EBSCO Tutorials and GuidesUseful Resources
InfoTrac/Hot TopicsNewspapers/Open Access - Popular MagazinesHistorical Newspapers/ProQuest US Newspapers CollectionOther Electronic Resources/Literature VideosInternational Resources/Google Scholar/Writing Resources
Terms & ConceptsAmerican PoetsAmerican NovelistsAmerican PlaywrightsCredo Reference eBooks
Pre-17th Century17th and 18th Century19th Century20th Century I20th Century IICredo Reference eBooks
GrammarFigures of SpeechAcademic IntegrityBooks
Classics: Greek and Other LiteratureClassics: Latin LiteratureFeminist Literature
LiteratureAmerican LiteratureAfrican-American/British LiteratureChristian/Women LiteratureWorld/Writers Literature
American Literature and Drama/Plays/RhetoricEnglish/World Literature /Literary Criticism/TheoryGothic Literature/ShakepeareMedieval/Renaissance Literature and PoetryKhan Academy: Grammar
This is the "Historical Newspapers/ProQuest US Newspapers Collection" page of the "Literature and English Research" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Literature and English Research  

Last Updated: Dec 7, 2017 URL: http://libguides.warner.edu/literature Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Historical Newspapers/ProQuest US Newspapers Collection Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Historical Newspapers

The following are restricted to current Warner University students, faculty, and staff.

Log-in: Warner email account.

Historical Newspapers Collection

NEWS

Gale NewsVault (InfoTrac)

Description: Gale NewsVault delivers the definitive cross-searching experience for exploring Gale's range of historical newspaper collections. Gale Historical Newspapers provides an unparalleled window to the past.

BC

17th and 18th Century Burney Collection

Description: The newspapers and news pamphlets gathered by the Reverend Charles Burney (1757 - 1817) represent the largest single collection of 17th and 18th century English news media. The 700 or so bound volumes of newspapers and news pamphlets were published mostly in London, however there are also some English provincial, Irish and Scottish papers, and a few examples from the American colonies, Europe and India.

19US

Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers


Description: With digital facsimile images of both full pages and clipped articles for hundreds of 19th century U.S. newspapers and advanced searching capabilities, researchers will be able to research history in ways previously unavailable. For each issue, the newspaper is captured from cover-to-cover, providing access to every article, advertisement and illustration.

BRL

British Library Newspapers

Description: British Library Newspapers contains full runs of influential national and regional newspapers representing different political and cultural segments of British society.

ILLUS

The Illustrated London News Historical Archive, 1842-2003

Description: With its debut in 1842, the Illustrated London News became the world's first illustrated weekly newspaper, sparking a revolution in journalism and news reporting. The publication presented a vivid picture of British and world events - including news of war, disasters, royalty, social affairs, the arts and science. Containing over 260,000 full colour pages, fully searchable and browseable, the ILN Historical Archive 1842-2003 provides users with unprecedented access to the entire run of this unique historical record.

LIST

The Listener Historical Archive 1929-1991

Description: Developed as the medium for reproducing broadcasts, The Listener (1929-1991) was the weekly newspaper published by the BBC. The complete archive of this landmark publication is an essential witness to the intellectual and cultural history of the twentieth century, and also to the golden years of radio and television.

LIB

Liberty Magazine Historical Archive, 1924-1950

Description: Liberty flourished when illustrated magazines were the most important form of mass entertainment. This was an era of unique creativity and growing involvement in world affairs. Middle class America became much more interested in world events and their impact on everyday life in America. This digital collection provides a unique opportunity to view Liberty and how it charted the moods, attitudes, lifestyles, fads, and fortunes of middle class America through its three most significant decades.

PP

Picture Post Historical Archive

Description: The Picture Post Historical Archive contains every issue of the pioneering photojournalism newspaper. High-principled yet entertaining, and featuring a whole stable of extraordinarily talented photographers, Picture Post (1938-1957) was read by an estimated 80% of the British population at its peak. It is an essential resource for studying international social and political issues of the day, and how they were brought into popular consciousness.

SUT

The Sunday Times Digital Archive, 1822-2006

Description: Since 1822, The Sunday Times has provided thoughtful analysis and commentary on the week's news and society at large. Murder, theatre, sport and politics - all collide in its pages in an abundance of glorious narrative detail. In more than 800,000 pages, The Sunday Times Digital Archive, is a gateway to the greatest crimes, careers and culture of the last 180 years.

TD

The Times Digital Archive

Description: First published in 1785, The Times of London is widely considered to be the world's 'newspaper of record'. The Times Digital Archive allows users to search over 200 years of this invaluable historical source.

 

ProQuest US Newspapers

ProQuest US Newspapers Collection

 

USNEWS

ProQuest US Newsstream

Description: US Newsstream enables users to search the most recent premium U.S. news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring top newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites in active full-text format.

PRQ

ProQuest US Hispanic Newsstream

Description: US Hispanic Newsstream offers access to the largest collection of leading Hispanic newspapers, news wires, websites and blogs in full text from US publishers in both Spanish and English including El Diario/La Prensa (New York City), La Opinión (Los Angeles), La Prensa (San Antonio) and Extra (Chicago). All of the content in ProQuest US Hispanic Newsstream is available on the ProQuest platform and is cross searchable with other ProQuest databases.

Major

ProQuest US Major Dailies

Description: US Major Dailies provides access to the five most respected US national and regional newspapers, including The New York Times and Washington Post, co-exclusive access to The Wall Street Journal, and exclusive access to Los Angeles Times and Chicago Tribune. The titles offer researchers thorough and timely coverage of local, regional, and world events with journalistic balance and perspective. The content is available by 8am each day and provides archives stretching as far back as 1985. This database is available on the ProQuest platform.

MidWest

ProQuest US Midwest Newsstream

Description: US Midwest Newsstream enables users to search the most recent regional news content, as well as archives which stretch back to the 1980s featuring newspapers, newswires, and news sites in active full-text format. Midwest Newsstream covers news sources from Illinois, Indiana, Kentucky, Michigan, Ohio, and Wisconsin.

NC


ProQuest US North Central Newsstream

Description: US North Central Newsstream enables users to search the most recent regional news content, as well as archives which stretch back to the 1980s featuring newspapers, newswires, and news sites in active full-text format. North Central Newsstream covers news sources from Colorado, Iowa, Kansas, Minnesota, Missouri, Montana, North Dakota, Nebraska, South Dakota, and Wyoming.

NE


ProQuest US Northeast Newsstream

Description: US Northeast Newsstream enables users to search the most recent regional news content, as well as archives which stretch back to the 1980s featuring newspapers, newswires, and news sites in active full-text format. Northeast Newsstream covers news sources from Connecticut, Delaware, Massachusetts, Maine, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, and Vermont.

SE


ProQuest US South Central Newsstream


Description: US South Central Newsstream enables users to search the most recent regional news content, as well as archives which stretch back to the 1980s featuring newspapers, newswires, and news sites in active full-text format. South Central Newsstream covers news sources from Alabama, Arkansas, Arizona, Louisiana, Mississippi, New Mexico, Oklahoma, and Texas.

USSOE


ProQuest US Southeast Newsstream

Description: US Southeast Newsstream enables users to search the most recent regional news content, as well as archives which stretch back to the 1980s featuring newspapers, newswires, and news sites in active full-text format. Southeast Newsstream covers news sources from Washington DC, Florida, Georgia, Maryland, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, Virginia, and West Virginia.

WEST


ProQuest US West Newsstream

Description: US West Newsstream enables users to search the most recent regional news content, as well as archives which stretch back to the 1980s featuring newspapers, newswires, and news sites in active full-text format. West Newsstream covers news sources from Alaska, California, Hawaii, Idaho, Nevada, Oregon, Utah, and Washington.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip