InfoTrac and ProQuest DatabasesHot Topics/Other Electronic Resources/Literature VideosHistorical NewspapersProQuest US NewspapersNewspapers/Open Access - Popular MagazinesGoogle Scholar/Writing ResourcesLiterature LinksAmerican Literature and Drama/Plays/Rhetoric LinksEnglish/World Literature; Gothic Literature; Literary Criticism/Theory; and ShakepeareMedieval/Renaissance Literature and PoetryKhan Academy - GrammarInternational Resources
Terms & ConceptsAmerican PoetsAmerican NovelistsAmerican PlaywrightsCredo Reference eBooks
Pre-17th Century17th and 18th Century19th Century20th Century I20th Century IICredo Reference eBooks
GrammarFigures of SpeechAcademic IntegrityBooks
Credo Reference: Classics - Greek and Other LiteratureCredo Reference: Classics - Latin LiteratureCredo Reference: Feminist Literature
Literature BooksAmerican Literature BooksAfrican-American and British Literature BooksChristian and Women Literature BooksWorld and Writers Literature Booksebrary Academic eBooks and eBooks on EBSCOhostMore eBooks
This is the "African-American and British Literature Books" page of the "Literature and English Research" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Literature and English Research  

Last Updated: Aug 22, 2017 URL: http://libguides.warner.edu/literature Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

African-American and British Literature Books Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Books from the Warner University Library

 

African-American (Literature) Reference Books

Cover Art
African-American Writers - Valerie Smith; Arthur Walton; Lea Baechler
Call Number: qPS 153 .N5 A344 1990
ISBN: 9780684190587
Publication Date: 1991-03-01
Thirty-four critical essays on the lives and literary achievements of black American writers from as early as the first slave narratives down to the latest works of such contemporary figures as Ishmael Reed and Jean Toomer. Each essay strikes a balance between biography and literary criticism, giving full consideration to the effects of culture and life experience on the core writings of the tradition. Each author is situated in the context of American history and the unique experience of the African American people. Annotation copyright Book News, Inc. Portland, Or.

Cover Art
African-American Writers : a dictionary - Shari Dorantes Hatch (Editor); Michael R. Strickland (Editor); Brenda Pilsner
Call Number: PS 153 .N5 A3444 2000
ISBN: 0874369592
Publication Date: 2000-07-01
A timely survey of an important sector of American letters, African American Writers examines a multitude of black cultural leaders from the 18th century to the present.

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of the Harlem Renaissance - Aberjhani; Sandra West; Clement Alexander Price
Call Number: qPS 153 .N5 A24 2003
ISBN: 0816045399
Publication Date: 2003-09-01
In the decades of the 1920s and 1930s in Harlem, New York City, there developed a unique awakening of mind and spirit, of race conciousness and artistic advancement. This declaration of African-American independence became known as the Harlem Renaissance and this is a study of the era.

Cover Art
The Columbia Guide to Contemporary African American Fiction - Darryl Dickson-Carr
Call Number: PS 374 .N4 D533 2005
ISBN: 0231124724
Publication Date: 2005-10-14
From Ishmael Reed and Toni Morrison to Colson Whitehead and Terry McMillan, Darryl Dickson-Carr offers a definitive guide to contemporary African American literature. This volume-the only reference work devoted exclusively to African American fiction of the last thirty-five years-presents a wealth of factual and interpretive information about the major authors, texts, movements, and ideas that have shaped contemporary African American fiction. In more than 160 concise entries, arranged alphabetically, Dickson-Carr discusses the careers, works, and critical receptions of Alice Walker, Gloria Naylor, Jamaica Kincaid, Charles Johnson, John Edgar Wideman, Leon Forrest, as well as other prominent and lesser-known authors. Each entry presents ways of reading the author's works, identifies key themes and influences, assesses the writer's overarching significance, and includes sources for further research. Dickson-Carr addresses the influence of a variety of literary movements, critical theories, and publishers of African American work. Topics discussed include the Black Arts Movement, African American postmodernism, feminism, and the influence of hip-hop, the blues, and jazz on African American novelists. In tracing these developments, Dickson-Carr examines the multitude of ways authors have portrayed the diverse experiences of African Americans. The Columbia Guide to Contemporary African American Fiction situates African American fiction in the social, political, and cultural contexts of post-Civil Rights era America: the drug epidemics of the 1980s and 1990s and the concomitant "war on drugs," the legacy of the Civil Rights Movement, the struggle for gay rights, feminism, the rise of HIV/AIDS, and racism's continuing effects on African American communities. Dickson-Carr also discusses the debates and controversies regarding the role of literature in African American life. The volume concludes with an extensive annotated bibliography of African American fiction and criticism.

Cover Art
The Concise Oxford Companion to African American Literature - William L. Andrews (Editor); Frances Smith Foster (Editor); Trudier Harris (Editor)
Call Number: PS 153 .N5 C59 2001
ISBN: 019513883X
Publication Date: 2001-02-15
A breathtaking achievement, this Concise Companion is a suitable crown to the astonishing production in African American literature and criticism that has swept over American literary studies in the last two decades. It offers an enormous range of writers-from Sojourner Truth to Frederick Douglass, from Zora Neale Hurston to Ralph Ellison, and from Toni Morrison to August Wilson. It contains entries on major works (including synopses of novels), such as Harriet Jacobs's Incidents in the Life of a Slave Girl, Richard Wright's Native Son, and Lorraine Hansberry's A Raisin in the Sun. It also incorporates information on literary characters such as Bigger Thomas, Coffin Ed Johnson, Kunta Kinte, Sula Peace, as well as on character types such as Aunt Jemima, Brer Rabbit, John Henry, Stackolee, and the trickster. Icons of black culture are addressed, including vivid details about the lives of Muhammad Ali, John Coltrane, Marcus Garvey, Jackie Robinson, John Brown, and Harriet Tubman.Here, too, are general articles on poetry, fiction, and drama; on autobiography, slave narratives, Sunday School literature, and oratory; as well as on a wide spectrum of related topics. Compact yet thorough, this handy volume gathers works from a vast array of sources - from the black periodical press to women's clubs - making it one of the most substantial guides available on the growing, exciting world of African American literature.

Cover Art
The Oxford Companion to African American Literature - William L. Andrews (Editor); Frances Smith Foster (Editor); Trudier Harris-Lopez (Editor); Henry Louis Gates (Foreword by)
Call Number: PS 153 .N5 O96 1997
ISBN: 0195065107
Publication Date: 1997-03-27
Here indeed is the pantheon of African American writers--Phillis Wheatley and Sojourner Truth, Frederick Douglass and W. E. B. Du Bois, Gwendolyn Brooks and Zora Neale Hurston, Langston Hughes and Countee Cullen, James Baldwin and Ralph Ellison, Toni Morrison and Alice Walker, John EdgarWideman and August Wilson, Jamaica Kincaid and Gloria Naylor, Stanley Crouch and Cornel West, and hundreds more. Moreover, the Companion includes entries on 150 major works of African American literature (including synopses of novels), from Harriet Jacobs's Incidents in the Life of a Slave Girl,Richard Wright's Native Son, to Lorraine Hansberry's A Raisin in the Sun; on literary characters, ranging from Bigger Thomas, to Coffin Ed Johnson, Kunta Kinte, Sula Peace; on character types, such as Aunt Jemima, Brer Rabbit, John Henry, Stackolee, and the trickster; and on such icons of blackculture as Muhammad Ali, John Coltrane, Marcus Garvey, Jackie Robinson, John Brown, and Harriet Tubman. Here, too, are general articles on the traditional literary genres, such as poetry, fiction, and drama; on genres of special import in African American letters, such as autobiography, slavenarratives, Sunday School literature, and oratory; and on a wide spectrum of related topics, including journalism, the black periodical press, major libraries and research centers, religion, literary societies, women's clubs, and various publishing enterprises.

 

British (Literature) Reference Books

Cover Art
British and American Utopian Literature, 1516-1985 : an annotated, chronological bibliography - Lyman Sargent (Editor)
Call Number: PR 149 .U8 S28 1988
ISBN: 0824006941
Publication Date: 1988-06-01

Cover Art
British Writers. Selected authors - Ian Scott (Editor); George Stade (Editor)
Call Number: qPR 19 .B68 1997 v. 1 - v. 3
ISBN: 0684805189
Publication Date: 1997-06-01
The Scribner Writers Series has set the standard for literary reference for more than 25 years. In addition to addressing the lives and careers of important writers, the articles discuss the themes and styles of major works and place them in pertinent historical, social and political contexts for today's readers. Novelists, playwrights, essayists, poets, short story writers, and more recently, genre writers in science fiction and mystery, are all expertly discussed in the more than 16 sets comprising this series. Seventy of the most requested authors from the 11-vol. British Writers Series are now collected in a 3-vol. set. With contents chosen by teachers and librarians, the more affordable Selected Authors contains the full-text articles of the essential authors studied in every school's British literature curriculum.

Cover Art
Cassell's History of English Literature - Peter Conrad
Call Number: PR 83 .C62 2003
ISBN: 0304366102
Publication Date: 2003-10-01
A complete chronicle of the literature of the British Isles, from Beowulf to the beginning of the third millennium--all in one volume. This classic work of literary history has now been updated to cover new developments in writing over the past 20 years. Not only does it provide an encyclopedic survey, but also a personal, chronological interpretation of the English tradition with an emphasis on the continuity of major literary forms and on the ways in which important figures transform the art. The many literary genres, themes, and authors that receive a fascinating analysis include The Epic; Chaucer; Two Versions of the Pastoral; The Sonnet; Spenser's Garden; Shakespeare; Revenge Tragedy; Restoration Comedy; Inventing the Novel; Gothic Follies; Wordsworth and Coleridge; and Imagination and Fiction.

Cover Art
Dictionary of British Literary Characters. 18th and 19th century novels - John Greenfield
Call Number: qPR 830 .C47 D5 1993
ISBN: 0816021791
Publication Date: 1993-03-01
In which Dickens novel does Mr. Pumblechook appear? What did Oscar Wilde's Dorian Gray do to deserve his hideous fate? This reference answers these and thousands of other questions as it provides instant access to every significant character in British literature of the period. Alphabetized by the characters' names, entries not only identify the novel in which each appears, bur also offer a brief summary of what the character did of consequence in the work.

Cover Art
Dictionary of British Literary Characters. 20th century novels - John R. Greenfield
Call Number: qPR 888 .C47 D53 1994
ISBN: 0816021805
Publication Date: 1994-09-01
This comprehensive reference includes thousands of characters that have appeared in the works of Agatha Christie, William Golding, James Joyce, D.H. Lawrence, Evelyn Waugh, and many others.

Cover Art
English Literature and Backgrounds, 1660-1700: a selective critical guide - Duggan, Margaret M.
Call Number: PR 437 .D86 1990 v. 1 - v. 2
ISBN: 0824085027
Publication Date: 1990-01-01
A set of bibliographic essays ranging in length from a paragraph to 150 pages. The works cited are sometimes listed quickly (with bibliographic data), but many are described, evaluated, and compared. Most of the voluminous work is devoted to primary and secondary bibliographies of period authors, along with secondary bibliographies of a few other figures (e.g. Nell Gwyn, Mary II). Dates of composition, first publications, and recent editions are thoroughly covered. Sections also cover modern works on "general" topics (among them: printing, the various genres, collections, journals), "specific" topics (subjects, ideas, themes, approaches, influences, women, readership) and backgrounds for related fields such as the arts, social sciences, religion, education, etc. The cross-referencing is not abundant or precise, but the indexes are detailed. The overall design, and especially the choice of typestyle, is unfortunate. The lack of well differentiated headings makes finding (indeed staying in) a topic difficult, and the italic of titles is not easily discernible. However, an impressive achievement and a valuable reference both for specialists in any aspect of the period and for general scholars. Annotation copyright Book News, Inc. Portland, Or.

Cover Art
Nineteenth-Century British Women Writers : a bio-bibliographical critical sourcebook - Abigail Burnham Bloom
Call Number: PR 115 .N55 2000
ISBN: 0313304394
Publication Date: 2000-05-30
Presents 93 short entries which present information on Victorian women authors from the well known, such as Jane Austen and the Brontd sisters, to the somewhat more obscure. Each entry presents a short biography, an exploration of major works and themes, a summary of the critical reception of the au

Cover Art
The Cambridge Guide to Literature in English - Ian Ousby (Editor); Doris Lessing (Foreword by)
Call Number: PR 85 .C29 1993
ISBN: 0521440866
Publication Date: 1993-10-14
Substantially enlarged and updated for this new edition, The Cambridge Guide to Literature in English is the definitive guide to the vast and extraordinarily rich heritage of literature written in English. It covers all the major novelists, poets and dramatists - from Shakespeare, Milton, Wordsworth, Austen, Dickens to Conrad and to contemporary writers from all over the English-speaking world - Saul Bellow, Adrienne Rich, Les Murray, Wole Soyinka, and Janet Frame. More than 100 specialist contributors provide detailed biographical and critical articles not only on writers and their works. Substantial coverage is also given to such literary genres as popular fiction, science fiction, detective novels, and children's classics. All literary concepts and movements are described in detail. • Over 4,500 alphabetical entries, cross-referenced throughout • Includes all literature in English - British, Irish, American, Australian, African, Canadian, New Zealand, Indian and Caribbean • Illustrated throughout with over 115 photographs and line drawings

Cover Art
The Cambridge History of Early Modern English Literature - David Loewenstein (Editor); Janel Mueller (Editor)
Call Number: PR 421 .C26 2002
ISBN: 0521631564
Publication Date: 2003-01-16
This is a comprehensive history of English literature written in Britain between the Reformation and the Restoration. While it focuses on England, literary effort in Scotland and Ireland is also covered, with occasional references to Wales and Ireland. This literary history by an international team of scholars is essential reading for students and scholars of sixteenth- and seventeenth-century English literature, culture, and history.

Cover Art
The Concise Oxford Companion to English Literature - Margaret Drabble (Editor, Translator); Jenny Stringer (Editor, Translator); Daniel Hahn (As told to)
Call Number: PR 19 .D732 2003
ISBN: 0198605595
Publication Date: 2003-12-18
Based on the hugely popular Fifth Edition of The Oxford Companion to English Literature, this volume offers more than 5,500 entries on individual novels and plays; songs and poems; the lives and works of authors, poets, playwrights, essayists, philosophers and historians; fictional characters; literary movements; legends; theatres; and periodicals. In adapting the parent volume, the editors have eliminated the most peripheral entries and have condensed many of the remaining articles, while retaining the clear and graceful style that characterized the original. New entries on modern authors such as Jim Crace and Ben Elton have been added, alongside new entries on topics such as travel writing and Anglo-Indian literature. The fully-updated appendices list literary prize-winners, including the Nobel, Man Booker prize, and Pulitzer prizes. The result is a book that readers will find indispensable and highly affordable.

Cover Art
The Oxford Companion to English Literature - Margaret Drabble (Editor)
Call Number: PR 19 .O94 2000
ISBN: 0198662440
Publication Date: 2000-11-02
When the Fifth Edition of The Oxford Companion to English Literature appeared in 1985, it received a glowing front-page review in The New York Times Book Review, which praised it as "a wonderful, infuriating, amusing, and informative war horse of a book." Now comes the new Sixth Edition, thoroughly updated and greatly expanded by editor Margaret Drabble and a team of 140 distinguished contributors, who include Salmon Rushdie, Brian Aldiss, Penelope Fitzgerald, Ian Buruma, and Michael Holroyd. Readers will find over 660 new entries, over a third of which were written by Drabble herself, including hundreds of new biographies (from Kathy Acker to Stefan Zweig) as well as new entries on genres, literary terms, critical schools, and much more. In total, the new edition offers over 7,000 alphabetically arranged entries, providing incomparable coverage of the classical works of English literature, and of European authors and works that have influenced the development of English literature. Its wide range of articles cover not only authors and their works, but also fictional characters, plot summaries, composers and artists, literary and artistic movements, historians, philosophers, and critics, as well as publishing history, literary societies, newspapers and periodicals, critical terms and theory. In addition, there are sixteen new feature essays covering everything from gay and lesbian literature to modernism and science fiction, plus a thousand-year chronology that sets key literary works in their historical context, and complete lists of poet laureates and literary prize winners. Boasting a lightness of touch that makes the book a pleasure to read, the Sixth Edition is an indispensable volume for students, for teachers, and for everyone interested in English literature.

Cover Art
The Oxford Guide to Arthurian Literature and Legend - Alan Lupack
Call Number: DA 152.2 .A7 L87 2005
ISBN: 0192802879
Publication Date: 2005-08-11
The Oxford Guide to Arthurian Literature and Legend offers a comprehensive survey of the Arthurian legends in all their manifestations, from the earliest medieval texts to their appearances in contemporary literature, art, music, film, and popular culture. Essays explore central themes such as the influence of Malory, and the Grail legend.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip