EBSCO Tutorials and GuidesUseful resources 1Useful Resources 2
InfoTrac/Hot TopicsNewspapers/Open Access - Popular MagazinesHistorical Newspapers/ProQuest US Newspapers CollectionOther Electronic Resources/Literature VideosInternational Resources/Google Scholar/Writing Resources
Terms & ConceptsAmerican PoetsAmerican NovelistsAmerican PlaywrightsCredo Reference eBooks
Pre-17th Century17th and 18th Century19th Century20th Century I20th Century IICredo Reference eBooks
GrammarFigures of SpeechAcademic IntegrityBooks
Classics: Greek and Other LiteratureClassics: Latin LiteratureFeminist Literature
LiteratureAmerican LiteratureAfrican-American/British LiteratureChristian/Women LiteratureWorld/Writers Literature
American Literature and Drama/Plays/RhetoricEnglish/World Literature /Literary Criticism/TheoryGothic Literature/ShakepeareMedieval/Renaissance Literature and PoetryKhan Academy: Grammar
ebrary Academic eBooks /eBooks on EBSCOhost
This is the "American Literature" page of the "Literature and English Research" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Literature and English Research  

Last Updated: Nov 15, 2017 URL: http://libguides.warner.edu/literature Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

American Literature Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

American (Literature) Books

Cover Art
A Companion to the Literature and Culture of the American South - Richard J. Gray; Owen Robinson
Call Number: PS 261 .C555 2004
ISBN: 0631224041
Publication Date: 2004-06-18
From slave narratives to the Civil War, and from country music to Southern sport, this Companion is the definitive guide to the literature and culture of the American South. Includes discussion of the visual arts, music, society, history, and politics in the region Combines treatment of major literary works and historical events with a survey of broader themes, movements and issues Explores the work of Edgar Allan Poe, Mark Twain, William Faulkner, Zora Neale Huston, Flannery O'Connor and Eudora Welty, as well as those - black and white, male and female - who are writing now Co-edited by the esteemed scholar Richard Gray, author of the acclaimed volume, A History of American Literature (Blackwell, 2003)

Cover Art
British and American Utopian Literature, 1516-1985 : an annotated, chronological bibliography - Lyman Sargent (Editor)
Call Number: PR 149 .U8 S28 1988
ISBN: 0824006941
Publication Date: 1988-06-01

Cover Art
Contemporary Jewish-American Novelists: a bio-critical sourcebook - Joel Shatzky; Michael Taub
Call Number: PS 374 .J48 C66 1997
ISBN: 0313294623
Publication Date: 1997-07-30
Since World War II, Jewish-American novelists have significantly contributed to the world of literature. This reference book includes alphabetically arranged entries for more than 75 Jewish-American novelists whose major works were largely written after World War II. Included are entries for both well-known and relatively obscure novelists, many of whom are just becoming established as significant literary figures. While the volume profiles major canonical figures such as Saul Bellow, Norman Mailer, and Bernard Malamud, it also aims to be more inclusive than other works on contemporary Jewish-American writers. Thus there are entries for gay and lesbian novelists such as Lev Raphael and Judith Katz, whose works challenge the more orthodox definition of Jewish religious and cultural traditions; Art Speigelman, whose controversial Maus established a new genre by combining elements of the comic book and the conventional novel; and newcomers such as Steve Stern and Max Apple, who have become more prominent within the last decade. Each entry includes a brief biography, a discussion of major works and themes, an overview of the novelist's critical reception, and a bibliography of primary and secondary sources. A thoughtful introduction summarizes Jewish-American fiction after World War II, and a selected, general bibliography lists additional sources of information.

Cover Art
Dictionary of American Literary Characters - Benjamin Franklin; Judith G. Haig (Editor)
Call Number: qPS 374 .C43 D5 1990
ISBN: 0816019177
Publication Date: 1990-02-01
This dictionary acts as a reference source for the most significant characters in American literature over the past two centuries. It begins with the first American novel in 1789, The Power of Sympathy, and ends with Norman Mailer's Executioner's Song which won the Pullitzer prize for fiction in 1980.

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of American Literature - Susan Clair Imbarrato; Carol Berkin
Call Number: qPS 21 .E533 2008 V.1 - V. 4
ISBN: 0816064768
Publication Date: 2008-01-01
Susan Clair Imbarrato, Carol Berkin, Brett Barney, Lisa Paddock, Matthew J. Bruccoli, George Parker Anderson, Judith S. Baughman, Carl Rollyson, and Marshall Boswell Advisory Board: Emory Elliott, University of California, Irvine; Wendy Martin, Harvey Mudd Graduate College; Sandra Adell, University of Wisconsin; Matthew J. Bruccoli, University of South Carolina; Richard Layman, Bruccoli Clark Layman Publishers and Manly, Inc.; and Park Bucker, University of South Carolina–Sumter Praise for the previous edition: Booklist/RBB "Editors' Choice Reference Source" "...an excellent source for students...and its chronological arrangement offers a different slant. Recommended..."—Booklist "The articles are well-written and provide readers with a clear understanding of the topic. There is an excellent set index and an alphabetical list of entries in each book."—School Library Journal "The writing is clear and direct, and entries are cross-referenced...useful..."—Choice An Extensive Reference That Spans the Entire Scope of American Literature A thoroughly expanded and revised edition of the award-winning set, Encyclopedia of American Literature, Revised Edition is an extensive reference work that spans the entire scope of American literature, from the colonial period to the present. Now in four chronological volumes, this comprehensive encyclopedia includes entries on writers, works, literary movements, and other topics that high school students and undergraduates are likely to encounter. Four Volumes and More Than 1,000 New Entries, Illustrations, and Study Guide Sections This major update boasts one new volume, approximately 1,000 new entries, more than 300 new black-and-white illustrations, more than 100 new study guide sections on major authors, and more. The majority of the new entries are on new writers and on important works of literature, with a particular emphasis on those most read by high school and college students. In addition, existing entries have been expanded and revised to reflect the latest scholarship. Bibliographies have been expanded and updated, and epigraphs have been added to the most important author entries. Regionally and culturally inclusive, entries on writers describe key life events, provide thumbnail descriptions of and critical reactions to their works, and discuss the writer's significance in the literary period. Also included are bibliographies listing key critical and biographical resources, an index for each volume, and a general list of entries for the entire set. A chronology in each volume puts the literature of the period in context. Volume I: Settlement to the New Republic, 1607–1815 Explores America’s literary beginnings and the connections between early American history and the nation’s emerging literary tradition—covering the Puritans and their Bay Psalm Book, the Federalists and the United States Constitution, Benjamin Franklin, Phillis Wheatley, and more. Volume II: The Age of Romanticism and Realism, 1816–1895 Discusses the writers, works, genres, literary movements, and related historical events of 19th-century America, from the romanticism of Walt Whitman, Nathaniel Hawthorne, and Ralph Waldo Emerson to the realism of Mark Twain, Henry James, and William Dean Howells. Volume III: Into the Modern, 1896–1945 Defines the evolution of a new American sensibility and brings the modern literary world alive, with entries on Frank Norris; Stephen Crane; Booker T. Washington; F. Scott Fitzgerald; Zora Neale Hurston;The Virginian: A Horseman of the Plains; Absal

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Frontier Literature - Mary Ellen Snodgrass
Call Number: PS 169 .F7 S65 1997
ISBN: 087436888X
Publication Date: 1997-08-01
From the fifteenth to the nineteenth centuries, the American frontier gave rise to myths, legends, and a body of literature celebrated around the world. This volume encompasses the works of professional and amateur writers -- both fiction and nonfiction -- that shaped the genre. Special care is taken to include and highlight the contributions of women and minorities to frontier literature. Complete with illustrations, general index, and several useful appendixes, this volume is an indispensable reference.

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Southern Literature - Mary Ellen Snodgrass
Call Number: PS 261 .S515 1997
ISBN: 0874369525
Publication Date: 1997-12-01
"ABC-CLIO's Encyclopedia of Southern Literature surveys the region's major authors, works, movements, genres, and themes as a method of illustrating its contributions to American and world literature. The alphabetically arranged entries contain biographical and literary history along with bibliographic citations, critical commentary, and cross-references. Major works such as I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings, Gone with the Wind, and Black Boy appear in separate entries. There are also extended essays on women in Southern literature, Robert E. Lee, humor, protest literature, the Mississippi River, the frontier tradition, the colonial and Civil War periods, theater, and regional writers. Emphasis is given to women writers, diarists, young adult literature, African-American writers, and recent bestsellers. A list of home states indicates the authors from each Southern state as well as the many writers born outside the region, including Fanny Kemble, Alex Haley, Ralph Ellison, Jackie Torrence, and Edgar Allan Poe. Other study aids include a list of major works and their publication dates, a chronology of cinematic versions of major titles, and a listing of primary sources. Student researchers, genealogists, folklorists, librarians and general readers will appreciate this compelling, definitive reference work on the American South's contribution to the American and world literature."--BOOK JACKET.Title Summary field provided by Blackwell North America, Inc. All Rights Reserved

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of the Harlem Renaissance - Aberjhani; Sandra West; Clement Alexander Price
Call Number: qPS 153 .N5 A24 2003
ISBN: 0816045399
Publication Date: 2003-09-01
In the decades of the 1920s and 1930s in Harlem, New York City, there developed a unique awakening of mind and spirit, of race conciousness and artistic advancement. This declaration of African-American independence became known as the Harlem Renaissance and this is a study of the era.

 

Books from the Warner University Library

 

More American (Literature) Books

Cover Art
Florida on the Boil Recommended Novels and Short-story Collections Set in the Sunshine State - Kenneth Kister
Call Number: PS 379 .K48 2007
ISBN: 1425717268
Publication Date: 2007-02-01
Provides incisive reviews of more than 300 recommended novels and short-story collections set in Florida. Numerous Florida fiction writers, past and present, are represented in the book, including such diverse talents as Edna Buchanan, Harry Crews, Connie May Fowler, and others.

Cover Art
The Cambridge History of American Literature - Sacvan Bercovitch (Contribution by, Editor)
Call Number: PS 92 .C34 1994 v.1, 2, & 6
ISBN: 0521301068
Publication Date: 1995-01-27
This is the fullest and richest account of the American Renaissance available in any literary history. The narratives in this volume made for a four-fold perspective on literature: social, cultural, intellectual and aesthetic. Michael D. Bell describes the social conditions of the literary vocation that shaped the growth of a professional literature in the United States. Eric Sundquist draws upon broad cultural patterns: his account of the writings of exploration, slavery, and the frontier is an interweaving of disparate voices, outlooks and traditions. Barbara L. Packer's sources come largely from intellectual history: the theological and philosophical controversies that prepared the way for transcendentalism. Jonathan Arac's categories are formalist: he sees the development of antebellum fiction as a dialectic of prose genres, the emergence of a literary mode out of the clash of national, local and personal forms. Together, these four narratives constitute a basic reassessment of American prose-writing between 1820 and 1865. It is an achievement that will remain authoritative for our time and that will set new directions for coming decades in American literary scholarship.

Cover Art
Reference Guide to American Literature
Call Number: qPS 129 .R44 2000
ISBN: 1558624171
Publication Date: 1999-09-07
Among the 555 entries contained in this 4th edition of the Reference Guide to American Literature, nearly 160 are new. Each entry in the first section, Writers, provides milestones in the author's life and career, primary bibliographies categorized by genre, secondary bibliographies and critical essays. The second section, Works, presents 131 essays on notable works of American literature.

Cover Art
Southern Writers: a new biographical dictionary - Matthew Scialdone (Contribution by); Charles Scruggs (Contribution by); Lisa Abney (Contribution by); Gail Galloway Adams (Contribution by); Gilbert Allen (Contribution by); Regina Ammon (Contribution by); Alan T. Belsches (Contribution by); Barbara Benne
Call Number: PS 261 .S595 2006
ISBN: 0807131237
Publication Date: 2006-06-21
This new edition of Southern Writers assumes its distinguished predecessor's place as the essential reference on literary artists of the American South. Broadly expanded and thoroughly revised, it boasts 604 entries-nearly double the earlier edition's-written by 264 scholars. For every figure major and minor, from the venerable and canonical to the fresh and innovative, a biographical sketch and chronological list of published works provide comprehensive, concise, up-to-date information. Here in one convenient source are the South's novelists and short story writers, poets and dramatists, memoirists and essayists, journalists, scholars, and biographers from the colonial period to the twenty-first century. What constitutes a "southern writer" is always a matter for debate. Editors Joseph M. Flora and Amber Vogel have used a generous definition that turns on having a significant connection to the region, in either a personal or literary sense. New to this volume are younger writers who have emerged in the quarter century since the dictionary's original publication, as well as older talents previously unknown or unacknowledged. For almost every writer found in the previous edition, a new biography has been commissioned. Drawn from the very best minds on southern literature and covering the full spectrum of its practitioners, Southern Writers is an indispensable reference book for anyone intrigued by the subject.

Cover Art
The Companion to Southern Literature : themes, genres, places, people, movements, and motifs - Philip Castille (Contribution by); Sylvia Jenkins Cook (Contribution by); John Coski (Contribution by); Alice Cotton (Contribution by); Randolph Delehanty (Contribution by); John Duvall (Contribution by); Betina Entzminger (Contribution by); Jimmy Crispin
Call Number: PS 261 .C55 2002
ISBN: 0807126926
Publication Date: 2001-11-01
Solidly authoritative and comprehensive, The Companion to Southern Literature spans the genres, languages, ideologies, events, culture, literary history, works, and writers that comprise the literature of the South. From incest to grits, topics are wide-ranging and eclectic. It features alphabetical and topical tables of contents and a thorough index that allows users to find important names that may lack an entry. With more than 500 entries by 200 contributors, the book contains signed essays that are critical and complete with cross-references and a brief bibliography. This companion's affordability and comprehensiveness make it a value and a prized reference work."--"The Best of the Best Reference Sources," American Libraries, May 2003.

Cover Art
The Oxford Companion to American Literature - James D. Hart; Phillip Leininger (Revised by)
Call Number: PS 21 .H3 1995
ISBN: 0195065484
Publication Date: 1995-10-12
For more than half a century, James D. Hart's The Oxford Companion to American Literature has been an unparalleled guide to America's literary culture, providing one of the finest resources to this country's rich history of great writers. Now this acclaimed work has been completely revised and updated to reflect current developments in the world of American letters. For the sixth edition, editors James D. Hart and Phillip Leininger have updated the Companion in light of what has happened in American literature since 1982. To this end, they have revised the entries on such established authors as Saul Bellow, Norman Mailer, and Joyce Carol Oates, and they have added more than 180 new entries on novelists (T. Coraghessan Boyle, Tim O'Brien, Louise Erdrich, Don De Lillo), poets (Rita Dove, Weldon Kees), playwrights (Wendy Wasserstein, August Wilson), popular writers (Stephen King, Louis L'Amour), historians (James M. McPherson, David Herbert Donald, William Manchester), naturalists (Aldo Leopold, Edward Abbey), and literary critics (Camille Paglia, Richard Ellmann). In addition, the Companion boasts more women's, African-American, and ethnic voices, with new entries on such luminaries as Charlotte Perkins Gilman, M.F.K. Fisher, William Least Heat-Moon, Ursula Le Guin, and Oscar Hijuelos, among many others. These additions represent only some of the revisions for the new edition. Of course, the basic qualities of the Companion that readers have grown to know and loveover the years are as superb as ever. With over 5,000 total entries, The Oxford Companion to American Literature reflects a dynamic balance between past and contemporary literature, surveying virtually every aspect of our national literature, from the Pulitzer Prize to pulp fiction, and from Walt Whitman to William F. Buckley, Jr. There are over 2,000 biographical profiles of important American authors (with information regarding their styles, subjects, and major works) and influential foreign writers as well as other figures who have been important in the nation's social and cultural history. There are more than 1,100 full summaries of important American novels, stories, essays, poems (with verse form noted), plays, biographies and autobiographies, tracts, narratives, and histories. The new edition provides historical background and astute commentary on literary schools and movements, literary awards, magazines, newspapers, and a wide variety of other matters directly related to writing in America. Finally, the book is thoroughly cross-referenced and features an extensive and fully updated index of literary and social history. Ranging from Captain John Smith to John Updike, and from Anne Bradstreet to Anne Rice, the sixth edition of The Oxford Companion to American Literature is up to date, accurate, and comprehensive, a delight for both the casual browser and the serious student.

Cover Art
The Oxford Companion to Women's Writing in the United States - Cathy N. Davidson (Editor); Linda Wagner-Martin (Editor); Elizabeth Ammons (Editor); Trudier Harris (Editor); Ann Kibbey (Editor); Amy Ling (Editor); Janice Radway (Editor)
Call Number: PS 147 .O94 1995
ISBN: 0195066081
Publication Date: 1995-01-05
From Anne Bradstreet's The Tenth Muse Lately Sprung Up in America in the seventeenth century, to Toni Morrison's Nobel Prize in 1993, women writers have woven a rich tapestry of voices across four centuries of American history. Their writings have embraced a marvelous diversity of visions,including those of Emily Dickinson, Gertrude Stein, Cynthia Ozick, Gwendolyn Brooks, Kate Chopin, Maya Angelou, Annie Dillard, Joan Didion, Edith Wharton, Adrienne Rich, Djuna Barnes, and Willa Cather. The Oxford Companion to Women's Writing in the United States provides a comprehensive,authoritative, and highly informative survey of these writers and their work as it illuminates the issues that fired their imaginations. Here is a goldmine of information about women's writing, women's history, and women's concerns--over eight hundred entries, ranging from brief identifications to extensive essays. The volume boasts contributions by many well-known thinkers, including Susan Faludi writing on backlash, Deborah Tannenon communications between the sexes, Jane Gallop on Lacanian psychoanalysis, Nell Irvin Painter on Sojourner Truth, and Trudier Harris on Toni Morrison. There are nearly four hundred biographical entries, touching on not only important poets, novelists, and playwrights (including such modern figuresas Wendy Wasserstein, Anne Tyler, Alice Walker, and Tama Janowitz), but also women writers who have made important contributions in other fields, such as Betty Friedan, Rachel Carson, Margaret Mead, Aimee Semple McPherson, Elizabeth Cady Stanton, and Susan B. Anthony. Perhaps most important, thereis extensive coverage of the many personal, cultural, and historical issues that have been explored by and have influenced the lives and productivity of women writers, including AIDS, race and racism, violence and sexual harassment, the Civil War, the civil rights movement, and much more. There isalso coverage of the publishing world (including bookstores and women's presses), the art and practice of writing, and contemporary literary criticism (including lesbian literary theory, black feminism, and deconstruction). The women who have written beautifully, poignantly, tenderly, humorously, or powerfully about America and American lives are indeed a heterogeneous group. The Oxford Companion to Women's Writing in the United States captures this remarkable diversity, painting a fascinating portrait of women andwomen's writing in America.

Cover Art
Women Writers in the United States: a timeline of literary, cultural, and social history - Cynthia J. Davis; Kathryn West; Cathy Davidson (Introduction by)
Call Number: PS 147 .D38 1996
ISBN: 0195090535
Publication Date: 1996-05-09
Women Writers in the United States is a celebration of the many forms of work - written and social, tangible and intangible - produced by American women. Davis and West document the variety and volume of women's work in the U.S. in a clear and accessible timeline format. They present information on the full spectrum of women's writing - including fiction, poetry, biography, political manifestos, essays, advice columns,and cookbooks, alongside a chronology of developments in social and cultural history that are especially pertinent to women's lives. This extensive chronology illustrates the diversity of women who have lived and written in the U.S. and creates a sense of the full trajectory of individual careers. A valuable and rich source of information on women's studies, literature, and history, Women Writers in the United States will enable readers to locate familiar and unfamiliar women's texts and to place them in the context out which they emerged.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip