EBSCO Tutorials and GuidesUseful resources 1Useful Resources 2
DatabasesOther Electronic ResourcesInternational Resources/Google Scholar/Writing Resources
Business CommunicationCommunication TheoryIntercultural CommunicationThe MediaBooks 1
MediaNewspapersPhotography
Historical Newspapers/ProQuest US Newspapers Collection
Drama/Plays/Rhetoric/Movie/TV LinksPhotography/Khan Academy: Grammar
ABC-CLIO Individual eBooksBroadcasting/News Writing/Reporting/Producing
Journalism 2
This is the "Media" page of the "Communication Arts Research" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Communication Arts Research  

Last Updated: Nov 13, 2017 URL: http://libguides.warner.edu/communication1 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Media Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Media Books

Cover Art
Media Literacy - W. James Potter
Call Number: P 96 .M4 P68 2008
ISBN: 9781412958752
Publication Date: 2008-01-03
Building E-Portfolios Using PowerPoint: A Guide for Educators, Second Edition addresses the use of e-portfolios by pre- and in-service educators as a self-assessment tool and as a way to measure their students' performance. The first half of the book explains what portfolios are, what makes an electronic portfolio (or e-portfolio) superior to physical portfolios, and how they should be organized. The second half of the book addresses which computer programs can be used to build an e-portfolio, then presents detailed instructions on using Microsoft PowerPointr to create effective, visually rich portfolios. The book is filled with pedagogy, each chapter beginning with a "conversation scenario" to add relevance and meaning for the reader. There are also numerous charts, summaries, a glossary, and appendices. A Student Resource CD with PowerPoint templates, sample e-portfolios, and additional student resources is available.

Cover Art
Arrogance: rescuing America from the media elite - Bernard Goldberg
Call Number: PN 4784 .O24 G63 2003
ISBN: 044653191X
Publication Date: 2003-11-03
The #1 NewYork Times bestselling author of Bias exposes the culture of narrow-minded elitism in the media-and reveals what must be done to change it. In December of 2001, Emmy Award-winning journalist Bernard Goldberg charged the mainstream media with slanting the news and created a firestorm with his controversial bestseller Bias. Now Goldberg goes beyond identifying the media's partiality and explains how the slanting of the news is all but inevitable in the current climate-and why the media's stars continue to deny the industry's condition. In this fascinating report, Goldberg lays out his rallying cry, unafraid to name names, and prescribes the difficult remedies that

Cover Art
The Associated Press Stylebook 2013 and briefing on media law. - Associated Press Staff
Call Number: PN 4783 .A83 2013
ISBN: 9780465082995
Publication Date: 2013-07-30
The style of the Associated Press is the gold standard for news writing. WithThe AP Stylebook in hand, you can learn how to write and edit with the clarity and professionalism for which they are famous. Fully revised and updated, this new edition contains more than 3,000 A to Z entries--including more than 200 new ones--detailing the AP's rules on grammar, spelling, punctuation, capitalization, abbreviation, and word and numeral usage. You'll find answers to such wide-ranging questions as:   ·        When should the names of government bodies be spelled out and when should they be abbreviated? ·        What are the general definitions of the major religious movements? ·        Which companies do the big media conglomerates own? ·        Who are all the members of the British Commonwealth? ·        How should box scores for baseball games be filed? ·        What constitutes "fair use"? ·        What exactly does the Freedom of Information Act cover?   With invaluable additional sections on the unique guidelines for business and sports reporting and on how you can guard against libel and copyright infringement,The AP Stylebook is the one reference that all writers, editors, and students cannot afford to be without.

Cover Art
Audience Responses to Real Media Violence: the knockout game - Mary Grace Antony
Call Number: P 96 .V5 A58 2015
ISBN: 9780739196113
Publication Date: 2015-02-13
Audience Responses to Real Media Violence: The Knockout Game considers an emerging and relatively overlooked area of media effects research: user-generated cellphone videos that feature real violence and its victims. Focusing specifically on a recent sinister media trend known as the Knockout Game, Mary Grace Antony explores how audiences respond to the victims in these videos. How do we assess the realism of this violence? And how do these evaluations of realism in turn influence our feelings of empathy and concern for the victims of violence? The burgeoning abundance and availability to real media violence online makes these questions more relevant today than ever before, and illustrates our complex responses to new and emerging media subgenres.

Cover Art
Convergence Culture: where old and new media collide - Henry Jenkins
Call Number: P 94.65 .U6 J46 2006
ISBN: 9780814742815
Publication Date: 2006-08-01
Henry Jenkins at Authors@Google (video) Winner of the 2007 Society for Cinema and Media Studies Katherine Singer Kovacs Book Award 2007 Choice Outstanding Academic Title Convergence Culture maps a new territory: where old and new media intersect, where grassroots and corporate media collide, where the power of the media producer and the power of the consumer interact in unpredictable ways. Henry Jenkins, one of America’s most respected media analysts, delves beneath the new media hype to uncover the important cultural transformations that are taking place as media converge. He takes us into the secret world of Survivor Spoilers, where avid internet users pool their knowledge to unearth the show’s secrets before they are revealed on the air. He introduces us to young Harry Potter fans who are writing their own Hogwarts tales while executives at Warner Brothers struggle for control of their franchise. He shows us how The Matrix has pushed transmedia storytelling to new levels, creating a fictional world where consumers track down bits of the story across multiple media channels.Jenkins argues that struggles over convergence will redefine the face of American popular culture. Industry leaders see opportunities to direct content across many channels to increase revenue and broaden markets. At the same time, consumers envision a liberated public sphere, free of network controls, in a decentralized media environment. Sometimes corporate and grassroots efforts reinforce each other, creating closer, more rewarding relations between media producers and consumers. Sometimes these two forces are at war. Jenkins provides a riveting introduction to the world where every story gets told and every brand gets sold across multiple media platforms. He explains the cultural shift that is occurring as consumers fight for control across disparate channels, changing the way we do business, elect our leaders, and educate our children.

Cover Art
Media Literacy : keys to interpreting media messages - Art Silverblatt; Donald Miller; Julie Smith; Nikole Brown
Call Number: P 96 .M4 S594 2014
ISBN: 9781440830914
Publication Date: 2014-05-01
This fourth edition of "Keys to Interpreting Media MessageS" supplies a critical and qualitative approach to media literacy analysis. Now updated with conceptual changes, current examples, updated references, and coverage of new developments in media-- particularly in digital, interactive forms--this book addresses all forms of information disseminated via mass communication. Organized into three sections, the book first presents a theoretical framework for the critical analysis of media text that covers the definition of media literacy as well as fundamental principles and concepts. Part II focuses on the application of this methodological framework to the analysis of advertising, journalism, American political communications, and interactive media. Part III considers specific mass media issues, such as violence in the media, media and children, and global communications, and discusses outcomes of having a media-literate population.

Cover Art
Radio Format Conundrum - Edd Routt; James B. McGrath; Fredric A. Weiss
Call Number: PN 1991.3 .U6 R63 1978
ISBN: 0803863551
Publication Date: 1978-07-01

 

Books from the Warner University Library

 

More Media Books

Cover Art
Battleground : the Media - Robin Andersen (Editor); Jonathan Gray (Editor)
Call Number: P 95.8 .B38 2008 v.1-v.2
ISBN: 9780313341670
Publication Date: 2007-12-01
There are many controversial aspects of today's media system, and this captivating encyclopedia examines the most significant of the topics currently being debated. Arranged alphabetically, approximately 100 entries cover background, definitions, notable programs, significant media events and their historical significance, and important future trends. Issues from sexuality to sensationalism, from surveillance to tabloid news, are covered here in an incisive and informative manner. Coverage of on-going developments and new media technologies combine with the work's timely subject matter to make this an especially relevant set. Some of the topics covered include: Al-Jazeera; anonymous sources; the blogosphere; CNN, Fox, MSNBC, and cable talk; celebrity worship; censorship; conglomeration and media monopolies; fear-mongering; google books; homogenization; independent cinema; the iTunes effect; obscenity/indecency; leaks and national security; online pornography; politics and internet journalism; privacy & surveillance; product placement; propoganda; tabloid news; videogames; and violence. Entries also include further reading sources. There are many controversial aspects of today's media system, and this captivating encyclopedia examines the most significant topics currently being debated. Arranged alphabetically, approximately 100 entries cover background, definitions, notable programs, significant media events and their historical significance, and important future trends. Issues from sexuality to sensationalism, from surveillance to tabloid news, are covered here in an incisive and informative manner. Coverage of on-going developments and new media technologies combine with the work's timely subject matter to make this an especially relevant set. Entries contain an array of thoughtful perspectives on current controversies, and allow readers to formulate their own conclusions. Topics include: Al-Jazeera; anonymous sources; the blogosphere; CNN, Fox, MSNBC, and cable talk; celebrity worship; censorship; conglomeration and media monopolies; fear-mongering; google books; homogenization; independent cinema; the iTunes effect; obscenity/indecency; leaks and national security; online pornography; politics and internet journalism; privacy & surveillance; product placement; propoganda; tabloid news; videogames; and violence. Entries also include further reading sources.

Cover Art
Bias: a CBS insider exposes how the media distorts the news - Bernard Goldberg
Call Number: PN 4784 .O24 G65 2002
ISBN: 0895261901
Publication Date: 2001-11-01
In his nearly thirty years at CBS News, Emmy Award winner Bernard Goldberg earned a reputation as one of the preeminent reporters in the television news business. When he looked at his own industry, however, he saw that the media far too often ignored their primary mission: to provide objective, disinterested reporting. Again and again he saw that the news slanted to the left. For years, Goldberg appealed to reporters, producers, and network executives for more balanced reporting, but no one listened. The liberal bias continued. Now, breaking ranks and naming names, he reveals a corporate news culture in which the closed-mindedness is breathtaking and in which entertainment wins over hard news every time.

Cover Art
Blogging, Citizenship, and the Future of Media - Mark Tremayne (Editor)
Call Number: PN 5377 .B651 2007
ISBN: 0415979404
Publication Date: 2006-11-15
This collection of original essays addresses a number of questions seeking to increase our understanding of the role of blogs in the contemporary media landscape and explores the ramifications of the blog phenomenon.

Cover Art
Create Documentary Films, Videos, and Multimedia: a comprehensive guide to using documentary storytelling techniques for film, video, Internet, and digital media projects - James R. Martin
Call Number: qPN 1995.9 .D6 M38 2011
ISBN: 9780982702307
Publication Date: 2010-05-20
Create Documentary Films, Videos, and Multimedia examines all aspects of documentary and nonfiction filmmaking including genres, story development, concept, treatment, shooting script, preproduction, production, editing script, postproduction, and distribution. The book explores different types of documentary productions, such as theatrical, social, educational, event, advocacy, historical, television, corporate, and more. Productions are discussed step by step in practical case studies from actual documentary projects. The book demonstrates how to use documentary storytelling techniques, concepts, and structures in different forms of media including presentation, websites, video shorts, and other digital projects.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip