EBSCO Tutorials and GuidesUseful resources 1Useful Resources 2
DatabasesOther Electronic ResourcesInternational Resources/Google Scholar/Writing Resources
Business CommunicationCommunication TheoryIntercultural CommunicationThe MediaBooks 1
MediaNewspapersPhotography
Historical Newspapers/ProQuest US Newspapers Collection
Drama/Plays/Rhetoric/Movie/TV LinksPhotography/Khan Academy: Grammar
ABC-CLIO Individual eBooksBroadcasting/News Writing/Reporting/Producing
Journalism 2
This is the "Photography" page of the "Communication Arts Research" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Communication Arts Research  

Last Updated: Nov 13, 2017 URL: http://libguides.warner.edu/communication1 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Photography Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Books from the Warner University Library

 

Photography Books

Cover Art
100 Ways to Take Better Landscape Photographs - Guy Edwardes
Call Number: qTR 660 .E38 2005
ISBN: 0715319930
Publication Date: 2005-03-01
Whether you want to learn how to be a photographer, or if you already think you know all about photography, 100 Ways to Take Better Landscape Photographs is an easy-reference guide to landscape photography. Packed with practical advice and stunning photos this book will help and inspire photographers of all levels and will encourage you to spend a little more time on each shot, to step off the path, and to let your creativity steer you towards a more dynamic composition. A simple and comprehensive troubleshooting guide to landscape photography, the book is divided into themed sections and features simple explanations of techniques, which will help both beginners and more advanced photographers get the results they want. The thematic sections cover all areas of landscape photography, including coastal, panoramic and seasonal, as well as lighting effects, composition and exposure. The points covered apply to both film and digital cameras. Starting with the fundamentals of good photographic technique, each chapter covers a different area of the genre, covering the most commonly encountered situations, while revealing the secrets of good landscape photography, such as:how to recognize scenes with photographic potential and make the most of them with good composition and atmospheric lighting; the different approaches required for various inland and coastal landscape locations at different times of the day and the year; the relative merits of wideangle and telephoto lenses and the techniques required to get the best from both; and how to turn the textures, patterns and details abundant in the landscape into creative and original images.

Cover Art
20th Century Photography - Museum Ludwig Cologne Staff
Call Number: TR 6 .C32 C655 1996
ISBN: 9783822840832
Publication Date: 2005-05-15
Images of the century (TASCHEN's 25th anniversary special edition) The history of photography began some 150 years ago, but only relatively recently has it been fully recognised as a medium in its own right. Cologne's Museum Ludwig was the first museum of contemporary art to devote a substantial section to international photography. The L. Fritz Gruber collection, from which this book is drawn, is one of the most important in Germany and one of the most representative anywhere in the world, constituting the core of the museum's holdings. This book provides a fascinating insight into the collection's rich diversity; from conceptual art to abstraction to reportage, all of the major movements and genres are represented via a vast selection of the century's most remarkable photographs. From Ansel Adams to Piet Zwart, over 850 works are presented in alphabetical order by photographer, with descriptive texts and photographers' biographical details.

Cover Art
88 Secrets to Wildlife Photography - Rod Barbee; Scott Bourne
Call Number: TR 729 .W54 B37 2005
ISBN: 0976187825
Publication Date: 2005-01-01
Almost everyone in the United States lives less than one hour from a zoo, park, wildlife refuge or game park. This book focuses on how to make pictures at these places using professional techniques. Its format is simple and easy to use. Photographers of all experience levels will enjoy this fact-filled, fun approach to learning wildlife photography.

Cover Art
A Comprehensive Guide to Digital Travel Photography - Duncan Evans
Call Number: TR 680 .E86 2003
ISBN: 2884790829
Publication Date: 2005-11-01
Discover what digital photography offers the informed traveler, with lots of great information in an accessible format! Using the "Shoot, Enhance and Enjoy" method, traveling shutterbugs will learn to compose and capture better images, whether on the streets of a foreign city, under the water of a tropical beach, or in extreme cold, snow, and ice. Professional advice is given for selecting equipment and accessories, using filters, and applying special digital effects to improve picture quality. Individual sections are dedicated to photographing wildlife, landscapes, people, noteworthy buildings, and other sights encountered on the journey. Also featured are tips for finding unusual viewpoints, and even things to keep in mind when photographing ancient ruins and religious sites.

Cover Art
Advanced Digital Photography - Tom Ang
Call Number: qTR 267 .A5296 2003
ISBN: 0817432736
Publication Date: 2003-07-01
Now anyone can achieve professional looking photos, thanks to the treasury of tested techniques found in Advanced Digital Photography. Packed with in-depth information about the latest technology, this source book also demonstrates, step by step, how to capture the right photo, process the data, and print high-quality images. 150 illustrations.

Cover Art
After 9/11 : photographs - Nathan Lyons; Marvin Bell (Contribution by); Richard Benson (Contribution by); Jock Reynolds (Contribution by)
Call Number: TR 647 .L9 2003
ISBN: 0300101821
Publication Date: 2003-08-11
In response to the attacks on America of 11th September 2001, photographer Nathan Lyons, known for his honest and often questioning depictions of American culture, has created a portfolio of images. Photographing in small towns and large cities, Lyons has captured the extreme and often confusing variety of responses - from deep reverence to blatant commercialization - manifested by ordinary Americans.

Cover Art
Annie Leibovitz at Work - Annie Leibovitz
Call Number: TR 680 .L376 2008
ISBN: 9780375505102
Publication Date: 2008-11-18
“The first thing I did with my very first camera was climb Mt. Fuji. Climbing Mt. Fuji is a lesson in determination and moderation. It would be fair to ask if I took the moderation part to heart. But it certainly was a lesson in respecting your camera. If I was going to live with this thing, I was going to have to think about what that meant. There were not going to be any pictures without it." —Annie Leibovitz Annie Leibovitz describes how her pictures were made, starting with Richard Nixon's resignation, a story she covered with Hunter S. Thompson, and ending with Barack Obama's campaign. In between are a Rolling Stones Tour, John Lennon and Yoko Ono, Demi Moore, Whoopi Goldberg, The Blues Brothers, Arnold Schwarzenegger, Keith Haring, Mikhail Baryshnikov, Patti Smith, George W. Bush, William S. Burroughs, Kate Moss and Queen Elizabeth. The most celebrated photographer of our time discusses portraiture, reportage, fashion photography, lighting, and digital cameras.

Cover Art
Ansel Adams: classic images - Ansel Adams; John Szarkowski (Introduction by)
Call Number: TR 647 .A43 1985b
ISBN: 0821216295
Publication Date: 1986-10-30
A beautiful collection of Adams' work, hand-picked by himself--a last statement portfolio to represent his life's work. 76 duotones.

Cover Art
Armed with Cameras: the American military photographers of World War II - Peter Maslowski
Call Number: D 810 .P4 M37 1993
ISBN: 0029202655
Publication Date: 1993-09-27
A chronicle of the frontline photographers of World War II recounts the sometimes harrowing exploits of the American Military Photographers, men armed with cameras who accompanied the Army, Marines, Air Force, and Navy into battle.

Cover Art
Black and White Photography - Glenn M. Rand; David R. Litschel
Call Number: TR 146 .R35 2002
ISBN: 0766818179
Publication Date: 2001-11-19
Black and White Photography, 2E provides readers with the how-to and reference information they need to learn to compose, develop, and exhibit their own first-rate photographs. An ideal resource for beginners, this edition features over 300 pages of detailed information supported by easy-to-understand diagrams and examples of some of the world's best black-and-white photographs. The logical, three-part organization-based on the authors' 20+ years of teaching experience-progresses from the most basic aspects of black-and-white photography through coverage of Zone System and other advanced techniques. All-new chapters on manipulative printing techniques and digital photographic technology ensure that readers are exposed to state-of-the-art techniques while en route to becoming skilled photographers.

Cover Art
Black and White Photography : a basic manual - Henry Horenstein
Call Number: TR 146 .H793 2005
ISBN: 0316373052
Publication Date: 2005-04-20
BLACK & WHITE PHOTOGRAPHY is a comprehensive instructional book that covers every element of photography. Henry Horenstein's books have been widely used at leading universities, including Parsons School of Design, Harvard, Yale, Princeton, and MIT as well as in continuing education programs. Horenstein is a professor at the Rhode Island School of Design. BLACK & WHITE PHOTOGRAPHY is a real bargain among photographic how-to books.

Cover Art
Camera: a history of photography from daguerreotype to digital - Todd Gustavson; Derek Doeffinger; George Eastman House Staff
Call Number: qTR 15 .G88 2009
ISBN: 9781402756566
Publication Date: 2009-10-06
Cameras, and what they capture, forever changed our perception of the world, and of ourselves. Few inventions have had the impact of this ingenious, elegant, and deceptively simple device. This gorgeous cornerstone volume, created in collaboration with the world-famous George Eastman House, celebrates the camera and the art of the photograph. It spans almost two hundred years of progress, from the first faint image ever caught to the instantaneous pictures snapped by today’s state-of-the-art digital equipment. The informative narrative by Todd Gustavson traces the camera’s development, the lives of its brilliant but often eccentric inventors, and the artists behind the lens. Images and highly descriptive captions for more than 350 cameras from the George Eastman House Collection, plus more than 100 historic photos, ads, and drawings, complement the text. A foreword by the George Eastman House Director Anthony Bannon, and insightful essays by Steve Sasson, inventor of the digital camera, and Alexis Gerard, visionary founder and president of Future Image Inc., completes this illuminating study of one of the greatest modern technological achievements.  

Cover Art
Capturing the Moment : the sports photography of Barton Silverman - Barton Silverman; Neil Amdur (Contribution by); Dave Anderson (Introduction by); Ira Berkow (Contribution by); Mark H. Bussell
Call Number: qTR 821 .S56 1996
ISBN: 0670868817
Publication Date: 1996-10-01
A sports photographer presents some of his finest pictures, taken from the 1960s to the present, including photographs of Michael Jordan, Mark Messier, and Mike Tyson.

Cover Art
Closeup Shooting : a guide to closeup, tabletop, and macro photography - Cyrill Harnischmacher
Call Number: TR 683 .H3713 2007
ISBN: 9781933952093
Publication Date: 2007-05-14
Close-up photography is one of the most fascinating areas in photography. This illustrated guide will take the reader on a journey into the wonderful world of small, smaller, and smallest objects and show him how he can capture their beauty with photographic images. Each step of the way will be carefully explained; how to choose the right equipment, how to use ambient light or create artificial lighting, and how to conceptualize and frame the perfect shot. Whereas the nature photographer is exploring facets and structures in his environment, the "table top photographer" is trying to shoot a small object, a product, or a small treasure for display on the web (e.g., eBay) or in print. Here, the choice of the appropriate lighting and backdrop, and the creative use of the camera's features are key to a perfect image. Cyrill Harnischmacher explains all aspects of close-up shooting for both inside the studio, as well as outdoors. This book is filled with beautifully illustrated examples and detailed instructions on how to set up a system and workflow for successful close-up photography.

Cover Art
Commercial Photography Handbook: business techniques for professional digital photographers - Kirk Tuck
Call Number: qTR 690 .T83 2010
ISBN: 9781584285601
Publication Date: 2009-09-01
Targeting new and experienced commercial photographers alike, this invaluable guide explores the different aspects and challenges of succeeding in the industry. Approaching the subject systematically, the topics begin with determining what kind of commercial photography to pursue and how to get the training needed to carve out a niche in the market.nbsp;Continuing to delve further, the topics expand to marketing techniques, negotiation skills, estimating and charging for work, maximizing profits while minimizing expenses, and ethical business behavior. Armed with this information, commercial photographers who are developing or expanding their businesses will know how to evolve and grow during periods of both prosperity and recession.

Cover Art
Cyde Butcher - Nature's Places of Spiritual Sanctuary: photographs from 1961-1999 - Clyde Butcher; Nathaniel Reed; Allys Palladino-Craig; Arnold Simons; Bill Meadows
Call Number: fTR 660.5 .B8834 2004
ISBN: 9780967584225
Publication Date: 2004-03-01
Clyde Butcher - Nature's Places includes photographs from scenic, unspoiled lands in California, Colorado, Maryland, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, Utah, and Washington, as well as Florida.

Cover Art
Digital Photography: All You Need to Know - Michael Wright
Call Number: qTR 267 .W75 2006
ISBN: 1592582443
Publication Date: 2006-12-01
A completely unique guide to digital photography, this updated and revised edition offers advice on how to create great digital photgraphs using either Photoshop Elements 4 or Photoshop 7.

Cover Art
Digital SLR Cameras and Photography for Dummies - David D. Busch
Call Number: TR 267 .B8734 2007
ISBN: 9780470149270
Publication Date: 2007-10-08
Understanding exactly how a digital SLR (dSLR) works can help you use its exciting capabilities to their fullest potential. Whether you aim to become a serious photo hobbyist, are interested in turning pro, or want to take advantage of the improved control that dSLRs give you over your photography, this fun and friendly reference will show you how to maximize everything a dSLR has to offer so that you can improve your photography skills, increase your picture-taking and image-editing knowledge, and ultimately, take better photos. Written with just the right balance of technology and techniques in mind, this guide provides you with the know-how on everything from getting acquainted with the basic key features of the technology (lenses, sensors and image processors, and exposure and focusing systems) to the nuances of various dSLR techniques (setting up speedy continuous-shooting burst modes to capture fast action, applying selective and sharp focus, and shooting under the lowest levels of light). Other topics explored include:Composing your shots with an accurate viewfinderDeciding how many pixels your camera needsCleaning the sensor yourselfChoosing between a tripod or monopodAdjusting exposure and improving shutter speedCreating time-lapse sequencesFixing murky or contrasting photos With so much subject area covered, Digital SLR Cameras & Photography For Dummies, 2nd Edition not only introduces you to the fundamentals of great picture-taking with a dSLR, but goes beyond the basics. Some of the more advanced topics discussed include working with the various formats of digital photos, minimizing shutter lag and first-shot delays, and fixing up your pictures with various image-editing programs. This is just the book you need to progress from getting started with a dSLR to actually improving your dSLR photography!

Cover Art
Digital SLR Video and Filmmaking for Dummies - John Carucci
Call Number: TR 860 .C37 2013
ISBN: 9781118365984
Publication Date: 2013-02-18
Step-by-step guide for using your digital SLR to make quality video With digital SLR cameras becoming more and more popular as replacements for standalone video cameras, this book helps photographers become better videographers and shows videographers how to incorporate DSLRs into their work. The book includes an overview of the DSLR video tools and process and shows how to establish camera settings for effective capture, light a scene, get sound, and achieve the film look. The book also offers the basics on editing footage into a final product using common video editing tools. Offers everything needed to shoot, produce, and edit a professional looking videos using DSLR video equipment Written for both professional photographers and videographers and those just starting out Includes the steps for applying information to a film project, including developing a screenplay, approaching shooting like a cinematographer, and directing Contains a walkthrough of common video projects including making a music video, a wedding video, and video greeting card Digital SLR Video and Filmmaking for Dummies is designed to help photographers ramp up their video skills, videographers add DSLRs to their toolkits, and amateurs begin shooting their own short films and videos.

Cover Art
Fundamentals of Photography: the essential handbook for both digital and film cameras - Tom Ang
Call Number: TR 267 .A5356 2008
ISBN: 9780375711572
Publication Date: 2008-11-25
The most comprehensive, accessible, and completely up-to-date guide available for today’s photographer: whether beginner or advanced, using a film camera or digital. Award-winning photographer Tom Ang provides a thorough, explicitly detailed bottom-to-top understanding of modern photography, explaining all the techniques that will help anyone who uses a camera—in a professional capacity or as a snapshot shooter—improve the quality of his or her photographs. Here is everything you need to know: from the most practical advice (the fundamental facts about light sources) to the most sophisticated nuances (how light is measured through photometry), from the basics of the camera (which button controls which function) to the finer points of framing with an LCD viewfinder, featuring a selection of Ang’s most inspiring images. For users of film cameras, Ang explains the differences between types of film and details the various methods of processing and darkroom techniques. Ang delves into the development and transformation of photography by digital techniques. For the digital-camera contingent, there’s a specificity of previously unavailable information about the cameras and about processing, digitizing, and outputting the images. Ang also discusses subjects usually ignored in manuals but of interest to all photographers, including critical theory, the presentation of images, the function of the human eye in the perception of images, and ethical and copyright issues. Fundamentals of Photography is an essential book for every photographer.

 

More Photography Books

Cover Art
How to Do Everything with Your Digital Camera - Dave Johnson
Call Number: TR 256 .J64 2005
ISBN: 0072261633
Publication Date: 2006-03-01
New digital camera users need a simple solution for learning how to get the most out of their cameras, how to take better pictures, and what to do with their images once they've been captured. Written by an award-winning photographer, How to Do Everything With Your Digital Camera, Fourth Edition, is exactly this solution! Loaded with clear explanations and step-by-step details, the book explains the different components of a variety of digital cameras and how to use them. Coverage includes flash and lighting tips, action and outdoor photography, various image-editing packages, and finally, organizing, storing, sharing, and printing digital images. The fourth edition of this best-seller has been updated to include details on removable storage devices and the latest utilities and photo-sharing facilities. Coverage includes:The essentials of photographyProfessional digital darkroom methodsAdvanced techniques including time-lapse, motion, and wide-angle photographyTroubleshooting and maintaining a digital camera

Cover Art
Large Format Nature Photography - Jack W. Dykinga
Call Number: qTR 721 .D95 2001
ISBN: 0817441573
Publication Date: 2001-10-01
A manual on taking large-format nature photographs, written by Pulitzerrize-winning author Jack Dykinga. The author merges photojournalismechniques with large-format photography to create spectacular images ofature and remote locations. In order to capture the intricacies, patterns,extures, tonal range and colours that made Dykinga famous, he uses a 4x5amera, film, lenses, light metres, filters, colours, composition, digitalacks and tripods. Photographers will also learn how to work with the weather,eep images organized and maintain their personal vision, as expressed inore than 200 photographs of Dykinga's own work.

Cover Art
Lighting for Digital Photography : from snapshots to great shots - Syl Arena
Call Number: TR 590 .A74 2013
ISBN: 9780321832757
Publication Date: 2012-10-07
Now that you've had your DSLR for a while, are you ready to take a much closer look at what creating a great image is all about? It's all about light! The ability to see, influence, modify, control, and create light will take your images from snapshots to great shots! In Lighting for Digital Photography: From Snapshots to Great Shots, photographer and bestselling author Syl Arena begins with a primer on light itself--how to see its direction, intensity, color, contrast, and hardness--and quickly moves on to discussions of shooting both indoors and outdoors in the many different conditions of natural or man-made light. Then the book digs in to begin creating light with photographic lights, whether that's small flash or big strobe, the pop-up flash on your DSLR or continuous lights. Follow along with Syl and you will: Learn the basics (and beyond) of light modifiers that make light bigger and softer, such as umbrellas, softboxes, beauty dishes, and diffusion panels Understand how to control and shape the light itself with flags, grids, snoots, and the zoom function on your flash Appreciate the color temperature of light (whether that's the sun, a light bulb, or a flash), and how to influence it with white balance settings on your camera and colored gels on your flash Learn how to take great pictures across many different genres, from product and still life images, to simple (and not so simple) portraits and group shots With Lighting for Digital Photography: From Snapshots to Great Shots, you'll learn not only how light behaves--you'll learn all you need to know to get started on the journey of creating and controlling light in order to make great shots. And once you've got the shot, show it off! Join the book's Flickr group, share your photos, and discuss how you get great shots at flickr.com/groups/lightingfromsnapshotstogreatshots.

Cover Art
National Geographic : the photographs - U. S. National Geographic Society Staff
Call Number: qTR 790 .B46 1994
ISBN: 0870449869
Publication Date: 1994-10-01
Photographs from the archives of National Geographic share an array of work reflecting the themes of The Land, Underwater, Science, The United States, and The World--by some of the world's finest photographers.

Cover Art
Night and Low-Light Photography - Jilll Waterman
Call Number: qTR 610 .W38 2008
ISBN: 9780817432416
Publication Date: 2008-08-05
Love the night life...with this indispensable guide. Photographing after dark is a challenge. But everyone loves the glamorous, moody results. Capture those striking images, night after starry night, with Night and Low-Light Photography. Author Jill Waterman looks at the work of 30 top professionals, examining their real-life projects as well as their tips, techniques, and unique approach. The result is a beautiful yet practical compendium of every aspect of night and low-light photography, indoors and out, black and white and color, digital and film, fine art and commercial. The moon and stars, atmospheric effects, cityscapes, industrial light, night events, night landscapes–every night effect is revealed in this lavishly illustrated one-volume resource.

Cover Art
Photography Essentials - Mark Jenkinson
Call Number: TR 146 .J4886 2008
ISBN: 9781592577521
Publication Date: 2008-05-06
Don't be camera shy! The focus is on the basics. Presented in concise, intuitive style, this guide has everything amateur photographers need to know to produce great images--whether shooting in digital or film. Best of all, each chapter includes FAQs and full-color visual examples to turn good shots into great shots. Professional photographer Mark Jenkinson shares tips and tricks for: * Understanding how the features and controls affect Photographs * Making the best use of manual, aperture priority, and shutter priority settings * Shooting moving objects * Shooting in bright light or nighttime settings * Adjusting depth of field * Improving composition and lighting * Choosing the best format for storing digital images

Cover Art
Photography for the 21st Century - Katie Miller
Call Number: qTR 145 .M535 2007
ISBN: 1418009385
Publication Date: 2006-08-17
This pioneering book bridges the gap between traditional and digital camera and darkroom techniques, easing the transition from one system to the other while developing an understanding of the scope and importance of the evolution. Photography is investigated as a visual art throughout and cultural references provide a solid understanding of the power and significance of the medium. Readers learn not only how to make photographs-but also how to evaluate their photographs from both technical and aesthetic viewpoints.

Cover Art
Railway Photography - Brian Solomon
Call Number: TR 715 .S65 2003
ISBN: 0873495667
Publication Date: 2003-12-13
The building of the railroad was one of the greatest epics the United States has ever known! Capture the essence of the rails with this stunning photographic tribute to trains and railroading. Railway Photography features an impressive display from contributing contemporary photographers-names like, Gruber, Danneman, Benson, Stinheimer, and Kooistra.This book is equal parts inspiration and how-to-besides providing dynamic color photography, it also contains lessons on how to take great train pictures. Chapters discuss composing great photos, choosing the right camera and film, digital photography, and more. Author Brian Solomon, emerging as the popular voice of railroad enthusiasts, accompanies brilliant photography with prolific writing.- Chapters cover history, equipment, film, accessories, planning photographic journeys, working with light, photo storage and presentation, and publishing photos- Equal parts inspiration and how-to- Stunning train photos contributed by big-name contemporary photographers

Cover Art
Sports Photography : from snapshots to great shots - Bill Frakes
Call Number: TR 821 .F73 2013
ISBN: 9780321885708
Publication Date: 2013-04-12
In Sports Photography: From Snapshots to Great Shots, author and sports photographer Bill Frakes shows you how to capture the key elements of sports photographs-motion and emotion, style and scene, place and purpose-whether you're at a baseball tournament, a track meet, or a professional football game. Starting with the basics of equipment, camera settings, and exposure, Bill covers the fundamental techniques of sports photography-understanding lighting, handling composition and focus, and timing peak action. He explains how to choose a shooting position on the field of play, identify the defining moments away from the action, and learn the etiquette of covering live sporting events. He then breaks down the shooting processes of specific sports, outlining the challenges and demands of each and showing how to isolate individual athletes in action. Beautifully illustrated with large, vibrant photos, this book teaches you how to take control of your photography to get the sports photo you want every time you pick up the camera. Master the photographic basics of composition, focus, depth of field, and much more Get tips on shooting with long and short lenses, learning when to use them and why Learn key techniques for photographing various sports, including football, baseball, basketball, soccer, and more Fully grasp all the concepts and techniques as you go, with assignments at the end of every chapter And once you've got the shot, show it off! Join the book's Flickr group to share your photos and ideas for great sports shots at flickr.com/groups/sportsphotographyfromsnapshotstogreatshots.

Cover Art
The Civil War in Color: a photographic reenactment of the war between the states - John C. Guntzelman
Call Number: qE 468.7 .G86 2012
ISBN: 9781402790812
Publication Date: 2012-11-06
“These photos are no longer just dusty old pictures, but rather have become very real moments in time from our collective past, frozen forever in color.”--John C. Guntzelman   The Civil War comes alive as never before in this extraordinary collection of colorized photographs from the era. Not only does it feature portraits of famous leaders and ordinary soldiers but also vignettes of American life during the conflict: scenes from urban and plantation life; destroyed cities; contested battlefields. The 200+ photographs, from the Library of Congress's archives, include both well-known and rarely seen images.  Also inside--a fine art ready-to-frame photographic print of a stunning colorized Civil War photograph.  

Cover Art
The Complete Illustrated Encyclopedia of Digital Photography: a step-by-step guide - Steve Luck
Call Number: qTR 267 .L8 2008
ISBN: 9780754818526
Publication Date: 2009-03-16
This comprehensive guide helps the digital photographer transform their photographs from snapshots to works of art. It explains technical specifications, and advises on what is needed to get started. Following this, the book reveals techniques of composition, balance, lighting and exposure and suggests assignments to practice these techniques.As well as showing how to make the most of a digital camera, this book also explains how to use editing software, with sections on techniques such as creating a panorama or retouching an old photograph. The final section explains storing and sharing photos, from how to make the best prints to methods of online storage.

Cover Art
The Complete Photographer - Tom Ang
Call Number: TR 146 .A56 2010
ISBN: 9780756664299
Publication Date: 2010-07-19
Taking the successful thematic approach of How to Photograph Absolutely Everything and combining it with the practical tools and genre tutorials of Digital Photography Masterclass, The Complete Photographer encourages photographers to explore every discipline and experiment with different approaches, to hone their skills, and find their own personal style. Unlike other books, which tend to cover the principles of photography in a general way, The Complete Photographer is based around tutorials on ten different genres — Portraits, Landscape and Nature, Fashion, Wildlife, Sport, Documentary, Events, Travel, Architecture, and Fine Art-and shows in step-by-step detail how an idea progresses from concept stage to final image.

Cover Art
The Digital Photography Book: the step-by-step secrets for how to make your photos look like the pros'! - Scott Kelby
Call Number: TR 267 .K4394 2007 V.1 and TR 267 .K4394 2007 V.2
ISBN: 032147404X
Publication Date: 2006-08-23
Scott Kelby, the man who changed the "digital darkroom" forever with his groundbreaking, #1 bestselling, award-winning book The Photoshop Book for Digital Photographers, now tackles the most important side of digital photography--how to take pro-quality shots using the same tricks today's top digital pros use (and it's easier than you'd think). This entire book is written with a brilliant premise, and here's how Scott describes it: "If you and I were out on a shoot, and you asked me, 'Hey, how do I get this flower to be in focus, but I want the background out of focus?' I wouldn't stand there and give you a lecture about aperture, exposure, and depth of field. In real life, I'd just say, 'Get out your telephoto lens, set your f/stop to f/2.8, focus on the flower, and fire away.' You d say, 'OK,' and you'd get the shot. That's what this book is all about. A book of you and I shooting, and I answer the questions, give you advice, and share the secrets I've learned just like I would with a friend, without all the technical explanations and without all the techno-photo-speak." This isn't a book of theory--it isn't full of confusing jargon and detailed concepts: this is a book of which button to push, which setting to use, when to use them, and nearly two hundred of the most closely guarded photographic "tricks of the trade" to get you shooting dramatically better-looking, sharper, more colorful, more professional-looking photos with your digital camera every time you press the shutter button. Here's another thing that makes this book different: each page covers just one trick, just one single concept that makes your photography better. Every time you turn the page, you'll learn another pro setting, another pro tool, another pro trick to transform your work from snapshots into gallery prints. There's never been a book like it, and if you're tired of taking shots that look "OK," and if you're tired of looking in photography magazines and thinking, "Why don't my shots look like that?" then this is the book for you.

Cover Art
The Moment It Clicks: photography secrets from one of the world's top shooters - Joe McNally
Call Number: TR 161 .M46 2008
ISBN: 9780321544087
Publication Date: 2008-01-23
THE FIRST BOOK WITH ONE FOOT ON THE COFFEE TABLE, AND ONE FOOT IN THE CLASSROOM Joe McNally, one of the world's top pro digital photographers, whose celebrated work has graced the pages of Sports Illustrated, Time, and National Geographic (to name a few), breaks new ground by doing something no photography book has ever done--blending the rich, stunning images and elegant layout of a coffee-table book with the invaluable training, no-nonsense insights, and photography secrets usually found only in those rare, best-of-breed educational books. When Joe's not on assignment for the biggest-name magazines and Fortune 500 clients, he's in the classroom teaching location lighting, environmental portraiture, and how to "get the shot" at workshops around the world. These on-location workshops are usually reserved for a handful of photographers each year, but now you can learn the same techniques that Joe shares in his seminars and lectures in a book that brings Joe's sessions to life. What makes the book so unique is the "triangle of learning" where (1) Joe distills the concept down to one brief sentence. It usually starts with something like, "An editor at National Geographic once told me..." and then he shares one of those hard-earned tricks of the trade that you only get from spending a lifetime behind the lens. Then, (2) on the facing page is one of Joe's brilliant images that perfectly illustrates the technique (you'll recognize many of his photos from magazine covers). And (3) you get the inside story of how that shot was taken, including which equipment he used (lens, f/stop, lighting, accessories, etc.), along with the challenges that type of project brings, and how to set up a shot like that of your own. This book also gives you something more. It inspires. It challenges. It informs. But perhaps most importantly, it will help you understand photography and the art of making great photos at a level you never thought possible. This book is packed with those "Ah ha!" moments--those clever insights that make it all come together for you. It brings you that wonderful moment when it suddenly all makes sense--that "moment it clicks."

Cover Art
The New Photography Manual : the complete guide to film and digital cameras and techniques - Steve Bavister; Marek Czarnecki; Andrew Fleet; Patrick Hook; William Cheung; Daniel Lezano; Rod Lawton; Lee Frost
Call Number: qTR 146 .N515 2007
ISBN: 9780811860505
Publication Date: 2007-11-22
In the tradition of the Artist's Manual series comes the definitive illustrated guide to all things photography-related.A veritable bible for beginners as well as an invaluable reference for accomplished photographers, this volume covers the ins and outs of photography equipment and techniques. Comprehensive and easily referenced, The New Photography Manual clearly explains all the essential tools and tricks of the tradefrom choosing cameras and lenses, through composition and lighting, to developing and printing. With tips from professional working photographers and hundreds of color and black and white images, this guide offers everything photographers need.

Cover Art
The Orvis Guide to Outdoor Photography - Jim Rowinski
Call Number: qTR 659.5 .R6823 2004
ISBN: 1592282377
Publication Date: 2004-06-01
Routledge Lawcards are your complete, pocket-sized guides to key examinable areas of the undergraduate law curriculum and the CPE/GDL. Their concise text, user-friendly layout and compact format make them an ideal revision aid. Helping you to identify, understandand commit to memorythe salient points of each area of the law, shouldn "t you make Routledge Lawcards your essential revision companions? Fully updated and revised with all the most important recent legal developments, Routledge Lawcards are now packed with even more features: New revision checklistshelp you to consolidate the key issues within each topic Colour coded highlightingreally makes cases and legislation stand out New tables of cases and legislationmake for easy reference Boxed case notespick out the cases that are most likely to come up in exams More diagrams and flowchartsclarify and condense complex and important topics Routledge Lawcards are supported by a Companion Website at http://www.routledgelaw.com/textbooks/lawcards offering: Flashcard Glossariesallowing you to test your understanding of key terms and definitions Multiple Choice Questionsto test and consolidate your revision of each chapter Advice and tipsto help you better plan your revision and prepare for your exams Titles in the Series:Business Law; Commercial Law; Company Law; Constitutional Law; Contract Law; Criminal Law; Employment Law; English Legal System; Equity and Trusts Law; European Union Law; Evidence; Family Law; Human Rights; Intellectual Property Law; Jurisprudence; Land Law; Tort Law.

Cover Art
Ultimate Field Guide to Photography - U. S. National Geographic Society Staff
Call Number: TR 145 .U59 2009
ISBN: 9781426204319
Publication Date: 2009-04-21
Straightforward and entertaining, this is the ultimate source for people seeking real how-to advice from the editors and photographers of National Geographic. It is carefully designed to lead the amateur photographer to better pictures and is comprehensive in scope, explaining the entire process from choosing a camera to taking the pictures to printing, scanning, and archiving the images. The National Geographic Ultimate Field Guide to Photography spells out the basics of fine photography--whether you are using a digital SLR or a film camera--as well as more advanced techniques for the amateur photographer. From the top twelve color moves to creative gift ideas to quality camera phone photography, this guide will not only inspire you but also arm you with the practical know-how to get great images. It is the indispensable reference for photographers everywhere.

Cover Art
Wildlife Photography Manual - Chris Weston
Call Number: TR 729 .W54 W47 2005
ISBN: 2880468086
Publication Date: 2005-03-01
Invaluable for amateur and professional wildlife photographers keen to improve their work, with the newest techniques and digital equipment Publishing News, UK This is an invaluable manual for wildlife photographers keen to improve and update their work with the newest techniques and digital equipment. The Essential Wildlife Photography Manual takes a spectacular photographic trip, from tropical rainforests to the polar extremes of the globe, revealing the myriad creatures and how to perfectly capture them. Chris Weston covers the basics--including essential information on transporting kit overseas--as well as understanding and photographing the best of wildlife subjects. His down-to-earth, practical approach consolidates a huge amount of technical information into easy-to-read, step-by-step chunks. Illustrated with world-class photography throughout, The Essential Wildlife Photography Manual boasts practical case studies from top international lights Art Wolfe, Jim Brandenburg, and Paul Harcourt-Davies, who reveal the secrets of their trade. This gives an insight into the world of professional wildlife photography, while thereƆs also essential information on working with biologists, zoologists, and researchers.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip