Restricted Access Note
The following are restricted to current Warner University students, faculty, and staff.
Log-in: Warner email account.
Description: ebrary is an electronic book collection that covers all academic subject areas.
Guides and Tutorials
Description: Contains a select number of eBook titles ranging from business to social sciences.
- Encyclopedia of Politics, the Media, and Popular Culture
Description: Whether it's television, radio, concerts, live appearances by comedians, Internet websites, or even the political party conventions themselves, the mixing of politics and popular culture is frequently on display. The Encyclopedia of Politics, the Media, and Popular Culture examines the people, major events, media, and controversies in eight thematic chapters and over 150 entries to provide an invaluable resource for any student, scholar, or everyday political junkie needing a comprehensive introduction to the subject.
- Media Scandals
Description: This fascinating volume offers an overview of the most influential and notorious media scandals, from newspaper publisher John Peter Zenger's groundbreaking 1735 trial for printing and publishing false, scandalous, malicious and seditious statements to Dr. Phil McGraw's 2008 thwarted attempt to force his television cameras inside Britney Spears' hospital room, from the attempts to ban literature by the likes of D.H. Lawrence, James Joyce, Henry Miller, and Allen Ginsberg to the excesses of gossip mongers like Walter Winchell, Hedda Hopper, Geraldo Rivera, and Matt Drudge. It delves into the tabloid press and walks through the minefields of political opinion shapers, the shouters, the muckrakers and whistleblowers.
- Violence in the Media: A Reference Handbook
Description: By age 18, the average American child will have seen up to 200,000 acts of violence on television, including 16,000 murders. More than 1,000 studies have shown that viewing entertainment violence can increase aggressive attitudes, values, and behavior in children. Is the media really giving the American public what it needs?
eBooks on EBSCOhost and Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL)
Description: A collection of over 100,000 eBook titles in 24 subject areas.
Description: Contains numerous reference resources pertaining to Social Science.