by males. MORE
  • Men's Studies
    From World of Sociology
    Men’s Studies is rooted in the politics of the pro-feminist men’s movement, which supports the basic tenets of feminism and embraces the goal of eliminating men’s privilege over women. MORE
  • Psychoanalytic Feminism
    From Encyclopedia of American Studies
    Psychoanalytic feminists believe that the exploration of the unconscious is critical in explaining how power relationships between men and women are formed along gender lines. MORE
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip