EBSCO Tutorials and GuidesUseful resources 1Useful Resources 2
InfoTrac/Hot TopicsNewspapers/Open Access - Popular MagazinesHistorical Newspapers/ProQuest US Newspapers CollectionOther Electronic Resources/Literature VideosInternational Resources/Google Scholar/Writing Resources
Terms & ConceptsAmerican PoetsAmerican NovelistsAmerican PlaywrightsCredo Reference eBooks
Pre-17th Century17th and 18th Century19th Century20th Century I20th Century IICredo Reference eBooks
GrammarFigures of SpeechAcademic IntegrityBooks
Classics: Greek and Other LiteratureClassics: Latin LiteratureFeminist Literature
LiteratureAmerican LiteratureAfrican-American/British LiteratureChristian/Women LiteratureWorld/Writers Literature
American Literature and Drama/Plays/RhetoricEnglish/World Literature /Literary Criticism/TheoryGothic Literature/ShakepeareMedieval/Renaissance Literature and PoetryKhan Academy: Grammar
ebrary Academic eBooks /eBooks on EBSCOhost
This is the "Christian/Women Literature" page of the "Literature and English Research" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Literature and English Research  

Last Updated: Nov 15, 2017 URL: http://libguides.warner.edu/literature Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Christian/Women Literature Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Books from the Warner University Library

 

Christian (Literature) Books

Cover Art
Biblical References in Shakespeare's Plays - Naseeb Shaheen
Call Number: PR 3012 .S53 2011
ISBN: 9781611493580
Publication Date: 2011-07-21
The hundreds of biblical references in Shakespeare's plays give ample evidence that he was well acquainted with Scripture. Not only is the range of his biblical references impressive, but also the aptness with which he makes them. Hamlet and Othello each have more than fifty biblical references. No study of Shakespeare's plays is complete that ignores Shakespeare's use of scripture. The Bibles that Shakespeare knew, however, were not those that are in use today. By the time the King James Bible appeared in 1611, Shakespeare's career was all but over, and the Anglican liturgy that is evident in his plays is likewise one that few persons are acquainted with. This volume provides a comprehensive survey of the English Bibles of Shakespeare's day, notes their similarities and differences, and indicates which version the playwright knew best. The thorny question of what constitutes a valid biblical reference is also discussed. This study of Shakespeare's biblical references is not based on secondary sources. The author owned one of the world's largest collections of early English bibles, including over one hundred copies of the Geneva bible and numerous editions of other Bibles, prayer books, and books of homilies of Shakespeare's day. To be of real worth, a study of Shakespeare's biblical references should also enable the reader to determine which references Shakespeare borrowed from his plot sources and which he added from his own memory as part of his design for the play. The author studies every source that Shakespeare is known to have read or consulted before writing each play and has examined the biblical references in those sources. Shaheen then points out which biblical references in his literary sources Shakespeare accepted, and how he adapted them in his plays. This information is especially valuable when assessing the theological meanings that are sometimes imposed on his plays, meanings that often go beyond what Shakespeare intended or what his audience must have understood. Biblical References in Shakespeare's Plays is considerably broader in scope than any other study of its kind and provides the scholarly checks and balances in dealing with the subject that previous studies lacked.

Cover Art
The Christian Writer's Market Guide 2014 - Jerry B. Jenkins
Call Number: BV 2369.5 .U6 J6 2013
ISBN: 9781414387352
Publication Date: 2014-01-01
For more than 25 years, The Christian Writer's Market Guide has been the most comprehensive and highly recommended resource available for Christian writers, agents, editors, publishers, publicists, and writing teachers.In addition to providing a wealth of tips and ideas for publishing in the Christian industry, The Christian Writer's Market Guide also includes up-to-date information on hundreds of book publishers, periodicals, agents, conferences, contests, editorial services niche markets, self-publishing services, and more.This is the ultimate reference tool for the aspiring Christian writer.

Cover Art
Dictionary of Early Christian Literature - Siegmar Doepp; Wilhelm Geerlings (Editor); Matthew O'Connell (Translator)
Call Number: BR 66.5 .L4813 2000
ISBN: 0824518055
Publication Date: 2000-12-01
The long-awaited successor to Berthold Altaner's Patrologie handbook, the Dictionary of Early Christian Literature presents the life and work of Chrisitan authors up to the eighth century and an assessment of their lasting influence on the Christian tradition. The Dictionary offers complete and precise information as well as an updated bibliography in an easy-to-use alphabetical arrangement. Articles on authors provide a brief description of their lives, a presentation of their works, and an assessment of their invluence on the Christian tradition. Other articles deal with types of works and their particular characteristics. Despite the wealth of articles, movements and developments within the centuries can be easily grasped, providing valuable insight into the formation of the Christian tradition as we understand it today.

Cover Art
The Encyclopedia of Christian Literature - George Thomas Kurian (Editor); James D. Smith (Editor)
Call Number: qBR 117.3 .E53 2010 V.1 - V. 2
ISBN: 9780810869875
Publication Date: 2010-04-16
The written word is one of the defining elements of Christian experience. As vigorous in the 1st century as it is in the 21st, Christian literature has had a significant function in history, and teachers and students need to be reminded of this powerful literary legacy. Covering 2,000 years, The Encyclopedia of Christian Literature is the first encyclopedia devoted to Christian writers and books. In addition to an overview of the Christian literature, this two-volume set also includes 40 essays on the principal genres of Christian literature and more than 400 bio-bibliographical essays describing the principal writers and their works. These essays examine the evolution of Christian thought as reflected in the literature of every age. The companion volume also features bibliographies, an index, a timeline of Christian Literature, and a list of the greatest Christian authors. The encyclopedia will appeal not only to scholars and Christian evangelicals, but students and teachers in seminaries and theological schools, as well as to the growing body of Christian readers and bibliophiles.

Cover Art
The Facts on File Dictionary of Classical and Biblical Allusions - Martin H. Manser (Editor); David Pickering (Editor); Facts on File, Inc. Staff (Contribution by)
Call Number: PN 43 .F16 2003
ISBN: 081604869X
Publication Date: 2003-10-01
"A handy reference to the Pandora's box of mythical and biblical allusions. This indispensable work is a comprehensive resource offering abundant information that readers will find fascinating

 

Women (Literature) Books

Cover Art
An Encyclopedia of Continental Women Writers - Katharina M. Wilson (Editor)
Call Number: PN 481 .E5 1991 v. 1 - v. 2
ISBN: 9780824085476
Publication Date: 1991-03-01
First Published in 1991. Routledge is an imprint of Taylor & Francis, an informa company.

Cover Art
Nineteenth-Century British Women Writers : a bio-bibliographical critical sourcebook - Abigail Burnham Bloom
Call Number: PR 115 .N55 2000
ISBN: 0313304394
Publication Date: 2000-05-30
Presents 93 short entries which present information on Victorian women authors from the well known, such as Jane Austen and the Brontd sisters, to the somewhat more obscure. Each entry presents a short biography, an exploration of major works and themes, a summary of the critical reception of the au

Cover Art
The Bloomsbury Guide to Women's Literature - Claire Buck (Editor)
Call Number: PN 471 .B57 1992
ISBN: 0136896219
Publication Date: 1992-10-01
Provides biographies, novel synopses, poems, plays, and essays by or about women, and discusses feminist literature.

Cover Art
The Oxford Companion to Women's Writing in the United States - Cathy N. Davidson (Editor); Linda Wagner-Martin (Editor); Elizabeth Ammons (Editor); Trudier Harris (Editor); Ann Kibbey (Editor); Amy Ling (Editor); Janice Radway (Editor)
Call Number: PS 147 .O94 1995
ISBN: 0195066081
Publication Date: 1995-01-05
From Anne Bradstreet's The Tenth Muse Lately Sprung Up in America in the seventeenth century, to Toni Morrison's Nobel Prize in 1993, women writers have woven a rich tapestry of voices across four centuries of American history. Their writings have embraced a marvelous diversity of visions,including those of Emily Dickinson, Gertrude Stein, Cynthia Ozick, Gwendolyn Brooks, Kate Chopin, Maya Angelou, Annie Dillard, Joan Didion, Edith Wharton, Adrienne Rich, Djuna Barnes, and Willa Cather. The Oxford Companion to Women's Writing in the United States provides a comprehensive,authoritative, and highly informative survey of these writers and their work as it illuminates the issues that fired their imaginations. Here is a goldmine of information about women's writing, women's history, and women's concerns--over eight hundred entries, ranging from brief identifications to extensive essays. The volume boasts contributions by many well-known thinkers, including Susan Faludi writing on backlash, Deborah Tannenon communications between the sexes, Jane Gallop on Lacanian psychoanalysis, Nell Irvin Painter on Sojourner Truth, and Trudier Harris on Toni Morrison. There are nearly four hundred biographical entries, touching on not only important poets, novelists, and playwrights (including such modern figuresas Wendy Wasserstein, Anne Tyler, Alice Walker, and Tama Janowitz), but also women writers who have made important contributions in other fields, such as Betty Friedan, Rachel Carson, Margaret Mead, Aimee Semple McPherson, Elizabeth Cady Stanton, and Susan B. Anthony. Perhaps most important, thereis extensive coverage of the many personal, cultural, and historical issues that have been explored by and have influenced the lives and productivity of women writers, including AIDS, race and racism, violence and sexual harassment, the Civil War, the civil rights movement, and much more. There isalso coverage of the publishing world (including bookstores and women's presses), the art and practice of writing, and contemporary literary criticism (including lesbian literary theory, black feminism, and deconstruction). The women who have written beautifully, poignantly, tenderly, humorously, or powerfully about America and American lives are indeed a heterogeneous group. The Oxford Companion to Women's Writing in the United States captures this remarkable diversity, painting a fascinating portrait of women andwomen's writing in America.

Cover Art
Women Writers in the United States: a timeline of literary, cultural, and social history - Cynthia J. Davis; Kathryn West; Cathy Davidson (Introduction by)
Call Number: PS 147 .D38 1996
ISBN: 0195090535
Publication Date: 1996-05-09
Women Writers in the United States is a celebration of the many forms of work - written and social, tangible and intangible - produced by American women. Davis and West document the variety and volume of women's work in the U.S. in a clear and accessible timeline format. They present information on the full spectrum of women's writing - including fiction, poetry, biography, political manifestos, essays, advice columns,and cookbooks, alongside a chronology of developments in social and cultural history that are especially pertinent to women's lives. This extensive chronology illustrates the diversity of women who have lived and written in the U.S. and creates a sense of the full trajectory of individual careers. A valuable and rich source of information on women's studies, literature, and history, Women Writers in the United States will enable readers to locate familiar and unfamiliar women's texts and to place them in the context out which they emerged.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip