InfoTrac and ProQuest DatabasesHot Topics/Other Electronic Resources/Literature VideosHistorical NewspapersProQuest US NewspapersNewspapers/Open Access - Popular MagazinesGoogle Scholar/Writing ResourcesLiterature LinksAmerican Literature and Drama/Plays/Rhetoric LinksEnglish/World Literature; Gothic Literature; Literary Criticism/Theory; and ShakepeareMedieval/Renaissance Literature and PoetryKhan Academy - GrammarInternational Resources
Terms & ConceptsAmerican PoetsAmerican NovelistsAmerican PlaywrightsCredo Reference eBooks
Pre-17th Century17th and 18th Century19th Century20th Century I20th Century IICredo Reference eBooks
GrammarFigures of SpeechAcademic IntegrityBooks
Credo Reference: Classics - Greek and Other LiteratureCredo Reference: Classics - Latin LiteratureCredo Reference: Feminist Literature
Literature BooksAmerican Literature BooksAfrican-American and British Literature BooksChristian and Women Literature BooksWorld and Writers Literature Booksebrary Academic eBooks and eBooks on EBSCOhostMore eBooks
This is the "World and Writers Literature Books" page of the "Literature and English Research" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Literature and English Research  

Last Updated: Aug 22, 2017 URL: http://libguides.warner.edu/literature Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

World and Writers Literature Books Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Books from the Warner University Library

 

World Literature Books

Cover Art
120 Banned Books : censorship histories and world literature - Nicholas J. Karolides; Margaret Bald; Dawn B. Sova
Call Number: Z 658 .U5 K35 2005
ISBN: 0816060436
Publication Date: 2005-06-01
Tracing the censorship histories of 120 works from around the world, this title provides a summary of each work, its censorship history, and suggestions for further reading. Updates to existing entries cover new controversies regarding such classic books as 'Huckleberry Finn' and 'The Canterbury Tales'.

Cover Art
An Encyclopedia of Continental Women Writers - Katharina M. Wilson (Editor)
Call Number: PN 481 .E5 1991 v. 1 - v. 2
ISBN: 9780824085476
Publication Date: 1991-03-01
First Published in 1991. Routledge is an imprint of Taylor & Francis, an informa company.

Cover Art
Benet's Reader's Encyclopedia - Bruce Murphy
Call Number: PN 41 .B4 1996
ISBN: 9780062701107
Publication Date: 1996-08-30
Long recognized as the outstanding reference on world literature, Benet's Reader's Encyclopedia is the one against which all others are measured, and is the single-most complete one-volume encyclopedia available for those with a serious interest in the subject. The entries explore all aspects of literature from around the world: biographies of poets and playwrights, novelists and belle trists; plot synopses and character sketches from important works; historical data on literary schools, movements, terms and awards; myths and legends; and more. Completely revised and updated, this fourth edition captures the diversity of today's canon, with greater attention to African-American, Eastern, Middle Eastern, African, South American, Eastern European and women's literature. For nearly 50 years, this unique single-volume encyclopedia of world literature has been hailed as the best available. Here are over 10,000 informative entries, covering everything a reader could wish to know: Biographies of poets, playwrights, novelists, essayists and belle trists from around the world and through the ages, from Aristophanes to Toni Morrison, from Chuang Tzu to Juan Rulfo. Plot summaries of important literary works, ranging from Beowulf to Wuthering Heights to Things Fall Apart. Sketches of principal characters from literature, from Salome to Leopold Bloom. Myth, legend and folklore, covering everything from Isis to the Midgard Serpentto to the paladins. Biographies of artists, musicians, philosophers and other historical personages ranging from Roman emperors to U.S. presidents who figure prominently in literature. Accounts of significant schools and movements in literature, such as the Bloomsbury Group and the Beat writers. Original titles, as well as the most familiar English titles, for works in languages other than English. Recipients of major literary awards, including Pulitzer and Nobel prize winners. And more... For nearly 50 years, William Rose Benet and the editors who succeeded him have upheld the level of quality that distinguished the original Benet's Reader's Encyclopedia. Like its predecessors, this new edition will teach and delight, illuminate and expound, and enrich the pleasure of reading in countless ways.

Cover Art
European Writers. Selected authors - George Stade (Editor)
Call Number: qPN 501 .E9 1992 v. 1 - v. 3
ISBN: 0684195836
Publication Date: 1993-01-01
The Scribner Writers Series has set the standard for literary reference for more than 25 years. In addition to addressing the lives and careers of important writers, the articles discuss the themes and styles of major works and place them in pertinent historical, social and political contexts for today's readers. Novelists, playwrights, essayists, poets, short story writers, and more recently, genre writers in science fiction and mystery, are all expertly discussed in the more than 16 sets comprising this series. Based on a survey of school and college librarians, the editorial staff has selected the 68 most requested authors from the acclaimed 14-vol. parent set, now out of print. All articles are complete and unabridged, and average 20 pages in length.

Cover Art
Greek and Latin Authors, 800 B.C.-A.D. 1000 - Michael Grant
Call Number: PA 31 .G7
ISBN: 0824206401
Publication Date: 1980-01-01
Offers brief profiles of poets, philosophers, historians, novelists, theologians, critics, and scientists writing in Greek or Latin between the time of Homer and the Middle Ages

Cover Art
Magill's Bibliography of Literary Criticism selected sources for the study of more than 2,500 outstanding works of Western literature - Frank N. Magill (Editor); Stephen L. Hanson (Consultant Editor); Patricia King Hanson (Consultant Editor)
Call Number: PN 523 .M194 v. 1 - V. 4
ISBN: 0893561886
Publication Date: 1979-03-01

Cover Art
Reference Guide to World Literature - James D. Henderson
Call Number: qPN 524 .R44 1995 V.1 - V. 2
ISBN: 1558623337
Publication Date: 1995-07-01

Cover Art
World Authors, 1950-1970 - John Wakeman (Editor)
Call Number: PN 451 .W3
ISBN: 0824204190
Publication Date: 1975-01-01
Offers biographical, editorial, and critical information on and lists the principal works of more than nine hundred contemporary novelists, dramatists, poets, historians, critics, philosophers and journalists

Cover Art
World Authors, 1970-1975 - Stanley Kunitz (Editor); John Wakeman (Editor)
Call Number: PN 451 .W67
ISBN: 082420641X
Publication Date: 1980-01-01
Offers biographical sketches of more than three hundred writers who have recently come to prominence, and brief commentary on their works

Cover Art
World Authors, 1975-1980 - Vineta Colby (Editor)
Call Number: PN 451 .W672 1985
ISBN: 0824207157
Publication Date: 1985-01-01
Offers profiles of hundreds of authors, and includes brief descriptions of each writer's major works

 

Writers (Literature) Books

Cover Art
A William Butler Yeats Encyclopedia - Sam McCready
Call Number: PR 5906 .M44 1997
ISBN: 0313283710
Publication Date: 1997-08-30
Nearly 1,000 entries provide information on people, places, fictional characters, and topics of interest to scholars or fans of the Irish poet, playwright, politician, theater founder, and literary critic Yeats (1865-1939). The types of entries include brief accounts of the contents of each major co

Cover Art
A William Faulkner Encyclopedia - Robert W. Hamblin; Charles A. Peek
Call Number: PS 3511 .A56 Z440 1999
ISBN: 0313298513
Publication Date: 1999-11-30
Over 50 contributors helped with the reference on American writer Faulkner (1897-1962), and though the editors strove for some degree of consistency, they allowed the individual voices to come through. The articles include his works and major characters and themes; literary and cultural contexts in

Cover Art
African-American Writers - Valerie Smith; Arthur Walton; Lea Baechler
Call Number: qPS 153 .N5 A344 1990
ISBN: 9780684190587
Publication Date: 1991-03-01
Thirty-four critical essays on the lives and literary achievements of black American writers from as early as the first slave narratives down to the latest works of such contemporary figures as Ishmael Reed and Jean Toomer. Each essay strikes a balance between biography and literary criticism, giving full consideration to the effects of culture and life experience on the core writings of the tradition. Each author is situated in the context of American history and the unique experience of the African American people. Annotation copyright Book News, Inc. Portland, Or.

Cover Art
African-American Writers : a dictionary - Shari Dorantes Hatch (Editor); Michael R. Strickland (Editor); Brenda Pilsner
Call Number: PS 153 .N5 A3444 2000
ISBN: 0874369592
Publication Date: 2000-07-01
A timely survey of an important sector of American letters, African American Writers examines a multitude of black cultural leaders from the 18th century to the present.

Cover Art
An Encyclopedia of Continental Women Writers - Katharina M. Wilson (Editor)
Call Number: PN 481 .E5 1991 v. 1 - v. 2
ISBN: 9780824085476
Publication Date: 1991-03-01
First Published in 1991. Routledge is an imprint of Taylor & Francis, an informa company.

Cover Art
British Writers. Selected authors - Ian Scott (Editor); George Stade (Editor)
Call Number: qPR 19 .B68 1997 v. 1 - v. 3
ISBN: 0684805189
Publication Date: 1997-06-01
The Scribner Writers Series has set the standard for literary reference for more than 25 years. In addition to addressing the lives and careers of important writers, the articles discuss the themes and styles of major works and place them in pertinent historical, social and political contexts for today's readers. Novelists, playwrights, essayists, poets, short story writers, and more recently, genre writers in science fiction and mystery, are all expertly discussed in the more than 16 sets comprising this series. Seventy of the most requested authors from the 11-vol. British Writers Series are now collected in a 3-vol. set. With contents chosen by teachers and librarians, the more affordable Selected Authors contains the full-text articles of the essential authors studied in every school's British literature curriculum.

Cover Art
Christian Writers' Market Guide 2005 - Sally Stuart
Call Number: BV 2369.5 .U6 S24 2005
ISBN: 0877882002
Publication Date: 2005-01-11
Twenty Years of Equipping Christian Writers. Countless books can help you hone your writing skills, but The Christian Writers’ Market Guide is the one reference tool that helps you get what you write into the hands of the industry’s top publishers and marketers. The most up-to-date marketing resource for Christian writer–and the only one written exclusively for this specialized market–the twentieth edition of this reference guide includes information on agents, editors, publisher guidelines, specialty markets, and more. Whether you are a beginning or advanced writer, full-time freelancer, agent, editor, publisher, publicist, instructor, or student, The Christian Writers’ Market Guide 2005 is your best link to new or expanded publishing success. “An indispensable tool. For all you writers on Christian topics, this is the reference you have to buy.” –Writers’ Journal “An essential reference for anyone seeking to be published in the Christian community.” –The Midwest Book Review “Stuart’s guide stands out from the rest with its wealth of information and helpful hints.” –Book Reviews for Church Librarians “The single most valuable tool for those who wish to get their writing published.” –CLASS Communiqué

Cover Art
Contemporary authors; a bio-bibliographical guide to current writers in fiction, general nonfiction, poetry, journalism, drama, motion pictures, television and other fields. - Gale Research Co.
Call Number: REF Z 1224 .C6 v. 1 - v. 218

Cover Art
Contemporary Jewish-American Novelists: a bio-critical sourcebook - Joel Shatzky; Michael Taub
Call Number: PS 374 .J48 C66 1997
ISBN: 0313294623
Publication Date: 1997-07-30
Since World War II, Jewish-American novelists have significantly contributed to the world of literature. This reference book includes alphabetically arranged entries for more than 75 Jewish-American novelists whose major works were largely written after World War II. Included are entries for both well-known and relatively obscure novelists, many of whom are just becoming established as significant literary figures. While the volume profiles major canonical figures such as Saul Bellow, Norman Mailer, and Bernard Malamud, it also aims to be more inclusive than other works on contemporary Jewish-American writers. Thus there are entries for gay and lesbian novelists such as Lev Raphael and Judith Katz, whose works challenge the more orthodox definition of Jewish religious and cultural traditions; Art Speigelman, whose controversial Maus established a new genre by combining elements of the comic book and the conventional novel; and newcomers such as Steve Stern and Max Apple, who have become more prominent within the last decade. Each entry includes a brief biography, a discussion of major works and themes, an overview of the novelist's critical reception, and a bibliography of primary and secondary sources. A thoughtful introduction summarizes Jewish-American fiction after World War II, and a selected, general bibliography lists additional sources of information.

Cover Art
European Writers. Selected authors - George Stade (Editor)
Call Number: qPN 501 .E9 1992 v. 1 - v. 3
ISBN: 0684195836
Publication Date: 1993-01-01
The Scribner Writers Series has set the standard for literary reference for more than 25 years. In addition to addressing the lives and careers of important writers, the articles discuss the themes and styles of major works and place them in pertinent historical, social and political contexts for today's readers. Novelists, playwrights, essayists, poets, short story writers, and more recently, genre writers in science fiction and mystery, are all expertly discussed in the more than 16 sets comprising this series. Based on a survey of school and college librarians, the editorial staff has selected the 68 most requested authors from the acclaimed 14-vol. parent set, now out of print. All articles are complete and unabridged, and average 20 pages in length.

Cover Art
Gothic Writers: a critical and bibliographical guide - Douglass H. Thomson (Editor); Jack G. Voller (Editor); Frederick S. Frank (Editor)
Call Number: PN 3435 .G68 2002
ISBN: 0313305005
Publication Date: 2001-11-30
Specialists in literature as well as students will find this work a valuable resource. The historiography of Gothic literature from the 18th century onward is provided in the introduction. The remainder of the volume contains entries for more than 55 writers dating from the 18th century to the prese

Cover Art
Greek and Latin Authors, 800 B.C.-A.D. 1000 - Michael Grant
Call Number: PA 31 .G7
ISBN: 0824206401
Publication Date: 1980-01-01
Offers brief profiles of poets, philosophers, historians, novelists, theologians, critics, and scientists writing in Greek or Latin between the time of Homer and the Middle Ages

Cover Art
Nineteenth-Century British Women Writers : a bio-bibliographical critical sourcebook - Abigail Burnham Bloom
Call Number: PR 115 .N55 2000
ISBN: 0313304394
Publication Date: 2000-05-30
Presents 93 short entries which present information on Victorian women authors from the well known, such as Jane Austen and the Brontd sisters, to the somewhat more obscure. Each entry presents a short biography, an exploration of major works and themes, a summary of the critical reception of the au

Cover Art
Southern Writers: a new biographical dictionary - Matthew Scialdone (Contribution by); Charles Scruggs (Contribution by); Lisa Abney (Contribution by); Gail Galloway Adams (Contribution by); Gilbert Allen (Contribution by); Regina Ammon (Contribution by); Alan T. Belsches (Contribution by); Barbara Benne
Call Number: PS 261 .S595 2006
ISBN: 0807131237
Publication Date: 2006-06-21
This new edition of Southern Writers assumes its distinguished predecessor's place as the essential reference on literary artists of the American South. Broadly expanded and thoroughly revised, it boasts 604 entries-nearly double the earlier edition's-written by 264 scholars. For every figure major and minor, from the venerable and canonical to the fresh and innovative, a biographical sketch and chronological list of published works provide comprehensive, concise, up-to-date information. Here in one convenient source are the South's novelists and short story writers, poets and dramatists, memoirists and essayists, journalists, scholars, and biographers from the colonial period to the twenty-first century. What constitutes a "southern writer" is always a matter for debate. Editors Joseph M. Flora and Amber Vogel have used a generous definition that turns on having a significant connection to the region, in either a personal or literary sense. New to this volume are younger writers who have emerged in the quarter century since the dictionary's original publication, as well as older talents previously unknown or unacknowledged. For almost every writer found in the previous edition, a new biography has been commissioned. Drawn from the very best minds on southern literature and covering the full spectrum of its practitioners, Southern Writers is an indispensable reference book for anyone intrigued by the subject.

Cover Art
The Companion to Southern Literature : themes, genres, places, people, movements, and motifs - Philip Castille (Contribution by); Sylvia Jenkins Cook (Contribution by); John Coski (Contribution by); Alice Cotton (Contribution by); Randolph Delehanty (Contribution by); John Duvall (Contribution by); Betina Entzminger (Contribution by); Jimmy Crispin
Call Number: PS 261 .C55 2002
ISBN: 0807126926
Publication Date: 2001-11-01
Solidly authoritative and comprehensive, The Companion to Southern Literature spans the genres, languages, ideologies, events, culture, literary history, works, and writers that comprise the literature of the South. From incest to grits, topics are wide-ranging and eclectic. It features alphabetical and topical tables of contents and a thorough index that allows users to find important names that may lack an entry. With more than 500 entries by 200 contributors, the book contains signed essays that are critical and complete with cross-references and a brief bibliography. This companion's affordability and comprehensiveness make it a value and a prized reference work."--"The Best of the Best Reference Sources," American Libraries, May 2003.

Cover Art
The Oxford Companion to Women's Writing in the United States - Cathy N. Davidson (Editor); Linda Wagner-Martin (Editor); Elizabeth Ammons (Editor); Trudier Harris (Editor); Ann Kibbey (Editor); Amy Ling (Editor); Janice Radway (Editor)
Call Number: PS 147 .O94 1995
ISBN: 0195066081
Publication Date: 1995-01-05
From Anne Bradstreet's The Tenth Muse Lately Sprung Up in America in the seventeenth century, to Toni Morrison's Nobel Prize in 1993, women writers have woven a rich tapestry of voices across four centuries of American history. Their writings have embraced a marvelous diversity of visions,including those of Emily Dickinson, Gertrude Stein, Cynthia Ozick, Gwendolyn Brooks, Kate Chopin, Maya Angelou, Annie Dillard, Joan Didion, Edith Wharton, Adrienne Rich, Djuna Barnes, and Willa Cather. The Oxford Companion to Women's Writing in the United States provides a comprehensive,authoritative, and highly informative survey of these writers and their work as it illuminates the issues that fired their imaginations. Here is a goldmine of information about women's writing, women's history, and women's concerns--over eight hundred entries, ranging from brief identifications to extensive essays. The volume boasts contributions by many well-known thinkers, including Susan Faludi writing on backlash, Deborah Tannenon communications between the sexes, Jane Gallop on Lacanian psychoanalysis, Nell Irvin Painter on Sojourner Truth, and Trudier Harris on Toni Morrison. There are nearly four hundred biographical entries, touching on not only important poets, novelists, and playwrights (including such modern figuresas Wendy Wasserstein, Anne Tyler, Alice Walker, and Tama Janowitz), but also women writers who have made important contributions in other fields, such as Betty Friedan, Rachel Carson, Margaret Mead, Aimee Semple McPherson, Elizabeth Cady Stanton, and Susan B. Anthony. Perhaps most important, thereis extensive coverage of the many personal, cultural, and historical issues that have been explored by and have influenced the lives and productivity of women writers, including AIDS, race and racism, violence and sexual harassment, the Civil War, the civil rights movement, and much more. There isalso coverage of the publishing world (including bookstores and women's presses), the art and practice of writing, and contemporary literary criticism (including lesbian literary theory, black feminism, and deconstruction). The women who have written beautifully, poignantly, tenderly, humorously, or powerfully about America and American lives are indeed a heterogeneous group. The Oxford Companion to Women's Writing in the United States captures this remarkable diversity, painting a fascinating portrait of women andwomen's writing in America.

Cover Art
William Faulkner A to Z: the essential reference to his life and work - A. Nicholas Fargnoli; Michael Golay
Call Number: qPS 3511 .A86 Z459 2002
ISBN: 0816041598
Publication Date: 2001-11-01
William Faulkner is remembered for novels and short stories that explore the intricate culture and tragic legacy of the American South. Winner of the Nobel Prize for Literature in 1949, Faulkner created works - As I Lay Dying; The Sound and The Fury; Absalom, Absalom ; The Bear and many others - that are read and studied throughout the world. This book is a complete reference to his life, writings, and characters, as well as the people, events and ideas that influenced him as a person and a writer.

Cover Art
Women Writers in the United States: a timeline of literary, cultural, and social history - Cynthia J. Davis; Kathryn West; Cathy Davidson (Introduction by)
Call Number: PS 147 .D38 1996
ISBN: 0195090535
Publication Date: 1996-05-09
Women Writers in the United States is a celebration of the many forms of work - written and social, tangible and intangible - produced by American women. Davis and West document the variety and volume of women's work in the U.S. in a clear and accessible timeline format. They present information on the full spectrum of women's writing - including fiction, poetry, biography, political manifestos, essays, advice columns,and cookbooks, alongside a chronology of developments in social and cultural history that are especially pertinent to women's lives. This extensive chronology illustrates the diversity of women who have lived and written in the U.S. and creates a sense of the full trajectory of individual careers. A valuable and rich source of information on women's studies, literature, and history, Women Writers in the United States will enable readers to locate familiar and unfamiliar women's texts and to place them in the context out which they emerged.

Cover Art
World Authors, 1950-1970 - John Wakeman (Editor)
Call Number: PN 451 .W3
ISBN: 0824204190
Publication Date: 1975-01-01
Offers biographical, editorial, and critical information on and lists the principal works of more than nine hundred contemporary novelists, dramatists, poets, historians, critics, philosophers and journalists

Cover Art
World Authors, 1970-1975 - Stanley Kunitz (Editor); John Wakeman (Editor)
Call Number: PN 451 .W67
ISBN: 082420641X
Publication Date: 1980-01-01
Offers biographical sketches of more than three hundred writers who have recently come to prominence, and brief commentary on their works

Cover Art
World Authors, 1975-1980 - Vineta Colby (Editor)
Call Number: PN 451 .W672 1985
ISBN: 0824207157
Publication Date: 1985-01-01
Offers profiles of hundreds of authors, and includes brief descriptions of each writer's major works

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip